Pregnant Pause – Week 28

June 28, 2010 at 8:56 am 29 comments

Last Thursday I left town for a family reunion in South Padre Island. Thanks to the magic of autopost, you never knew I was gone! Very very sneaky. We had a great time hanging out at the beach. Although I think I stepped wrong in the sand because now my back is all wacked out and it’s pure torture to sleep on my side. That sort of presents a problem since I’m not allowed to sleep on my back.

Woe is me.

I had a doctor’s appointment last Thursday. It was just my regular 4 week checkup. She weighed me, measured my uterus, and listened to the heartbeat. I gained another 6 pounds which puts my total at 27. Some women are telling me that I’m right on track, others drop their jaws. I’m choosing to not care about weight gain. The common response when people see me is, “If it weren’t for the ball under your shirt, we’d never know you’re pregnant.” To me, that’s a good sign so I’m choosing to ignore my weight gain. Plus, there are too many other things to worry about.

If I could be so bold as to ask you to add Stephen, Jansen, and I to your prayer list. Let me start by saying IT IS PROBABLY NOTHING. My doctor measured my uterus on Thursday and said I’m measuring big. (I have felt like this for several months, but apparently most women feel big.) I’m scheduled for an ultrasound in 3 weeks to make sure everything is okay. There are two possibilities. The first is that Jansen is just a big baby. The second is that I have too much fluid in my uterus. Too much fluid is not a good thing and I’m not sure how the problem is fixed. I didn’t ask many questions when I was there, mostly because it just scares me to know possibilities.

My mom and several others think that there is a third possibility… a hidden twin. I refuse to accept this as a possibility. There is just no way that an entire human being is hiding in my uterus and has remained hidden during three ultrasounds and several heartbeat checks. Plus, I feel like I’d notice an extra set of legs and arms beating up my insides. The most logical explanation is that Jansen is big. My dad is 6’4 and Stephen’s dad is 6’7. We have large genes.

So this is the deal, I’d like you to be specific with your prayers. Pray that Jansen is a big boy, but also pray that he slows down a tad so that I don’t have to deliver a toddler. And pray that if he continues to grow at a rapid pace, he comes on his own a bit early. My doctor will not induce based on the size of the baby so he’s going to have to make the first move.

I’m even more convinced that he’s huge because of how much I see and feel him move. Sometimes I think he spreads both arms and legs and pushes as hard as he can on all sides of my uterus. I can now see how women would say that the baby kicks hurt. I’ve had several painful kicks over the past weekend. I’ve also been able to feel body parts pressed up against my stomach. It’s pretty neat but also sort of freaky.

This is my week 28 photo. I’m hoping to edit those tabs there at the top and make one that includes all the pictures. I think there’s been growth over the past week.

And that’s all folks!

(ToT is coming shortly.)

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy. Tags: , .

Seven Quick Takes Ten on Tuesday (36)

29 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MASHley  |  June 28, 2010 at 9:17 am

    ash – i’ll certainly say a prayer for y’all.

  • 2. Kristen  |  June 28, 2010 at 9:22 am

    Fingers crossed he’s just a big baby, as always, you look adorable.

  • 3. MrsSJohnson  |  June 28, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Praying with you guys-

  • 4. Jenna  |  June 28, 2010 at 9:27 am

    I’m sure they’d know by now if you were having twins…and speaking from experience, I think you’d know too. Jensen is probably just taking after your dad & hubby…I bet he’s just really long! 🙂 Sending you loads of positive thoughts!!! ♥

  • 5. Southern Gal  |  June 28, 2010 at 9:35 am

    Just a note of encouragement: I measured big (3 weeks bigger) with all of my babies and stayed that way until I delivered. Nothing except big babies, 8lb12oz, 9lb5oz, 10lb7oz. My daughter measured big with Nora, too, and she was 8lb9oz. So, all that to give you a little assurance. You come from big genes and Jansen doesn’t have much choice but to be big. And I love big, cuddly babies.

    Praying the Lord will calm your nerves and give you peace as you wait on the next step. He’s got it under control, Chelsea. Love you.

  • 6. Karen  |  June 28, 2010 at 9:51 am

    Sending prayers.

  • 7. Kiki  |  June 28, 2010 at 10:54 am

    The middle trimester is the biggest, most noticable growth spurt. It happens.

  • 8. mom (nana)  |  June 28, 2010 at 11:33 am

    I love “Southern Gal” ! She is one positive person and I can tell she loves the Lord – good to have people like that in your corner! I am praying and giving it all up to Jesus – He is the one in control. It is hard as a mom to give it all over, but I am trying! (I really don’t think you are having twins – just had to throw that possibility in there to make you smile!) 🙂

  • 9. Nora  |  June 28, 2010 at 11:36 am

    You’ve got prayers, no problem. Keep us posted (if you don’t mind, that is. I know a lot of the pregnancy stuff can be quite personal). Sending hugs & prayers to all three of you! xoxo

  • 10. That Married Couple  |  June 28, 2010 at 11:43 am

    Prayers sent! Thanks for sharing your request!

