Everything I Know, I Learned From Blogging

July 22, 2010 at 8:55 am 17 comments

Yesterday, Lauren from Texas learned that if you have a bee problem, you can call a beekeeper and they’ll come out and take care of it for you. Meanwhile, the rest of her readers learned that if you don’t want to call a beekeeper, another way to rid your yard of bees is by blaring rap music. Apparently the little bugs aren’t too fond of that particular genre. Which may mean that my dad is part bee. The jury is still out.

It made me think about all the things that bloggers teach us. I know that if I ever have a question I can just ask y’all and someone will know the answer. Someone will have advice because they’ve been there or their sister’s boyfriend’s great aunt had that issue last month. It’s amazing, this little blogosphere! You know… they always say that you don’t realize how much you don’t know until you start learning. This is so true. I didn’t realize how much information there is out there until I started reading blogs. You people know a lot of stuff. It makes me think of those posters “Everything I Know, I Learned in Kindergarten” or “…From My Dog” or whatever.

Just think about everything you’ve learned from blogs.

Money Saving Mom taught me that I can get free stuff all the time. It takes a minute every few days and then you’ll start getting a steady stream of samples shipped to your door. At least twice a week I get stuff in the mail. Shampoo, lotion, dish soap, feminine products, etc. It’s like mini-Christmas every time I see a little box!

And then Angela at Craving Cupcakes taught me that it doesn’t have to be an ordeal every time you want to bake something. Just do it. Making homemade cookies and muffins and other delicious goods doesn’t take as long as you might think… and the payoff is high.

And while we’re talking about cooking, there is no way to even tell you how many things Pioneer Woman has taught me. The main thing being: If you roast red potatoes and garlic with butter and white wine, amazing things happen. AMAZING THINGS. This is a life lesson, y’all.

I Am Baker taught me that you can decorate the inside of layered cakes. Crosses and flags and whatever else your little heart dreams up. Then your guests will be amazed by the little surprise on the inside of the cake.

The list could go on and on. Sometimes someone will just say something in passing on their blog and I’ll think, “Wow. Brilliant.” And I can’t even tell you how often I’m in a conversation and have to begin a sentence with, “Well I read on a blog that…” I mean, right? I know it’s not just me.

One of the biggest things I learned happened about two or three months ago. I was reading Big Mama, as I do every morning, and she dropped the bombshell. Apparently Greased Lightening is a pretty dirty song. WHO KNEW?! I started watching Grease in 8th grade with my girlfriends. I think it was some anniversary year of the movie because the media was promoting it pretty heavily. I think they even played a few of the songs on the radio. We’d watch the movie and sing the songs and try the dances. We loved that movie. But let’s face it, at 8th grade, you have no clue what is coming out of your mouth and what it actually means. After Big Mama wrote that post, I immediately looked up the lyrics (as I’m sure many of you will do after reading this) and SURE ENOUGH, dirty.

I felt like a fool! How many times did my parents hear us singing that song at the top of our lungs and cringe at the sound of it. And more importantly, why was I allowed to watch the movie?

It was on television last night. We didn’t get to see the whole thing but we started watching when they were in the diner… about the time of the “a hikey from Kenickie’s like a Hallmark card, we care enough to send the very best” line. My sister, Stephen, and I were watching and we just kept dropping our jaw. Rizzo things she’s pregnant, Danny tries to “grab” Sandy in the drive in and is then heartbroken (and we feel sorry for him) when she walks out on him, the newscaster is hitting on a high school girl, then Sandy changes her lifestyle to make Danny happy… which means that all is right with the world. What. The. Heck?

Regardless, I still love the movie. I was singing along and making my feet dance back and forth while I was relaxing in my recliner. But the point is that, while I knew it wasn’t an entirely wholesome movie, I had no idea that I was singing these dirty lyrics as an 8th grader. And I have a blogger to thank for that awakening.

What have you learned from blogs? Something huge like what car to buy or how to plan a vacation? Or something small like the best way to roast asparagus or where to buy the cutest journals? Spill it. We all want to know. If you know where you learned it, let us know! Otherwise, just give us the goods.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea. Tags: .

Life As We Know It Seven Quick Takes

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  July 22, 2010 at 9:08 am

    I love this post! “Greased Lightning” randomly played on my iPod last month when I had it on shuffle, and it was then that I noticed just how dirty that song was. I, too, was shocked!

    I don’t even think I can count all of random the things I’ve learned from bloggers. Money saving tips and tricks have been a huge, and very helpful. Also, for not being a parent, I read a lot of mommy-blogs, so I’ve learned tons about pregnancy and raising kids that I otherwise wouldn’t already know.

  • 2. Dad  |  July 22, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  • 3. osarah  |  July 22, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Ack, I hate qhen a question catches me off guard and I can’t think of an answer. Other than all the yummy recipes I’ve learned from PW, I can’t think of anything. Well, I can’t think of anything other than the fact that you are a great writer. 🙂

  • 4. That Married Couple  |  July 22, 2010 at 9:57 am

    I am totally with you! I feel like half of my conversations start with “You know my blogging friend X? Well she said…” I think the most stuff I’ve learned is about the whole baby thing, though. I loved reading all the comments you got when you asked what you needed for the baby! It’s so handy to be able to just ask other bloggers things, instead of trying to sift through the wide web and find an answer!

