Pregnant Pause – Week 27

June 21, 2010 at 8:57 am 14 comments

Ladies and two gentlemen, brace yourselves. We are entering the third trimester. The land of discomfort, heartburn, puddles of sweat, and no sleep. Can you handle it? Of course you can handle it, you only have to hear about it! Can I handle it? That is yet to be determined… although I don’t really know that I have a choice.

Being two thirds of the way through this pregnancy is shocking. When other people are pregnant, I feel like they are pregnant forever. But I seriously feel like I just peed on that stick last week! So if there is a lesson in all that, here it is: Don’t get pregnant until you are good and ready… because 9 months really isn’t that long to prepare your mind for it. Luckily, we were ready. Plus, we’d been trying long enough that when we saw the pink plus sign, we were relieved that it could happen. In fact, after the initial “ohmygod ohmygod ohmygod” shock, Stephen said, “Yes! I’m not shooting blanks!” (Which apparently is a common reaction from dudes.)

Anyways, welcome to week 27. This is what I look like today.

I don’t see much of a change from last week, although I’m sure there is. I’ve had several requests to make a page of all of my belly shots since they are sort of fun to scroll through. I’ll get that together sometime.

Saturday I went to the lab for my glucose test. Thankfully the blogosphere had made this out to be equivalent to Chinese torture, so I was pleasantly surprised. It wasn’t that bad. I showed up and gave them my paperwork. They asked if I’d been fasting and then gave me a bottle of orange drink. (They didn’t ask me if I had a flavor preference… Typically the women at the lab don’t really care if you have any preference about anything at all.) She told me I had 5 minutes to drink it and then my time would start. I opened it and braced myself. Two women sitting close to me in the waiting room grimaced. “Oh I’ve been there! I don’t envy you.” Grrrreat. I drank.

Okay so I would never actually order this beverage at a restaurant, but it wasn’t that bad! Have you ever done a test that involved drinking barium? THAT IS BAD. This? This was more like drinking a super sweet Sunkist. The first few gulps weren’t awful and I wondered what all the fuss was about. By the end of the bottle, my throat burned from the sugar and carbonation. (Those are carbonated, aren’t they? That wasn’t just in my head?)

All in all, no big deal. I definitely wouldn’t even put it in the top 5 worse things about pregnancy. (For the record, I actually AM enjoying my pregnancy. I don’t want you to think that I’m not. I’m just not going to lie and say that it’s all sunshine and puppies.) The worst part of the test was the sitting and waiting for an hour while starving. And really, I’m pregnant, so I’m starving 90% of my day. I’m used to it.

I don’t know the results of the test yet. I have a doctor’s appointment on Thursday afternoon and we’ll talk about it then. I’m sure I passed.

Oh and in other pregnancy news, I’ve decided it’s time to go up a size in underwear. I think my butt has grown. Stephen just thinks that my belly has grown so much that it pulls the elastic. Either way, these just aren’t acceptable anymore. You know what’s fun? Buying new underwear! You know what’s not fun? Buying new underwear that you know you’ll only wear for 3 months and you’ll probably burst out of it in two months time anyways. I think that America should change their baby shower standards. You should have one shower at the beginning of your pregnancy, before you know anything about the baby. An All About Mom shower. You get gift cards to restaurants so you don’t have to cook, pedicure certificates, maternity clothes (including underwear), Tums, ice cream, regular strength Tylenol, fans, and money to put towards your AC bill. Brilliant? I think so!

Hope everyone had a good weekend and a fantastic Father’s Day. My dad was out of town and I’m a horrible daughter and forgot to call him. In my defense, we spent the afternoon with my in-laws and by the time we got home, I had a headache and wasn’t thinking straight anymore. FORGIVE ME DADDY!

Happy Monday!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy, Stephen. Tags: , , , .

Seven Quick Takes Ten on Tuesday (35)

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  June 21, 2010 at 9:02 am

    The glucose test I had to take didn’t involve me drinking anything, just fasting. Is it different for when you’re pregnant? Oh, and it took me almost 4 weeks to get my results.

