Ten on Tuesday (28)

April 27, 2010 at 7:30 am 14 comments

This batch of questions come from Kara at Chatter (<- link). Go check her out and thank her for her questions!

1.  Think back a decade, do you remember what your first cellphone was? Was it as cool as Zack Morris’s phone?
My first cell phone wasn’t very cool – even back then. The worst part about it was that there was no “lock” feature. So every now and then I’d look at my phone and see that it’s been on a phone call for 72 minutes to the last person I called. When I knew I’d be getting a new phone, the ONLY requirement was that the phone would have a keypad lock!

2. What is the first children’s book you remember being read to you? 
Remember? I have no idea. I can’t remember if these books were read to me or to my sister. One of my faves was the Chicka Chicka Boom Boom book. (Will there be enough room? A tells B and B tells C, I’ll race you to the top of the coconut tree!) I’m pretty sure we read that a lot in first grade.

3. What was your first car? Did you love it or hate it? 
My first car was a blue Mustang with a sunroof. I was 16, of course I loved it! One I was in college I realized that I was 6 feet tall and Mustangs aren’t made for people my size! I then got my dad’s hand-me-down Chrystler Concorde. Then it died (<- link). I got over my depression and we bought our Murano.

4. Who was your hero growing up?
“Growing up” implies childhood… so that’s how I’ll answer this. Very often, my hero at any given time was my teacher. I loved school and I loved to learn. I can remember adoring my teachers from 1st-4th grade. For the longest time I thought I was going to be a teacher, probably because I loved them all so much.

5. Think back to your first kiss. Was it everything you dreamed of?
I was scared to death to have my first kiss. TO DEATH. I don’t know what I thought was going to happen but I must’ve thought that I was going to die. So I imagine that it was better than I dreamed since I definitely wasn’t thinking it would be anything better than pure torture.

6.  What was your first BAD hairstyle choice? (Extra points for embarrassing photos) 
I had a nasty cut when I was little but that wasn’t my choice and I’d rather just ignore it. I chose to get a perm… That was… special. Then one year in college I went for a trim and the lady cut some serious SERIOUS short bangs. It was terrible and I cried. Once again, this was not my choice. But it was still so awful and sometimes I still have nightmares.

7. What was your first realistic dream? (One where you had to think “Oh dang, was that a dream?”)
A long time ago I had a dream that my mom and little sister fell down this really steep canyon. It was only a split second of a dream but it was so vivid that anything remotely resembling a canyon give me shivers down my spine.

8. What was the first phobia you remember developing?
Knives. One time when I was little I took my mom’s small pocket knife and tried to cut open an acorn… while it was in my hand. Brilliant. I’ve been scared of knives ever since. Although I’m not scared to use them, I’m scared for other people to use them. Mostly because the majority of people don’t know how to use a knife properly and it just makes me sick to watch them try.

9. Which character on Sesame Street do you most identify with?
It’s been a long while since I’ve seen Sesame Street so I’m not sure about their personalities. Here are two of my guesses: Big Bird because he’s really tall. Cookie Monster because he love to eat. (Although I did recently see that Cookie Monster refers to cookie’s as a “sometimes snack.” Whatever. The Cookie Monster I knew had no limits. He ate so many cookies that they came crumbling out the sides of his mouth. Now that’s a monster I can get on board with.

10. What was the hardest goal you ever accomplished? 
Questions about goals make me feel like a loser. I don’t have many goals. I just sort of live my life. Passing awful classes like finance, statistics, and calculus was a pretty good accomplishment. Graduating for UT is up there. Becoming a homeowner is something I’m proud of. But I’m not sure that any of these are what you’re looking for…

I feel like my answers aren’t that great. Maybe yours are better. Add your link to Mr Linky and be sure to click around to visit other ToTers!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

Pregnant Pause – Week 19 Loser 9.15: Cue “Everything Is Bigger In Texas” Puns

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deiala  |  April 27, 2010 at 7:54 am

    You weren’t the only one who had “problems” answering the questions. This week’s were quite tricky…

    Have a nice Tuesday…

  • 2. Stacie  |  April 27, 2010 at 8:43 am

    #5 Hahahaha! I think I actually cried because I was so nervous (this was weeks prior to “the kiss”). I played it off like I was upset over something else. Ugh, I am such a dork.

    #10 Phew! Me too with the lack of goals.

  • 3. Angela  |  April 27, 2010 at 9:13 am

    I kind of feel like my answers weren’t that great either….oh well!

  • 4. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns  |  April 27, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Ok, your cookie monster answer made me laugh. Yes, the cookie monster of my youth did not know any limits. that is what made him so lovable, though!

  • 5. molly  |  April 27, 2010 at 9:52 am

    my childhood just died a little…

  • 6. Katie  |  April 27, 2010 at 10:38 am

    I liked your cookie monster answer too! My Sesame Street answer was very uninspired. I think because I have to watch it too much!

