Loser 9.18: The Marathon

May 19, 2010 at 8:26 am 14 comments

Koli, Ashley, Daris, and Michael. We are down to the final four. We are starting off with some flashbacks of their time on campus. I’ll just pepper in my thoughts. Michael is really handsome. Ashley’s face has changed so much, she looks like a completely different person. Remember that week when Daris ripped up his arms on the floor? That was gross.

They are going home for 30 days to do it on their own. Then they’ll come back to campus to weigh in. Not sure if one person will immediately be eliminated or if we’re voting for the person to keep the final slot. We shall see!

These homecoming parties are amazing!! I wish I was at all of them and could run up and hug these people. They look fantastic! I’m so proud of them!!! UGH I LOVE THIS SHOW!

“I will do everything I can to make you proud.” AGAIN. That’s probably the fifteenth time they’ve used that sound clip. Enough! Daris has lost a total of 151 pounds. Amazing. Michael has lost a total of 204 pounds. TWO HUNDRED AND FOUR. Ashley has lost a total of 143. She still has a ways to go, she could very well win this season. And Koli has lost a total of 172 pounds.

Alison showed up on their screens to tell them that they’re going to be running a marathon while they are home. Yuck. No thank you!

More random thoughts: Koli is talking about how happy he is but his tone is depressing. He doesn’t sound happy. I hope he is. Michael’s interviews from the first week… wow. His voice is so different! OH MICHAEL. How much did they pay you for the Jennie O Turkey plug? (For the record, Jennie O, there’s a tab at the top of my blog. Feel free to contact me… I can do cheesy product plugs in exchange for cash.) I love Daris’ mom! What was her name? Cheryl? “You went from a boy to a man right in front of my eyes.” In front of our eyes too. OH listen to him! “If I want to impress anyone, it’s my mom.” Atta boy! I’m proud of Ashley for growing up a bit and knowing that she doesn’t need to live the party life in order to be happy. It’s so true girl, I became the happiest when I gave that life up too.

 Ashley has perfect skin. Ashley calls Michael to chat and it seems that they have an agenda. Michael mentions that he’s up weight, he must be the one that gains. I hope not. They decide to run the marathon together. Michael calls Ashley “shortcake” and Ashley calls him “babe.” Which, as you know, means several dozen people will Google “Are Ashley and Michael dating?” I still think that they aren’t, but they may have little crushes.

Curtis Stone showed up to Daris’ house and talked about going to his favorite restaurant. He says he can’t go because there aren’t any healthy options. So Curtis adds a Daris section to the menu with a few healthy options.

UGH OH! Daris is eating. He got stressed and ate. It made him feel like crap so he ate some more. And more. Not good man. Not good!

Koli went to Vegas to work out and focus. He wanted to get away from all the temptations at home. Pretty smart. I know the trainers won’t agree because they’ll want him to get used to life at home, but really, who cares? It’s still a game. He can get used to it after the game.

Bob and Jillian surprised the contestants at their houses. I don’t really have many comments right now…

Time for the marathon. It’s raining. Bummer. Daris is leading the pack, of course. Then Koli. Then Ashley and Michael. On mile 13, Daris is met by season 2’s winner, Matt. I have no idea who that is. I wonder if they make them study these people so they don’t have to ask who they are. Sione met Koli at mile 13. Sadly, Sione has gained some weight back. I hate seeing that. Ali greeted Ashley and Mike met Michael. I LOVE MIKE! He looks like maybe he’s gained a little weight but he still looks great.

Tara’s time was 4:55 and Daris not only wants to beat it but he wants to finish around 4 hours. He finished at 4:03. Wowza! That’s pretty amazing. Koli finished at 6:08 and had a bit of a physical, emotional breakdown. Michael and Ashley finished at 6:26. I didn’t see that coming, I thought they were quite a ways behind Koli.

Time for the weight in. I hate Alison’s top. Hate it. The two above the weight in are guaranteed in the finale. The two below are up to a vote. Our vote.

Michael – 23 – 7.14% Fantastic! He’s out of the 300’s and he’s lost 23 pounds at home by himself.
Koli – 13 – 5.63%
Ashley – 18 – 7.79% Well done girl! 
(I’m dreading this… the teaser last week showed us that someone gained 2 pounds.)
Daris – +2 – Sad to see him struggle. I don’t know what’s going on with him but it breaks my heart.

So Ashley and Michael are in the finale for sure! Daris and Koli are against each other to fight for the last spot.

(My husband and my dog are wrestling on the floor. I have the worst heartburn EVER. It’s 9:00pm and I’ve had heartburn a total of about 9 hours today. Your prayers would be appreciated. Seriously)

There really isn’t a bad vote here, either are a great choice. My vote is for Daris. I’ve loved him from the beginning. He’s struggling, yes. But I’d love to see him as a finalist. Anyways, CLICK HERE to go vote. And leave me a comment to tell me who you’re voting for.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Ten on Tuesday (31) Life’s A Beach

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  May 19, 2010 at 8:57 am

    FINALE, I am excited.

    I thought last nights episode was so boring, other than the homecoming, the people surprising them in the marathon and the weigh in, it was just booorinng.

    Daris, the best way to beat those late night pigging outs is to not have that stuff in your house, grant it, I live alone so it may be easy for me, but if I don’t buy it, I can’t eat it, get it out of your house.

