Ten on Tuesday (29)

May 4, 2010 at 7:25 am 30 comments

This weeks questions were brought to you by ME. I’ve been keeping a list and I’ll add questions as I think of them. I hope you enjoyed them.

1. Do you prefer markers, crayons, or colored pencils?
I love a fresh box of crayons. I love the sharp tip and perfectly smooth edges!

2. As a child, how did your parents celebrate your birthday? (Parties, cake, you pick the dinner, etc.)
We didn’t have any set ways. We got to pick what we wanted for dinner- whether we went out or my mom cooked. I always had her make apricot chicken. To this day, it’s one of my all time favorite foods. I’ve heard of families that have cakes or cupcakes for breakfast before school. I think it’s cute. Give the kid a sugar high and then send him off to school!

3. How do you feel about leggings?
I only like them if the shirt covers your butt/crotch area. I don’t want to see something skin-tight over your special places. My mom bought me a pair of maternity leggings and, boy howdy, those things are a dream! It hardly feels like I’m wearing any clothes at all! The only problem is that I only have about 2 tops to wear with them.

4. How do you prefer to follow directions? With a map? Words?
I like girl directions. Words. I like landmarks and “you’ll go 3ish minutes” and street names before the street name I need to know. I don’t want mileage, I want minutes. I don’t want north and south, I want left and right. I like to know how I know if I’ve gone to far. “If you hit the Taco Bell, turn around. You should have turned at the light before at the CVS.” That’s what I like.

5. What do you eat for snack?
Either yogurt, string cheese, or Ritz crackers and cheese. Sometimes a banana or apple. Every now and then I forget to bring a snack so I just eat my arm.

6. Have you ever ordered anything from an infomercial or bought any As Seen on TV products?
I saw the Shark Steam Mop on television and thought it looked amazing so I bought it at Bed Bath & Beyond. I was only disappointed because my tile is porous. It works well on the flooring in my living room but it doesn’t do very well in my kitchen. I don’t think the tile in there has been sealed. So the only way to truly clean that tile is on your hands and knees with a hard bristled brush. Not cool.

Stephen and I also bought this rubber bristled broom at a trade show the day after we got engaged. The guy did this whole “look at it pick up this pet hair!” and “but wait, there’s more” bit with us. He totally sold us. We bought it and of course we got one free because we ACTED NOW. It’s amazing and we still love it. It sweeps dog hair perfectly.

7. What’s your favorite thing about summer?
The beach. Fresh fruit, cold beer, and the beach.

8. Do you have a tattoo? What and where is it?
Nope, I don’t. The only tattoo I would get is something under my wedding ring. Something that means something to Stephen and me. Either our wedding verse or “three chords” or “loves” or something that is symbolic to us.

9. Are you good at journaling?
No, but I”m trying to be. For Christmas I got a 10 Year Journal. It’s amazing. There’s just enough for about 5 lines per day (with overflow pages for days that need more that 5 lines). Each page is a date. So today’s page has May 4, 2010-2020 all on one page. I think that’s more fun then having a week per page. This way, each year I can quickly see what I did that day in previous years. Maybe that’s only cool to me? I doubt it. You’re all bloggers, you like writing and words and memories. You’re jealous.

10.  What’s your favorite way to eat a hamburger?
With bacon and cheese. I’m indifferent about whether they put ketchup, mayo, or mustard… as long as it’s not dry. I like lettuce and tomatoes and dill pickles. I hate thick patties though. And I don’t want it to still me mooing. Burgers aren’t meant to bleed. But I also don’t want it cooked so long that it’s a tire. (By the way, it’s 10:30 at night and now I really want a hamburger.)

Did you like my random bunch of questions. None of them made you stop and ponder your life. I’m too tired to ponder my life. Can’t wait to read your answers! Here’s Mr. Linky.

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

Strawberry Picking Loser 9.16: MAKEOVER WEEK

30 Comments Add your own

  • 1. timlinzrowland  |  May 4, 2010 at 7:28 am

    I am hopping back on board this week. I don’t know why I kept forgetting about Ten on Tuesday…. I blame it on my pregnancy brain!

  • 2. Sue @ SimonsSistaSaw  |  May 4, 2010 at 7:47 am

    A nice hotchpotch of questions – not to taxing which I liked. The ten year journal sounds good – I like the idea of being able to know what I did on this day in history (which would be …worked…)

  • 3. Sarah  |  May 4, 2010 at 7:55 am

    I am definitely jealous about your journal- do share more about it.

  • 4. linda  |  May 4, 2010 at 8:23 am

    i have a 5 year journal! i love it. i’m on year 2 and it’s fun to see directly on top what I wrote the year before. and you’re right, I AM jealous of your 10 year journal!

