Pregnant Pause – Week 20

May 6, 2010 at 8:36 am 29 comments

I’m officially 20 weeks and 4 days… which means I’m passed the halfway mark. The baby is the size of cantaloupe!

The highlight of my week is the constant baby kicks. The kicks started a week or two ago, but they are stonger and more frequent now. They make me smile all the time. The other day in the car Stephen asked, “Why are you in such a good mood? Did you have a really good day?” And I thought about it and answer, “Actually no. I have a headache, I’m seriously tired, work wasn’t great. I just felt the baby kick all day and it makes me happy.”

The Hurstling was polite enough to kick for my mom, sister, and mother-in-law. Stephen has felt the kick a few times, but not as often as he’d like. At night he often yells to my belly, “Wake up baby!! BABY! Wake up!!!” It doesn’t help but it makes us feel like we’re doing our part.

Here’s my 20 week picture.

Sometime in the next few weeks, I’ll do a Pregnant Pause that includes all of my weekly photos. I think those are fun to scroll through. Maybe it’s just fun for me. You can skip it if you want to.

As you may remember, Monday is the day we find out the sex. We have our ultrasound around 9 on Monday morning. After that appointment and the calls to our family, I’ll update the blog with the sex and name and hopefully a picture. And please know that one of the reasons we’ve waited this long to announce the name is because we don’t want opinions. If your dog has the same name, or your childhood nemesis, or your great aunt who gives sloppy kisses and smells like prunes… don’t tell us. We don’t care. Just know that we loved the name so much that we wanted to call our child that for the rest of our lives.

I loved reading all of your name guesses! As we suspected, nobody guessed either name. However, I did read a few that I really like! And I read a few that I really didn’t like!

If you’d all do me a favor and pray that the baby cooperates and shows off the goods, I’d really appreciate it. I’m going to be seriously frustrated if we get in there and the baby won’t spread ’em! I’ve been waiting patiently and there is absolutely no reason that on my 21st week, I shouldn’t get to know the gender of my baby!

That’s all I’ve got for you today. I’m so thankful that it’s Thursday. I slept through the night last night for the first time in probably 25 years. I don’t think I even woke up to turn over but somehow I’m still tired today. Hopefully I’ll get to catch up on my sleep a bit this weekend. The thought of that makes me giddy!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy, Stephen. Tags: , .

Loser 9.16: MAKEOVER WEEK Seven Quick Takes – The Last 7QT Before Our Baby Has A Gender

29 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pippy  |  May 6, 2010 at 8:39 am

    I am soooo excited for you guys & can’t wait for your big announcement!
    It seems hard to believe that you are 20 weeks. Time is just flying by!

  • 2. mrssjohnson  |  May 6, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Woo Hoo! Let the gift giving begin!! So excited for you guys!

  • 3. osarah  |  May 6, 2010 at 9:00 am

    I’m so excited for y’all to find out! I can’t wait to hear!!

    (And I completely understand on the name thing. I may have to quote you someday when we’re in the same situation. No opinions!!)

  • 4. JBBurrows  |  May 6, 2010 at 9:13 am

    I am getting excited for you and Stephen. Maybe you could suggest a woodworking project for something you need for the little one. Maybe a picture of something….not something as large as the entertainment center for Lyndsety.

  • 5. zburrows  |  May 6, 2010 at 9:19 am

    The Baby could live in my entertainment center! And they could change him on the top.

    Once the baby is here and has the name you have chosen it will feel like that was always his name.

  • 6. abby  |  May 6, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Your belly looks so cute! I can’t wait to hear about your appointment on Monday! Don’t worry, I won’t give negative feedback about the name. I hate when people do that. I didn’t give negative feedback to my girlfriend when she named her kids Rafferty and Willoughby:) Hey, they’ll probably grow up and be really cool and make those names rock! hehe! Anyway, I love that you are so excited about the kicking! It made me laugh thinking about Stephen yelling at your belly:) LOL!

  • 7. Southern Gal  |  May 6, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Looking great as always. Love those baby kicks. Nothing in the world like it…and hiccups.

  • 8. Tabaitha  |  May 6, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Loving the belly shots. Feeling the baby is my favorite part, except when it’s close to your due date and you can’t breath because all they do is kick the heck out of your stomach, ribs and lungs. But other than that, it’s fabulous!

  • 9. JBBurrows  |  May 6, 2010 at 10:31 am

    sorry about the t in lyndsey

  • 10. Joy  |  May 6, 2010 at 10:54 am

    Yay for consistent kicks, and that is great that they have been strong enough for Stephen and others to feel. I’m a week ahead and it has been just this week that Charlie has been able to feel kicks.

