Facelifts: Revealed

July 1, 2010 at 9:04 am 15 comments

I suppose it wasn’t very fair of me to tell you about my curtains and then not show you. I’ve been blogging long enough to know that you’d request pictures. Rookie mistake.

The window in question is a large bay window over a window seat. The middle portion of the bay window is ginormous, the sides aren’t too big. This is what the window looks like with the curtains up and closed.

Not a big fan. It’s just a lot of green fabric hanging there. I do, however, like the way it looks with the curtains open.

Not so bad, eh? But the problem is this. We don’t want to have to keep the curtains open all the time. That defeats the purpose. We need curtains to keep the heat out and keep the sun’s glare off our television. So in order to make that happen, the curtains have to be closed and look blah.

My mom came over yesterday to paint and she played around with the curtains. Her thoughts were that there aren’t enough panels. If we add one more panel to each section (for a total of 4 more panels) it’ll lay nicer. So we pushed the curtains around to develop some thoughts and feelings about it.

The more fabric, the more folds. What do you think? I think it adds texture and looks nicer. The only problem is that the curtains are heavy and the curtain rod is sagging in the middle. We can’t attach a bracket because there is no wall there, only window. We thought we’d attach a bracket from the ceiling but we can’t do that because the rod is too high, and the bracket is too long. So I think Stephen is going to wander the aisles of Home Depot until he finds some sort of U bracket that’ll work.

Thoughts and feelings please.

Next up on the agenda is the nursery. I had originally planned to wait until the nursery was all done to show you pictures. But that’s just mean, right? I happened to be home yesterday due to some serious back spasms that literally left me crying in pain, so I snapped a few pictures of my mom and sister in progress.

My sister took on the green walls. She started with the edges and didn’t like the color (thankfully she waited until the room was done to tell me this). Once it was done, she liked it.

My mom took on the orange walls because she’s a trooper. She knew Lindsay couldn’t handle being trapped in a closet all day. I’m sure her body is hurting after all of the bending and stretching.

Here’s a reminder of the bedding we are using.

(I love looking at it, it’s just so cute!) The colors match almost exactly. Because the green is so light and the orange is so dark, they are in desperate need of a second coat of paint. My unpaid helpers will be back today to complete the job. This is what it looked like last night.

Apparently I don’t know how to take straight photos! This isn’t actually a Dr. Seuss room with crooked walls.

At night, the orange looks more red. During the day, it looks burnt orange. Stephen took the doors off the closet and we’ll be hanging long turquoise curtains instead.

It’s all coming together and looks fantastic. I get giddy when I think about moving the furniture in there. I think the only thing I still need to buy is a new sconce. My requirements are as follows: 1) Looks better than the one we have, 2) Is hard-wired (meaning not plugged in), and 3) Has an on/off switch. I have found this one and this one. (Those are links.) I’m leaning toward the first one. It’s cheaper, I can replace the shade if I want to, and the bronze matches the ceiling fan. As always, please share your thoughts and feelings.

It seems like with each facelift, more things are needed. More money is required, which makes me grumpy and stressed. We are trying to space out all of these “projects” so we don’t get ourselves in a money bind. Maybe I should just keep reminding myself that having a blog is free but hiring a decorator is very not free. So to all of you who share your opinions, thanks for saving me money!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Hurst Castle, Pregnancy. Tags: , , , .

Facelifts Seven Quick Takes

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  July 1, 2010 at 9:45 am

    The painters are doing a fine job, the colors are coming together nicely, I can’t wait to see the finished product, with Jansen’s beautiful little face in the midst of it.

    I agree, some thing is missing from the window, may be a few more panels would work along with some type of valance to give it some depth, even the type that you hang and it looks like a scarf or some thing, I don’t know what it’s called, but these pics are what I’m talking about.
    http://www.google.com/images?q=valance%20window%20curtains&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&source=og&sa=N&hl=en&tab=wi

  • 2. rachelheather  |  July 1, 2010 at 9:53 am

    What if instead of buying more of the same curtains, you bought some in a complementary color? You could put a lighter color on the middle window and leave the darker color on the outer windows. They may not block as much light, but it would break it up a little bit and add more interest.

  • 3. lazyhazysummerdaysies  |  July 1, 2010 at 10:29 am

    So, my closet in college had no doors, so what I did was use a sheet (since it already had the loop to hang it with) and hung it with a shower curtain rod, like one that adjusted (so I didn’t need a custom one!) I think total, the whole project didn’t cost more than $20.

    Also, it may not be a bad idea to scour Jo-Ann’s for discount fabric. Really cute durable stuff gets pricey, but I’ve seen it as low as $1 or $2 a yard. This will require more measuring and sewing, though. I’m not sure how you feel about that…

  • 4. Jill  |  July 1, 2010 at 10:34 am

    The room is looking great! 🙂

  • 5. Aunt Bonnie  |  July 1, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Paint colors perfect! Agree that curtains need more panels(not sure about adding a complementary color with them…you’d just have to try that out)…..they’re too stretched out, need fullness. Agree with choice on first sconce. Jansen’s room is gonna be so wonderfully bright. He’s gonna love it!

  • 6. Jenna  |  July 1, 2010 at 11:22 am

    At my parents’ house they have curtain hung similarly, and they have alternating fabric colors.

    If you are looking into hanging more, I could definitely recommend hanging a different color in between the green.

    And the scarf like drape in the middle of a curtain that is already hung is also a fabulous idea.

    You could get a less amount of fabric in that alternate color of choice and hang it over those curtains already hanging.

    Just a few thoughts!

  • 7. Rachel  |  July 1, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Go with the first one… You can change the shade to something cutesy and kidish if you want… or even have it covered with the same fabric of your bedding. Then if you need it to be more “adult” you can always change it back.

  • 8. MrsSJohnson  |  July 1, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    1. I LOVE your nursery so far! Can’t wait to see when it all comes together!

    2. I think your curtains aren’t as bad as you think they are- but I understand what you are saying and came here ready to tell you that you (I think) just need to add more- and then saw others before me had suggested the same thing. Maybe more curtains, maybe different colors or maybe some pillows or something to dress it up. I think it just looks plain to you so that’s why you don’t like it.

  • 9. Nora  |  July 1, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Yes, I think another panel (or two?) on the windows would look better; texture is good 🙂 Or what if you got two/three complimentary colored panels and spaced them out? I’ve done that before, and it usually works pretty well.

    LOVE Jansen’s room/colors! Thanks for sharing photos 🙂

  • 10. The Stephanie  |  July 1, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    The room is going to be adorable! I can’t wait to see it all finished!

    And the lamps? I LOVE the first one. I think it will look great in there with the brown in the fabric.

  • 11. thequeenashley  |  July 1, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    What about the wooden curtains plantation shutters?

  • 12. Sara  |  July 1, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    I’m loving the paint colors. Can’t wait to see it with the teal curtains. I also agree with your mom on the curtains. More is better. Find a strong curtain rod! I’m also seeing large polka dots added to the curtains for prettiness when it’s closed. I’m not sure why. good luck!

  • 13. Erin  |  July 1, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    I love what you did with the curtains! And the nursery- oh my! It’s amazing! Love the colors.

  • 14. mom (nana)  |  July 1, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Oh, I just looked at the lights. I like the first one the best.

  • 15. charise sprengel  |  July 2, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    i agree that the window needs something more, whether it be more panels or another color-you decide! 🙂 I like the first sconce and agree on being able to change the shade on them! Hopefully your back will be feeling better soon! Your mom and sister are great painters- do they want to stop by when heading back to school in August to do our girls rooms?????

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