    I voted for Daris, because I still don’t care for Koli, I think he is just very arrogant.

    YAY, Ashley, I am hoping she wins, and I agree she has a great chance.

    Can’t wait till next week.

  • 2. exgf2009  |  May 19, 2010 at 9:06 am

    I voted for Daris – twice… I.heart.him

    Loved it last night… although it was kind of anti-climatic it still pulled at my heart strings (like a lot)

    I love this show… if I could only have 30 days with Bob and Jillian… man they are amazing!

    *HUGS*

  • 3. Ashley  |  May 19, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Daris really broke my heart at the end of the show, but I think Koli deserves it too, so I don’t know. I really enjoy Ashley more than I expected to. She’s changed a lot and I love her friendship with Michael.

  • 4. Southern Gal  |  May 19, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Voting for Daris.

    Matt from Season 2 – the first season I watched the whole thing. He’s gained a few pounds since then, but he still looks good. He married Suzie another contestant from that season and they have two little boys. Can you tell I really liked them?

    Praying about your heartburn.

  • 5. MASHley  |  May 19, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    you’d be proud chelsea. i watched biggest loser for the first time and even mentioned it on our blog.

    agree with most of what you said except i understand why they are worried about koli going to vegas. if he can’t handle being home now when he still has the show to return to and help him out just a little longer, then he is going to have some real problems after the show. it’s easy to set up a “deadline” and say i’m just going to focus on losing weight until that deadline (like the end of the show). which is great for strategy but not so great as a lifestyle. you’ll slip into gaining weight immediately after that deadline passes. it’s hard to balance home vs. being healthy when you’ve been heavy for so long. but he had a chance to “practice” and barely even tried.

    haha. okay. sorry. that was kind of long. anyway my prayers go out to you for your heartburn. good luck girl!

  • 6. Autumn  |  May 19, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    I think I had heartburn 8.5 months out of the 9… That wasn’t very encouraging, was it? Praying for some relief for you! (Have you heard the “old wives’ tale” about heartburn when you’re preggo? It’s supposed to mean the baby will/does have lots of hair. It was true for my litle guy…)
    The marathon was fun to watch. Very inspiring.

  • 7. Meg  |  May 19, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    Praying for you & your heartburn! Hang in there. Hope it eases up.

    I voted for Daris. Koli’s been getting on my nerves lately. Besides, Daris admitted that he messed up, and I think he can turn things around.

  • 8. Kristen  |  May 19, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    I don’t think they are letting Canadian’s vote, but it broke my heart that Daris is stressing about ‘never getting a girlfriend’. He’s a great guy with a good heart, if he can’t find someone down there, he should come to Canada and I’ll set him up 😉

    Hope the heartburn goes away soon!

  • 9. Taryn E  |  May 19, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    Ugh. Heartburn. Hope it feels better. My doc gave me the okay to use Pepcid chewables once I was at the 5 month mark. Really really helped!

    I voted for Daris.

  • 10. osarah  |  May 19, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    I voted for Daris…all 10 times it allowed me to on the web. On vote 8 I started to feel like I was being a little mean to Koli. This is why I shouldn’t judge things.

    Hope your heartburn is better today. ❤

  • 11. Heather (SIL)  |  May 19, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Daris!

    But I would really like Ashley to win the whole thing—she always makes me laugh

  • 12. mom (nana)  |  May 19, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Daris – 10 times. And Dad is voting for Daris – 10 times and aunt Kiki is voting for Daris – 10 times. Can you tell, WE LOVE DARIS! I hate that he struggled at home but am impressed that he KNOWS it and so he can watch that when the show is over. I really like Ashley and Michael too so it would be okay with me if any of those 3 win. I am just not happy with Koli’s attitude. He is just a bit arrogant for me, thank you very much….

    Hope the Papaya extract helps with the heartburn….

  • 13. Lauren from Texas  |  May 20, 2010 at 8:07 am

    I think Ashley & Michael are in loooooove. And Daris is in love with Ashley. She must be a lot of fun!

    Daris’ time = AMAZING. When Michael (my husband) ran a marathon, he finished in like 3:30… & he’s a machine. 4 hours is amazing.

    I love this show & I love you for making me watch it & I love puppies & rainbows. The end.

  • 14. Stephany  |  May 20, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    I have a lot to say, so bear with me.

    First of all, Ashley and Mike are in love but Daris wants Ashley, too. Unfortunately for him, Ashley only has eyes for Mike. OMG CAN YOU IMAGINE IF THEY REALLY WERE IN LOVE?!?! Such a better-looking couple than Sam and Stephanie. 😉

    Also, I can kind of understand why the trainers would be upset with Koli going to Vegas. I mean, I totally get your point but then there’s also the side of the coin that says if he can’t make it work where he lives when there’s this big competition and $250,000 at stake…what’s to say he’ll make it work when he’s NOT fighting for the prize and it’s just his everyday life?

    I thought Daris’ speech was a LOT more heartfelt than Koli’s and that more people can see a lot of themselves in Daris. He struggled when he got home and gained weight. Most people who were obese or even overweight and have lost/losing weight know what it’s like to constantly struggle with food battles. Daris > Koli

    And I’ve just written a novel. DONE! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

