I Am Not Ashamed

June 17, 2010 at 8:25 am 12 comments

I officially have the pregnant chick waddle. You know what it looks like, it’s nothing new. You can see a normal looking woman from the back but know she’s pregnant by the way she waddles. That’s me. I can walk normal, it’s just not as comfortable. It seems to take more focus, more work, more determination. I’m just not into that. I’d rather waddle.

You can judge me if you’d like, it doesn’t hurt my feelings. In fact, there is a woman at work that mumbles “waddle waddle waddle” as I walk by her and I don’t even want to punch her in the face. Why? Because it’s the truth and it’s nothing to be ashamed of. You try carrying approximately 25 pounds on the front of your body and walk like nothing is different. It just doesn’t work like that.

I also have a bit of a problem with my clothes. Maternity clothes aren’t that uncomfortable when you compare them to regular clothes with buttons and waistlines. But when you compare them to large elastic things or flowy dresses, there is just no contest. On the weekends I live in cotton dresses but if I’m not going anywhere, I don’t see the point in dirtying a dress.

So I get creative.

On Saturday, Stephen and I had plans to hang out at home all day so we could get a few things accomplished. We also had to be around for the Rooms To Go people to deliver our table and recliner. I saw no point in taking a shower and getting fancy so I put on a pair of Stephen’s boxers and a tank top. The boxers are turquoise and say “Wii” all over them. (In fact, click here to see a picture that I found on The Google.) The tank top… well… it wasn’t maternity.

I had no problem with this outfit. I was comfortable and, frankly, that’s all that really matters to me. But Stephen wasn’t sold. Early in the morning he said, “You’re not going to wear that when the delivery guys come, right?” I stared at him, “Why not?” And he replied, “It’s kind of revealing.”  I decided not to argue and just continue doing what I was doing… which was sweeping and mopping and generally being awesome.

We knew the delivery was going to come between 2 and 6 so I figured I had some time to hang out in my comfy clothes. And let’s face it, I was also hoping Stephen would forget that he told me to change. At 2:00 on the dot, the doorbell rang. I walked over to answer it and he stopped me. “Please go change.” Ugh. It’s not like he’s some random guy that I’m shacking up with. He’s my husband and I’m pregnant and it’s Saturday and I’m comfortable and I wanted to wear that outfit. This was no walk of shame, it was an adult pregnant woman hanging out in her own home in whatever makes her comfortable.

But I’m a fantastic wife so I submitted. I went to our room and put on some yoga pants. I kept the tank top on because I was able to hide my (apparently inappropriate) belly. I’m not sure if Stephen didn’t notice my tank top or approved, he didn’t say. Or maybe he was distracted by the excitement of our new furniture.

You’ve been asking, I heard you. Check out our new goods!

Lovely, huh?

I spent the majority of my Saturday doing a chore and then resting in the recliner. Chore, waddle to the recliner, chore, waddle to the recliner. And it made me happy.

If you want to know the honest truth, there is something that can embarrass me. It’s not a waddle through the office or short boxers in front of delivery men. Nope.

Last week I had a serious craving for a slice of cookie cake from The Great American Cookie in the mall. I caved. I stopped on my way home from work and parked at Dillards. I thought the cookie place was closest to Dillards. I was seriously wrong. I walked through Dillards, dodging the perfume ladies, out into the main area ignoring the hair straightening people and cell phone kiosks, past the food court where everyone seemed to be staring at my belly, on and on. Finally I reached the wonderful cookie kiosk. I got my slice of cookie cake and started back the other way. I was unable to wait until I got to my car to eat my glorious giant cookie. Commence embarrassment.

Big pregnant woman waddling with cookie in hand… past the food court people who are now staring at my belly and my cookie, again passing the cell phone kiosks and hair straightening people, back through Dillards and the perfume ladies with no personal space. I felt like they were all staring, all judging, all concerned about my belly and my cookie.

That’s the pregnant woman’s walk of shame. But you know what? I didn’t feel an ounce of shame! Okay well maybe I did at first, but not after that chocolate icing hit my taste buds.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Hurst Castle, Pregnancy, Stephen. Tags: , , , .

