Seven Quick Takes

April 23, 2010 at 9:24 am 23 comments

I wonder if I have 7 things to tell you today. Let’s see!

1.
There are two girls I talk about the most: Lyndsey and Lauren. The stars have aligned and the world is good… I get to see BOTH of them this weekend!!

2.
Anytime Lyndsey knows that she’s going to see me, she gets a pedicure. I have this thing about women with unpainted toenails. I think it’s nasty. I don’t require that you get a pedicure. I don’t even require that you paint your toenails. But just know that if they aren’t painted, I will think your toes are gross. (Why doesn’t spell check recognize “pedicure” as a word???)

3.
For those of you who are new or ignored me the first time around, I’d like to give out a little bit more love for Swagbucks. It’s a search website where you win points that can then be used to buy things. I’ve been on it about 2 months or so and I’ve already earned the equivalent of over $25 in Amazon gift cards… for searching! I just go to their site and search “facebook” to get me to that site instead of typing in the URL. If you want more info, let me know! Click here to sign up. Friday is a good day to start because it’s “Mega Swagbucks Day” and you earn even more. Y’all, I’m a super fan! Free money is the way to my heart.

4.
I’ve heard several reports (from you and Twitter) about the latest interview about Jillian Michaels. She stated that she is going to adopt because she “can’t handle doing that to my body.” I’m sorry, whaaaaa?? Doing WHAT to your body, exactly? There is nothing wrong with pregnancy. God is good. Pregnancy was God’s idea. He wouldn’t require something out of us that wouldn’t be good for us. And, I’m sorry, pregnant women are cute! Nobody looks at them and thinks they are fat! “Also, when you rescue something, it’s like rescuing yourself.” Having a baby IS NOT about you. If you make it about you, you will be seriously, seriously disappointed. Issues Jillian? Stop being a shrink to everyone else and work on that.

5.
I have two greatest pregnancy fears. The first is that my water will break at work or another highly public place. AWKWARD. “Excuse me, I need to skidaddle over to the hospital. Would you be a peach and clean up my uterus juices?” Gross. The second fear is not something to mentioned aloud. But let’s just say it has nothing to do with pain. I’m not saying I’m a superhero or anything, but I know I can get through the pain. My mom had three babies without drugs and I’ve seen how much she winces when our Lucy works out her knots. If she can give birth without dying, I can too.

6.
I once read an article about how to save money in really random ways. One of the things they discussed was calling your cable company and telling them you’d like to cancel because they’ll give you a great deal. I was too nervous to do this because 1) I never had any intention of quitting cable and I’m an awful liar and 2) What if they didn’t offer anything and they just cancelled it? Well I told you that we actually did decide to cancel cable. Long story short, they never just cancel your cable. They offer you fantastic things. So not only did we NOT cancel cable, but we have more channels (including movie channels… what?!) with a guide and we’re paying only $15 more than we would be if we only had internet. So BUCK UP y’all. Call your cable company and tell them you want to cancel because you need to save money. You will not regret it.

7.
I have slept wonderfully this week! WONDERFULLY! I’ve gotten the hang of my pillow and I’m sleeping almost better than I did before I was pregnant! Praise the LAWD! Although for some reason I still never feel rested. I guess we can’t have everything.

Have a great weekend, y’all!!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy, Television. Tags: , , , .

Disco Baby! Pregnant Pause – Week 19

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  April 23, 2010 at 9:33 am

    Ok, I did it. I signed up for Swagbucks.

  • 2. Southern Gal  |  April 23, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Uterine juices?? Oh.my.

    My daughter informed me most women don’t have their water break in a gush. It’s usually just a trickle. That’s the way mine was. BUT why don’t they tell you that when you’re pregnant? You go through nine months stressing over where you’re likely to drop your ‘uterine juices’.

    That phrase makes me laugh and gag at the same time. Thanks for introducing it.

  • 3. Pippy  |  April 23, 2010 at 9:36 am

    1.) You would be proud of me, I have pretty pink toenails….thanks to the lady at the nail salon, because I have officially reached the point where I can’t lean over to paint them myself.

    2.) I.Love.Swagbucks. ’nuff said.

    3.) I don’t even know what to think, let alone say about the whole Jillian thing.

