Pregnant Pause – Week 19

April 26, 2010 at 9:18 am 37 comments

I am almost to the halfway mark of this pregnancy and that pretty much scares the crap out of me. After a long discussion in the car yesterday, Stephen and I decided I’ll be much less stressed once we find out the sex of the baby and can make a detailed to-do list. Right now we are just waiting. We can’t register until we know the sex, we can’t think about the nursery until we know the sex, etc. Two weeks from today, we’ll know the sex.

Since we are only 14 days away from telling you the name and sex of our baby, today would be a good time for your guesses. Here are your clues:

Both: We do not like names that are on the top #10 names list! We want our child to have a name that nobody else in their class has.
Boy: Very unique, not in baby name books (that we’ve seen, at least)
Girl: Classic. Cute but elegant.

So place your bets. What sex will it be? What will be name little wee little Hurstling?

Unfortunately I don’t have a belly shot for you today. Just imagine me with a giant protective layer over something the size of a mango. Got it? This baby is getting pretty big! Which is why I can feel it bumping around in there constantly. I’m convinced that all these little movements are not gas. I just don’t think I have that much gas, and I don’t think it’s all centralized.

I do, however, have a picture of my pregnancy pillow. Several of you have wanted to know exactly HOW big it is. Excuse my wrinkly sheets. We have a king sized bed, the pillow on the left is a king sized pillow. Use that as a reference for how freaking huge this pillow is.

LARGE. But I love it and I highly recommend it!

So that’s about all I have for you today. I was in Austin over the weekend (a story for another post) and my allergies flared up again. I slept terribly and I have blown my nose so many times that my nose may actually fall off the next time. But shockingly, I’m in a pretty good mood this Monday morning.

Let me hear your name/sex guesses! If anyone actually guesses correctly (I won’t hold my breath) I’m sure Stephen and I can arrange some sort of prize.

(ToT questions are posted!)

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy. Tags: .

Seven Quick Takes Ten on Tuesday (28)

37 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kim  |  April 26, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Boy- Mordecai
    Girl- Dorothy

  • 2. Kim  |  April 26, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Oh and I’m guessing that you are having a boy.

  • 3. Karen  |  April 26, 2010 at 9:50 am

    I’m guessing it’s a boy.
    No idea about the name.

    Now I understand why Stephen is complaining about the room in the bed. lol

  • 4. Jenna  |  April 26, 2010 at 9:56 am

    I’m guessing you are having a girl, and I’m going to guess her name will be Ella.

  • 5. Sara  |  April 26, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Hmm, I think it’s going to be a girl.

    If it’s a boy: Canaan
    If it’s a girl: Emma

    That pregnancy pillow is frickin’ huge!

  • 6. Pippy  |  April 26, 2010 at 10:09 am

    I think you are having a girl!

    Boy – Your maiden name or something similar to it.
    Girl – Elizabeth or Rebecca

  • 7. Debbie  |  April 26, 2010 at 10:19 am

    I think it’s going to be a girl.

    Boy name: Professor (oh wait, that’s what my husband wanted to name our son b/c it was so unique. he wanted to make sure he had a name that no matter what his profession was later in life, he still had to be called “professor”.) true story. obviously, that didn’t make the cut .:)

    Girl name: Olivia

  • 8. ashnmatt2011  |  April 26, 2010 at 10:23 am

    hey it’s ashley. realized i should probably starting saying that. although hopefully you’ve figured that out. matt almost never comments on anyone’s blog.

    so i think you should name your daughter ashley. 2 reasons:

    1. ashley is a classic name. look at “gone with the wind.” just ignore the part where ashley is a guy.
    2. ashley was so popular for my generation that it’s bound to be unpopular for your baby’s. at least all the ashley aren going to rebel against it, and i’m almost sure we make up 20% of the female population.

    haha. i’m just kidding. i have no idea what you’ll name your baby, but i’m looking forward to you telling us!

  • 9. Darla Baerg  |  April 26, 2010 at 10:39 am

    I have no idea! I have also never seen a pillow that big. Wow.

    Can’t wait to hear!

  • 10. Tabaitha  |  April 26, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Boy: Seven
    Girl: Cadence

  • 11. molly  |  April 26, 2010 at 11:15 am

    holy crap! that pillow is enormous!

