Ten on Tuesday (32)

May 25, 2010 at 7:19 am 19 comments

We’ve got an easy bunch of questions this week. Not much thinking involved. That’s probably because I made up the questions and thinking is a hard activity for pregnant women.

1. What is your favorite piece of furniture in your house?
We don’t have very many new pieces of furniture. Most of what we own is second hand. But right before I graduated I bought this and I love it.

(Sorry the quality sucks, I just took it with my cell phone. You get the picture though. It’s a big beautiful red cabinet.)

But soon we will have a new beautiful dining room table. That may be my favorite. And then we’ll (hopefully) have the most comfortable recliner in the world. And that will be my favorite until the end of time.

2. If it was raining so hard on a Saturday that you couldn’t leave your house, what would you spend the day doing?
I would sleep in. Then I’d either cook, bake, watch Food Network, or maybe even clean something. I’d probably slip a nap in there because napping while it’s raining is the best. I may read or watch a movie depending on my mood.

3. What was your favorite candy as a child?
I have always loved Reese’s. But when I was a kid I also liked that nasty super sugary stuff. Like those flavored gels in a squeeze bottle, Fun Dip, Pop Rocks, etc.

4. Did you get an allowance? What was it based on? What did you do with it?
Yes I did. I don’t know how my dad calculated our allowance but he had some sort of method. We got a raise on our birthday each year. A portion went to the church and a portion went to savings, even as a little kid. Then the remainder was usually spent on nail polish, candy, and other junk from Eckerds.

5. Do you have a favorite Etsy store?
I am partial to Taryn’s shop. (<- That’s a link.) I also love Savvy Stitcher and Glamour Damaged.

6. Do you prefer time with family or time with friends?
I love both. My family is a lot of fun. But if we are talking friend time of the Lauren/Lyndsey/Kelly variety, I prefer that because it’s so rare that I get to see them.

7. Looney Tunes, Tiny Toons, or Animaniacs?
I loved Tiny Toons and Animaniacs! Looney Tunes annoys me. I think my favorite is Tiny Toons. They were so cute. We used to have the Tiny Toons game on Nintendo and if you were Plucky Duck and you stood still, he’d start tapping his foot at you. For some reason I thought that was hilarious.

8. Best daytime talk show: Oprah, Ellen, The Doctors, Tyra (ha!), Dr. Oz, or Dr. Phil?
Ellen all the way. She is hilarious. I used to really like Oprah but now she’s weird and I don’t really enjoy watching her. In all honesty, I don’t ever get to watch any of these shows because I’m at work all day.

9. Would you rather have the power of invisibility or the ability to fly?
The ability to fly. I don’t see any benefit to being invisible. You’d only use it if you were trying to be sneaky and that’s not the type of person I am. Flying could be fun but also sort of scary. And if I was the only one who knew how to fly, there wouldn’t be a huge benefit. I couldn’t really use it for vacation because I’d still have to wait for Stephen to fly in a plane with my luggage.

10. Name 1 thing you love about being an adult.
I love being married. There are plenty of other things that I also love but I only said to name one. So the highlight would be that I am married to a wonderful man. He is fun and he makes life interesting. Plus, he’s pretty easy on the eyes!

Add your link to Mr. Linky! I hope to visit around a bit this week.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Why I Am Not A Decorator Loser Season 9 Finale!

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  May 25, 2010 at 8:03 am

    1. I don’t really have a favorite, I guess I will say my couch because it is the most used in my house.

    2. Do some cleaning and then play video games and watch movies.

    3. Maryjanes, pretty much any thing with peanut butter in it.

    4. No, but I did get a quarter for each boot that I pulled off for my dad, spent it on candy of course.

    5. I have no idea what that is, so I will say no.

    6. Well most of my friends are my family in one way or another, so I guess both.

    7. Looney tunes, the road runner parts really got on my nerves but every thing else was great, the other two came out when I was in my teenage, young adult years and really got on my nerves.

    8. I too work when these shows are on, but I also like Ellen, so I will say Ellen.

    9. Invisible, I would love to be a fly on the wall in certain situations.

    10. Doing what ever (for the most part) I want to do, when I want to, how I want to.

    and PS, I went with my niece yesterday to her ultra sound, she is 8mths, and when they showed the heart beating, and the sound of it, I about lost it, the most beautiful thing I have ever seen!!

  • 2. Taryn  |  May 25, 2010 at 8:04 am

    1. My big overstuffed armchair/recliner. Its my favorite place to read.

    2. Wake up and eat breakfast with Luke. Play with Luke. Do something fun like paint or bake. Put Luke down for a nap. Eat lunch with Luke. Play with Luke again. Do you see a trend here?

    3. Cadbury eggs… a once a year Easter treat. 🙂

    4. Yeah I believe so. I have no idea what it was based on. 🙂

    5. Not really.

    6. Geez. Either really. I don’t live near my family or my friends, so we usually try to combine seeing everyone at one time!

    7. Looney Tunes!!!!

    8. I don’t ever watch any of those shows. If forced, I would probably just watch Tyra

    9. Definitely flying 🙂

    10. Being married to Rob and being a mom to Luke.

  • 3. Autumn  |  May 25, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Thinking must be hard for mothers of 11 year olds too, because I enjoyed today’s questions!!
    Let’s hear it for Pop Rocks and junk you can buy at Eckerds!

  • 4. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns  |  May 25, 2010 at 8:45 am

    I totally forgot about Fun DIp & Pop Rocks. I loved those when I was a kid, too.

  • 5. Rachel  |  May 25, 2010 at 8:46 am

    I LOVE that cabinet!!