    I’m a fricking journal fiend though.
    see here:

    http://linda.curious-notions.net/2009/09/a-peek-into-my-journal-collection-and-some-journal-keeping-advice/

  • 5. molly  |  May 4, 2010 at 8:34 am

    please believe I stole your answer about directions. absolutely true.

  • 6. Debbie  |  May 4, 2010 at 8:36 am

    Heck yeah I’m jealous of that journal. I love the idea of seeing what you did on the same day for the previous 10 years! Awesome!

    We have pretty much the exact same preference for landmarks! Too funny. That way is much better though!

    And, there’s nothing worse than a dry hamburger!!!

    my answers are on the linky!🙂

  • 7. Stacie  |  May 4, 2010 at 9:00 am

    duh, blogging is totally journaling. I just realized this. I need to change my answer:

    #9 Yes. I “journal” every day minus weekends when I’m out doing crazy things that I will need to “journal” later in the week in my “journal.” “journal”. Is that word getting annoying yet?

  • 8. osarah  |  May 4, 2010 at 9:35 am

    From one tired lady to another, I loved your questions. Not too much thinking but still fun🙂

  • 9. Clare  |  May 4, 2010 at 9:41 am

    YES on the girl directions!

  • 10. Lauren From Texas  |  May 4, 2010 at 9:58 am

    “I don’t want to see something skin-tight over your special places.”

    Aaaaand I just snorted. You’re funny, Hurst!

    I am sort of jealous of your journal. Gimme?

  • 11. Jessica  |  May 4, 2010 at 10:24 am

    I am so glad I stopped reading your blog on the bus. I think people were starting to think I was crazy for laughing at my phone. It’s better for all of us this way.
    I love girl directions! I hate it when guys tell me to go north for 5 miles then head west. All I can think is “and you’re going to come get me in an hour because I’m lost, right?”. That reminds me of Pioneer Woman’s story about her husband. I read it all! Why’d you have to go and get me addicted?

  • 12. Tabaitha  |  May 4, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Love that you eat your burger the same way I do. It’s dull without bacon and cheese.

  • 13. Jenna  |  May 4, 2010 at 10:49 am

    I want a 10 year journal NOW. You’re right. I am so jealous. I felt the jealousy bug rising up in me as you talked about that journal then you called me on it. WHERE CAN I FIND ONE?!
    🙂

  • 14. Taryn E  |  May 4, 2010 at 11:37 am

    1. i do love the smell of crayons, but the artist in me thinks nothing beats a huge box of prismacolor markers!!

    2. early on it was cake and parties… til they finally figured out that I hate cake! from then on it was icecream cake! Other than that, birthday dinner was birthday girl choice!

    3. not really a fan, unless, like Chelsea said, you’re covering up your lady parts.

    4. I used to like words, but i’ve learned how to do directions the “boy” way… miles, east west, etc. Plus I have GPS in my car, so that just makes it all easier.

    5. yogurt, string cheese, any kind of fruit, crackers and hummus.

    6. I also have the Shark Steam mop and I love it. I have a dog, a husband, and a two year old… swiffer just doesn’t cut it anymore.

    7. that Florida is hot, as is our pool and the end of July means lobster mini-season down in the keys!!

    8. yes. I have a dragon in the center of my back.

    9. no. i’ve never journeled. but the ten year journal does sound pretty cool!

    10. medium rare, two pieces of swiss cheese, ketchup on one bun, mayo on the other, 3 strips of bacon, 1 lettuce leaf, and 1 slice of tomato.

  • 15. Rachel  |  May 4, 2010 at 11:48 am

    You forgot the smell of crayons. I love that smell. This morning we did arts and crafts an I opened a new box of crayons for Caden. I was hard for me to hand them over to him, knowing they would get broken and not be new and sharp anymore. Ridiculous, I know.

  • 16. rachel  |  May 4, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    1. Direction = landmarks. It’s just the way it is!

    2. I don’t see many leggings here in SE MT, because, well, they just don’t look that great with cowboy boots. But when we went on our honeymoon I saw so so so many girls using them as pants. They’re not pants people! They’re something to go under a tunic/long shirt/something longer than little t-shirt. Ugh, ugh, ugh. My poor eyes! Burned!!

  • 17. Autumn  |  May 4, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    “I don’t want to see something skin tight over your special places.” Ha!! That one is gonna keep me laughing!
    And I never thought about how my favorite way to give and receive directions was a “girl” way! Love it!

  • 18. Amanda  |  May 4, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    love ’em – I’m playing along this week. I don’t have the mental energy to be reflective today either. Where did you get your 10 year journal? That’s *amazing!*

  • 19. Nora  |  May 4, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    haha, this :”Every now and then I forget to bring a snack so I just eat my arm.” is so me sometimes. I kick myself when I forget to bring a snack but it happens and then i literally want to eat my arm!

