False Advertising

June 10, 2010 at 8:34 am 31 comments

Today we are talking about Jansen’s nursery. If you don’t care about nursery decor, here’s your warning to push that little “x” in the top right corner of your screen.

I already told you what bedding we picked out. It’s this bed skirt (<- link) with a throw pillow to match. (We didn’t order bumpers because they were too expensive and we’ve been hearing mixed reviews about having bumpers. I don’t really want to get into that right now.) Based on that decision we decided to go with turquoise, bright/lime green, and orange.

Remember that commercial that Lowe’s put out not too long ago that talked about color matching paint? All these people were bringing random items into the store to have them match the color and then this one guy brought in some huge purple stuffed animal and said he needed THAT color for his daughter’s room. Are you with me? Well Monday night, I was the dad. My crib skirt swatch was the big purple stuffed animal.

I walked into Lowe’s thinking that it would be quick and easy. I just needed two small samples, one of orange and one of green. There was an unhappy looking man behind the paint desk when I approached. “I need some help. I need to get two samples made. One of this orange and one of this green.” I wasn’t prepared for what happened. He looked at me without a smile and said, “I can’t do fabric. If I can see through it, I can’t do it. You have to go find your own swatch. And I assume you want low VOC paint so you should just look in the Olympic section.”

I’m sorry… what? I have a few issues here. Let’s discuss:

1. They can’t color match fabric?? What? Isn’t that the main thing people need to match? I tried to find the commercial to show y’all but I couldn’t find it. I wanted to see if it mentioned that they couldn’t match fabric. But the big purple stuffed animal, isn’t that fabric? As I was Googling this commercial, I did find some details about it. Apparently in that scene, it shows a Lowe’s employee matching a swatch with the big purple thing. The scanning machine didn’t match it. Maybe that’s something that should be mentioned next time, Lowe’s.

2. RUDE!

3. You’re wrong sir. Just because I need to buy low VOC paint, doesn’t mean I can only choose an Olympic color. In case you weren’t aware, you can mix any recipe in any brand of paint. Now wipe that frown off your face and get back to work. Punk.

4. “You’re going to have to find your own swatch.” Seriously? That’s the easiest way to go about doing this? Even the person in the commercial helped the customer.

So I started scanning through the 72 million swatches along the Lowe’s wall. I had worked my way through a few thousand of them and was nearing a breakdown when my parents came walking up. Thank you Lord, you must’ve known I needed some support during my time of need. I told my mom the conversation I just had with the angry man and she advised me to go to Home Depot. So I did.

This story isn’t very necessary to showing you my nursery choices but I just feel like I need to get it all out. I was peeved. When bloggers get peeved, they write about the problem.

Anyways, I went to Home Depot and timidly approached the paint desk. I told the woman, “I hope you can help. I need two samples. One of the orange, one of this light green.” She took my swatches in her hand and said, “Okay. But I need to be honest with you. I’ve worked here for 4 years and I’ve never had good luck with fabric. I’ll give it a shot but please don’t get your hopes up.” She’ll give it a shot, did you hear that? She continued, “That Lowe’s commercial has really screwed us over, people come in all the time wanting us to match fabric. It just doesn’t work well because of all the thread and the light behind it.”

She fiddled and toyed with her machine. The green looked like mustard. Wrong. The orange looked perfect. Perfectly beautifully burnt orange. I searched through green swatches on the wall and took them home.

Last night Stephen and I went back to Home Depot to have three green samples made. I wanted to get them on the wall and make a decision. Check it out:

It’s probably not the same as seeing it in real life but I love you and want you to be part of this experience. These are the paints.

Ahhh, beautiful. We ultimately chose the middle color. It’s bright without being too bright. It’s a beautiful, pure green. I love it. It’s pretty similar to the fabric, yes?

These are some other goodies that we bought for the room. Here’s a fun picture frame and the rug. The rug? Oh the softness! It’s amazing! (Yes I’m wearing tie-dye. No it’s not maternity. Yes my belly is hanging out the bottom. SORRY.)

And this is the valance that’ll go above the window. We also bought these curtains in 84″ length and they’ll replace the ugly cream closet doors that you can see behind Stephen. Also, the interior of the closet will be painted burnt orange.

