Pink or Blue??

May 10, 2010 at 12:20 pm 59 comments

The day is finally here. After a terrible night’s sleep with nightmares of an uncooperative baby, we got up and headed to our appointment. My butterflies were out of control! I had a cup of coffee to get the baby going and to make sure I had done everything in my power to promote movement.

And this is what we saw!

SO STINKING CUTE.

That, my friends, is our son.

His name is Jansen Bridges Hurst.

Want to see the proof? We did. Many times.

So, about the names. I read the name “Jansen” in a book, it was a last name. I said it aloud and Stephen and I loved it.Ā “Bridges” is Stephen and his dad’s middle name. We thought it sounded great together. We are pretty in love with the name… and pretty in love with this boy!!

He was soooo active this morning. He was kicking and punching, stretching and wiggling. They said my placenta is along the back of my uterus so I’ll be able to feel a lot of movement throughout the pregnancy since it’s not in the way. DUH. He’s been moving non-stop.

So the wait is over. We finally KNOW. We are so giddy and excited. Thanks for sharing the excitement with us!!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Pregnancy, Stephen. Tags: , .

Seven Quick Takes – The Last 7QT Before Our Baby Has A Gender Ten on Tuesday (30)

59 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Taryn M. Peine  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    Love the name!! Congratulations!!

  • 2. abby  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    Yay!!! So happy for you! I LOVE the name too! So cute. Now you can start the nursery and buying tons of blue and green stuff:)

  • 3. Holly  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    Congrats on your baby boy! I love the name! My due date is tomorrow and my husband and I are still debating names … I think we’ll just keep calling him “Baby” …

  • 4. Lauren From Texas  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    My nephew!!!!!!!!!

  • 5. Nancy  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    What a strong name! I LOVE it!! Congrats šŸ™‚

  • 6. Taryn E  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Yay! Can’t wait to see what you guys pick for nursery decorations!

  • 7. Kara  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    Gahh! So freaking cute!! I love ultrasound photos. There just something about them that makes me smile.

    And the name is awesome! Flows quite well!

  • 8. Lisa H.  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    Oh, Chelsea, I am so very happy for you and Stephen! A boy!!! I love the name too! What a blessing!

  • 9. Jessica  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    Yay! I had a feeling it was going to be a boy! I’m so excited for you! Can I babysit? That’s such a cute name!

  • 10. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Congratulations! The ultrasound pics are amazing. He looks just beautiful. It must have been amazing to see him for the first time!

    Baby boys are just fabulous. I have all nephews so would be thrilled to have a boy someday. šŸ™‚ Bring on the blue!

  • 11. Tiffany  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Congratulations Chelsea and Stephen and welcome Mr Jansen Bridges, I love the name! Can’t wait to see what else this little man has in store for his parents!

  • 12. ThatPinkgirl  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    A healthy boy! What a blessing – congratulations!!! James 1:17

  • 13. Darla Baerg  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    Hooray for Janson!!!! He IS cute and I love the name! So happy for you and Stephen! Congrats! Boys are the bomb!

  • 14. Karen  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Now you can go and shop till ya drop.
    Congrats to you and Stephen, what a beautiful profile and name.
    Now hurry up and get him outta there.

  • 15. Melanie  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    I had a sneaking suspicion that it was a boy (my mom taught me a sure-fire way to tell what it was), and I was right! Yay and congratulations to you and Stephen on your pending son!

  • 16. timlinzrowland  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    YAY I was right….and YAY for you guys too! I love the name! It is so cute! Congrats…can’t wait to see the nursery plans!

  • 17. Amanda  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    CONGRATS! Love the name šŸ™‚

  • 18. The Stephanie  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Awe!! Congratulations! What a cute little boy he is! šŸ™‚

  • 19. Logan  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    I was holding out for Duval…but, I think your choice was better.

    Love you guys. Congrats on the baby boy! Y’all are going to have a blast.

