Seven Quick Takes (I Think It’s Actually Wednesday)

May 21, 2010 at 8:50 am 15 comments

I don’t really think today is Friday. I swear that just last night I was watching Biggest Loser. I hope weeks don’t keep going this quickly, I’m not quite ready for Jansen’s arrival. I’m not sure I can come up with seven things to tell you after such a quick week. Let’s see.

1.
My belly button is almost even with my belly. It looks really weird but it’s fun to touch. Stephen calls it my turkey timer. The baby isn’t done cooking because the button hasn’t popped out yet.

2.
During my first trimester, my sister went through a phase where she made grilled cheese sandwiches with muenster cheese, tomato, and avocado… then she’d send me a picture message of it. So every few weeks I get this deep urge to have one. I’ve had it for dinner twice this week. If you’ve never made a grilled cheese like that, I suggest you do it so that you see why God invented muenster cheese.

3.
On Wednesday night, Stephen’s car had a meltdown. We were leaving Babies R Us in separate cars and just as I was pulling into the driveway at home, he called to tell me he was still in the parking lot. His gears wouldn’t change so it was stuck in park. Isn’t that fun? After 30-45 minutes of playing around, it finally changed. He dropped it off at the mechanic’s and we came home and tried not to sulk. It’s our old clunker. Since we carpool to work 4 days a week, we don’t have to use it much but it is still convenient to have. So turns out it was a transmission issue and it’s pretty big deal. We’ve decided to just ignore it. Ignoring things always makes them better. That’s why sometimes when Stephen doesn’t like what I’m saying, he closes his eyes. True story.

4.
A couple months ago I told you how upset I was that some idiotic squirrels were digging seeds out of my freshly planted garden. Well guess what those stupid punk squirrels did now? They are pulling up my mature strawberry plant. PULLING IT UP. Like I think these animals have thumbs and biceps.

5.
Have you seen the Swagger Wagon video? If not, watch it.

Did you watch it? Seriously. Just watch it. Then if you don’t read Lauren’s blog or Lyndsey’s blog (their names are links), you may not have seen this video. Maybe one of the funniest videos of all time.

6.
My husband vacuums with his tongue sticking out. I don’t mind. He could vacuum in a toga and tiara if he wanted to. There is nothing sexier than a man vacuuming. I speak truth.

7.
I don’t know much about my child yet but I do know this. His favorite hobby is kicking my bladder. He likes to treat it as a punching bag. Or a pinata. I get the sharp sudden urges to pee and then it’s over. And then it happens again and again. It’s a very weird sensation. But I’ll take it over no kicking at all. I love to feel the little guy moving around in there!

Happy weekend to you all. I have plans that involve a baseball game, glidder testing, hanging out with family, and possibly shopping for dining room chairs. Whoo hoo.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Life’s A Beach Why I Am Not A Decorator

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TarynE  |  May 21, 2010 at 9:02 am

    #7 just wait til he’s big enough that he just SITS on your bladder and you feel like you have to pee all day long… so much fun🙂

  • 2. Stacie  |  May 21, 2010 at 9:07 am

    OMG. Funniest video EVER!

  • 3. Rachel  |  May 21, 2010 at 9:11 am

    We never found a glider we liked. We went with a rocker/recliner and I am forever grateful for that… It made more long term sense for us too because we might use it in a playroom/living room or Caden will be able to have a comfy recliner to study/read in. Plus, the few times I had to sleep in it it was great.🙂

  • 4. osarah  |  May 21, 2010 at 9:13 am

    John showed me the swagger wagon video the other day. Hi.lar.

    Ok those periods were meant to be ridiculous, but actually ended up indicating my pauses. After lar, I completely spazzed at work. I thought there was a daddy long legs on my foot. It still feels creepy crawly. Eep!

    ious.

    Have a great weekend, Chelsea!

  • 5. Karen  |  May 21, 2010 at 9:17 am

    1. My niece has no belly button at this time, it does look weird, I don’t want to touch it.

    2. Muenster cheese? Never heard of it, if I see it I may try it, but I like mine with velveeta (sp) cheese. mmmm

    3. That sucks.

    4. Go squirrels go. LOL

    5. I can’t watch videos, they blocked us at work.😦

    6. My dad use to stick his tongue out when he worked on stuff. Not sure what that is all about.

    7. My nieces baby gets mad if she does too much stuff during the day and flips and kicks until she stops and relaxes, it is funny.

    I hope your weekend is great.

  • 6. Kathleen  |  May 21, 2010 at 9:19 am

    We got our glider rocker at a nicer furniture store just this past winter–after Baby #3 was halfway through nursing.🙂 But everyone in thehouse adores it.

  • 7. abby  |  May 21, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Ok, so I don’t know what muenster cheese even tastes like, but that sandwich sound divine! yes, it’s 10:17 am and I want a grilled cheese sandwich…NOW! So seriously, what does muenster cheese taste like? I’ve heard of it before but never tasted and I don’t want to go buy a package of it if it’s one of those nasty smelling cheeses:)

  • 8. That Married Couple  |  May 21, 2010 at 9:51 am

    Ha! I had seen the swagger wagon, but not the boys will be girls. Funny!

  • 9. mrssjohnson  |  May 21, 2010 at 10:08 am

    1. Your belly button as a turkey timer, huh? I feel like that could be the name of a whole blog series on pregnancy.

    3. I’m sorry Stephen’s car had a meltdown- are you really ignoring it or just not dealing with it right now?

    4. We have squirrels dig up our garden stuff too- they make a huge mess, throwing dirt everywhere- Jim just got a BB gun, though, so maybe he’ll use it!

    5. Watched both of those videos this week- HILARIOUS! Swagger Waggon- that whole channel is funny.

  • 10. Joy  |  May 21, 2010 at 10:43 am

    #1: Me too!
    #3: Sorry about the car
    #5: Great videos, had never seen the Harvard one before
    #7: Agreed, moving is better than not!

    Have a good weekend!

  • 11. MASHley  |  May 21, 2010 at 11:50 am

    Matt –

    IN MY SWAGGER WAGON. Also, I love to vacuum.

  • 12. The Vamp Tramp  |  May 21, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    I love, love, love muenster cheese. Now I am desperately craving this sandwish.

  • 13. Jenna  |  May 21, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    I love those videos!! So funny!!!

    And my babies sound like your baby – the bladder twinges are getting a bit rediculous!! But I agree, the kicks are the best!🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  • 14. Jill  |  May 21, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    Love that video. My cousin actually posted it on facebook earlier this week w/the comment “I gotta get a minivan.”

  • 15. mom (nana)  |  May 21, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    That was the funniest video – the Harvard one – OMGosh too much fun! And it almost (and I say ALMOST) makes me want to buy that minivan!
    I wouldn’t know about a man being sexy when he vacuums….but your dad probably thinks it is sexy for a woman to work in the yard, or clean the pool, or or or…..so I guess that’s the way it goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