We know that a baby’s room doesn’t really need pillows because they don’t actually use pillows. But we saw these and they were just too cute! Orange on one side and brown on the other. And then turquoise on one side and green on the other. Perfect! I should have taken a picture with the pillows flipped but I didn’t because I’m a doofus and it was past 10:00 and I was exhausted.

I can’t wait for it to all come together. We’ll hopefully be cleaning the carpets and/or installing the ceiling fan this weekend. (Can we talk about the ridiculousness of the previous owners? There wasn’t a single ceiling fan in this entire house when we moved in. None of the bedrooms had overhead lighting! What the what?)

I probably won’t show you any more pictures until it’s done. We have just about everything we need to put the room together, minus a crib mattress, sheets, and the actual paint we’re going to use. Oh and curtain rods. Anyone know where I can find simple curtain rods with clear balls on the end? (They are actually called “finials” but that sounds really fancy. I just need a clear ball.)

And I’m looking for a cute, easy, creative idea for a mobile. Something that is bright and fun and doesn’t clash. I know there are some creative types out there. Help me out! I’ve got nothing!

So what do you think? I told you I hate themes and I hate soft colors. How’s that for bold? And even though the bedding lady told me that it was a “true orange,” I couldn’t be more delighted that she was WRONG and it’s actually and very lovely burnt orange. All babies need a little burnt orange in their lives. Just don’t look to Lowe’s to provide that for you.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Hurst Castle, Pregnancy, Stephen. Tags: , , , , .

A Registration Story Seven Quick Takes

31 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  June 10, 2010 at 8:55 am

    I love the choices you’ve made, and I think you all did well with the green paint matching. From the photo, it was a close running between the middle one and the one on the right, and I’m glad the middle color won.

    Advice for curtain rods: our home improvement store here has several options for what you’re looking for. You may try Home Depot again. I haven’t been in a Home Depot or Lowe’s in YEARS, so I’m sorry if I am steering you wrong here. I swear the German version of Home Depot has what you want. And yes, I’m aware that information is completely useless to you. Sorry.

    Re: Mobile – have you tried Etsy? I’ll look and get back to you if I find anything on there.

  • 2. MrsSJohnson  |  June 10, 2010 at 8:56 am

    RUDE LOWE’S! And I even prefer them to Home Depot most of the time, but this has put a stain on their reputation.

    Try here for your curtain rods –> http://bit.ly/al6ddF – You might have to spray paint the rods…but you can just cover the finial in tape so it doesn’t get painted.

    You might not like this- but it kind of matches your colors– http://bit.ly/bUXOGL

    I LOVE IT ALL!

  • 3. The Stephanie  |  June 10, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Wow! Everything is so cute!! I can’t wait to see the finished product. I can tell already that it will be adorable!

  • 4. Taryn  |  June 10, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Try walmart for curtain rods. They have nice ones that won’t break the bank 🙂

  • 5. Taryn  |  June 10, 2010 at 9:03 am

    Everything is super cute, by the way! And you’re pregnant… the belly is allowed to hang out! 🙂

  • 6. osarah  |  June 10, 2010 at 9:04 am

    Ok most of what I’ve seen on Etsy is prety crummy, and I’m sure you could make something better. Sorry I don’t have better advice, but I’m sure someone else who’s much smarter than I am will dazzle you with their mobile- creativity and wisdom.

  • 7. Vanessa  |  June 10, 2010 at 9:05 am

    Love all the bright colors! So pretty and fun!

  • 8. Nora  |  June 10, 2010 at 9:07 am

    I love the color combos =) It’s way more fun to do something outside the box and a little non-traditional if you ask me!

  • 9. Veronica  |  June 10, 2010 at 9:28 am

    that’s going to be one awesome room!! Jansen will love it; specially his burnt orange closet. Hopefully when we have kiddos we’ll paint the whole room a sort of burnt orange in hopes they will love the color so much, they’ll go to UT.

    I’ve seen rods w/ clear balls at the end at Target! And they were reasonably priced 🙂

  • 10. Aunt Bonnie  |  June 10, 2010 at 9:48 am

    Gonna be bright and cheerful and a grand room for Jansen. You did good, honey! Love, love the fact that he’ll have some burnt orange:)

  • 11. zburrows  |  June 10, 2010 at 10:13 am

    I have already shared with you my T&F regarding lowe’s and there dumbness (its a word). So, I will adress how ADORABLE the entire room is. I love every single thing. I picked the middle green before you revealed that you did. YAY!

