Seven Quick Takes

June 25, 2010 at 8:03 am 18 comments

Here’s a nice batch of random all fried up for you this fine Friday morning!

1.
On this week’s ToT, there was a question asking if we’d met anyone famous. I mentioned some baseball players and then my friend Rachel reminded me that I’d kind of met Mark McGrath. HOW DID I FORGET?

Incase you don’t know, Mark McGrath is the lead singer of Sugar Ray. He is also my celebrity crush from age 14-17. Rachel’s dad worked for the Six Flags organization and got us back stage passes to the Sugar Ray concert there. Before the concert we were hanging out at some picnic table “back stage” and I had to go to the bathroom. There was this small porta-potty over next to a trailer. I went to stand in line. Little did I know, that trailer was THE trailer. As the lady came out of the bathroom, I started walking up to go in. Just then, Mark (first name basis) came out of his trailer and literally ran into me. Well, more like knocked shoulders. But still. And then he said “What’s up?” and I just stared at him.

2.
Also, I got to go back stage at a Pat Green concert once. I was with a few friends and we wanted to get our hats signed. (Yes, I have a cowboy hat. In fact, I have several. I live in Texas. It’s not all stereotype.) He walked by and one of my friends said, “Excuse me Mr. Green. Will you sign my hat?” And he signed our hats. I don’t even remember if he spoke.

3.
I have bragged about my dog several times before. Sure she has her faults. She pees when she greets people, she barks when someone is at the door, she has seasonal allergies. No dog is perfect. But Rookie is sort of brilliant. I swear she speaks English. The following scenario is just two of several times/situations this has happened.

I’m cooking dinner and Rookie is hungry so she walks up to me and just stands there and stares. I tell her, “I know you’re hungry, Rookie, but I’m cooking dinner. If you want to eat now you need to go ask your daddy. Otherwise, you need to wait until I’m done.” She immediately turns and runs off to stand in front of Stephen.

I’m crawling into bed and Stephen is still in the living room. Rookie is already sprawled out across the floor by the bed. “Rookie, I’m ready for night night. Go tell your daddy.” And off she goes to the living room to get him. Stephen will usually come in and say, “Did you tell Rookie to come get me?? Because she just ran in there and stared at me and then the door, then me and then the door.”

Brilliant.

4.
It’s been a while since I’ve mentioned this. Click here to follow me on Twitter. I’m not very exciting but maybe you are.

5.
If you’re still debating joining Swagbucks… why? Here’s the trick. Join (by clicking HERE, which is my referral link) and then start using it. Post YOUR referral link on your blog, email it to your family and get them to join and USE IT too. You don’t get referral points if they aren’t using it, but they really add up when they do. I’ve been on it since February (I think?) and I’ve earned $105 in Amazon gift cards. Email me if you want more details. If you sign up today, input this code “SweetTweeting” for 20 points.

I know some people aren’t crazy about it, but it works for me. It’s really a no brainer. I get free gift cards just for using Swagbucks instead of Google. And I still use Google when Swagbucks can’t answer me!

6.
How do you feel about Toms? I’ve had at least 4 people tell me lately that I should get a pair. Sometimes they are ugly. What do you wear them with?

7.
I wish I could get away with wearing skirts and dresses to work. They are so much more comfortable but in the construction industry, it’s just not normal. Of course it would be allowed, I’d just get a lot of attention and that’s not always a good thing.

Happy weekend, y’all! Hope you have some fun times ahead of you!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy, Rookie. Tags: , , .

A Thursday Goodie Bag Pregnant Pause – Week 28

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ginger  |  June 25, 2010 at 8:13 am

    Don’t forget that the your points go farther if you get the smaller denomination amazon cards! I think I just saved up enough to get one card, lol.

    Also, I think the thing with Toms is the self-satisfaction of knowing you’ve helped a kid in need. I want a pair myself, but the ones I want are super expensive.

    I have the same issue with skirts where I work. It’s more of a ladder/chair issue though!

  • 2. Karen  |  June 25, 2010 at 8:35 am

    I am going to my nephew’s 2nd B-Day party, I am excited, he loves hitting a baseball, “hit ball” he calls it and is very good for a 2 year old, I got him a “Fisher Price, Better Batter Baseball” toy, it is really cool, it loads the ball onto a “wand” like it hangs in mid air, and he can wack it out the park. Yes I already gave it to him, I am weak when it comes to holding back.

    I hope you have a great weekend too, I am so ready for 5:00, but I feel it is going to be a long day.

  • 3. lazyhazysummerdaysies  |  June 25, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I think dogs are a lot smarter than we give them credit for. Rookie knows one name already (hers) so I guess it makes sense that she’d know Stephen was “Daddy.”

    Growing up, my family had an australian shepherd named Jazzy. She was brilliant! I loved that dog, and she knew the names of everybody in our family.