    And I do enjoy getting recipes.

  • 5. Southern Gal  |  July 22, 2010 at 10:23 am

    I love it when that happens. A tada moment, if you will.

    Yeah, my sister and her friends were 10 when Grease came out and loved it. I knew from the get-go the song was dirty (well the whole movie actually.) I was 15 so that probably made the difference. Aren’t they cleaning the lyrics up for the sing-a-longs going on in theaters? I think I heard that, but probably not. My mama didn’t like it because the whole theme of the movie is good girl goes bad.

    Wantnot.net – I was introduced to her two Christmases ago by AnnieBlogs. Found fantastic deals through her blog. She keeps you up-to-date with the latest specials through Amazon, Target, etc.

    There are plenty more, but I don’t want to write a book on here! Oops. I think it’s too late…

  • 6. Lauren from Texas  |  July 22, 2010 at 10:24 am

    I need to blog an update on the bees! The beekeepers were quite a trip. I love this little blogosphere. 🙂

    PS: My mom wouldn’t let me watch Grease. Now I know why.

  • 7. Sara  |  July 22, 2010 at 10:25 am

    I love that! I always knew Grease was extremely dirty, but for some reason, my parents, too, let me watch it. I guess I didn’t really get it when I was in middle school either. I’m sure they knew that. lol!

  • 8. Debbie  |  July 22, 2010 at 11:13 am

    What?!?! Grease??? Who knew?! I used to LOVE that movie. I never realized how dirty it actually was. Craziness. I LOVE how small the world becomes when you’re blogging or following a lot of blogs. I can’t tell you how many comments and conversations I have that start with or involve “This blog I read was talking about” or “my blog friend so and so”. It’s everywhere!

    It was especially helpful when I got put on bedrest with Jacob due to preeclampsia and continued on when Jacob was in the NICU. People came out of the woodwork and started commenting on my blog and sending me emails. It was extremely helpful during a really rough time when I didn’t have any experience or information on it. Real-life experiences and advice are WAY better than what you find from google searches!

  • 9. mom (nana)  |  July 22, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    That song is dirty? I am 52 and I didn’t know that. Never really listened to the words I guess…. oh well, count me as one of those mom’s who let their kids watch Grease. It was RATED PG so we just assumed….BAD ASSUMPTION!!! Even though I knew the theme wasn’t a good one, I guess the music was so darn good we must have ignored it. NOW MY GIRLS ARE SCARRED FOR LIFE! SORRY

  • 10. Vanessa  |  July 22, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    I’ve learned so much from blogging. That’s why I love it so much. I often start saying “Well I read on *Insert random blog friend’s name*’s blog that…” or “Well my blog friend *Insert name* said this so it must be true!”

    It cracks me up, I love it!

    & Greased Lightening is dirty? Never knew that!

  • 11. Angela  |  July 22, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    I learn everyday from blogs. I’m always amazed at the little tidbits of information that I pick up here and there from them. Like how to cut up a piece of fruit, or cook something, or bake something. Amazing, I tell ya!

    As for Grease…I’m quite shocked as well. I always look back on movies that I watched as a kid and wonder how on earth my parents let me watch that!

  • 12. Stephany  |  July 22, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    I think the most useful tips I’ve learned have been either healthy living/moneysaving tips. Some of these blogs give SO MUCH useful information!

    One of those posters would be great…you could totally make a profit off of it.

  • 13. Nora  |  July 22, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    I don’t think I realized how dirty everything was until in that movie until college. But I still love the movie.

    How about dirty dancing? i watched it for the first time when I was like 8 and I had no idea what was going on with Penny!

    Things I’ve learned from blogging: all sorts of recipes, how great the internets can be, random facts & tidbits, history lessons, culture, the best/worst music to listen to and much more!

  • 14. Kara  |  July 22, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    Okay, so yes, I Googled the lyrics!

    At first, I’m thinking, “Okay, Chelsea, I don’t know what you’re talking about. They’re singing about a car!” but then further along I changed my mind! How dirty of you Danny Zuko!

  • 15. Maureen MIL  |  July 22, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Grease came out when I was 18 in 1978, and I didn’t know that song was dirty either! Don’t feel bad Alice!

    Chelsea, you are the only blog I read, and I find it entertaining, and fun!

  • 16. thequeenashley  |  July 24, 2010 at 12:46 am

    I have Grease recorded on DVR and I’m so tempted to turn it on and watch now lol.

    Also I am always telling my hubs stories of something someone wrote on a blog and also I just told him the rap music story earlier today haha.

  • 17. Meghan  |  July 24, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    I love my blog friends. I’ve learned so much. What did people do before the internet?!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