    4.) I really want to know what this 2nd fear is. I’ve had a few myself & I’m curious if it’s one of the same ones. If it is…I wouldn’t blog about it either. :shivers:

    I’m glad you got the hang of your pillow! Sleep is good.

    Have a awesome weekend!

  • 4. Lauren From Texas  |  April 23, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Uterus juices…. still makes me giggle. 🙂

    I KNOW WHAT #2 IS! I KNOW WHAT #2 IS! Uhh, and by #2 I meant the second fear… although that IS a coincidence, no? 😉

  • 5. timlinzrowland  |  April 23, 2010 at 10:35 am

    It must be the week for sleeping good because I too have slept WONDERFUL this week and I am not sleeping with any pregnancy pillow. Good sleep when you are this far along is like winning the lottery, a rare thing!

  • 6. Sister  |  April 23, 2010 at 10:43 am

    I actually have the Women’s Health magazine that she was interviewed in. When I read it, the only interpretation I had of her pregnancy comment was this:

    She used to be overweight and it probably TERRIFIED of becoming overweight again. She’s obviously an idiot and doesn’t know that the weight DOES come off if you exercise, which she does anyway, but still. I didn’t take it as every woman who is pregnant doens’t know what it’s doing to your body..I took it as.. “I used to be fat and will avoid anything that will cause me to buy bigger pants” thing.

  • 7. Joy  |  April 23, 2010 at 10:49 am

    Will sign-up for swagbucks today.

    Re: Jillian, as I begin to feel the bumps and nudges from within I really hope she changes her mind. The great blessing of carrying your child within you more than makes up for added weight and discomfort for a few months.

    Have a wonderful weekend!!

  • 8. Taryn E  |  April 23, 2010 at 11:21 am

    #5…LOL. I, too, am curious as to what your second fear is… and I did have my water break, but it’s not like dumping a bucket of water on the floor or anything! lol. The leaking does get worse the longer you wait, though (trying sitting in a waiting room for 45 min!)

  • 9. Holly  |  April 23, 2010 at 11:24 am

    My water breaking in a public place is a huge fear of mine, espeically since I’m working until I’m at 39 weeks (next week, YAY!) and my doctor thinks Baby’s going to be early ~ but I researched it and found a statistic I liked: Apparently with 85% of women their water doesn’t “break”, it’s either a slow leak or more often the doctor has to break it once labour has already started. I’m still paranoid though. At least I work with doctors … I’m sure they’ve seen it all before 😀

  • 10. ashnmatt2011  |  April 23, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Hmmmm. Now if only Jillian had said that before I wrote my research paper. I could’ve had so much fun tearing that apart.

    ps You should send Matt more info about swagbucks. He’s more likely to sign up than I am, and even I’m somewhat interested.

  • 11. Angela  |  April 23, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    We called our cable company to cancel and they never offered us anything. Now I’m just going to have to live without cable 😦

  • 12. mediumcrazy  |  April 23, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    “Excuse me, I need to skidaddle over to the hospital. Would you be a peach and clean up my uterus juices?” HA haha…

    You don’t have to share your other pregnancy fear, because I’m pretty sure I already know it because I have the same one. (It’s more of a labor fear.) I’m with you (I think.)

    Also had the same cable experience…we got HBO and DVR for almost nothing. And I am the queen of avoiding any kind of conversation that involves me being pushy or slightly less than totally agreeable.

  • 13. molly  |  April 23, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    1) I had that fear too…but first of all, my water breaking was just a light little leak…not a big old gush. and secondly, it’s nice to have your water break because (in my opinion) it makes for an easier labor. also, I’m curious what your other fear is and whether it was the same as mine….I’ll coach you through that fear. No worries, my friend. You’re going to be AMAZED at how much you don’t care about any of that stuff when you’re in labor. Seriously…I know it doesn’t seem like it…but you will not care AT ALL.
    1a) having a baby is incredible. I am so excited for you. I never thought I’d be “that person” who was so darn smitten…but especially now that Jack is feeling better and is happy so much of the time, I can tell you that it is AMAZING!!! (although it’s still pretty awesome even when he’s in horrible pain…just sad).
    2) I want to smack Jillian Michaels in her six pack abs. I am probably one of the most body conscious people you’ll ever meet and I’d go through it again in a heartbeat even if I never lost all 50 (YES! 50!!!!) pregnancy pounds. Worth every bit of it. I’m sad for her that she doesn’t see that.