  • 2. Taryn  |  June 21, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Buy the underwear from Motherhood Maternity…. they make super-soft stretchy ones without the annoying painful elastic. They kind of stretch along with your belly and you can wear them awhile post-partum too.🙂

  • 3. Debbie  |  June 21, 2010 at 10:56 am

    omg what a GENIUS idea to have a “shower for mom” right after you get pregnant. i love that idea!!! oh yeah, i hated buying new panties….ugh!🙂

  • 4. Debbie  |  June 21, 2010 at 10:56 am

    oh yeah, and ive had to drink barium before. NASTY!!!! i didnt mind the glucose test either.

  • 5. Nora  |  June 21, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    I think anything people have to drink at the hospital/doc’s office just tastes gross. Glad it wasn’t all that bad for you, though. I try to give one “non-mom” thinkg to my friends at baby showers becuase really the event is just as much about them as it is the fact they are housing a baby. At least in my opinion.

  • 6. Jana (sidetrack'd)  |  June 21, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    I like your shower idea. Think you could get it to catch on?🙂 I second the comment about Motherhood undies; they are very comfy (and although they aren’t the prettiest undies, they aren’t just white cotton “granny panties”)

  • 7. Sara  |  June 21, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    You look great! I can’t believe it’s the 3rd trimester already!

  • 8. Mama Fuss  |  June 21, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    In my experience, most labs simply have 1 flavor of glucose drink and that’s it, so there is no way to GET another option. You’re lucky if they have it chilled beforehand. This time around I had the orange, too and I was reminded that the orange isn’t so bad until that last oz or so… by then it tastes like that thick cough syrup I used to take as a kid… I just had mine, too and found out this morning that I failed it and have to do the 3-hour variety. It has put me into a major funk all afternoon. Hopefully, yours went better than mine.

    I went up a size in undies awhile ago. I vote for skipping the maternity undies and just getting a larger size of your usual brand. You can wear them longer past-partum that way. And if you think you’ll only wear them for the 3 months, buy the cheapest ones you can find and you can wear them immediately post-partum and throw them away when they inevitably get soiled from a leaking pad in those early days after birth.

  • 9. Emmie  |  June 21, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Happy 3rd trimester! Yay, that much closer to meeting the most wonderful grandson in the whole world! BTW, that nutella pie was absolutely DECADENT!!!!!!!

  • 10. Southern Gal  |  June 21, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    Yay for the third trimester!

    Oh.my.goodness. The ‘shooting blanks’ thing is definitely a man fave. Considering we had infertility issues those were the exact words out of my husband’s mouth, too!

    Still no baby. Rebekah is exhausted and HOT! But she’s hanging in there.

  • 11. Jill  |  June 21, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    You’re always apologizing and stuff, but I love hearing these pregnant pause stories. I think you’re getting funnier as you get more preggers🙂

  • 12. charise sprengel  |  June 22, 2010 at 12:12 am

    I know that your Daddy is NOT going to hold a missed phone call against you!!

    I have a suggestion for the sleeping pregnant arms. I’m a belly sleeper and being pregnant doesn’t allow that!! I, too, suffered from sleeping arms and found relief by placing a “normal” pillow in front of me and placing the arm that is “on top” over the pillow. If i didn’t then that arm would rest on my nerve/vein/ whatever and cause me to awake to a painful sleeping arm. Hopefully, it will help you! 😛

  • 13. charise sprengel  |  June 22, 2010 at 12:15 am

    as for the panty thing- i’ve heard, and did it myself, of many ladies just buying a larger “normal” pair of bikini panty or whatever other style you like that goes under the baby belly- couldn’t stand the granny panties that could be tucked in my armpits!! zoocko!!

  • 14. abby  |  June 22, 2010 at 9:45 am

    I loved this post! Happy 3rd trimester!!! I can’t believe how fast it has gone for you! (You are so right about the guy reaction to the positive pregnancy test. With our issues J had to get tested and lets just say that we both screamed with excitement when we found out there was nothing wrong with him… But then I realized that meant I was the problem!:) )

    Anyway, your belly looks so cute! And I love the idea of the mommy shower! Instead of buying big maternity undies, you could just wear thongs then it doesn’t matter what size your butt gets (that’s what I’m telling myself)…🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