  • 4. MASHley  |  June 25, 2010 at 9:32 am

    ash – when i was younger we used to have this sweet but huge polish tatra sheepdog (which are all white and gorgeous). she was very smart and hugely protective. every night she’d walk around the entire house to check in on everyone, and if you shut the door she would try to open it with her teeth (we’d find marks on the doorknobs). once she was done, she’d come to my room, curl up next to my bed, and only then go to sleep

  • 5. Sara  |  June 25, 2010 at 9:58 am

    I joined swagbucks. Just sent off for my first Amazon gift card. Doe they mail it to you or is it “digital”? I’m confused.

    I got a pair of Toms and love them! They’re really comfy and I think you can really wear them with anything. Mine are ash grey. They look good with shorts, jeans, casual skirts, gauchos, whatever!

  • 6. jenferlouise  |  June 25, 2010 at 10:11 am

    I’m glad I’m in my office alone because I am laughing hysterically about Rookie. (Okay, maybe hysterically is a bit of an exaggeration. But I did LOL … I just didn’t want to write that. I digress.)

    My dog, Cash, who my mother inherited because he bites me, woke up my mom in the middle of the night begging and crying beside her bed. She was all “what do you want, DOG?” He looked over at his bed, and subsequently she did, too. His blankets were all moved out of his bed. So she got up, fixed them and he crawled right back in and went to sleep! He’s so smart. (And a diva.)

    Swagbucks. What is this?

  • 7. Lauren from Texas  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:29 am

    I swear, if you talk to dogs like they’re humans, THEY ACT HUMAN. See also: Pancho & Leia.

    I love the Rookster!

  • 8. Kara  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:38 am

    I wish my dog was as smart as Rookie! I tell her to go find Kyle and she just stares at me like I’m a steak or something.

    And I have no idea what a Tom is, so I vote no!

  • 9. rachel  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:39 am

    i like the idea behind Toms, but have never gotten behind their style. however, i think i’m morphing into a new person because i just went to the website and actually kinda like some of them (the solid color ones … i’m sorry, maybe they’re different in person, but their patterned ones are just UGLY).

    and miss millie does the same thing. sort of. she is still adjusting to having luke around and so he’ll ask her to come on his lap and she’ll come jump on mine. i have to tell her no, go to luke, and then she’ll do it.

  • 10. zburrows  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:56 am

    I have a pair of silver sparkle toms. i love them. i wear them with everything. they are so so so comfy.

  • 11. abby  |  June 25, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    I’m telling you, you need to try a skirt one day. I thought I’d feel weird wearing a skirt to work when everyone else wears jeans, but it kept me so much cooler that I just got over it and wore a skirt the next day too:) (I should probably invest in more than 3 skirts so I can actually rotate them:))

    Completely unrelated – I looked back through your posts, but I couldn’t find the link to the place you got your crib bedding from. Can you give me that website? I want to check it out for our nursery:)

  • 12. Nora  |  June 25, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    I really like Tom’s shoes. He had a pair of Dave Matthews Band designed ones last year that were super awesome, different than his usual ones. I like the striped ones otherwise, and they go really well with jeans, certain skirts, and depending on the color, khakis.

    Happy Friday! Enjoy the beach 🙂

  • 13. Angela  |  June 25, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    I’ve been using swagbucks for a while, but I’m only up to about $25 in Amazon gift cards. Do you get most of your points through referrals? I suppose it helps when you announce it on your blog!

  • 14. Stephany  |  June 25, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    You’ve talked about it enough that I’ve FINALLY joined Swagbucks, using you as a referral! I still don’t quite understand it, or what gives me swagbucks. (I know searching does, but how many searches do I need to do to earn a swagbuck?!)

  • 15. Molly  |  June 25, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    I am one of those people who told you to buy toms. I have a brown pair that I wear with anything….jeans, shorts, tshirts, regular casual shirts… And a red pair that I am not as versatile with. Pretty much only wear those with a white t or top.

  • 16. Rachel  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    I think you need to further explain Toms… unless I’m just that out of the shoe loop. I had never heard of them until I just swagged them. (I don’t think that is an official term, but I used swagbucks, not google, so I made it up.) 🙂 They do look comfy… but $50 comfy? I’m not sure.

  • 17. Veronica  |  June 26, 2010 at 9:51 am

    wow. Rookie needs to teach Vince those brilliant tricks. that’s pretty awesome!

    and Toms…yes, get a pair. You will love them. I once thought they were super ugly and finally Jake and I decided to try them on and we fell in love. I wear them with everything….jeans and a shirt, leggings with a dress, shorts. They go well with everything I think, unless you’re dressed up super formal 😛

    have a good weekend!

  • 18. Shana  |  June 26, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    I must be a day late and a dollar short because I tried to sign up for swag bucks and the code you gave is already expired. sad face. toms has platform espadrilles that are really cute.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

