Ten on Tuesday (30)

May 11, 2010 at 7:15 am 27 comments

I hope you all visited Roots & Rings yesterday to hear our good news. Stephen and I have been over-the-moon excited all day! I want to thank you for all the messages you left, however short or long they were. They all mean the world to us and we’ll go back and visit that post often. May 10, 2010 will probably go down as one of the best days of our lives.

On to the questions. This week’s batch comes from Ashley at Ashley’s Antics (<- that’s a link). All together now… THANK YOU ASHLEY.

If you have a batch of questions to submit, send them to me at chelsea (@) rootsandrings (.) com. If I’ve sent them to me through my Contact Me page but I haven’t replied, tha tmeans I never got them. That Contact Me thing is terrible and things that all mail is spam. UGH. Anyways, moving on. 

1. What was your high school superlative (if you didn’t have one- what would it have been)?
I assume this means the yearbook “Most Likely To…” stuff. I don’t think I had one. But if you would have taken a poll to pick out my personality it probably would have been “Most Likely to Get Married Right Out of College and Have Babies Shortly After.” I think there are a few girls from my high school that read this, feel free to answer!

2. What sports did you play in high school?
I played volleyball for a year or two and then I realized I wasn’t good. I don’t do things that I’m not good at. I played softball all four years. I wasn’t fantastic at that either but the team as a whole wasn’t fantastic… so I pretty much blended right in.  

3.  What was the best part about your wedding (if you’re not married yet, what are you looking forward to)?
I loved my wedding. It was beautiful, fun, joyful. The best part? The cake was beautiful.

More importantly, there were so many people there that we love. We were surrounded by people that wanted to celebrate our union. There was a full presence of God and an awareness that we weren’t just getting married in a legal and ritual way, but in a way that honors The Lord.

4. It’s your last meal– what Appetizer, Soup, Salad, Entree and Dessert would you choose?
Appetizer – Cheese fondue
Soup – My Aunt Bonnie’s Tomato Soup
Salad – Strawberry Spinach Salad or the chopped salad from Outback
Entree – Filet Mignon, medium well
Dessert – Some sort of chocolate mousse or chocolate cheesecake

I think this will be one of those answers I’ll want to change a million times when I read your answers.

5.  What song is your guilty pleasure?
Lately we’ve been listening to the 90’s music station on our television. Most of those songs could be considered my guilty pleasures. Backstreet Boys, Spice Girls, Salt N Peppa, oh and we heard No Diggity. It made me smile. And sing.

6.  What is your favorite professional sports team, and why do you like them?
Houston Astros. Because I’ve grown up in Houston and I love baseball. More often than not, they have disappointing seasons but I am not a fair-weather fan. Plus, I love BASEBALL not just a winning team. I think it’s a beautiful game regardless of who is winning. I have been known to get emotional over a game or two. Migraines, tension knots, and severe frustration. And with all do respect, Tom Hanks, there IS crying in baseball… I know because I’ve done it. When the Longhorns lost the World Series in 2004. And lookie there, I’ve gone off topic. Final Answer: Houston Astros, because I root for the home team!

7.  What is your favorite reality show and why do you like it?
Uhhhh you get one guess…. think about it.

Biggest Loser. DUH! I love it because it makes me feel happy. I love the challenges, I love the life changing weight loss. I love it all. If you are one of those types that has never seen it, WATCH IT. When Lauren and I because blog friends, I told her that she had to give it a shot… that our friendship depended on it. She tried it and now she’s hooked.

8. How would you classify your home decorating style (modern, classic, french country)?
Uhh, traditional-ish I guess. I don’t have much of a style besides hand-me-downs mixed with cheap items mixed with one or two nice things.

9. Pizza- deep dish or thin crust? White sauce or red sauce? What toppings? 
Yes. Yes. And Yes. I love pizza. I love the thin crust and deep dish. I suppose I’d prefer a deep dish or “pan” style with pepperoni. I also love canadian bacon with pineapple. But really, I love all pizza. Unless it has olives or anchovies or mushrooms.

10.  Favorite weekend getaway within a two hour driving radius?
Galveston. It’s 40 minutes from my driveway to the driveway of my parent’s beach house. It’s close enough to feel like I’m getting away but close enough to not feel stressed and needing “recoup” time. It’s 2 blocks from the beach so we can walk to the beach and back whenever we want. The house is incredibly relaxing and beautiful. It’s my happy place.

See? Happy place.

Your turn. Here’s Mr Linky!

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

Pink or Blue?? Loser 9.17: I Will Do Everything to Make You Proud

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. timlinzrowland  |  May 11, 2010 at 7:37 am

    Loving that beach house! I think I would stay forever if I visited it!

  • 2. Ten on Tuesday 3 « Life At A Difference Pace…  |  May 11, 2010 at 7:56 am

    […] Leave a Comment It’s Tuesday, yall! That means its time for Ten on Tuesday hosted over at R&R! Go check it out to see how others are answering these […]

  • 3. mrssjohnson  |  May 11, 2010 at 7:57 am

    I couldn’t put Galveston cuz it’s forever away- but still a favorite!!