    Really hoping the baby cooperates for you next Monday.

  • 11. Sara  |  May 6, 2010 at 11:07 am

    Chelsea! You look so great! I can’t wait to find out the gender and name:) yay!

  • 12. Jill  |  May 6, 2010 at 11:37 am

    YAY! I’m super excited for you and can’t wait for what you tell us 😉

  • 13. Nora  |  May 6, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    Haha, hope the baby shows off the goods. love it. I hope he/she will cooperate for you! No idea what the name will be but I have a unique name (Nora is short for my full name) and I love it. Always, have always will. Point being, I never pass judgment on a name.

    And I do think scrolling through photos is fun so i vote you post them. this could be because I have to live vicariously through my friends who are pregnant since i’m no where close to that mark. and now i’m rambling… 🙂

  • 14. Jessica  |  May 6, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    I think Jillian Michaels is stupid. Pregnant women are cute.

    I kind of hope your baby is a boy, is that okay? I’ll still be just as happy for y’all if it’s a girl, I promise! Baby boys are just so cute! Plus y’all have a lot of female babies. Okay, I guess all babies are cute. I can’t wait to see pictures!

  • 15. Autumn  |  May 6, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    Praying that your cantaloupe is NOT shy on Monday!!
    Around here… we like BOYS!

  • 16. molly  |  May 6, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    You are too cute!! Seriously. I know I say that every week, but you are! And let’s not lie, everyone likes to hear how cute they are. 🙂

    I drank a TON of water and a cup of caffeinated tea the morning of my ultrasound. Someone told me a little caffeine and all the liquids would be good for a looksie. What it was good for was me being too full of water and wanting to vomit everywhere. Also, it made my weight WAY high because of all the liquids in me. I gained ELEVEN pounds that month…but it was totally because of the 12 glasses of water I’d had that morning. Jack showed off his junk though so it worked…either that or he was planning to anyway and the liquids did nothing except make me want to puke and diet.

  • 17. Angela  |  May 6, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    Hopefully this weekend doesn’t drag by slowly for you guys! Monday morning is going to be so exciting, I can’t wait to hear the announcement!

  • 18. Lauren From Texas  |  May 6, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    YAY BABY HURST!

  • 19. Taryn M. Peine  |  May 6, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    So exciting! I bet this will be the longest weekend ever for yall! It’s impossible to name your baby something that no one has a weird association with, but yet they always feel the need to tell you…I’m with you. Don’t want to hear it!

  • 20. Emmie  |  May 6, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    You always make me laugh! I get excited just thinking about Monday! That day I’ll know if I’m having a granddaughter, or grandson. I already have my morning planned that day, and told my co-worker I will be outside with my phone waiting! Please cooperate Baby Hurstling! Love from your Emmie

  • 21. Tiffany  |  May 6, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Good Luck, I’ll be thinking of you guys and I can’t wait to hear the news!

  • 22. timlinzrowland  |  May 6, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    I ate a few handfuls of skittles, a donut for breakfast and drank a coke before my appointment. Baby A was moving everywhere! It may or may not help you but it worked for me! Good luck! I can’t wait to know what your having!

  • 23. Samantha  |  May 6, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Wishing you the best of luck that the baby spreads ’em on Monday, haha! I can’t wait to hear what you’re having and what name you two picked out.

  • 24. John  |  May 6, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    I used to yell at Jack too… he didn’t care. Still doesn’t.

  • 25. Stephany  |  May 7, 2010 at 7:28 am

    I will be praying for your baby to spread his/her goods!

    I totally understand about the name thing because that would annoy me as well!

  • 26. Karen  |  May 7, 2010 at 7:42 am

    I am excited to find out what the baby is, and I hope that you get one of those ultrasound pics where the baby is looking at the camera, they are so cool.

    You look great.

  • 27. Debbie  |  May 7, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    CANNOT wait to hear the sex and the name!!! Gosh, I don’t know how you’ve waited this long! I think we knew Jacob was a boy aroound 17 weeks?

    So excited for you and to see the progression of pictures…I love stuff like that, too! 🙂

  • 28. Tina  |  May 9, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Tina is such a beautiful name.
    Just saying.

  • 29. mom (nana)  |  May 9, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    If the baby doesn’t “spread em” it is definitely a girl and DEFINITELY YOUR DAUGHTER – MODEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

