Strawberry Picking

May 3, 2010 at 9:15 am 18 comments

I’m going to take a Pregnant Pause pause today. I never intended to make Mondays into a mandatory Pregnant Pause day… nor did I intend to do a PP every week. It was supposed to be something available to me when I was too tired to write anything else.

Today I’m not too tired. I want to tell you all about our wonderful day on Saturday. I begged Stephen to take me strawberry picking at this place called Froberg Farms and he agreed. The place opened at 9 and I knew it would be crowded since the last day of strawberry picking is next Saturday. I set my alarm for 8:15. I figured that would give us enough time to sleep in a bit but still make it to the farm by 10. I woke up several times early Saturday morning with a slight headache and/or stuffy nose. I kept wondering why my alarm hadn’t gone off. Finally I picked up my cell phone to see what time it was. 8:40. I had set my alarm for PM. Don’t you love it when you do that?

I got up and hopped in the shower, trying to ignore my headache. Stephen and I got ready and headed out. We ended up making it to the farm by 11. I felt like a little kid going to Disney for the first time! I had high hopes, great anticipation!

We grabbed our buckets and headed out to the field. Stephen picked a spot that he thought would be least picked over and we got to work. The strawberries looked delicious. They were bright red and shiny, nothing like the berries you find in the grocery store that have been picked too early and shipped across the country. These were fresh and juicy and red from one end to the other. One by one we tossed another berry into our bucket. “Let me see your bucket,” I’d yell to Stephen. He’d run back over me to show off his goods. I’d show him mine. “Man, you’re beating me!” He hated when my bucket had more berries. I kept reminding him that this was not a contest. We are here to have fun! He’s a man, everything is a contest.

I had a rough time out there. With every bend, my headache would flare up. I’d try to find a spot with an abundance of berries and squat there for a bit. Then I’d stand up and my pregnancy light-headedness would rush over me. I found a spot to sit and relax for a bit… cursing the Froberg family for not strategically placing benches around the field for their pregnant patrons.

This was the first time that I’ve felt that I truly couldn’t do something because I was pregnant. I was hot, thirsty, tired, and frustrated. But Stephen picked away and I was having a fantastic time watching him! He’d show me the really big ones, the really red ones, the funny looking ones. He’d yell when he grabbed one that looked beautiful on one side but was mushy or rotten on the other. It was a blast!

At the end of our picking adventure, this was our loot.

Ladies and gents, that’s about $17 worth of fresh strawberries. We got them weighed and boxed up and then headed inside and spent another $12 on other fresh produce. Broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, tomatoes, green beans, and (of course) we had to get two fried pies. We loaded ourselves and our food into the car, talked about how much fun we just had, and pulled out of the parking lot.

As we left, we saw a sign for the Froberg Nursery where we could find citrus and avocado trees. U-Turn please! We pulled into the small area and got out. It was a little nursery with only about 3-7 of each plant. (Smart! Why uproot and pot something if it’s not going to sell yet?) We wandered, looking at nothing in particular. Being surrounded by fresh produce had left us wanting more. What better way than to have your own plants? We already have beans, tomatoes, cantaloupe, and strawberries at home that are growing and kicking butt! But somehow we felt that our life wouldn’t be complete without some citrus.

We chatted with a man there for quite some time. He was passionate, knowledgable, and friendly. We later found out that he’s one of the Frobergs. We ended up buying a satsuma tree and another strawberry plant.

Overall, we spent way too much money but we had an amazing time. It was something new and fun. Something to get us out of the house. I spent the rest of the afternoon cleaning, hulling, and freezing strawberries. I made a batch of chocolate covered strawberries. I cut 10 cups of them into the makings of strawberry shortcake. I packaged some up for my parents and in-laws. And I left a batch in the fridge for our munching pleasure.

It wore me out. My body ached and I laid on ice for a bit to soothe my throbbing muscles. I wouldn’t trade it though. I can’t wait until we have little kids that can come enjoy it. You can guaranteed that we’ll be talking the Hurstling and little Avery when they are old enough to know what a strawberry is! There were several little kids going from bush to bush, holding their giant buckets and looking for the perfect berries. They’d snag one off the bush and run to show their momma. It was too cute!

