Ten on Tuesday (39)

July 20, 2010 at 7:15 am 17 comments

This week, Sarah from Life at a Different Pace came up with a new version of Ten on Tuesday. I thought it sounded like a fun idea! Hope y’all had fun with it too.

For each of the following 10 categories, tell us which brand/product you use and why.

1. Cell Phone
I use Verizon. They are cheap and have great service. In fact, after I got married I stayed on my parents’ plan, add Stephen to their plan, and we just pay them monthly. It’s cheaper than starting our own contract. So that’s that. And I use the LG Dare. I like it.

2. Email
I use hotmail for my primary email and gmail for my junk mail. I know you’re all going to tell me to switch over to gmail because it’s amazing and blah-blah-Lauren-from-Texas-blah. But I like hotmail and it’s too late to change now. So hush.

3. Toothpaste
I used to be Aquafresh only. I like the way it tastes and the little kid in me likes that three colors come out everytime you squeeze the tube. Recently I’ve been trying be a good couponing shopper, so I’m not longer very brand loyal on toothpaste. We are currently using Colgate.

4. Car
We have a non-working Chevrolet Cavalier in our driveway that we are trying to sell. Our working car is a Nissan Murano. We bought it about a year and a half ago and, overall, we’re satisfied. It’s my first SUV and I don’t know that I could ever go back to a car.

5. Writing Utensil
My absolute favorite pen, and the only one I use at work, is the blue Pilot V5 or V7. (I can’t remember if I use the Fine or Extra Fine.) I get one pen from the supply cabinet and use it until it’s completely gone and then get another one. I fill out a lot of paperwork at work and I would go nuts if I didn’t have a good pen.

6. Lotion
I use this age defying hand lotion that Avon used to make. For some ridiculous reason, they discontinued it so I bought like 10 bottles of it. I only have like 2 left. I’m not sure what I’m going to do when it’s gone. It’s perfect. It’s not greasy or smelly or sticky. As for body lotion, I use Aveeno oatmeal something or other. Sensitive skin stuff.

7. Interior Paint
Whatever is cheapest. Either Behr or Valspar, depending on where I’m shopping.

8. Soda/Drink
Most of the time I drink water. I’m also currently obsessed with Bordon chocolate milk. My favorite coke, though, is Dr. Pepper. Why? Because it’s the most delicious. And I also love Diet Coke with a lime wedge.

9. Laundry Detergent
If you were around last year you know I went through a LONG phase of severely itchy skin for no reason. This lasted for months and still comes on every now and then. In order to combat it, I’ve switched to sensitive skin everything. Shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion, deodorant, everything. So now I use Tide Free to wash my clothes.

10. Medicine
I use store brand stuff. Asprin, ibuprofen, migraine relief, naproxen sodium, etc. I don’t go by brand names. To those of you who do… WHY? They are all the same!

So that was fun. These will be interesting to read… see what we’ve all got in common.

Here’s Mr. Linky.

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

Pregnant Pause – Week 31 Life As We Know It

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deiala  |  July 20, 2010 at 7:39 am

    This was an unusual but really funny way of doing the Ten on Tuesday…

    Happy Tuesday!

  • 2. Joy  |  July 20, 2010 at 7:48 am

    This was fun, answers on the Linky.
    You are right, it is fun to see what we have in common.
    Dr. Pepper, anyone??

  • 3. Angela  |  July 20, 2010 at 8:14 am

    I used to buy the store brand version of Tylenol, but Stephen and I found that it just wasn’t strong enough for us. Which doesn’t make sense if they’re supposed to be the same! We switched back to Tylenol so that I don’t have to take more pills at one time. Our Ibuprofen is store brand though.

  • 4. Stacie  |  July 20, 2010 at 9:01 am

    Amen to the SUV sista-friend. I get annoyed each and every time I have to climb in and out of cars now.

  • 5. Lauren from Texas  |  July 20, 2010 at 9:07 am

    I like that you just said “My favorite coke, though, is Dr. Pepper.” When I went to Canada I got RAGGED for this. It makes perfect sense to me though!

    If you’re going to put my name in a bunch of blah blahs the least you could do is give me a link. Just kidding. 🙂

    xoxoxox

  • 6. Southern Gal  |  July 20, 2010 at 9:15 am

    I like the change this week.

    1. TMobile because they took over SunCom. Sony Ericcson something or other flip phone. Love it.

    2. Bellsouth because we get our internet through them (now AT&T) It’s Yahoo though. I will never again use IncrediMail since I lost everything when our computer crashed.

    3. Whatever is on sale, though my daddy always bought Crest and I used it forever before becoming cheap!

    4. Three – ’96 Ford Taurus (hubby’s), ’98 Ford Ranger (son’s), ’01 Dodge Grand Caravan (mine). Bought a ’93 Toyota Camry that we gifted to our daughter when she went to college. (We’ve had like 23 cars since we’ve been married. I ought to write a post!)

    5. I like Zebras but my faves are those cheap 3/$1 kind at Dollar General. Don’t have one right now so I can’t give you the brand.

    6. Whatever is on hand.

    7. Usually Lowe’s brand since they’re about all we have in town besides Sherwin Williams.

    8. Caffeine-free Diet Mountain Dew!!!!!!

    9. Gain – love the way it cleans and smellls.

    10. Store brand all the way. You’re right. The ingredients are the same. Cheaper always!!

  • 7. Alishka Babushka  |  July 20, 2010 at 9:36 am

    that was fun. i liked it. answers on the linky. :o)

  • 8. Ten on Tuesday (10) « Life At A Different Pace…  |  July 20, 2010 at 9:36 am

    […] Ten on Tuesday Leave a comment This week, I (with a little help from Chelsea) came up with a new version of Ten on Tuesday. For each of the following 10 categories, tell which […]

  • 9. Amanda  |  July 20, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Fun! I’m all linked up…after discovering I haven’t done this since the end of May, sad!

