Disco Baby!

April 22, 2010 at 8:12 am 18 comments

I don’t think there is anyone more excited about the Hurstling than my mother-in-law. I’m pretty certain that she’s even more excited than we are. (Although I have this theory that pregnancy becomes a VERY TRUE fact immediately to everyone that is not the mother or father of said baby. So really we are at a disadvantage because we are still transitioning into the “Is this real life?” stage.) When we announced our pregnancy, I thought the walls of their house were going to come tumbling down. She screamed, she cried, she jumped, she danced. It was serious excitement.

I’m not saying that my parents and siblings and siblings-in-law and all the other important people in my life aren’t excited. They are. It’s just a different sort of excitement. Maureen (MIL) tells strangers that she’s going to be a grandma. She screams into my belly “THIS IS EMMIE! HI BABY!!” every time she sees me. She told us that we never have to get her a present EVER again… that this is the greatest gift in the world and we could never top it.

Sounds pretty good, huh?

Well Maureen turned 50 last week. (Thanks for all the birthday wishes for her, by the way!) And 50 is a big deal. We did get her a darling hand stamped necklace that says “EMMIE” on it but that wasn’t enough. We had to go big. Go bold. Go disco.

My sister-in-law, Heather, was the mastermind of it all. Months ago she started the plans. We were going to fulfill Maureen’s one wish in life (besides the grandbaby thing… that was already in the works), we were going to throw her a disco party for her 50th birthday. To make it even more exciting, it was going to be a surprise party.

I have an aversion to surprise parties. I’m not a fan. I don’t want you to throw one for me, ever. I don’t like that sort of thing. A few years ago I threw a surprise party for my parents’ 25th wedding anniversary. It was TORTURE. I mean, it was great. They loved it. They were shocked. The bagillions of guests had a great time. But it was hard hard work. Lying, hacking into my mom’s email account (which wasn’t very hard because she still used the same password I had given her when I set up the account 10 years prior), organizing, coming up with a plan. It was a lot. For someone who gets migraines under stress, it was torture. It went off well and I swore to my parents that this would be the one and only surprise party I ever threw. And I mean it.

So for the disco party I was in charge of finding a bartender and a DJ. The bartender thing was easy since I have a cousin in college who would love to make a few bucks by pulling the lever on a margarita machine or pumping a keg. And the DJ was easy because I happened to get married 3 years ago and had a great one in mind. So my job was done. I sat back, played stupid, and let my SIL’s stress over the details.

The night came and guest piled in. Some seemed to ignore the theme but others went all out.

I won’t actually tell you who these people are because, well, I won’t. And I’m sorry this isn’t the best picture but you NEED to see this outfit.

I never figured out if this is a new outfit or if she happened to have this laying around from her crazier days. Either way, it was awesome. And just so you know, there was better mood lighting, it just looks like all the lights are on because of the flash. So anyways, people came and the place was decorated. The mood was set. In she walked.

“OH MY GOD.”

“OH MY GOD.”

She screamed with each new face she saw. Friends from home, friends from California, New York, work, her neighborhood. We were missing a few people for various reasons, but her life was pretty well represented.

I decided I needed to do my part. As the mother of her grandchild, I needed to be sure that her grandbaby was at her party. Her grandbaby need to play a role in this party. How exactly do you do that when that grandbaby isn’t actually born yet??

You give the baby the role of The Disco Ball!

Yes I did.

I bought a $14 top from Walmart (remember the Walmart fitting room incident?) and some fabric from Hobby Lobby. Stephen and I cut and argued and glued until we had that thing looking right. I was worried it wouldn’t be obvious… that people would just say, “Hmm, she has a giant silver polka dot on her belly.” But it was obvious. I’ve never had more people touch my belly than I did that night! (For the record, I don’t mind belly touching… even from strangers. Which is weird because I normally have strong do-not-touch-me German blood.)

All in all, the party was a success. She loved it. The guests loved it. The baby, I’m sure, loved it. And I can probably bet you $20 that his sisters will say that they will never do a surprise party ever again.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Pregnancy, Stephen. Tags: , , , .

Loser 9.14: Smells Like Fat Seven Quick Takes

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Molly  |  April 22, 2010 at 8:24 am

    a) how fun!!! I LOVE surprise parties. You can tell John to throw me one anytime.
    b) what a cute outfit idea! it looks great.
    c) nobody ever touched my belly except 2 or 3 really close friends and they always asked before. Oh, except one time the executive general counsel (who I NEVER talk to) came up and rubbed my belly and walked away. It was awkward. And I was only like 3 months along so I wasn’t super huge yet so it made his little rubby rubby even more awkward.