  • 20. Katherine  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    Congratulations! It’s so amazing to see those ultrasound photos. I’m thrilled for you both & glad Baby Jansen cooperated so you could get a good look.

  • 21. Samantha  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Congratulations on your baby BOY!

  • 22. mrssjohnson  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    I commented on facebook- so excited for you guys! Love the name-

  • 23. Erin  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    YAY! Congratulations! I was SO nervous at our sonogram, too šŸ™‚ Love the name! Oh, and what was it if he would have been a she?

  • 24. mom (nana)  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    Can’t wait to meet our latest grandbaby – and a precious angel HE will be – Jansen Bridges – what a PERFECT name!!!! (Did you know he has the same initials as your big bother?) I guess aunt kiki will have another “JB” to love on…..

  • 25. That Married Couple  |  May 10, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    He is BEAUTIFUL! Congratulations!!

  • 26. Caroline  |  May 10, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    he’s a cutie! Congratulations!

  • 27. Stacie  |  May 10, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Great name! So unique! Congratulations!!!

  • 28. Jana (sidetrack'd)  |  May 10, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    What a beautiful little man and a great, strong name. Congrats! I know you are excited to let the nursery plans begin. šŸ™‚

  • 29. Becky  |  May 10, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    yeah! Congratulations you will love having a baby boy! I actually know a boy named Jansen and I’ve never heard of another one! Love it!

  • 30. Courtney  |  May 10, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    YEAH!!! Congrats! And I LOVE the name. It’s unique without being…odd. šŸ™‚

  • 31. Southern Gal  |  May 10, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Yay again! And even though you don’t care šŸ˜‰ I want you to know I LOVE the name. Strong name. (My ancestors were Jensens.)

  • 32. Emmie  |  May 10, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    I am SO EXCITED! I cannot wait to hold my grandson in my arms!

  • 33. Megan  |  May 10, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    congrats!! i’m with erin–what was the girl name going to be?!

  • 34. Emily  |  May 10, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    That name is amazing! I LOVE last names as first names (hence my dog Brady!) Congratulations on your SON!

  • 35. Katie  |  May 10, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    How exciting!!! Your Ultrasound pics are perfect yall got really lucky that he cooperated so well. what a blessing and congratulations on your baby boy P.S. I love the name

  • 36. Nicolasa  |  May 10, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Wow! How exciting! Congrats!

  • 37. Christine  |  May 10, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Congrats!!! I guess I should never trust my gut feeling…

  • 38. Cousin Kim  |  May 10, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    ā™‚ or ā™€ WOOO hooooo now we finally know!!!
    Isn’t it the best feeling in the world to give a name to the little one in your belly. Now you can start calling him by name when you talk to him in your belly! Awwww…you’re more than halfway there – hang in there! All of ya! We can’t wait, either!

  • 39. Pippy  |  May 10, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    YAY!!!!!!! Congratulations!!! I am so excited for you guys & I LOVE the name.

  • 40. Kelly  |  May 10, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    I’m so happy for you! Baby Boys are the best (and I’m not biased at all!).

  • 41. molly  |  May 10, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    aaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE the name!!! Congrats!!!

  • 42. Joy  |  May 10, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    Congratulations!!
    Yay for cooperative babies!!

  • 43. Debbie Flores  |  May 10, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    I can’t stop saying CONGRATULATIONS and I can’t wait to meet little Jansen!!!!!! xoxo

  • 44. Stephany  |  May 10, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Oh, I’m so happy for you two! I even teared up a little. He’s adorable and I LOVE the name! Very strong, masculine, and unique!

    CONGRATS!

  • 45. Debbie  |  May 10, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    Yayyyyyyyyy!!!!! I’m so thrilled for you guys. You’re going to LOVE having a boy! It’s awesome. I love the name Jansen! We actually know a Jansen, can’t believe I didn’t guess that one!

    Congrats again, he’s precious! šŸ™‚

  • 46. Autumn  |  May 10, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    Awwww… He IS beautiful!!!! I was voting for a boy… not that my vote counted!
    The name is beautiful also!
    So happy for you guys!