  • 7. thedailychelle  |  April 27, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    Haha I think your sesame street answer is the same as mine would be. My first instinct is big bird (especially because one of my uncles used to call me that growing up… JERK)… But my second instict is cookie monster, although not quite for the same reason. For some reason lately, in my head when I get angry I picture myself being blue and hairy like cookie monster, and walking around the office waving my arms around and saying “ANGRRRRRY” in a cookie monster voice, sometimes eating cookies, sometimes not. I always have the very strong urge to do this, but haven’t yet.

  • 8. Ten on Tuesday « Life At A Difference Pace…  |  April 27, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    […] now that I’m just 11 short days away from being done with school! Ten on Tuesday is hosted by Chelsea at Roots & Rings- check out hers and others […]

  • 9. Autumn  |  April 27, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    I recall some bad experiences with phones that didn’t lock!

    Your #6 made me laugh out loud! Weren’t all perms “special”???

  • 10. Courtney  |  April 27, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    I agree with you, Chelsea, with #10. And yeah, I feel too like I didn’t answer the questions well…all these think back 25 years questions are HARD!

  • 11. Fuegita  |  April 27, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    I’ve never been scared of knives, but probably should be. I almost cut the tip of my thumb off. It was the first day of 3rd grade, I got home after 1/2 day and was trying to cut a bagel for lunch.

  • 12. mom (nana)  |  April 27, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    1. Think back a decade, do you remember what your first cellphone was? Was it as cool as Zack Morris’s phone?
    My first phone was the size of a shoe I think! Horrible but hey, it worked!

    2. What is the first children’s book you remember being read to you?
    Remember? Are you kidding me? I am 52 years old and I can barely remember what I read last night. I did have some awesome books I read to the kiddos though – Brown Bear Brown Bear; I’ll Love you Forever; Alexander and the No Good Horrible Very Bad Day…lots of them!

    3. What was your first car? Did you love it or hate it?
    Oh my oh my…..my first car was the “gold bomb”….a 1968 UGLY UGLY GOLD Galaxy 500. It was horribly ugly but hey, it was a car and we weren’t spoiled. We drove what we could and were thankful for it. And I didn’t get it until I was a junior or senior. THEN I couldn’t take it to college my freshman year because “your sisters didn’t need a car when they went”…blah blah blah…I made it fine without it too. Then my 2nd car was ANOTHER GOLD BOMB!!!! I got my grandfathers old car when he died….I was sooooooooo excited when I got my first NEW car….a dark blue cutlass siera…

    4. Who was your hero growing up?
    I loved most of my teachers. Espcially my 4th grade teacher, Mrs. Kay. She was AWESOME! And I LOVED my oldest sister, Bonnie. She loved me too. (unlike my middle sister who hated me at that time!)

    5. Think back to your first kiss. Was it everything you dreamed of?
    I kissed Joey Pogue in the alley behind my good friends house. I think I was in 5th or 6th grade….it was SCARY!

    6. What was your first BAD hairstyle choice? (Extra points for embarrassing photos)
    I made a TERRIBLE TERRIBLE decision to have an AFRO in high school. My bestfriend did it so I did it….crazy follower….I look back on pictures and shake my head and keep saying “why, why,why”?????

    7. What was your first realistic dream? (One where you had to think “Oh dang, was that a dream?”)
    can’t remember

    8. What was the first phobia you remember developing?
    flying…..still do

    9. Which character on Sesame Street do you most identify with?
    hmmmmm….. big bird cause I was extremely tall in grade school. But I love Elmo….he is so dang cute!

    10. What was the hardest goal you ever accomplished?
    Probably having all 3 kids without drugs….that was hard but I did it!!!!!!!! Woo Hoo!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 13. deiala  |  April 28, 2010 at 2:38 am

    So it’s me once again😉 As I seemed to “shock” some people saying I’ve never watched Sesame Street I decided to to a special post tomorrow on what we watched in Germany… Hope you’re coming round to take a look…

  • 14. Taryn E  |  April 28, 2010 at 8:06 am

    1. I got my first cellphone in 1999… i remember it was big and blocky… but it was mine! I went home for christmas that year, and i think my mom was jealous b/c she didn’t have one yet!

    2. my mom and dad read to me A LOT…. lots of chapter books, even when i was little…. bunnicula, morgan’s zoo, ramona quimby….

    3. a green pontiac sunfire. i loved it, but didn’t mind giving it up when I got my CR-V.

    4. i hate questions like this. I’ll agree with Chelsea. Probably any teacher I had. And mom and Dad… they’re awesome🙂

    5. blech. no.

    6. i went to junior high and high school in the late 80s and early 90s. have you seen pictures of people from then? Frizzy hair, huge bangs, and tons of hairspray!! What were we thinking?

    7. I had a nightmare that my entire family was killed.. it was right before i left for college in san diego. i woke up crying.

    8. Cockroaches. Every house in houston gets them when it rains…. and there were a few in my room when i was sleeping one night… one crawled on me and that was it… ugh. i hate those things!

    9. Oscar the Grouch.

    10. Graduating from USD. Graduating from RIT. Getting Married. Buying our first house. Becoming a mom. Buying our second house.🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