  • 2. DebbieQ  |  April 22, 2010 at 8:31 am

    Oh man, that is funny.

    But what is really scary is that I am the same age as your MIL.

  • 3. Darla  |  April 22, 2010 at 8:39 am

    What a cute idea!!!

  • 4. Debbie  |  April 22, 2010 at 8:57 am

    what a fun party, love the theme!!🙂

    your disco ball is the cutest! hehe

    as for the belly touching thing, oddly enough, people that knew me were way more hesitant to rub my pregnant belly than complete strangers were! I had more people want to touch my belly going up/down the elevator at work than family members at a gathering! so odd how that works…

  • 5. Taryn M. Peine  |  April 22, 2010 at 9:17 am

    What a cool idea for your costume! I love it!! She looks like she was completely surprised too – no surprise party I’m involved with EVER ends with the person being completely surprised…

  • 6. rachieannie  |  April 22, 2010 at 9:18 am

    I love belly touching! However, all of my closest friends are MILITANT about not letting me touch theirs and tell each other how horrible I am about that (I maybe touched them twice). So now I’m paranoid. But if I lived in Texas, and you know, actually knew you in ‘real life’, I would be touching your belly! Mostly because you’re just so cute! Love the disco ball idea!!

  • 7. Tabaitha Kaye  |  April 22, 2010 at 10:54 am

    You and the baby make a great disco ball. So creative!

  • 8. Kara  |  April 22, 2010 at 11:18 am

    I love the disco ball! It’s funny, for some reason it reminds me of a Teletubby, lol

  • 9. mom (Nana)  |  April 22, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    It was a great party – the kids outdid themselves…and John – FIL – looked absolutely hysterical in his “costume”!. Baby Hurstling was dazzling that night!

  • 10. Lyndsey  |  April 22, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    I love this! I have several thoughts and feelings

    1) i love surprise parties. i have never actually had one in my honor, but i love the idea of them. I believe you had 2 surprise birthday parties that were fun in college.

    2) LOVE the costume. You look SO cute!

    3) i think you should wear that outfit other places and see what happens.

  • 11. Sara  |  April 22, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    That is so awesome! I know she felt so special. Moms love that sort of thing from their kids. I love the disco ball idea. So genius!

  • 12. Emmie  |  April 22, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    It was the BEST birthday I have ever had!!! I’m still reeling! What more could one ask for? 6 amazing kids who planned and put it all together, my 2 daughters, my DIL, my son, and the 2 daughter’s boyfriends..my hubby, my PRECIOUS GRANDBABY, my wonderful friends, and my sister, and family. My commerative 50th Grandma birthday necklace which I LOVE! The Hurstling did look sharp as the disco ball at the party. Walking in, and seeing Stephen with that shirt, and those glasses, and my sister in a Cher wig, I thought I had been transported back to 1977, then seeing Kelly from California, and Cathy from New York! I can never thank Heather, Courtney, Stephen, Chelsea, Shawn, and Andrew enough for giving me what was truly the best birthday of my entire life. It made turning 50 FUN! And I WAS COMPLETELY SURPRISED!

  • 13. exgf2009  |  April 22, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    SO fun!! LOVE IT!

  • 14. Diane Matthews  |  April 22, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    These pictures seem to capture the event perfectly We are so sorry we couln/t be there in person, but we we were thinking about her/it nevertheless. The idea was really inspired.

    Maureen never looked better –nor did Gary!!! (that last is a joke)

    Thanks for sending it on
    Diane

  • 15. Southern Gal  |  April 23, 2010 at 7:12 am

    Hey there. Been away for a while. I’m so glad I didn’t miss this post. That disco ball idea is priceless! You and Stephen did well. And you look so good.

    Emmie?! I love that! Did I miss where she had settled on a name? I’ve been tossing around Nona, Nonie. Italian for grandmother. But Emmie? That’s great. I may have to steal it for Nora to call me. Would that be OK?

  • 16. Karen  |  April 23, 2010 at 8:44 am

    Looks like you all had a great time, and

    OH MY GOD, Happy Birthday Maureen.

  • 17. Jack Matthews  |  April 23, 2010 at 11:16 am

    For me now an octogenerian, never too old for that kind of fun and I am sorry I missed this magnificent occasion.
    Much love and Kisses to my youngest, now 50, sweet Maureen.
    Daddy Jack

  • 18. Holly  |  April 23, 2010 at 11:25 am

    The disco baby idea? Seriously, the BEST EVER. I love it! I hate people touching my belly … if friends ask, I’ll usually let them but strangers in elevators? At the mall? At the grocery store? Ugh.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