  • 20. deiala  |  May 4, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    These were really nice questions… Cleaning your kitchen sounds like it’s really hard work. I’m so glad we got those smooth floors that are easy to clean…

    Happy Tuesday!

  • 21. mom (nana)  |  May 4, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    1. Do you prefer markers, crayons, or colored pencils?
    Beautiful bright markers – must be washable!!!!!

    2. As a child, how did your parents celebrate your birthday? (Parties, cake, you pick the dinner, etc.) I always had a bday party -usually a sleepover – do not remember any special thing like meals, desserts…

    3. How do you feel about leggings?
    I only like them if the shirt covers your butt/crotch area. I don’t want to see something skin-tight over your special places.
    DITTO DITTO DITTO!!!!!!!!!

    4. How do you prefer to follow directions? With a map? Words?
    I like girl directions. Words. ENOUGH SAID!

    5. What do you eat for snack?
    Oh is that cookie/piece of candy called a “snack”???? A hand ful of nuts, string cheese, pita chips

    6. Have you ever ordered anything from an infomercial or bought any As Seen on TV products? No, but I think your bristle brush is COOL!

    7. What’s your favorite thing about summer?
    The beach. Kids out of school…laid back attitudes, longer daylight hours, grilling outside,

    8. Do you have a tattoo? What and where is it?
    Aaahhh, no! wouldn’t look too bueno on a 52 year old!

    9. Are you good at journaling? I did go through a time when I journaled my prayer time. Have several spirals of those. Not too great to look back on and see how selfish my prayers were though! When I die and you find them, don’t judge me, please!

    10. What’s your favorite way to eat a hamburger?
    with sauteed mushrooms and swiss cheese. Not red…not like leather either

  • 22. Southern Gal  |  May 4, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    I snorted really loudly when I read #3.

    Summertime = Beach!

    Waiting to hear the sex of that little one so I can sew something sweet for her/him.

  • 23. Emmie  |  May 4, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    1. Do you prefer markers, crayons, or colored pencils?
    markers

    2. As a child, how did your parents celebrate your birthday? I remember having one party when I was about 9, other than that, we did get a pineapple upside down cake baked by my mom.

    3. How do you feel about leggings?
    I agree about the long shirts covering. I saw a woman at the store yesterday with leggings on, and she should not have had leggings on, not pretty.

    4. How do you prefer to follow directions? With a map? Words?
    map

    5. What do you eat for snack?
    yogurt, string cheese, popcorn

    6. Have you ever ordered anything from an infomercial or bought any As Seen on TV products? No, I detest infomercials!

    7. What’s your favorite thing about summer?
    ice cream, swimming if I was skinny enough to buy a bathing suit. I guess I should quit eating the ice cream.

    8. Do you have a tattoo? What and where is it?
    NO! I HATE TATTOOS!!! trashy!

    9. Are you good at journaling? Not as good as I’d like to be. I too have the 10 year journal, I bought one for Chelsea and one for myself. I haven’t used it in a couple of months.

    10. What’s your favorite way to eat a hamburger?
    cheese, lettuce, tomato, and onion, also cooked through

  • 24. Stephany  |  May 4, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    That 10-year journal sounds AMAZING! I want one. And now I’m off to search for one.

  • 25. Emmie  |  May 4, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    This is where I bought the 10 year journals that Chelsea and I have,

    http://www.solutions.com/jump.jsp?itemType=PRODUCT&itemID=15184

  • 26. Sarah  |  May 4, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    Found your blog linked from a friend’s…love the Ten on Tuesday! And for the record, I LOVE the idea of the 10 year journal!!! So cool to compare each day through the years.

  • 27. Lisa from Lisas Yarns  |  May 4, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    The eat my arm comment = hilarious. Love it.

    If I don’t have my GPS, I want the same kind of directions! I hate north/south/east/west. Give me landmarks & ‘you’ve gone too far’. 🙂

  • 28. Kara  |  May 4, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    I loved your answers! And I totally go by “Girl” directions sometimes, with the “If you go past the McDonalds, you’ve gone too far.” Except if you’re from out of town. Then they don’t work.😛

  • 29. Fuegita  |  May 4, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    I love your #9! A 10 year journal, how crazy! That would be really cool, be able to see how different of a person you were 10 years ago. I read my first blog ever and I’m amazed, I annoyed myself.

  • 30. Courtney  |  May 5, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    Chelsea,
    I totally agree with you on the leggings, and the burger. And I must say, the 10 year journal sounds pretty neat!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

