Open The Vent, She’s Steaming

June 23, 2010 at 9:19 am 11 comments

This has nothing to do with me being hot all the time, although it very well could. This has everything to do with a little gripe-fest.

I have a few pet peeves. I don’t think I have any more than most people, but there are definitely things that grate on my nerves. Smacking, repeating words or phrases (“I mean, like”), when Stephen clicks his fingernails together, severe channel surfing, lying or exaggerating, and MOST IMPORTANTLY being late.

It drives me up the wall when people are consistently late. It’s really a slap in the face because they are basically saying, “My time is more valuable than yours so you can just sit and wait for me at the restaurant while I finish getting ready.”  Not okay people, not okay.

Unfortunately I’ve known several people in my lifetime that have been habitual late-comers. (Sadly my husband often falls into this category, which is causing me to sneak over to the late side more than the early side… we’re working on it.) These are the people you have to lie to. “Let’s meet at Casa Ole at 6:00.” Of course you will know that you won’t be showing up until 6:15, and they’ll never know the difference because they won’t roll in until 6:25. It becomes a game. A let’s-see-how-close-we-can-guess-without-them-figuring-it-out game.

But at some point, these games aren’t fun. They are obnoxious. You want to scream at people and say, “YOU ARE AN ADULT! Get your act together and PLAN.”

The glucose test I just took could have been a nightmare for some. Why? Because there is no appointment time. While at my OB appointment last month, my doctor said, “Sometime within the week before our next appointment, you’re going to need to go to the lab for your glucose test. Try to do it at least 3 days before our next appointment so I can have the results… but not too much before then because you need to be in your third trimester (or as close as possible) and you’re just barely going to be there.”

Insert math here.

Want to see my work? My appointment it on Thursday afternoon so I can’t do my test after Monday. I hit the third trimester on Sunday so I probably shouldn’t do my test before the previous Wednesday. My schedule at work is a bit crazy these two weeks so that leaves Saturday and Sunday. They are closed Sunday. Answer: Saturday.

Want to throw some more planning kinks into the equation? We only have one car, Rookie has a vet appointment at 9:50, the lab is open from 8-12, I have to fast before the test, we have to go to Galveston at some point that day, the test is an hour long. And… go.

We decided to sleep in a bit so I wouldn’t even think about breakfast. Stephen dropped me off and the lab at 9:45 and then went to the vet. I took my test, he picked me up, we went to lunch, and then went to Galveston. Easy as pie. Although it’s not that easy for some.

I walked into the lab at 9:45 and signed in. I took a seat in the corner and tried to get comfy. The lady at the front desk called me up and asked for my paperwork. I gave it to her and she went to the back to retrieve my super sugary orange drink. I went back to my spot. Two women sitting around me looked at me with sad eyes, telling me that they’ve been there and don’t envy me. They puckered their lips and furrowed their brows as they remembered the taste. I braced myself and drank. Not too bad. I kept drinking. Still not so bad. I had five minutes to drink the bottle and I was well on my way. As I finished the last few sips, my throat was burning and I really wanted a glass of water. But the lady at the front instructed me, “No eating, drinking, walking, or chewing up. Just go sit for an hour and we’ll call you back at 10:59.” Fun.

About 30 seconds later, I was bored. I had a book but I couldn’t stay focused because I was tired and also because every 15 seconds someone else walked into the lab and started talking. I needed to people watch but got bored after 5 seconds watching each person. What a pickle I was in!

At about 10:40 my stomach was growling violently and I really wished I’d brought along a blow up mattress for a nap. A girl walked in. She had a huge purse and a laptop bag. She signed in and sat across from me. “Glucose test?” she asked. I assume my belly gave me away. “Yep, almost done with my hour though.” She rolled her eyes, “I’m about to start. I have to do the 2 hour test.”

Poor girl, I thought. She wasn’t pregnant so she was having the test done for other reasons. Sucks. Then I realized, wait… she said the 2 hour test? What time is it?

The lady at the front desk called her over and asked for her paperwork. Their conversation went as such:

Front Desk: Glucose test? Have you been fasting?
Girl: Yes.
FD: Good. Oh wait. Oh honey. You can’t take this today.
G: WHAT? Why?
FD: Well because it’s a two hour test and it’s 10:45. That would mean your test won’t be over until 12:45 and we close at noon.
G: But I called!
FD: You did? And someone told you to come at 10:45??
G: Well no. At first I called and nobody answered. Then I kept calling and finally talked to someone and they said I couldn’t make appointments over the phone.
FD: Well, you can’t.
G: So I just decided to come whenever.
FD: Well you can’t really come whenever because you have a two hour test and we won’t be open in two hours.

Around this time there was a lot of huffing and puffing and eye rolling from the girl. At first I felt sorry for her but, come on! It’s not rocket science! And you can’t blame your tardiness on the person who answered your phone call. She went to the back to do some other test the needed to be done and then came out grumpy and stomping.

I sat there for a second and tried to sort out my thoughts and feelings on the issue. Here they are: Yes, it’s a total bummer when your plans go wacky. It’s annoying when you think you’re going to do something but your plans change at the last second. I GET THAT. However, when you are the one at fault for the plans crumbling, don’t try to make others feel guilty about it! And don’t start pouting like a 5 year old. You won’t gain any sympathy that way.