  • 11. Debbie  |  June 28, 2010 at 11:48 am

    Ask and you shall receive! I’m sure he’s just trying to catch up to his grandpa’s and get a head start while he’s in the womb! He doesn’t want to come out and not make a big impact on them! 🙂

    I’m sure everything is just fine, but, we’ll definitely say prayers to be sure! Your weight gain is just fine! Don’t worry about that stuff. And, I’d imagine your Dr and all of the aforementioned testing would have revealed a hidden twin somewhere if you had one. Jansen can wait on his sibling! 🙂

  • 12. Joy  |  June 28, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    Will be praying for normal fluid levels and healthy growth, and peace of mind for you and Stephen.

  • 13. Veronica  |  June 28, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    you look awesome! and yes, i see some growth from the last couple pics 🙂

    i’ll definitely be praying Jansen is a big boy, and that everything is just fine! Keep me posted!

  • 14. Taryn  |  June 28, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    I think he’s just trying to outdo cousin Avery 🙂

    Thinking and praying for you!

  • 15. Debbie Flores  |  June 28, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    Hang in there Chels, prayers coming your way! See you soon, and this time it might hit me that you are really pregnant. 🙂 Love you!!

  • 16. Aunt Chris & Uncle Rory  |  June 28, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Just called our Church to add you to the prayer team. We pray Gods hands all over you, Stephen and Jansen. WE pray Peace and joy and may the Lord give you rest…..
    We love you and are looking forward to meeting BEAUTIFUL JANSEN.
    Aunt Chris & Uncle Rory

  • 17. Mama Fuss  |  June 28, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    I was never told I was measuring big, but in a fluke of not feeling her move much at the end of my pregnancy, I got an ultrasound at 39 weeks w/ my first one. She measured over 9 lbs by u/s size. (ended up being just under) and I had only gained about 15 lbs my whole pregnancy, so I really think the weight-gain and outside tummy measurements can be very flukey if you have an over or undersized kid. (Another friend had the opposite problem – she always measured perfectly, gained the average amount of weight and then had a really tiny, though full-term baby.

    I’m sure you’re probably fine. And the chance of a hidden twin is very unlikely! 🙂 Will pray for you and the results anyhow.

  • 18. Erin  |  June 28, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    Eep! They said the same thing about Will. Except the Dr. said he was SMALL and there was a lot of fluid. That 10 pound baby was not small! My MIL wished for a hidden twin also 🙂

  • 19. timlinzrowland  |  June 28, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    I measured big (by two or three weeks) with all of my pregnancies including this one. Somewhere around 32 weeks I caught back up and measured where I was suppossed to. Maybe this will happen for you also. With all our prayers God will surley give you a peace that HE is the one in control!

  • 20. Sara  |  June 28, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    I am praying! I think he’s just going to be big. You’re pretty tall yourself, right? Hopefully he will come early! Please keep us updated!

  • 21. Emmie aka MIL  |  June 28, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    I’ve been praying for “big.” And I’m tall, and you are tall, and your mom is tall, and your brother, etc…And, Stephen was 11 pounds at birth, so Jansen must be a big bouncing baby boy!

  • 22. Aunt Bonnie  |  June 28, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    alll will be well, honey. I’m turning it over to God and we know He is in control. I agree with whoever said he’s just trying to out do his cousin Avery:) Very funny! Hope you’re feeling better.

  • 23. Stephany  |  June 28, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    Reading your families comments just reminds me so much of my own family. It’s refreshing and I LOVE IT!! 🙂

    You know I’ll be praying and that Jansen is just measuring big.

    You look awesome, by the way! Incredibly beautiful, just glowing.

  • 24. Lisa Hendricks  |  June 28, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    Knowing God has this all figured out and our job as prayer warriors is to pray for big. We can do that. Love you bunches.

  • 25. ThatPinkgirl  |  June 28, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Oh girl, a hidden twin. Mercy! You can’t let your imagination run away. Although…just kidding!
    I’ll be praying for God’s healing hands on sweet Jansen. Who can’t use a few extra prayers? You just keep on taking care of your baby boy – and give those worries over to the Lord. He knows what you need!

  • 26. Parker's Mom  |  June 28, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    Hey girl,

    My doctor (a high-risk doctor) just straight up said that Parker was going to be a big baby. How big were you and Stephen when you were born? My doctor says I should probably expect a baby around the size I was when I was born (9 lbs 5 oz….EEK)!

    I will keep yall in my prayers, and do the same for us here as we are a pretty much going through the same thing! Parker thinks my belly is a soccer field – he’s CONSTANTLY kicking, and kicking extremely hard. I am always shifting in my hip region and it is excruciating!

    I go in for my 3rd ultrasound in 2 weeks on Thursday, I will be sure to update you on my week 28 news! Have no worries, God is watching over you three!!
    ❤ Kelly

  • 27. osarah  |  June 29, 2010 at 4:47 am

    We will be praying that he’s just a big boy and that he doesn’t get too big in there.

    I definitely see a change over the last week. You’re looking great!

  • 28. Katherine  |  June 29, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Will be praying that all is well and Jansen is just big. Certainly sounds as if he is trying to follow in his Daddy’s footsteps (11 lbs!).

    And, like everyone else said, those measurements can be misleading. My middle daughter was 9.5 lbs, so then they were worried next time and he was only 6 lbs 12 oz.

  • 29. Taryn M. Peine  |  July 6, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    You have big genes indeed! I’m sure he’s just a big feller! You look great sis!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