  • 47. Jenna  |  May 10, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    YAY!!!! Congratulations on your baby boy!!! I like to think I’m a pro at picking out a baby’s “parts” on an ultrasound…but only if it’s a girl. Cuz I’m having ALLL girls. I’ve never even see what boy parts look like on an ultrasound. I am so happy for you & Stephen!!! And I love love love the name Jansen! It’s different, but not weird! I just love ultrasound pictures – Jansen is such a cutie already! šŸ™‚

  • 48. Ashley  |  May 10, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Congratulations!! And the name is absolutely perfect šŸ™‚

  • 49. Rachel  |  May 10, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    Boys are so FUN!! I’m so excited for you!

  • 50. Jill  |  May 10, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    Congratulations!!! LOVE the name, too!! So happy all seems to be well! šŸ™‚

  • 51. Kathy M.  |  May 10, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    It’s a BOY! So excited for you two and what a great name!

  • 52. Angela  |  May 10, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    Congratulations! I love the name šŸ™‚

  • 53. Smile Steady  |  May 10, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    Yay for your baby boy! That’s so exciting- and I love the name!

    (sorry, I know you didn’t want name comments, but I really do love it!)

  • 54. Betsy Lawson  |  May 11, 2010 at 4:07 am

    Dear Chelsea,

    Congratulations and blessings to you and Stephen on the impending arrival of your son! We have never met. My name is Betsy and I live in California. I found your blog awhile ago while surfing the net for the latest BL updates and have enjoyed your ramblings ever since. Normally, I am not a big “commenter”, but when I saw your post today I was completely blown away! (So much so that I even emailed a link to my sister to make sure I wasn’t seeing things.)

    Your son Jansen Bridges Hurst shares the SAME name (almost exactly when you say it out loud as my sister pointed out) as our beloved late grandfather, JANSEN BRIDGES HERTZ of Toronto. His friends called him Jeb. As I understand it his older siblings took to calling him “J.B.” which when said fast in a child’s voice sounds like “Jebby” which evolved into “Jeb” as he became a young man. Until today, I had never heard the name outside of our family. Many of us are named for my grandfather. My given name is Elizabeth Jansen in his honor.

    While I have no doubt that your son will leave his own unique mark in the world, I wanted you and Stephen to know that he enters in good stead. My grandfather was the finest man I’ve ever known. I miss him everyday. He loved his family and the LORD above all else. He taught by example and always gave more to others than he took. He made sure that his children and grandchildren grew up knowing what it means to live in the LIGHT.

    God bless all three of you as you grow into a family of your own.

    Our family will be holding your family up in prayer for the safe and healthy arrival of Jansen. May he always know God’s grace and be blessed with a lifetime of health and longevity.

    In HIS name,

    Elizabeth Jansen “Betsy” Lawson

  • 55. Danielle  |  May 11, 2010 at 8:03 am

    How precious! Congratulations on your sweet baby boy šŸ™‚ I love the names.

  • 56. Sara  |  May 11, 2010 at 9:10 am

    YAY!! Little boys are heaven! I have 3 nephews and they are amazing. He is going to love his mamma like no other. He’s a very handsome boy already, too. I’ll start working on that hat we talked about šŸ™‚ LOVE the name. So distinguished. Great choice! Congratulations!!

  • 57. Kate  |  May 11, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Congratulations on having a boy! I think Jansen is a perfect name…cute for a little boy, cool for a teenager, and strong and professional for an adult. I actually know a Jansen too. It is a very unique name. I’m also interested in what name you had picked out if you were having a girl. Have fun shopping for your little boy. He looks adorable already!

  • 58. mediumcrazy  |  May 11, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Congratulations Chelsea, wonderful news! Something is up with everyone having boys right now…I don’t know what it is, but something is definitely up.

  • 59. chris & Rory Matthews  |  May 12, 2010 at 5:55 am

    Congratulations — We are so proud for you two…
    LITTLE Boys are so sweet and so much fun…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

