Sometimes My Blog Suffers

June 1, 2010 at 7:30 am 18 comments

As you can see, this is not Ten on Tuesday. It’s not even close. And as you saw yesterday, there was no post. Same with Friday… no post. Which basically means that I am a blogging queen. I thought I’d aim to be the Paris Hilton of blogging. I’d do nothing and somehow I’d still be popular. It was an ambitious plan, I’m aware.

It failed. I got texts and emails asking if I was dead or had some sort of disease that rendered my typing fingers worthless. Neither are true. I was on vacation. If I was on top of my game, I would have scheduled some posts or at least warned you of my absence. But I’m pregnant which means I’m not on top of my game. Plus, I had a migraine on Thursday night so that took away the 5 minutes I’d allotted for blogging.

Early Friday morning I left for a family reunion in Oklahoma. Oklahoma doesn’t have the internet unless you’re sitting in PW’s lodge. I wasn’t. I was there for my dad’s dad’s side of the family. (Not a typo, I meant to say “dad’s” twice.) All of my grandpa’s brothers live in Kansas and we live in Texas, so we met in the middle at some small town in Oklahoma. There was a lake and a small “beach” (no sand equals no beach, in my opinion… but they didn’t ask me). There was one family that ran the lodge, the bait and tackle, the BBQ joint, deli, and pizza shop. All but the lodge were located in the gas station. It was… um… hilarious.

I belong to one of those families that get along. The type that you wish you could be part of. We like to see each other and spend time together. This particular family has committed to a reunion every two years. Sixty something of us, all stemming from my grandpa and his three brothers. If you don’t think that’s a big deal, you’re crazy.

Because we don’t get together but every two years, a lot changes each time. For instance, last reunion I wasn’t pregnant and Avery wasn’t around yet. The little kids from this year were just babies or toddlers last time. So while I was expecting to go hang out with a bunch of toddlers, I was quickly reminded that these kids are actually kids… they are not babies.

One in particular was quite shocking. A little boy named Leo. He’s kind of a genius. When asked how old he was he responded, “Three and a half. But I can read books.” He is not a liar. I had the pleasure of visiting with this incredibly brilliant child for quite some time on Saturday. He joined our section of the beach chairs and coolers after he saw that my mom had Sun Chips. They are his favorite, especially the ones in the green bag. When he noticed that her pasta salad had cherry tomatoes and black olives, he took a seat and made himself comfortable. He taught me to count to 29 in Spanish and assured me that it was easy. He told us countless fun facts and I can honestly say that I was thoroughly entertained. After chowing down on some pasta, fruit and chips he announced that his tummy was full of his plate but he thought that his tongue and molars could want a brownie.

I did my best to take him seriously and not laugh at everything he said. It was hard.

Kids are different these days. They eat supreme pizza and pick screwdrivers off the prize table when they win Bingo. With almost 20 kids running around showing these bizarre behaviors, my jaw was practically dragging on the ground the entire weekend. Avery even looked up from her book long enough to show my sister a bit of attitude. I think she even said, “Wassup gurl?”

I don’t know what was going on with the kids this weekend. Stephen and I couldn’t keep up. Maybe it was some strange world where the adults and kids swapped places. After all, when Stephen won Bingo his prize was a hot pink loofah. Mine was a jumbo pen. And on the way home we stopped at Dairy Queen for some kid’s meals. It made our day to get a free Dilly Bar with our lunch! I don’t know about you but I would choose some chocolate covered soft serve ice cream over black olives anyday. That’s what my tongue and molars want.

But now I’m back in Texas and I suppose that means I should go back to being an adult. I’ll cook and pay bills like an adult. I’ll plan for my baby and care for my dog. And if all goes according to plan, I’ll even blog like an adult. Fancy that!

(Adults ask for help when they need it… If you’d leave a ToT question in your comment, I’d be eternally grateful. And you’ll have a fun set of questions next week.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Pregnant Pause – Week 23 Pregnant Pause – Week 24

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Southern Gal  |  June 1, 2010 at 7:54 am

    Wish I had more time to sit and think of an incredibly ingenious question for your T o T. Since I don’t I’ll just say even though you think the blog suffers, it actually comes alive after you live life and then blog about it. You’re doing well!

    And maybe you’re paying more attention to the children now that you’ve got one on the way? I know I was that way. But that little boy sounds like a HOOT!! Would love to have a conversation with him.

    Can you please send me your address again. My computer crashed and all my emails were on IncrediMail (Never again.)

