Seven Quick Takes After A Long Weekend

June 4, 2010 at 8:17 am 13 comments

I know this week was only four days long but I couldn’t be more ready for this weekend. As usual, I have stuff on my calendar because I like to ignore everyone’s advice to take it easy. Really though, it should be a pretty good weekend. And minus the registering, it should be stress free!

1.
Last week my phone broke. The touch screen wouldn’t work which presents a problem when all of your buttons besides “send” and “end” are on the touch screen. So basically all I could do was answer calls or call the last person that called me. I didn’t like that very much. I went to Verizon to get it fixed. Their answer, as always, is to take the battery out. That wasn’t the problem. Apparently my phone doesn’t work when the protective case is on. Stephen thinks it has something to do with a part of the case touching the screen constantly. Anyways, it’s fixed.

2.
Do any of you WordPressers know how to get my categories back? You know how they are along the right column when you are writing a draft? Well mine disappeared like a month ago. I don’t know what happened. Ten points if you can tell me a solution. Twenty points if you begin your statement with “What had happened was…” And thirty points if you know where that’s from.

3.
One of my least favorite things in life is getting to the bottom of a tube of Chapstick. It falls back in the tube and the sides of the tube scratch my lips. But I also hate starting a new tube. It’s concave at the top so part of it always cracks off onto my lips. It’s gross and a waste of a dot of Chapstick. Yes I have lots of thoughts and feeling about Chapstick. No I don’t think it’s weird. Yes I use cherry flavored Chapstick exclusively. No I will not change my mind and your flavor isn’t better. Yes I know I have a problem. No I’m not being paid by Chapstick. (Although they should pay me.)

4.
I’m not going to go into this in full detail because, frankly, I’m tired. And if you agree with me you’ll agree regardless of how many words I devote to this. That whole ump ruining the perfect game? I’m out-of-control happy that Bud Selig didn’t reverse the call. Yes it sucks. Yes I feel awful for both the pitcher and the ump. But this is baseball and human error is part of the game. If the call was going to be reversed it should have happened immediately. The end.

5.
We need curtains in our living room. We have needed curtains in our living room for two and a half years. I think that I must believe the decorating fairies are going to come hang something while I’m at work. One of these days I’ll get around to it. (sigh)

6.
We are this close to becoming a one car family. And by “this close” I mean that we will be a one car family just as soon as we figure out who to sell a clunker to and how to transfer the title. It’s a little scary but we can make it work. We carpool to work 4 days a week already, we’ll just have to adjust to make it work on that fifth day.

7.
Because the Rooms To Go delivery process is such a PAIN IN THE TOOSHIE, it looks like we might be purchasing our recliner this evening so that it can be delivered with our dining room table. You know how most places will say, “We will be there on Saturday, sometime between noon and 3 pm”??? Well not this place. They’ll be here next Saturday… sometime between 7:00 am and 10:00 pm. Well thanks a lot. That really makes things easy for us. So anyways, we know we are going to eventually get the recliner and we’re thinking we would rather just go for it now than give up another ENTIRE Saturday waiting on delivery. Can you support our decision?

The end. Happy weekend!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Out With The Old, In With The New Pregnant Pause – Week 25

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Southern Gal  |  June 4, 2010 at 8:23 am

    Support given. Can’t wait to see the Utopian Recliner!

    Didn’t Stephen say he liked a different type of lip stuff that you used when you were dating? Details are foggy…

  • 2. osarah  |  June 4, 2010 at 8:30 am

    We don’t have curtains in our living room either. I had grand ideas of making them myself. A year into living in this apartment and less than a year left…there’s no way I’m making them now.

    I completely back you up on the recliner + dining room table combo purchase. Losing a second Saturday is valuable!

  • 3. That Married Couple  |  June 4, 2010 at 8:33 am

    I can totally relate to 3 and 5. And I think it’s awesome that you’re going down to one car!

  • 4. Mama Fuss  |  June 4, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Does Rooms 2 Go then call the day of and give you a smaller window of time? I know several companies do that. At least then you can leave the house some time during the day and be ok. 🙂

    My mom promised to make curtains for my daughter’s room before she was born. She has the fabric, etc. My daughter is 2 years, 3 months old. I’ve asked her if she can try and have them done in time for this baby to move into the nursery. She’s got less than 3 months now, and I’m not sure she’s unearthed her sewing machine at this point, but I know mine is in storage while we do the construction on the new room this summer.

  • 5. DebbieQ  |  June 4, 2010 at 9:08 am

    #1- My Verizon Voyager phone (touch screen) quit working last week. I now have a Verizon cheap phone with no touch screen and I love it. Of course the whole process of getting it was like pulling teeth (blog post for next week).

    #4 – HHBL and I feel the same way. Reverse that and you open a really ugly can of worms for every other controversial call.

  • 6. Betty Beguiles  |  June 4, 2010 at 9:24 am

    #4 – Totally agree!

    #6 – We’re a one car family at the moment and it’s been surprisingly easy to manage. 🙂

    Have a lovely weekend!

  • 7. zburrows  |  June 4, 2010 at 10:03 am

    On car family. that makes me sweat. you guys are brave and eco-friendly

    I have never falled in love with a recliner. I have fallen in love with other peices of furniture… but never a recliner. So, i dont think i can totally understand it, but i fully support the purchase.

  • 8. mom (nana)  |  June 4, 2010 at 10:26 am

    #2 – not even remotely sure of what you are talking about but I can guess that statement is either from “the office” or “friends” as those are the two shows you and your sister are ALWAYS quoting….
    #3 no comment on this as you know how we all feel about your chapstick addiction
    #4 AMEN
    #5 can’t help you in the sewing dept on these but could help you go pick something out… 🙂
    #6 – you can do it!!! (At least you have family that lives close if you need an extra car!)
    #7 You have to decide that cause you know where your money is for that purchase. It is a smart move if you are close – hate to waste another saturday – esp since you don’t HAVE any saturdays to waste!

  • 9. Ashley  |  June 4, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    You are so backwards on this chapstick thing. Starting is the best part! I do feel a sense of accomplishment with finishing, though.

  • 10. Kara  |  June 4, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    I HATE new tubes of Chapstick too! And I thought I was the only one … 🙂 They’re gross and almost crusty feeling. Yuck.

  • 11. MrsSJohnson  |  June 4, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    What had happened was that you might have clicked something accidently. Try going up to Screen Options and making sure “categories” is checked. If it is, make sure it’s not accidently minimized on the side. “You’ve got mail.”

  • 12. Maureen aka MIL aka Emmie  |  June 4, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    I support your decision! And, I wish I could buy you a big brand new car! I’d do it in a minute!

  • 13. Jill  |  June 5, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    You have my total support on the decision…because think of it this way. How much is your time worth, monetarily? Just go ahead and bite the bullet. We need curtains too…so when the fairie is finished at your house, send her my way, please 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

