Overdue 101 in 1001 Update

April 29, 2010 at 9:35 am 13 comments

I haven’t updated this in MONTHS but I think there are several to update. If you want to see the complete list, there is a tab up there at the top called “101 in 1001.” Just click that. Let’s see where I stand now!

3. Watch 5 movies from this site (<- link). (1/5)

Many moons ago, Lauren and I got together to watch The Shop Around the Corner, which is number 94 on the list. For those of you who don’t know, this is the movie that You’ve Got Mail is based on. YGM is one of my all-time favorite movies and I was ashamed that I had never seen The Shop Around the Corner. So how does it measure up? We loved it. It was charming and sweet. And if you’ve memorized YGM like we have, you’ll noticed every little similarity. This is a movie I want to own.

39. Make a hard copy of my blog.

I realize this isn’t reasonable or even desired anymore. It’s just too long. As long as the internet is around, it’s accessible. So I need to replace this with something else. Ideas?

42. Organize the panty. (edited to add… this is supposed to say “PANTRY”… spellcheck didn’t show me my error since “panty” is a word)

I have done this. It’s been so long that it’s time to clean it again. We have weird pantries. They are narrow and deep. Who designs narrow and deep pantries??? Probably a man. One has shelves and doesn’t- it is this closet thing. They are dumb and I hate them. I got a white wire drawer set to go in the pantry without shelves and it’s done me well.

44. Find a place to pick berries.

Joy to the world!!!!! Stephen and I are doing this on Saturday. I have always wanted to pick berries and there is a place about 40 minutes away where I can do it! May 8 is the last strawberry picking day so I want to hurry up and get over there. I’m so excited! I plan to eat a lot of them, make some strawberry bread, and freeze a ton for smoothies and future usage. I hear this place also has other great produce so we’ll see what else we come up with! YAY!

46. Go to bed before 9:30 three times.

HA. Done. Pregnancy will do that to a girl!

73. Clean the carpet in the master bedroom.

Done. We had Stanley Steamer come out to clean our room and Rookie’s room. Rookie had a bout of explosive diarrhea while we were at work one day… I don’t want to talk about it. We had no choice but to steam the heck out of the floors. They looked great for about a week and then all the really old stains came right back up. So now my new goal is to get new carpet. I was hoping this would be a pre-baby goal but it’s looking like it won’t happen.

75. Eat at 10 new restaurants.

I’m not keeping track of this very well. I’m sure I’ve been to more. Most recently I went to Iron Works in Austin for some BBQ. It’s been around forever and I’ve seen it a million times. It was really good. Not as good as The Saltlick, but nothing really is. Oh and a few months ago I went to a Mexican restaurant called Loma Linda. DELICIOUS!

82. Take Rookie to the dog park.

We found a great dog park by our house. It is huge and has trees and a walking track. It’s great. We went pretty regularly for a couple weeks and then I almost died from an allergy attack so we decided to stay indoors for a while. We’ll go back once Houston decides not to be yellow anymore.

Not too bad. I still have a ways to go but I’ve made a pretty good dent in the list. Anyone else have a list that they are plowing though? Feel free to leave the link so we can all go visit.

Entry filed under: 101 in 1001, Chelsea.

Loser 9.15: Cue “Everything Is Bigger In Texas” Puns Seven Quick Takes – Slow Days, Quick Weeks

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Big W-D  |  April 29, 2010 at 9:55 am

    I took a look at your movie list. Of those, I really recommend #3 (must see! The GF and I watched it recently – there’s something for everyone in that film), 13, 19, 30, 44, 76 and 88. Stephen will probably like both #30 and #76 (be sure to get the original with Sinatra!) if he hasn’t already seen them.

    I have #14, 16, 18, 26, 60, 67(hilarious!) and 76 if you want to borrow those.

  • 2. Jessica  |  April 29, 2010 at 10:01 am

    When I was reading number 42, I was seriously confused. Organize the panty?? Then I kept reading and realized it was supposed to be pantry. I love typos that are actual words. They make me laugh.

    I love The Shop Around the Corner! It’s one of my favorite old movies. You should watch The Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer. It’s really funny.

  • 3. Stacie  |  April 29, 2010 at 10:07 am

    Berry picking: my new favorite activity. Last year I picked 10 pounds of raspberries and make 20 jars of jam. It was a sticky, super fun mess. I highly recommend it.

  • 4. Sara  |  April 29, 2010 at 10:32 am

    YGM is one of my favorite movies of all time! How did I not know it was based on another movie?! I will have to see that now. And since you brought it up, I’ll have to break out my YGM dvd tonight after work. The hubby will thank you for that, I’m sure 😉 He’s a trooper, but can only watch certain movies so many times, especially when I have to quote the entire movie. This does not amuse him.

  • 5. Joy  |  April 29, 2010 at 10:52 am

    I also really like ‘The Shop around the Corner, I will have to check out that movie site, thanks.

    Have a great time berry picking, you are about a month ahead of us so I will have to waiting a little bit longer for my turn.

  • 6. Amanda  |  April 29, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Oh my, I’m SO behind on my 101 in 1001 (http://teasinglydiverse.blogspot.com/p/101-in-1001.html)
    You’ve inspired me to go through it this weekend and see what I’ve done!
    PS – I heart YGM too 🙂

  • 7. timlinzrowland  |  April 29, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    I am going strawberry picking with my boys next week! Ours runs through the end of May. Apple picking is on my list of things to do this year also. I will be toting along a newborn I guess with that one!

  • 8. Lauren From Texas  |  April 29, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    I loved Shop Around the Corner! Let’s watch it again 🙂

  • 9. Nora  |  April 29, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    I just have to say that as Mexican food lover, I am always super jealous of the fabulous mexican food you & Lauren talk about. Always.

  • 10. The Stephanie  |  April 29, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    Awe, don’t give up on #39. I just decided to do this and what I’m doing is breaking it into years. It was so fun to go back and read all of those blog posts and I think it will be fun to have on the coffee table (or something).

    Just an idea. 🙂

  • 11. mom (Nana)  |  April 29, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    i am jealous…. I have always wanted to do the berry picking…maybe I will do that with my grandkids.

  • 12. Jill  |  May 1, 2010 at 10:33 am

    I need to watch that movie because I love You’ve Got Mail. I could watch it over and over again!

  • 13. Dad  |  May 3, 2010 at 8:26 am

    #39 – Save them to your hard drive. You won’t want to lose all of this and who knows what might happen to the web-site at some time. By having them on your hard drive you can always print or copy/paste or whatever you want to do with them.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