Is it just me? It really annoyed me that this girl was so rude about something that was her fault to begin with. Come on people, take ownership!

Okay, I think I’m done. We can close the windows, the steam has cleared.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy. Tags: , .

Ten on Tuesday (35) A Thursday Goodie Bag

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kara  |  June 23, 2010 at 9:40 am

    I HATE it when people are late. I don’t like to be kept waiting and really, it’s hard to find an excuse. It cheeses me off even more when they don’t tell me they’re going to be late. At least I could get other things done in the meantime.

    We actually tell a friend of ours a fake time to meet us so they’re not late. He’s chronically a 1/2 hour late for everything, so if the real time is 6 pm we’ll tell him 5:30. It’s a pain in the ass sometimes, but it’s worth not having the headache.

  • 2. Rachel  |  June 23, 2010 at 10:04 am

    As you know, although I love my mother, it irritates me that she is often running late. Part of this is b/c it takes her F O R E V E R to get ready (we’re talking 2+ hours to my 30 minutes, IF I have to shower). The other part of it, I’m convinced is unfortunately inherited. While I’m not always late, I am late more than I’d like to be. I’m working on it. Having a kid who is a habitual dawdler does NOT help my cause. Between getting dressed and putting his shoes on, he’ll find at least 10 more important things to do… 20 if I need him to hurry.

  • 3. MASHley  |  June 23, 2010 at 10:46 am

    ash – everyone should have some pet peeves. i agree with the being late (although like stephen, matt tends to fall in that category). i think something that really bothers me is when people act ungrateful (to the point of being a brat). i have several choice examples (and started to type them) but realized how quickly that developed into a rant. i’ll spare you and anyone else who reads this comment. glad the test wasn’t so bad though.

  • 4. Mama Fuss  |  June 23, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    On lateness: I get annoyed by people who are chronically late, especially when we’re talking more than a few minutes late. I was really good about being on time for things from the beginning of my own early adulthood (my mom was always about 15 minutes late to everything, so I was too, growing up) until I had a baby (everything takes longer than you expect when you have a baby.) I have a friend who is ROUTINELY a MINIMUM of 30 minutes late to every event (she was 45-minutes late to her own baby shower – which was not a surprise shower) and I hate when I have to plan on things w/ her because she just cannot do anything on time! My MIL is usually just as bad – she has been known to show up more than an hour late to family events. I had to get my SIL to promise to get her to the church for my wedding day on time. I was not holding the ceremony for her and I knew my husband wouldn’t want to start without her.

    On this girl’s issue: If she had all the info, then I totally see your point. But when you were telling the story I sort of wondered if she knew they closed at 12? Or if she knew they closed at 12, but thought they just stopped taking patients at 12 and would be around longer to finish her test. (my Dr’s office does things like that – their last appointment is at 4:45, but they are often still seeing patients well after that time, etc.)

  • 5. Lauren from Texas  |  June 23, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    I am always a few minutes late, but that is not because I don’t think the other person is important, it’s because I way overestimate my skills when it comes to getting ready/trying to do other things. So, next thing you know, I need to leave the house in 5 minutes, & I’m wearing no pants, my hair is a mess, and I’m trying to chase Pancho around while he’s peeing & I’m putting on mascara.

    Maybe I should just start the whole process 15 minutes sooner, to compensate for the peeing?

  • 6. Danielle  |  June 23, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    Oh, I am so with you on this post! It is not THAT difficult to get your behind somewhere on time with a little bit of foresight. My sister is the type that says she is just around the corner and then shows up 4 hours later. ..I know what you deal with. I think timeliness is quite possibly my biggest pet peeve.

    P.S. So sorry about the glucose test. 1 minute in a waiting room feels like an hour…and an hour feels like an eternity.

  • 7. Darla Baerg  |  June 23, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    whew. What a bummer! It will all be over before you know it…and oh so worth it. 🙂

  • 8. Southern Gal  |  June 24, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Ah. Pass the buck. Don’t ever own up to anything being your fault. It’s sad, but true that a great deal of people feel like everyone owes them something and nothing is ever their fault. That’s something I don’t miss about working with the public.
    You and I think alike.

    Thanks for the sweet comment. We are so in love!

  • 9. Debbie Flores  |  June 24, 2010 at 8:07 am

    A quote from Brian, “Sometimes being late is not due to lack of respect. As, I always say..punctuality is the virtue of the bored.” Of course, this is coming from someone who is super busy and often late. I’m an early bird everywhere, so I don’t always agree.

  • 10. Nora  |  June 24, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Just seems like bad customer serivce to me; they should have helped you out if they won’t let you make appointments over the phone and they told you to go in. what is wrong with people!?

  • 11. zburrows  |  June 24, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    I would be the person who planned it all out just like you did. Then I would have been a couple hours late. Then when the person said I couldnt take the test I would have said “oh. ok”
    Is this the same level of annoying?

    This probably has somehting to do with why im not married.

    I would have been so annoyed by that girl.

    You need an iPhone HOURS of endless fun.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