  • 2. Karen  |  June 1, 2010 at 8:25 am

    Glad you had a great holiday.
    Once the fuzziness gets out of my head I may come back with a TOT question, but at this time I have nothing.

  • 3. Joy  |  June 1, 2010 at 8:29 am

    Glad you had a good weekend, and fun at the reunion.

    ToT question: What would the title of your autobiography be?

  • 4. John O.  |  June 1, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Chelsea,

    I loved this blog post. Not only because I enjoyed hearing about your family adventures, but also because this post reminded me of the sort of writing that “old school” Roots and Rings was chock full of. I love the way you often tie the things that are going on in your life together with a closing paragraph. Frequently, it keeps me wondering until the last second “how is she going to tie her lack of blogging to adults acting like kids?” (or whatever your post happens to be about that day)

    You are such a great writer. Welcome back. 🙂

    John

  • 5. Stacie  |  June 1, 2010 at 8:38 am

    Awww….sounds like a great time. I wish my family got along enough to have reunions like that!

  • 6. Lauren from Texas  |  June 1, 2010 at 9:04 am

    My ToT question: What’s the funniest thing you’ve ever heard a child say or seen him/her do?

    Glad to have you back! I’m not a good blogger either. I am too tired & my life is too in shambles to blog.

  • 7. Autumn  |  June 1, 2010 at 9:06 am

    Sounds like a great weekend!
    I kinda like a little break now and then, myself!
    And just wait… if you think other people’s kids are funny, you’re gonna get a hoot out of your own! We think ours is hysterical.
    Have a good week!

  • 8. Emmie  |  June 1, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Glad you all had lots of fun. I love the story about Leo. That is why I love my job! Kids are the best!!!

  • 9. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns  |  June 1, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Welcome back! Glad you had a good weekend. I love getting kids meals… and the kiddie pack at the theater is perfect when I go to a movie by myself.

    Here are couple of ToT questions:
    – What is your favorite kids game to play?
    – If you got invited to a potluck BBQ tomorrow, what would you bring?
    – If your ears are pierced, how old were you when you got your ears pierced?

  • 10. Jenna  |  June 1, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Phew! You are back! 🙂

    Glad you had a great holiday!

  • 11. Veronica  |  June 1, 2010 at 10:21 am

    wow, i started to worry this weekend when i noticed there was no friday blog. glad you’re alive and okay 🙂 sounds like a fun weekend; little kids are the best.

  • 12. Sara  |  June 1, 2010 at 10:37 am

    I love that 3 year old! What a doll! He’s obviously very intelligent. Kids crack me up these days, too. They really say the funniest things. They’re always saying things in the most adult manner, which makes it funnier. I’m glad he entertained you this weekend. Sounds like the reunion was a success!

  • 13. mom (nana)  |  June 1, 2010 at 11:05 am

    great blog today! Always enjoy the weaving of stories (diito what John said)… And yes, we had a blast! Yea for reunions! T on T question…”If you were celebrating your 30th anniversary, where would you want to go?”

  • 14. Brandi  |  June 1, 2010 at 11:45 am

    I’m secretly relieved we don’t have a ToT today! I too had a crazy busy weekend filled with DMB, kayaking and a trip overnight to NYC (saw the cast of Glee totally by accident!).

    So glad you had a wonderfully packed weekend too 🙂

    ToT Q: What one blogger would you love to meet and why? And what would you want to plan to do with them?

  • 15. Jill  |  June 1, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Bahahaha! This post completely cracked me up!! 🙂

  • 16. Erin  |  June 1, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    1. What does your car say about you? If you don’t have a car, what kind of car would be your daily driver?
    2. To this point, what has been your purpose on this planet?
    3. If you could trade places with any person for any amount of time, who would it be?
    4. What is your favorite kind of cake? If you don’t like cake, what is it about it that you don’t like?
    5. Would you have wanted to live in your parents’, grandparents’ or great-grandparents’ generation or only your own?
    6. Do you have any home remedies for illnesses, cleaning or otherwise?
    7. What is your ideal weather situation?
    8. What is your best attribute (physical or personal)?
    9. Do you text or surf while driving?
    10. How long have you known your best friend?

  • 17. Rachel  |  June 1, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    I really was concerned all weekend. Really.

  • 18. Rachel  |  June 1, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    PS- Caden told Andrew at lunch today,” Daddy, its inappropriate to say the word wiener.” Kids are too smart…. Especially since I’ve never really said that “wiener” was inappropriate.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

