Life’s A Beach

May 20, 2010 at 8:34 am 25 comments

I don’t even know what that means. Life’s a beach? Is that a good thing or a bad thing? Whatever. I went to the beach last weekend.

Early last summer my parents bought an amazing beach house in Galveston. I invited two of my very best girlfriends from college, Kelly and Lyndsey,  to spend a weekend at the beach for a girl’s weekend. We had a blast and talked nonstop. (If you’re dying to read about it, you can click here and see what I wrote last year.) We decided that we would make it an annual event.

Last summer was also the time I met Lauren. You know Lauren, my Blog Friend 4Ever. We immediately meshed and she became one of my very best friends. We went to the PW Cooks signing where she met Kelly. Then earlier this year, Lauren and her husband joined Stephen and I on a trip to Austin to meet Lyndsey. And just like that, she became One Of Us.

Shockingly I wasn’t nervous about her joining our established group. She was our sister from another mister. Or something.

The plan was for Lyndsey to fly in at 3:30 on Friday afternoon. Kelly would pick her up and they’d make their way to Galveston. Lauren and I would meet them there when we could slip out of work unnoticed. That would have been fun if it had worked out that way. Unfortunately God had other plans. He opened up the skies and grounded all the planes. She arrived at something like 11:00 pm. Then she had to sit on the runway for an hour because the stupid plane couldn’t find a freaking parking spot. Then she couldn’t find her bag. (Let’s not get into the ridculousness of checking a bag for 2 days at the beach, but whatever. I love you Lyndsey.) So basically Kelly and Lyndsey arrived at the house at about 3:00, right about the time Lauren and I turned to pumpkins.

We chatted for an hour and then passed out. We woke up at 8:30 (WHY???) and laid in bed talking. I jumped out of bed at 8:50 when I smelled bacon. Turns out, Lauren was in the kitchen whipping us up some bacon and french toast. We wanted to wake up and have breakfast so we could get out onto the beach. After I fanned two smoke detectors (did you know that even burnt bacon still tastes delicious?) and put down a healthy portion of sugary french toast, we got ready for the beach. We got dressed, packed lunches, applied sunscreen, etc. Then we walked a few blocks to the beach.

Side note: Did you know that when you’re pregnant, your friends don’t let you carry a beach chair? It’s a pretty sweet deal. I’m considering becoming the next Mrs. Dugger so I can be pregnant my whole life.

Anyways. I have no idea where I’m going with the post. I just feel the need to tell you all about my weekend.

We got to the beach and after getting settled in we looked up and saw The Giant Black Cloud of Death heading our way. We repacked all of our stuff and headed back to the house. We only moaned a little bit. We didn’t want to go back inside because we had a perfectly delicious picnic waiting for us in our cooler on wheels so we had a picnic on the porch while watching the rain.

It was wonderful. Fabulous. And then we all started fading. What do four girls do at a beach house when they are sleepy? They take a group nap. Y’all, there are three bedrooms at this house. There are five beds. But of course we took up a whole two beds. We snuggled. Which may explain why I had a nasty cough last week and Lauren has one this week.

I don’t have the time, energy, or loyal readers to continue with the play by play of my weekend. Let’s just say that it involved homemade ice cream, fried pickles, the sun, and NON-STOP talking.

I would post a few pictures but all of mine have serious red eye and I forgot that website y’all told me to use to fix it. (hint hint… help a girl out.) But if you go to Lauren’s blog, she has a couple posted that don’t have demon eyes. I posted her link above but those of you who didn’t notice, let me help you out. CLICK HERE to visit Lauren’s blog. Here’s one picture to prove that I actually have a few… and also to show off my fried pickles.

And for the record, we are now taking applications for the fifth member of our super exclusive group. Applicant must bring some sort of sweet skill to the table. We don’t like boring people. Oh and you have to be funny. And smart. And you have to think I’m funny and smart. So basically that means that our group will stay at four. And also, it’s preferable if you are above 5’8… we don’t really want anyone bringing down our average.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Loser 9.18: The Marathon Seven Quick Takes (I Think It’s Actually Wednesday)

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Southern Gal  |  May 20, 2010 at 8:42 am

    You’re too funny! I could be the grandma of the group. I’m 5’11” and don’t have a problem having fun. AND I think you’re smart.

    http://www.picnik.com

  • 2. osarah  |  May 20, 2010 at 8:44 am

    I think I meet the qualifications – I’d bring the intrigue of having lived abroad and the goofiness of making up random songs throughout my day. Sometimes I don’t know I’m singing them outloud. You know I’m about 5’9″ but today I am 6′. I just measured my heels at work. I’m that cool.

    All that said, can I join you all at the beach sometime?

  • 3. TarynE  |  May 20, 2010 at 9:14 am

    LOL. I don’t live in Houston, so I’m immediately disqualified. However, if any of y’all feel the need to take a beach vacation to, say, south FLORIDA, I would be more than happy to put you up in Casa Estell. 🙂

    Oh, and I’m only 5’6″, but today I’m 5’11” in my gladiator sandal wedges. 🙂

  • 4. exgf2009  |  May 20, 2010 at 9:19 am

    I’m out… 5’5 in flip flops and I’m not Jessica Simpson so I am NOT wearing stilettos to the beach. (she ALWAYS wears heels and it’s kind of annoying).