    Also, target has a great selection of curtain rods. I would check there. And Wal-Mart has a pretty good selection too.

  • 12. Kelly  |  June 10, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Looks great!!

  • 13. MASHley  |  June 10, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Ash – The room is going to look great Chelsea. Really and truly. And you are doing such a great job preparing for Jansen. Sorry you can’t come to the party this weekend, but good luck with your furniture!

  • 14. Joy  |  June 10, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Congratulations on getting so much accomplished!!
    Sympathy regarding rude people ~ I appreciate honesty ie the Home Depot person but major points to her for giving it a try.

    Have fun putting it all together!

  • 15. lazyhazysummerdaysies  |  June 10, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Lowes is not the greatest. I’m not really a fan.

    But about that creative mobile…

    You’ll need:
    2 dowel rods, maybe 3/4 of an inch in diameter (more or less)
    Ribbon or Yarn
    clear contact paper
    photos of loved ones
    sharpie marker
    construction paper or scrapbook paper with nifty patterns
    Fabric or spray paint
    glue stick

    Begin with cutting the photos into interesting shapes OR so it is just the faces. Glue to construction/scrapbook paper and cut so that the pattern is facing out. Write the name of that person on the back (optional). Cut ribbon or yarn into various lengths and tuck one end in between paper and photo. cover with contact paper. cut carefully around, leaving a small edge around the item.

    Either spray paint or cover dowel rods in fabric. Tie photos to the dowel rods. Attach ribbon with no photos, to each dowel rod, hang in crib. (Haven’t quite figured out how to do this…they sell mobile hangers, right?)

    This was just the first thing that popped into my head. I’ll think harder and see if I can’t come up with something fabulous!

  • 16. Emmie  |  June 10, 2010 at 10:48 am

    You know, Home Depot would probably love to hear about your experience, and Lowe’s too. Or send them a copy of your blog. They might ask you to be in a commercial! Can’t wait to see the room. I’d love to help paint if you need some help. Hugs to baby Jansen! And to you and Stephen too! 🙂

  • 17. Tabaitha  |  June 10, 2010 at 11:20 am

    Great color choices!

  • 18. Karen  |  June 10, 2010 at 11:30 am

    Great job Mommy to be, I like it, I love it, I want more of it.
    Really I love the colors, not what you would expect with the blue and pink, original, looks great.

    Is Steven afraid of the valance? You would think he had a snake around his neck. LOL

    Can’t wait to see the finished job.

  • 19. Sara  |  June 10, 2010 at 11:32 am

    What a douchebag at Lowes. I would complain to the manager. Okay, no I wouldn’t, but I would WANT to. I think the color you came up with is great! It’s hard to match paint colors to what you want, but I think that will work great. As for the mobile, might I suggest an Etsy search or custom order? Lots of fun mobiles on Etsy!

  • 20. Lauren from Texas  |  June 10, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    I have ALWAYS had better success with Home Depot than Lowe’s. I hate Lowe’s. Home Depot I can deal with.

    Cute stuff! Can’t wait to see it all done!

  • 21. Valerie  |  June 10, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    this nursery might give you some inspiration. Its your color scheme

    http://julia-transition.blogspot.com/2010/03/final-nursery-reveal.html

  • 22. rachieannie  |  June 10, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    I just love how the Home Depot lady commented about how the Lowe’s commercial has screwed them over, without hearing your story. Ahhh TV. If only it was reality.

    And I agree with everyone else – LOVE your color scheme! Way to go on not being like everyone else and doing your nursery in baby blue 🙂

  • 23. Southern Gal  |  June 10, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    I absolutely LOVE the bedding. Wow! And the camo part made me grin.

    I had color matching from a swatch before at Ace Hardware. It didn’t match. I took it back and they refunded the money. I’ve lost all faith in that method.

    We have a smaller Lowe’s in our small town, but we have the best paint man! I never buy paint unless he’s working because he knows his stuff.

    Can’t wait to see the finished room.