Whiskers On Kittens Seven Quick Takes

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aunt Bonnie  |  June 17, 2010 at 9:24 am

    congratulations on your new bee-u-tee-ful furniture. And yes, I’m glad you got your cookie:)
    Love you, honey.

  • 2. lazyhazysummerdaysies  |  June 17, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Whatever. You’re pregnant. You’re allowed to waddle AND have cookies.

    And, I think its funny that Stephen has boxers that say Wii on them. I’m a little immature.

  • 3. abby  |  June 17, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Good for you for getting the cookie! You deserve it! I love that you have a waddle now:) hehe. You go on with your waddle! The Wii boxers? Um, my husband has the matching fleece pj bottoms to match your hubby’s boxers. So funny! I hear you about the comfy clothes at home. I wear an oversized (well, it used to be oversized!) t-shirt and these XL knit maternity shorts that someone loaned to me. I wish I could be that comfy all the time. Unfortunately I will not go out of my house like that… We’ll see if I break down in a few more weeks:)

  • 4. abby  |  June 17, 2010 at 10:06 am

    oh yeah as if I didn’t write enough already. i totally forgot to tell you that I love your new furniture!!! 🙂

  • 5. Joy  |  June 17, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Congratulations on the beautiful furniture!!
    What a good mama you are to get that cookie when Jansen asked!

  • 6. Nora  |  June 17, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Love the color of your table!

    And now I’m craving a piece of cookie cake… I don’t know what they put in their food but it’s SO DARN GOOD!

  • 7. Heather  |  June 17, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Oh my gosh—do you remember the episode of Friends when Ross tries to make Rachel change when her pregnant belly is showing? You are now Rachel and Ross 🙂

    Love the furniture!

  • 8. Ashley  |  June 17, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    Ha ha. They were probably thinking that you looked adorable waddling along. Who could blame a pregnant lady for eating a cookie? Love the dining room table and recliner!

  • 9. Mama Fuss  |  June 17, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Oh yes, you sound like me. I am all about caving in to my cravings – when else do you have the excuse to eat what you want (within reason) than when you’re pregnant. I made my husband bring home Krispy Kremes last night. And if they were looking at you at all, they were probably amazed at your restraint for only eating 1 cookie!

    My current problem is that a)no bras fit right and b) I’d rather not wear anything at all. This becomes especially awkward since my dad is doing some construction work on my house and he comes over every afternoon (in the heat of the day) when he gets done with work. This can be any time from 1-4, so he’s “caught” me in various states of undress as I’m doing stuff around the house (thankfully, I get about 30-seconds notice because he comes around to the back of the house) but it can be a bit awkward!

  • 10. Taryn  |  June 17, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Love the furniture! 🙂

    Tell Stephen shame on him for asking you to change!! You’re preggo with his baby, and you can dress any way you please, especially in the comfort of your own home!!! Besides the fact, it’s not like you’re being disgusting revealing, like if you had a thong hanging out or something… it’s just your belly which happens to be growing a child! 🙂 I’m one to talk… I wore a bikini (and a coverup)to a pool party when I was 8 months pregnant. LOL

  • 11. Emmie  |  June 17, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Beautiful new dining table, and chairs, and recliner looks comfy! When I was about 6 months pregnant with Courtney, I was at Greenspoint Mall, and there was a cookie place there. I had never had one of those glorious cookies, but that day I got one of those concoctions of 2 chocolate chip cookies with the cream in the middle. I didn’t care who was looking, that was one of the best things I ever put in my mouth! I encourage going for your cravings!

  • 12. Southern Gal  |  June 17, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    Love your new table and chairs! Waddling is cute. Rebekah is beyond caring about what people think anymore. She went through Bojangles drive-thru the other morning and ordered 8 biscuits. She was bringing them to our house, but the drive-thru lady didn’t know that. Rebekah said she laughed when she saw Rebekah was by herself in the car. A big pregnant lady ordering eight Boberry biscuits. What’s wrong with that?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