    I guess a girl. Names? Umm…lucy/lucille, eleanor, cecilia, adelaide

    I’m excited to find out! will you be telling us the name beforehand or will you pull a Browyn McCartney and force us all to call it the Hurstling, thus making it impossible for us to actually remember the baby’s name once it gets here? not that I’m bitter at my sister or anything…

  • 12. Jessica  |  April 26, 2010 at 11:20 am

    So basically that pillow looks like it’s the size of a small car. Not the kind that clowns fit in, but like a Toyota.

    So I’m thinking your baby is going to be a boy. As for names, I have no idea, but I’ll guess.

    Boy:um… not in any baby name books… Zephaniah
    Girl: Abigail, Estelle, Esther

  • 13. kimmy8989  |  April 26, 2010 at 11:24 am

    I guess its a girl.πŸ™‚ whatever the gender I know you will be happy. Congratulations

  • 14. Meghan  |  April 26, 2010 at 11:31 am

    I think it’s going to be a girl.

    Boy name: Sony. Maybe your hubby is into electronics?

    Girl name: Anne. Like Anne of Green Gables, who got angry when you didn’t spell it with an e.

    Good luck! I can’t wait till ya’ll find out!

  • 15. thedailychelle  |  April 26, 2010 at 11:41 am

    I want one of those pregnancy pillows and I’m not even preggo!

  • 16. Southern Gal  |  April 26, 2010 at 11:50 am

    Boy – tough criteria for the choice. My husband kidded my two older kids and said our baby would be named Elmer or Shot. (Ethan wasn’t popular then, but was climbing the charts. Jacob was the same way. Two years after he was born it was #1 and I think is still up there.)

    Girl – Charlotte. It’s classic. It’s my first name yet I go by my middle name. And a family friend who didn’t know my name just named their baby girl that – my first and middle name. Let me tell you it’s very unusual.

  • 17. mom (Nana)  |  April 26, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    #1 – I sure hope Pippy is off base regarding the boy name!

    I really don’t know but if I have to guess, I will say Boy. Why? cause I have to guess, that’s why. God only knows at this point so it is entirely a guess. However, come May 10th at about .10 seconds after yall find out, I will join God and KNOW WHAT HE/SHE IS!!!!! For now, I am content to know that God knows and that is all that matters. ( I actually would be content to wait until the baby is born but that’s NOT going to happen…)

    As for names, I knew it would be unique. You have always liked your name because you never had any other girls with the name Chelsea in your classes. (Sorry Justin and Lindsay – who knew when we named you that they would be sooooo darn popular????) Anyway, I am thinking SETH since that was what I didn’t get to use. Unique, goes with Bridges and Hurst, short, and the initials don’t spell anything bad.πŸ™‚

    If it is a girl, I am thinking Jane or Julia, Hannah, Isabell(a), Caroline, Molly (oops, that is already taken by the dog)….

    WHATEVER the name is, it will be great BECAUSE IT IS MY PRECIOUS GRANDBABY!!!! (although we did have a discussion lately about a certain boy’s name that you really shouldn’t use! πŸ™‚

  • 18. Courtney  |  April 26, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Oh boy! or girl…

    I’m guessing for a boy’s name you’ll go with something Biblical. I just have no idea what.
    And for a girl, something cute and simple like Claire.

    (Tabitha, I LOVE the name Cadence. I plan on naming my little girl that someday when/if I ever have one.)

  • 19. Taryn E  |  April 26, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    I’m guessing boy, simply because everyone I freaking know is having boys!πŸ™‚

    Boy: I like Nolan or Caleb.
    Girl: Ashlyn

  • 20. timlinzrowland  |  April 26, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    I am guessing a boy! I don’t know why but that is my guess! As for names I have no clue on what you will name the little hurstling but I am sure it wil be very cute!

  • 21. Nora  |  April 26, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    Geezz… that’s tough to guess both name and sex of the babyπŸ™‚ I’m going to guess you’re having a boy, but as to the name, i have no idea. I love unique names though.

    I am so ready for my allergies to go away. The allergy look is just so awful and unsexy!

  • 22. Jana (sidetrack'd)  |  April 26, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    My gender guess is boy, but I have no clue about names. That is one frickin’ huge pillow!

  • 23. Rachel  |  April 26, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    I’m guessing a girl because that way Avery will have a girl cousin. As for names, I can’t guess, it’s too hard. I will warn that Caden was original when we chose it. Quite a few people said they had never heard it before we had Caden. Then somehow it ended up being one of the top names the year he was born. Apparently everyone looked at the same baby name website I did.