  • 24. Rachel  |  June 10, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    Go to Hobby Lobby for the curtain rods. While they don’t have a HUGE selection of rods, every time I’ve browsed through them, I have seen a cute set with glass balls on the end. Bed, Bath, and Beyond has cute ones too… they are pricey but you can mix and match finials AND use a 20% off coupon. Also, I agree about WalMart, they have a decent selection. I just avoid WalMart because I HAVE to shop there 99% of the time. Any chance I get, I choose other stores.

  • 25. becca  |  June 10, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    how exciting! i can’t wait to see how it all comes together. it’ll be such a cheerful room!

  • 26. abby  |  June 10, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    You must have been in MY Lowes! The guy that works the paint counter in my Lowes is the rudest man there! I swear to you that yesterday when I sweetly ordered my paint color and he grabbed the paint can that had the primer/paint combo, I politely told him that I didn’t want the primer/paint, just the regular paint (way cheaper) and he literally threw the can back on the shelf. Unfortunately since we have painted so much in our house, this is at least the 5th issue time I’ve had with him. My parents have had issues with the same guy and my dad thinks I should call the store manager. That is unacceptable customer service. I have learned in the past about the whole matching fabric thing. Stinks… But what I also learned is if you find something close to the color, you can ask for 1/2 the color to make it a shade lighter or 1/4 color (you get my drift.) Eventually you can match a color in a fabric it is just a pain in the rear!

    Off my soapbox! I LOVE the colors you are using in your nursery! I cannot wait to see it all together. It’s going to look great. And what a good idea to put the long drapes on the closet!!

  • 27. DebbieQ  |  June 10, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    Oh my word my friend. You are just way too nice. I might have just been marching Mr. Rude right over to the manager to have a bit of a chat before I took my business elsewhere.

    I think I get way too much enjoyment out of confrontation.

  • 28. Mama Fuss  |  June 10, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    You want serious service for paint swatch matching? Check out your local Sherwin-WIlliams store. My guy even went outside to the outdoor light (and mixed the paints 4 times before we liked the look) to make sure it didn’t just look right in the florescent lighting. They were awesome. And can label your pain color for you and keep it all on record so, 8 years from now when Jr has scratched half a dozen places around and you need to touch up, you can look it up in their computer and get the perfect match. And they have the best advice for types/consistencies, etc.

    I love the decor you’ve got going on. I was way too simple in my choices for the nursery and wish I had been more creative. I really love the way it looks, but I regret not being more creative. Of course, I have a creative friend who did a FABULOUS mural on the wall and made it look INCREDIBLE, so that certainly helps the perfection that is my nursery, but if she hadn’t, I’m afraid my daughter’s nursery would be very boring indeed.

  • 29. Autumn  |  June 11, 2010 at 7:56 am

    LOVE the color choices! That room is going to be beautiful!!
    And hubby… with the curtain rod-arms… Funny!
    I think I’ve seen curtain rod finials (clear balls) like you’re describing at Wal Mart.
    And I think Lowes should make a new commercial. One where the pregnant lady beats up the RUDE man at the paint counter. Even if he couldn’t match the fabric, he could have been much more helpful and POLITE! Geez.
    Happy decorating!

  • 30. Debbie  |  June 11, 2010 at 11:39 am

    yeah, we typically always use home depot. that guy was so rude! bet he won the customer service award last month, too! lol

    LOVE the colors and everything you’ve picked out. i can’t wait to see it all come together! 🙂

  • 31. The Handyguys  |  June 11, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Yeah, been there done that (with regards to matching colors). A few suggestions for the future.
    1) yes, the scanners will read the totality of color in an area of fabric. If the fabric can let even a little light pass through it will effect the color picked.
    2) a ‘real’ paint store will get you better help, a better quality of paint, and much better advice.
    3) matching colors from the samples in the strips is actually often more accurate. This is especially true when you have a fabric or something with a blend of different colors.
    4) the reality is that the very slight differences in shades and hues will not likely be noticeable. The lighting in the room will have the biggest effect on how the color looks.

    We did a show on picking paint colors where we interviewed a color expert, you may want to check it out at
    http://www.handyguyspodcast.com/1060/episode-105-paint-color

    You have a great blog

    The Handyguys

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