  • 6. jen  |  May 25, 2010 at 8:59 am

    i live for Reeses! but i had to talk about the lipstick! and i totally love your answer to number ten, if i were to do this over, i may have to copy you!

  • 7. Lauren from Texas  |  May 25, 2010 at 9:02 am

    #6! #6! I want some friend time right now… I would hand you some packing tape and a sharpie & say, “Isn’t this fun?” 🙂

    Good questions!

  • 8. mom (nana)  |  May 25, 2010 at 9:33 am

    1. What is your favorite piece of furniture in your house?
    In the Nassau Bay house, my big stuffed 2 person chair. At Bella, the king size bed in our room – soooo comf. Oh and a “sinning table”???? That doesn’t sound too nice, girl!

    2. If it was raining so hard on a Saturday that you couldn’t leave your house, what would you spend the day doing?
    definitely sleep in. love to nap when it is raining. Read read read. bake some choc chip cookies with nuts and maybe some pumpkin bread….watch some t.v. (most likely get caught up on the shows that are DVR’d)

    3. What was your favorite candy as a child?
    Hmmmm I think it was a candy called The Hunk – it was long and whiteish and chewy….

    4. Did you get an allowance? What was it based on? What did you do with it?
    That was quite awhile ago and I don’t remember getting an allowance.

    5. Do you have a favorite Etsy store?
    sorry never done Etsy before! I know, I know I know….I should be ashamed…..

    6. Do you prefer time with family or time with friends?
    I love both. Different type of fun and different memories being made but IF I had to choose, I would say family.

    7. Looney Tunes, Tiny Toons, or Animaniacs?
    None of the above

    8. Best daytime talk show: Oprah, Ellen, The Doctors, Tyra (ha!), Dr. Oz, or Dr. Phil?
    I don’t really watch but since Lindsay is home from college, she watches Ellen. It is quite entertaining. She is definitely a comic and I do find myself laughing quite often at her.

    9. Would you rather have the power of invisibility or the ability to fly?
    FLY??? Are you kidding me? No way, to scared to be up there. I know, stupid fear….

    10. Name 1 thing you love about being an adult.
    Well, I love that I have a family – being married is great – hard at times, but you persevere and look what happens! You have a great marriage and great kids….it is a blessing for sure..AND NOW GRANDKIDS!!! Woo Hoo!!!

  • 9. exgf2009  |  May 25, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Totally off-topic…. It’s FINALE night!! oooo – I can’t wait!!!

  • 10. Sara  |  May 25, 2010 at 10:04 am

    Thanks for mentioning my Etsy store! How sweet of you! Love the red cabinet. Beautiful!

  • 11. Alishka Babushka  |  May 25, 2010 at 11:00 am

    Woo hoo! I LOVE your cabinet.

  • 12. Angela  |  May 25, 2010 at 11:52 am

    Hello! Great meme! I just participated for the first time on my blog and I definitely linked back to you.

    Here is the link if you’d like to read my answers! http://angieshighonlife.blogspot.com/2010/05/ten-on-tuesday.html

  • 13. Amanda  |  May 25, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    Better late than never, right? I totally put off my post even though it was written last night because I thought I’d clean off my favorite piece of furniture to snap its photo – HA! Not happening today 🙂

  • 14. Aunt Bonnie  |  May 25, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    1. My grandmother’s buffet. It’ like a shrine in my bedroom with family pictures on it.
    2. Read, read, read…..Dennis would make me an omelet, delux. Watch movies.
    3. Baby Ruth…..too sweet now!
    4. I think I got a quarter every so often.
    5.don’t do Etsy.
    6. Love my family and friends but must say family.
    7. Howdy Doody:)
    8. Do NOT watch any daytime talk shows.
    9. I’ve always had dreams of flying.
    10. Too many things to love. Sophie’s somewhere near the very top!!!!

  • 15. Smile Steady  |  May 25, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    It cracks me up that you mentioned the squeeze gel candy. The blue was the best!

  • 16. Fuegita  |  May 25, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    I love that cabinet. It’s beautiful!

  • 17. Emmie  |  May 25, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    1. What is your favorite piece of furniture in your house?
    My big green comfy couch!

    2. If it was raining so hard on a Saturday that you couldn’t leave your house, what would you spend the day doing?
    Well, I’d have to have a clean house before I could enjoy doing anything else, so I’d clean the house, then watch a movie, or Law and Order reruns.

    3. What was your favorite candy as a child?
    snickers

    4. Did you get an allowance? What was it based on? What did you do with it?
    Every Saturday, but before I got the cash, I had to do chores, like cleaning the bathroom (which was shared by 7 kids, 4 of those were boys) not fun…or vacuuming, or laundry

    5. Do you have a favorite Etsy store?
    have never beenon Etsy

    6. Do you prefer time with family or time with friends?
    I love both but if I have to choose one I would pick family.

    7. Looney Tunes, Tiny Toons, or Animaniacs?
    I don’t watch them now but as a child I prefered Looney Tunes

    8. Best daytime talk show: Oprah, Ellen, The Doctors, Tyra (ha!), Dr. Oz, or Dr. Phil?
    Ellen! She is HILARIOUS!!

    9. Would you rather have the power of invisibility or the ability to fly?
    I agree with Alice, no flying here! I’d be invisible, then I could play tricks on mean people.

    10. Name 1 thing you love about being an adult.
    My family, and knowing I am going to have the most awesome grandson in the whole world!!! I cannot wait to meet Jansen!!!!

  • 18. Nora  |  May 25, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Fun Dip! Most people don’t know what that is.

    Love the red cabinet. It’s gorgeous!

  • 19. Courtney  |  May 27, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    I’m totally with you on the rained in activities.

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other subscribers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win