  • 10. Debbie  |  July 20, 2010 at 10:13 am

    my answers are on linky. SOOOO with you on so many things! Generic all the way, SUVs!!!!, Verizon and cheap paint. Love it, my frugal friend! 🙂

  • 11. Taryn  |  July 20, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    1. Cell Phone – MetroPCS, I havea samsung Code. We switched from Sprint b/c it’s wayyy cheaper… $120 a month for me and Rob combined, as opposed to $250. We have to get unlimited everything, b/c we have no house phone and my husband does real-estate. That means lots and lots of phone calls and texts!! No complaints about service, either.

    2. Email – Hotmail, Yahoo, and my work email. Hotmail is my primary email that I’ve had since high school. Yahoo is my “junk” email. Work, is well… work.

    3. Toothpaste – Sensodyne Whitening. I have really sensitive teeth. Recommended by my dentist.

    4. Car – Honda CR-V. Bought after careful consideration and test-driving of multiple small SUVs. Not too big, but big enough for baby seat and lots of groceries. J Gets great gas mileage.

    5. Writing Utensil – The new sharpie pens. I love a good gel pen, but lately I seem to write with sharpies ALL the time. So I bought some sharpie fine point pens and love them. No bleed-thru!

    6. Lotion – Anything bath and body works. I’m loving on their new orange blossom scent.

    7. Interior Paint – Hmmm…. I think we bought Behr when we painted Luke’s room and the guest bedroom at the new house. Good coverage, low odor. Only bought it b/c we had coupons that made it cheaper than the other brands!

    8. Soda/Drink – I am 100% a Coke girl. But, in the need to be healthy, I try to only have 1 per week (this includes Dr. Pepper, root beer, etc.) I normally just drink a cup of coffee in the morning, and then iced tea and water the rest of the day.

    9. Laundry Detergent – Purex concentrated, for high-efficiency machines. I think my current scent is Mountain Breeze? Cheaper than most brands; I don’t have to use a whole lot of it and it works really well in my machine.

    10. Medicine – ibeprofen for headaches. Tylenol for any other body aches. NyQuil for colds. Claritin for allergies. I just go with what I know works for me!!

  • 12. mom (nana)  |  July 20, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    1. Cell Phone
    Verizon – see Chelsea’s note – I am the parents’ plan she stayed on. 🙂

    2. Email
    hotmail…..yep, I know I know I know

    3. Toothpaste
    Grew up using Gleem. Nothing else. NEVER… now I don’t even know if they make it. I don’t have a fav. just buy what’s on sale.

    4. Car
    I drive a cutie patootie red toyota solara convertible. It is my fun car that I got after all the driving around in suburbans and vans for sooooooooooo many years (carting kiddos). I like it but now that I have grandkid(s), it isn’t going to be very practical!

    5. Writing Utensil
    no fav on this which is crazy because both of my girls have favorite writing utensils…

    6. Lotion
    use lots of different stuff but have to be careful with the smells. I used to be the bad one but now hubby can’t stand the smells….hard to be sexy and romantic and all that stuff when you can’t use anything that smells!

    7. Interior Paint
    nothing written in stone on that one either!

    8. Soda/Drink
    water or sweet iced tea. Hardly ever drink a soda – or rather a COKE as we call everything in Texas….IF I were to drink one, it would be Dr. Pepper.

    9. Laundry Detergent
    always used tide. Now I have switched to dye free, fragrance free ALL.

    10. Medicine
    Where do you think Chelsea got her frugality from?????????? Definitely store brand everything!!!! I am married to a chemical engineer and he says there isn’t any difference so there you go!

  • 13. Karen  |  July 20, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    1.Cell Phone
    I don’t have one, last time I saw mine it was on the trunk of my car, when I got back from the store it was gone. I did not really need one, so I never got another one.

    2. Email
    I have my work e-mail, not sure what they use.

    3. Toothpaste
    We grew up on crest, but when I had to buy it, I switched to pepsodent, if I use another brand my teeth do not feel as clean, and they are very white, for a cheap toothpaste, I say it is the best.

    4. Car
    I have a KIA Spectra, it’s not a bad car, but I wished that I had shopped around more. Are we ever satisfied. lol

    5. Writing Utensil
    As long as it is a soft point, it does not matter what brand.

    6. Lotion
    I don’t use lotion.

    7. Interior Paint
    What ever is on my wall, but next time it will be some thing I can clean, the paint I have now, comes off if I try to clean the wall.

    8. Soda/Drink
    I drink a lot of water too, I don’t really have a favorite, but soda has to be diet, if not, it is too sweet and I don’t like it.

    9. Laundry Detergent
    Gain, the smell is great, also use gain dryer sheets.

    10. Medicine
    BC powders, I have some arthritis and it helps some, I also take naproxen for back pain from an auto accident where I was rear ended. I buy them from the dollar store.

  • 14. Kathleen  |  July 20, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    I clicked through to leave a comment, then saw that Lauren said the exact thing I was going to say, except substitute “Canada” for “Kansas.” Everything is coke in Texas!

  • 15. Courtney  |  July 20, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    yeah for store brand drugs and stuff! what would you say are the pros and cons to the murano?

  • 16. Nora  |  July 20, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Love Dr. Pepper.
    And I also go through itchy skin spells; it’s so awful. I’m a sensitive skin girl now too. It’s not near as fun but much less painful 🙂

  • 17. Sue @ Simons' Sista  |  July 21, 2010 at 1:28 am

    A nice change to the questions. Dr Pepper? Really? I’m not surprised because it seems a lot of people like it, but it has just never been my thing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