  • 4. brandilicious  |  May 11, 2010 at 8:03 am

    I’m so excited for you both!

    That cake is beautiful! I’d be afraid to eat it.

  • 5. osarah  |  May 11, 2010 at 8:04 am

    Unless it has olives or anchovies or mushrooms.

    I completely agree. I was going to say “I concur,” but I try to avoid that phrase at all costs when commenting on your blog or talking to you.

  • 6. Kim  |  May 11, 2010 at 8:10 am

    That beach house is awesome! I love the paint job.

  • 7. Jana (sidetrack'd)  |  May 11, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Our decorating styles sound very similar; a kind of make do with what you have style. In fact, several of your answers are a lot like mine. The beach house is lovely; how nice to have one in the family and not too far away!

  • 8. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns  |  May 11, 2010 at 8:35 am

    Ooo, the beach house looks fantastic! I am so fortunate that my parents have one – it’s totally worth the 2.5-3 hour drive.

    Confession: I had to google superlative. I had no idea what that meant when I was answering my questions!

    I had a hard time answering the last meal question! so tough to choose just one of each course!! I cheated a bit & chose to appetizers…

  • 9. Stephanie Ann  |  May 11, 2010 at 9:00 am

    That cake is beautiful!

  • 10. Stacie  |  May 11, 2010 at 9:13 am

    I literally scream when Shoop comes on. It’s embarrassing…

  • 11. Sara  |  May 11, 2010 at 9:14 am

    I think you would have gotten best smile in high school 🙂 I’m incredibly jealous that you are 40 minutes from the beach and that amazing beach house. So jealous.

  • 12. Aunt Bonnie  |  May 11, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Chels…..I’ll make you homemade tomato soup any time. Start feeding it to Jansen early so he’ll love soup:)

  • 13. Taryn E  |  May 11, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    1. I don’t know if we really did that when I was there…. I guess most likely to succeed.

    2. What sports did you play in high school?
    Volleyball for a year til I screwed up my elbow (and then was manager for 3 years.) Basketball for 4 years, softball for 4 years.

    3. That it was casual and laid-back and soooo many friends and family came from out of state to celebrate with us!

    4. Appetizer – avocado egg rolls
    Soup – clam chowder
    Salad – the california salad from Melting Pot
    Entree – Filet Mignon, medium rare
    Dessert – my grandma’s rhubarb pie

    5. anything from the 80s. I listen to XM 80s on 8 all the time.

    6. Either the Astros or the Texans, depending on the time of year. Born and raised in Houston, so I love houston football and houston baseball. And no, I didn’t root for the Titans when they moved to Tennessee. And yes, i was pissed this year when the Titans got to wear the Oiler AFC throwback uniforms and not the Texans. I really hate Bud Adams.

    7. Survivor. Been watching it since the beginning. I love how people always go on there, and seem to have NO idea how the game is played. It’s been on for 20 seasons, people!!!!!!

    8. Eh, I’m pretty traditional I guess. i do prefer family photos and pictures that I’ve taken over big artsy peices. We have a two year old, so really my decorating style is “Fisher-Price.”

    9. Thin, red sauce (no onion), pepperoni, black olives, and mushrooms. YUM.

    10. Either Orlando… or the FL Keys… or Miami… or Naples… gotta love living in south Florida where everything is a pretty easy, accessible drive from our house. 🙂

  • 14. Clare  |  May 11, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS on your baby news. So exciting 🙂 I love that he has a unique (yet simple) name, too. Everything about him is beautiful! So happy for you guys.

    I haven’t done ToT yet but hopefully I will before the day is out.

    I REALLY need to get in on this 90’s station on the TV business. One of my friends always has that station on and I love it every time I am at her house, but then forget its existence when I’m at mine.

    I want to move into your parents beach house. Immediately.

  • 15. Tabaitha  |  May 11, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    Congrats on your little boy. I love his name. Sorry I didn’t get to comment on it yesterday, I was on a flight to Houston.

  • 16. abby  |  May 11, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    1. I was most talkative and also most flirtatious (sp?)

    2. I played softball and volleyball TOO!!

    OK, those are the only ones I’m answering today:) Your parents house looks so inviting! I want to go there! now! Lucky you that you have a little get-away so close to home!!

  • 17. mom (nana)  |  May 11, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    1. What was your high school superlative (if you didn’t have one- what would it have been)?
    Hmmm. think it would have been most likely to go to UT and find a husband…and I DID!!! And a GREAT ONE at that!!!

    2. What sports did you play in high school?
    none – ran track in midle school. Was cheerleader in middle school and in high school was in the pep squad.