  • 24. Christine  |  April 26, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    My guess…boy
    boy: josiah or cayson
    girl: caroline or lucy

  • 25. Joy  |  April 26, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    I’m guessing boy

    Names: Boy: Colm
    Girl: Charlotte

  • 26. Veronica  |  April 26, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Well you know this already, but my guess is boy!!
    And for a boy name; no idea….Conrad??

    If it happens to be a girl, my name guess is Kate.

    Haha, I’m sure y’all are getting a good laugh out of these guesses.

  • 27. Jill  |  April 26, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    That is one heck of a pillow!πŸ™‚
    I am not good with guessing names…I’m going to guess baby girl though. My friend found out the sex of her twins today and they are boysπŸ™‚

  • 28. Emmie  |  April 26, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    I dreamt about 2 years ago that you all had a girl who looked just like you. When you first told us you were pregnant, I thought it was a girl, then when I saw the ultrasound I thought boy, so I am confused…I am leaning towards boy, but not 100% sure about my guess. As far as names, I don’t have a clue..um, let’s see Lucas? Ethan? or for a girl, Madaline? Martha? Isabel? I don’t care what that baby is called, I will be calling him/her my precious little boo boo bear!πŸ™‚

  • 29. Jen  |  April 26, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    Hmm just some shots in the dark…boy Beckett, girl Ava

    I can’t wait to find out what yall decide!

  • 30. Debbie Flores  |  April 26, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    My guess is a girl…But if it’s a boy, I know you’ll be just as happy! Who knows???

    As far as names:

    Boy: Isaac, Jack
    Girl: Carter, Camden, Rowan, Madeline, Carolyn

    I can’t wait to find out!!!!!!!

  • 31. sarah  |  April 26, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    I can’t believe that you are half way through!

    I am guessing boy.

    If I’m right, you can name him after me. I promise there won’t be any boys named Sarah in his class.

  • 32. Charise  |  April 27, 2010 at 9:20 am

    I have to agree with “Mom” that Pippi isn’t correct with her boy name- no offense to your Dad-Chelsea!!πŸ™‚ As a teacher I have to say that some of the “classic” names are coming back, however, you still have quite a few that I’ve not seen. Good luck- picking names was my least favorite part of the whole baby thing. Cuz some names are GREAT for kids and not grown ups and some are GREAT for a CEO but not a baby. Then there are all the nicknames that are mean in middle school you have worry about not to mention bad/crude/rude/make you cry rhymes.
    Just for giggles know that Coach Boatman and Mrs. Boatman’s oldest initals are S. O. B. and one of our twins are B. S. So, no matter- life will go on!! Have fun with it all!! Can’t wait to hear the results!

  • 33. Vanessa  |  April 27, 2010 at 10:20 am

    Holy geez that thing is huge! Bet it is super comfy though!

  • 34. Mama Fuss  |  April 27, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    I gave you some guesses on gender (I know I said boy) and names last week. I got the classic part, but used it for a boy, so now I know those are wrong. I’ll guess something like Keythan or Malachi or something but I doubt it’s right. Annabelle, Amy, Megan or something of that vein for a girl.

    And MAN is that a HUGE pregnancy pillow! My old one was half that size… and I recently retired it because I must have smashed it too much during my first pregnancy because it no longer worked very well this time around. I’m now down to a regular sized body pillow, my regular bed pillow and an 18 inch half-moon pillow for the other side.

  • 35. Kelly W.  |  April 27, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    I can feel my baby bumping around ALL the time! Before I went in to get the “sex” ultrasound I thought I had gas bubbles, then I saw where Parker was located and that’s where I was feeling the bubbles! It’s been him for weeks! HAHA!! I feel him more and more each day! I love it!

    I also LOVE your body pillow!! I WANT THAT! I just have a straight body pillow, and I am constantly getting it tangled with the blankets b/c I try to move it with me when I am tossing! haha!!

    Anyway…can’t wait to find out what you are having!!πŸ˜€ It’s SOOOOOO exciting…even if it makes NO difference to you!

  • 36. Lisa H.  |  April 27, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Boy-love the name Micah

    Girl-love Caroline, Adeline (Addie for short-goes good with Avery)

    God knows his/her name. Now, how will He tell you?

  • 37. Cousin Kim  |  April 28, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    It’s gonna be a girl!!
    Just in case –
    Boy: Smith or Hudson,
    Girl: Elaine (Lainey for short), Olivia (Liv for short), Holly (sounds like Molly)

    Hope your allergies are better!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