If you have the chance to do something like this, do it! Don’t just keep saying that you’re going to do it. If you’re in the Houston area, this Saturday is the last picking day of the season. Go do it! And if you pick too many, be sure to call me because I’d love to take them off your hands!

(ToT questions are posted.)

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Stephen. Tags: , , .

Seven Quick Takes – Slow Days, Quick Weeks Ten on Tuesday (29)

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  May 3, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Looks like ya’ll had a great time, they have those u-pickem things here too, but I have as of yet to do any of them.

    You have me wanting straw berries now.

  • 2. Pippy  |  May 3, 2010 at 9:40 am

    That looks like so much fun! We need to go do that sometime!

    So what are you going to be baking/cooking/doing with all those yummy berries?

  • 3. Samantha  |  May 3, 2010 at 9:47 am

    I LOVE going strawberry picking! The ones we pick ourselves always taste so much better than anything store-bought. (Mmm, and I love making chocolate covered strawberries!) Here in Charleston, there are a lot of farmer’s market with anything from fresh produce to grass-fed beef, and my husband and I love going to them at least a couple times a month. Glad you had a good time!

  • 4. Jill  |  May 3, 2010 at 9:49 am

    That looks like SO much fun! And now I’m wanting some strawberries, but even more I want to PICK some strawberries! Off to look up where I can do this… =)

  • 5. molly  |  May 3, 2010 at 9:57 am

    How fun!! I haven’t been berry picking in quite some time. I need to remedy that ASAP. Be sure you take pictures of all your strawberry creations.

  • 6. Jessica  |  May 3, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Your weekend sounds so fun and healthy!

  • 7. Lauren From Texas  |  May 3, 2010 at 10:51 am

    That sounds so fun! Glad you had a good time.

  • 8. Cousin Kim  |  May 3, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Hey – if YOU picked too many – I would love to take some off YOUR hands! Send ’em with your mama! YUMMO!
    I am soooooo jealous! It looks like so much fun! You are right – the kids will LOVE it!

  • 9. mom (nana)  |  May 3, 2010 at 10:58 am

    oohhhh they were soooo good! Thanks for sharing them with us. Made me sad that they didn’t have that place when my kids were young! But Idefinitely see it in my grandkids future….kind of like when your grandma would take the grandkids “crabbing”.. I will take them berry picking!

  • 10. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  May 3, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Those are gorgeous berries, Chelsea! I’ve never been to a strawberry farm before, but now I’m thinking I MUST find one, and soon. My mouth is watering, thankyouverymuch 🙂

  • 11. Southern Gal  |  May 3, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    Good haul! It’s something we do every year at least once.
    Love it. Wait until you have a toddler with you. They eat more than they pick!

  • 12. Jana (sidetrack'd)  |  May 3, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Looks like you guys had a great time and got some yummy berries. I took the older two kiddos strawberry picking last year and it was a lot of tun.

  • 13. Kathleen  |  May 3, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Wow! I’m reading a book about eating local food right now and I really want to do more of it. That sounds amazing!

  • 14. osarah  |  May 4, 2010 at 9:32 am

    This reminds me of our anniversary weekend last year: http://sojoandco.com/2009/05/31/a-first/

    We went to pick strawberries as well. Super fun! We’re looking forward to it again this year. Our strawberry season is a bit later than yours, but we’ll be out there in a few weeks!

  • 15. abby  |  May 4, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    That sounds like so much fun!!! We’ve been apple picking and pumpkin picking but never strawberry picking!! I love fresh fruits and veggies!

  • 16. Kristen  |  May 5, 2010 at 9:29 am

    I can’t believe berry season is almost over for you, and here they plants are still sleeping under straw.

    Jealous that you have delicious fresh berries, and I have to buy mine at the stinky ol’ store!

  • 17. Emily Jane  |  May 5, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    That looks like tonnes of fun! I used to go berry picking with my grandma when I was little 🙂

  • 18. Ten on Tuesday (67) «  |  February 15, 2011 at 7:05 am

    […] What is your favorite summertime food? Fresh berries. After our strawberry picking adventure last year, I’m now convinced that there is NOTHING better than a strawberry straight from the […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