    3. What was the best part about your wedding (if you’re not married yet, what are you looking forward to)? Chelsea’s cake was AMAZING – that was the ONE thing she would not compromise on – well, two. Wedding had to be at Gloria Dei Church and this was the cake she HAD to have.
    As for mine? I loved that both sisters were in my wedding standing up for me and my dearest bestest friend too. I LOVED my reception – we had it outside at a friends’ “ranch house”

    4. It’s your last meal– what Appetizer, Soup, Salad, Entree and Dessert would you choose?
    Appetizer – stuffed mushrooms
    Soup – tortilla soup -ONLY “our” recipe
    Salad – Strawberry Spinach Salad with roasted almonds
    Entree – Filet Mignon, medium with sauteed mushrooms OR fried frog legs from the Kings Inn
    Dessert – My Maw’s Peach Cobbler

    5. What song is your guilty pleasure?
    don’t have one that I can think of but I do love listening to OLD country songs – from when I was in high school and we danced and danced to them. I love to belt those out!

    6. What is your favorite professional sports team, and why do you like them?
    Answer: Houston Astros, because I root for the home team! And it saddens me to see them struggle!!!!!

    7. What is your favorite reality show and why do you like it?
    it.
    Biggest Loser – fun to watch with the whole family. The contestants are inspirational!

    8. How would you classify your home decorating style (modern, classic, french country)?
    Tradional Not a great decorator – oh well…

    9. Pizza- deep dish or thin crust? White sauce or red sauce? What toppings?
    Thin crust cooked in a brick oven. LOVE vegetarian pizzas and also margerita pizzas. Leave off the meat – except for Angelos Hamburger Pizza – YUUUMMMMM

    10. Favorite weekend getaway within a two hour driving radius?
    Ditto on Bella in Galveston….

  • 18. Autumn  |  May 11, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    That cake WAS beautiful! And looked yummy, too.
    And oh my word I am coveting that beach house. You guys are sooooo lucky. Blessed, I mean!

  • 19. Cousin Kim  |  May 11, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    HEY!!!
    There was no bacon mentioning in #4! Why have you gone dissing bacon? :o) …. At least include it in your salad or appetizer! LOL!
    I have a NEW getaway….(Of course I haven’t been to Bella yet…sooooo – I’ll have to get back to you!)
    But this past weekend Dan and I went to a beautiful B&B in San Diego, TX… (crazy…I know – it’s only 15 minutes away!)
    I had so much fun…and we are ready to go back!
    Are you still floating on air? It’s cool isn’t it? It just keeps getting better, Chels. Love every minute of it!

  • 20. Kelly  |  May 11, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    SOOO happy to hear you are having a son! That’s so exciting!!!!

  • 21. Katie  |  May 11, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    That was really a beautiful wedding cake!!! What flavor was it?? That’s always my favorite part of a wedding reception, finding out what flavor the cake is!!

  • 22. angelica  |  May 11, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    about the high school superlative– i totally wish i could find our senior newspaper with all the predictions! i remember i was going to be ‘the next carson daly’ haha. but i definitely agree with you on the being successful and happily married and having a baby! we always knew how important family was for you and now your starting your own!! congrats again 🙂

  • 23. Nicolasa  |  May 11, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    This was a great one! I really had fun with this!

  • 24. Debbie Flores  |  May 11, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Yep, you were always the “mature” one who would want to get married and have lots of babies…And you did both! Now, only if you could be at home with your family and not have to work. Man, reality sure does get in the way, doesn’t it?! Oh well…life is great and God has blessed you in so many wonderful ways!

  • 25. Ten on Tuesday « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog  |  May 11, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    […] Ten on Tuesday 1. What was your high school superlative (if you didn’t have one- what would it have been)? Best Mathematician.  Yup, I am that person! I just happened to be looking at my high school yearbook last night looking for someone.  Anyway, that’s my friend, Dan, and I.  We’re dorks! 2. What sports did you play in high school? No official sports, just danced 5 days per week and did color guard for two years. […]

  • 26. Maureen (MIL) aka Emmie  |  May 12, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    1. What was your high school superlative (if you didn’t have one- what would it have been)?
    I didn’t have one and I don’t knowwhat it would have been. I was voted “Valentine Princess” my jr. year in high school though!!!

    2. What sports did you play in high school?
    track and field

    3. What was the best part about your wedding (if you’re not married yet, what are you looking forward to)? The best part was the kiss!

    4. It’s your last meal– what Appetizer, Soup, Salad, Entree and Dessert would you choose?
    Appetizer –spinach artichoke dip with tortilla chips
    Soup – tomato
    Salad – cobb
    Entree – Filet Mignon, medium
    Dessert – chocolate cake with chocolate frosting

    5. What song is your guilty pleasure?
    Jackson Five songs! Have the cd in my car

    6. What is your favorite professional sports team, and why do you like them?
    I don’t really have one…I guess the Astros…

    7. What is your favorite reality show and why do you like it?
    it.
    American Idol, I love good music, and love to watch ordinary people make it big

    8. How would you classify your home decorating style.. I guess traditional…

    9. Pizza- deep dish or thin crust? White sauce or red sauce? What toppings?
    thin crust, red sauce, veggies, or a bbq chicken pizza

    10. Favorite weekend getaway within a two hour driving radius?
    Don’t really have one

  • 27. Courtney  |  May 13, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    I’m slow. Please forgive me.

    That’s all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