  • 14. Emily  |  April 23, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    sooooo….here’s the thing. your second fear with labor? I am pretty sure I know what you are talking about, and if it is in fact what I am thinking…just rest easy because by the time that happens-and it DOES (trust me, I have polled many a mother and the odds are against you) you will not even care, not even a tiny little bit. I know I was super worried about it. It happened to me. I didn’t care:)

  • 15. Katherine  |  April 23, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    I’ve been reading for awhile, but haven’t commented yet. You always entertain me with your posts. I especially love the Biggest Loser recaps/comments – none of my sisters or good friends watch the show, so being able to read your blog is a great substitute for chatting it over with one of them!

    And I just had to comment to agree with what several others have said – just put your mind at rest about that second fear. You really won’t care, especially if you don’t have an epidural. There will definitely be more important things on your mind (like getting that baby out)!

  • 16. Debbie  |  April 23, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Haha. Based on Lauren’s comment above, I’ll just say I think everyone is afraid of that. Badi’s cousin got to deliver about 40 babies during one of his rotations at UTMB. He said out of those 40, he saw it three times. Awesome!! 🙂

    Badi also calls our cable people about every 3 months to ask about the latest special. The trick is to always call the disconnect #. Those people’s jobs are to keep your business, so they’re all about giving away the freebies! Love the free movie channels!!! 🙂

    Glad you’re sleeping better. Makes a WORLD of a difference when you get a good nights sleep! Have a great weekend!!

  • 17. mom (nana)  |  April 23, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    You.Are.Toooooo.Funny! Uterine juices?? I almost peed in my pants!

    And all I can say to Jillian is, “your loss”…. I thiink adoption is AWESOME but you do it for a completely different reason than worrying about your body!

  • 18. Jill  |  April 24, 2010 at 8:57 am

    Sorry I haven’t commented in awhile Chelsea! I LOL’ed when I read “skidaddle to the hospital” and “be a peach” hehehe 🙂 I can’t believe Jillian said that…but she probably has issues because she used to be fat (so I’ve heard). Don’t think bad of me…but I’ve considered adoption for similar reasons. But MOSTLY because my pelvis is completely reconstructed after I was in a car accident and I think being pregnant itself would be incredibly painful. And I’m scared.

    Ok. Got that off my chest, LOL. I also need a pedicure. Please don’t hate, hehe

  • 19. Stephany  |  April 24, 2010 at 11:50 am

    I think Jillian just showed the entire world that she’s as screwed up as her contestants…but maybe more so because there have been many former contestants who have lost the weight, had some babies, and lost it again. (Suzy comes to mind?)

    I mean, maybe SHE needs Suzy to talk to her and get her to confess all of her fears on national TV. Eh?

    I’m just not a big fan of Jillian as a person. I love her style of working out, love her DVD’s, and think she’s hilarious on the show. But she’s said some stuff that rubs me the wrong way and the fact that she has weight loss pills is so contradictory!

    Sigh. Done with this comment. Sorry it’s so long.

  • 20. Cousin Kim  |  April 24, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    Hey! Did you also hear about Jillian being bisexual? I am just wondering if THAT rumor is true or not…

  • 21. Lyndsey  |  April 26, 2010 at 9:38 am

    Uterine juices <– EW!

  • 22. Sara  |  April 26, 2010 at 10:09 am

    First off, Jillian Michaels. What in the world? She’s just afraid she doesn’t have it in her to lose the pregnancy weight. And if you’re adopting a child to “save them”, yikes. Not a good start I’d say.

    Second, I want more info on the swagbucks thing. I’m going to go sign up now under your referral. Yay you! I just don’t quite get it. So can we get more info?

  • 23. abby  |  April 27, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    I’m glad you’re loving your pillow! I told my hubby last night that I think I need to break down and admit that I need one. Our first problem is our mattress that needs to be replaced, so I’ve never felt comfortable sleeping, but now it’s even worse! What brand of pillow are you using?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