    If you can over look the height thing… I think I’m pretty funny. My friends at least tell me that, but that could be just to appease me. I have a blog…so don’t I automatically qualify.

    I would bring the fact that you and the others would be the ONLY ones who know who I am … oooooo a little bit of mystery 🙂

    BK is the adult beverage business so no matter what I always bring the party (post pregnancy of course)

    I think I’m a shoe-in… I”m just sayin’ 🙂

  • 5. Sara  |  May 20, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Sounds like you had a great weekend! I wish I was close to the beach 😦

    I believe the site you’re wanting is http://www.picnik.com . It’s pretty awesome. Plus you can make fun collages there, too:)

  • 6. Stacie  |  May 20, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Crap. 5′ 7 3/4″. Too bad for “y’all”, because I could have impressed your sock off with my trombone skills.

    PS. fried pickles make me drool in a good way.

  • 7. Nora  |  May 20, 2010 at 9:56 am

    I’d like to apply. I can bake, I can play the flute, I have mastered the art of taking pictures with two different digital cameras at a time, I’m told I’m funny though I don’t think I am (which is maybe the best kind) and I’m working on my MBA with a pretty rockin’ GPA so that should help, right?

    🙂

    Glad you had a lovely time!

    the Mrs. Dugger reference made me laugh out loud this morning!

  • 8. Kathleen  |  May 20, 2010 at 10:08 am

    Ah, NOW I see why I didn’t make the cut.

  • 9. Alyssa  |  May 20, 2010 at 10:27 am

    I LOVE FRIED PICKLES!!!

  • 10. kelly  |  May 20, 2010 at 10:28 am

    YES! Height is definitely a requirement!!

  • 11. zburrows  |  May 20, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Taryn – Your actual location is not as important as your love of the great state.

    Short friends – We had a short friend once. (5’7″) It just wasnt asthetically pleasing.

    Humor is a very strong requirement. Being smart is important too. But we can overlook a few IQ points as long as your thinkg WE are really funny.

    The most important requirement is that you have A LOT of abstract thoughts and feelings and have the capacity to share them. We are a VERY communicative group.

    Being a blogger is not a requirement. 🙂

  • 12. Vanessa  |  May 20, 2010 at 10:56 am

    I feel totally left out seeing as I’m short at 5’4… 5’5 on a good day. If I suffer through wearing humongous heels, does that qualify? 😉

  • 13. Clare  |  May 20, 2010 at 11:18 am

    II think I’m going to need to start my own girls beach club for those 5’7 and under (I’m 5’4).

  • 14. abby  |  May 20, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Pick me!! I can sew you cute beach bags… that’s all I can come up with…seriously. 🙂

  • 15. Rachel  |  May 20, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Pick me!! I’m 5’10”, miss Texas and my wonderful friends there EVERY day… so much so that I’m considering finding a way to move 2,500 acres of farm ground that way. Chelsea can vouch for the fact that I have random thoughts. As for my talents… Chelsea says I have pretty handwriting, but I know have have more to offer than that. 🙂

  • 16. Kristin  |  May 20, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    I always tell the hubs that I miss being preggers when everyone catered to me. HA!

  • 17. Courtney  |  May 20, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Dang! I was so ready to apply to be the 5th (wheel?) friend to join y’all. But at a whooping 5’4″ I’m out of the running… 😦

  • 18. Emily Jane  |  May 20, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    I’m definitely not qualified – 5’3″ = a total shortarse!!

    LOVE burned bacon… possibly even more than regular bacon..!

  • 19. Lauren from Texas  |  May 20, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    You forgot to mention how Kelly would sit up in bed to talk to us. Even if it was dark in the room. She has thoughts & feelings that MUST be expressed SITTING UPRIGHT.

    My nasty cough is not a cough anymore… now it’s sneezing & runny nose. But as I said before, even if I KNEW I’d get sick, I’d do it all over again to snuggle with y’all.

    I guess next year we will have a boy at Girls Weekend? 😉

  • 20. Amanda  |  May 20, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    I was totally going to nominate myself, but I’m only 5′ 7″ ::sigh::

  • 21. mom (nana)  |  May 20, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    No, Lauren from Texas, the “little boy” will have to stay home with his daddy (or Nana or Emmie) cause it is YALL’S weekend….

  • 22. Angela  |  May 20, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    My sweet skill would have been baking (haha), but I’m under 5’8.
    You guys are missing out.

  • 23. Meghan  |  May 21, 2010 at 1:13 am

    Pick me, I can do… stuff!

    I can definitely cook bacon and take naps. I am a shoe-in!!!

  • 24. Debbie  |  May 21, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    mmmmmm…fried pickles, YUM! they are not complete unless dipped in ranch. some of yall really miss out!!

    i think I meet the minimum qualifications! definitely think you guys are hilarious and amazingly awesome. im 5’9 1/2! that’s a seriously elite club all by itself, ha! oh yeah, not to mention the cutie pie son that could be jansen’s new friend! 😉

    I’ve got some sweet skills, when can I interview for the position? are powerpoints allowed?! 🙂

  • 25. Jill  |  May 22, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Well, if I could move to TX, I’d totally apply to be in your group. But I’m pretty sure I’d get a polite rejection letter because I’m only 5’3. Le sigh.

    Though I am jealous of your girls weekend TO THE BEACH! ah I need some beach in my life.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

