Ten on Tuesday (40)

July 27, 2010 at 7:00 am 18 comments

Wow, this is the 40th week of Ten on Tuesday. I can’t believe y’all aren’t bored with this yet! This week’s questions are from Abby at The Adventures of Abby and Ryan.

1. How do you take your coffee on an average day? How do you like your coffee if you’re spluging?
I drink my coffee black. Sometimes I’ll add pumpkin spice flavored creamer in the fall, but I don’t always like it. If I’m splurging I don’t get coffee, I get coffee flavored drinks. I love Java Chip Frappucinos with peppermint. So good! I also love pumpkin spice lattes and gingerbread lattes.

2. What is your genre of books to read?
Chick lit. I don’t like to think when I read. I also like reading cookbooks. Is that weird?

3. Where do you want to retire, if you could go anywhere?
I want to retire wherever my family is. I don’t care if the weather or scenery is bad. There is no point in living somewhere if you aren’t surrounded by the people you love. Besides, I can just travel to those places.

4. The 17-year-old you is told to write a 10-minute speech. What topic would you have picked?
I was a junior in high school when I was 17… so probably baseball. Back then I knew players and stats and all sorts of info that was normally reserved for men and little boys. I watched games every evening. So I had a lot of thoughts and feelings about The Game, I could definitely give a speech about it.

5. What word describes you best?
Pregnant

6. What is the next “event” that you are looking forward to? (ex.: vacation, moving, date, job change, etc)
I have a baby shower this weekend and I’m very much looking forward to it. If we are thinking on a bigger scale, well, I’m having a baby in September. That’s kind of a big deal.

7. Do you like to discuss controversial topics or do you prefer to avoid those types of conversations?
I do not. It makes me frustrated. I think everyone is entitled to their own opinion but I don’t usually understand those opinions and that frustrates me.

8. Would you rather add 4 free hours to each day, or add 1 extra day to the week?
This is a really difficult question. I’ve debated both in my head, both assuming that those would be NON working hours. I think I’d have to go with an extra day. It would be AMAZING to have 4 more non-working hours every day but realistically I’d probably spend them sleeping so they’d be wasted. Plus, with an additional day, it would be easier to take weekend vacations. I love weekend vacations!

9. If you created a sports team; what would your colors and mascot be?
I’d bring back the Colt .45s because that’s an awesome name. They’d be burnt orange and navy. They’d play baseball, obviously.

10. If you had to be a teacher, what subject would you teach?
Ideally, I’d teach home economics. I’d teach the students to cook and write thank you notes and call their grandma when they need their pants hemmed. I’d teach them that debt is of the devil and that if you fold a t-shirt down the center, you’ll have a ridiculous looking fold when you wear it. I think it could be a fun class.

Great questions this week! Thanks Abby!

Here’s Mr. Linky

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

Pregnant Pause – Week 32 Growth

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  July 27, 2010 at 8:01 am

    I totally agree with you #3. I didn’t really say why I wouldn’t want to move away, but you hit it on the nose. If I’m not by my family, what’s the point?

    I also agree with your #8. I originally thought that 4 hours each day would be better, but then I also figured I would kind of waste them, sleeping or doing other pointless stuff.

  • 2. Karen  |  July 27, 2010 at 8:17 am

    1.How do you take your coffee on an average day?
    Two packets of sweet and low, and a lot of creamer, I never splug on coffee.

    2. What is your genre of books to read?
    Wut?

    3. Where do you want to retire, if you could go anywhere?
    A deserted island.

    4. The 17-year-old you is told to write a 10-minute speech. What topic would you have picked?
    How High School would be better served if they went back to the shop classes, I think most students would benefit from some kind of repair and maintenance class or etc, to prepare them for a career, rather than college being the only option.

    5. What word describes you best?
    Dreamer

    6. What is the next “event” that you are looking forward to? (ex.: vacation, moving, date, job change, etc)
    Not really an event, but I am waiting to see what kind of personality my 1 month old niece Matty is going to have, she is in the stage of cross eyes right now, lol, but I am curious if she will be like her two year old brother or completely different.

    7. Do you like to discuss controversial topics or do you prefer to avoid those types of conversations?
    It depends on the topic, but yes I like to discuss some of them, some just turn in to an argument and those I don’t care to discuss.

    8. Would you rather add 4 free hours to each day, or add 1 extra day to the week?
    An extra day a week that is included with the weekend, to have a 3 day weekend each week would be great.

    9. If you created a sports team; what would your colors and mascot be?
    Red and Purple, with a black outline, I think my 2 year old nephew, Joey, would make a great mascot.

    10. If you had to be a teacher, what subject would you teach?
    History or Science

  • 3. deiala  |  July 27, 2010 at 8:20 am

    I don’t think it’s weird to read cookbooks. They’re one of my favorite ones to read before sleeping. Happy Tuesday

  • 4. Taryn  |  July 27, 2010 at 8:50 am

    1. Normally, just with a little bit of hazelnut creamer. If I get the chanec to go to Starbucks I either get a White chocolate mocha or (non-coffee) an Iced Chai Latte.

    2. Sci-Fi/Fantasy and Horror. I’m nuts for Stephen King and Clive Barker.

    3. Whereever my family is. Honestly I want to be there now, but we just have to make do with visits for the time being.

    4. That was end of my junior year and beginning of senior year…. Probably something on sports injuries and their impact on high school sports.

    5. Aching. (Sciatica and some serious back spasms)

    6. Our big Seacamp Alumni reunion at the end of September. Get to go down to the FL Keys with some of the best friends a girl could have. We’re also doing a “celebration of life” for our friend Jeff who was killed in a car crash in February.

    7. For the most part, I don’t enjoy them… mainly b/c I work in an office where I am the only conservative, the only Republican, and one of the only Christians. It’s really hard to have a conversation without everyone else ganging up on me.

    8. Assuming they’re non-working and that Luke is still in daycare, I would rather have 4 extra hours per day. Then I might actually get something done around the house!

    9. I’d bring back the old school rainbow Astros team/uniforms! They were awesome!

    10. Biological/Medical Illustration

  • 5. Autumn  |  July 27, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Yum… Gingerbread Latte!
    Hope your baby shower is a blast!

  • 6. Ten on Tuesday (11) « Life At A Different Pace…  |  July 27, 2010 at 10:02 am

    […] Tuesday Leave a comment It’s Tuesday and here are this week’s questions. Check out Roots&Rings to see how others are answering. Ten on […]

  • 7. Jessica  |  July 27, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Why they gotta be burnt orange? I’m kidding. My dad thinks the Astros should go back to being the Colt .45s again.
    We got to go to the retro jersey game and they all wore their socks up. They lost, but they looked nice.

  • 8. Alishka Babushka  |  July 27, 2010 at 10:37 am

    fun questions!

  • 9. Mama Fuss  |  July 27, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Hey! I’m having a baby shower this weekend, too! Exciting! I love baby showers. I even loved them when I was trying to get pregnant, (though I admit I did skip one for my cousin when I had just had a miscarriage 2 weeks previous… that was way too hard…)

    Hope you have fun at your shower!

  • 10. Nora  |  July 27, 2010 at 11:20 am

    Hooray for the baby shower! That reminds me I have something I need to get in the mail to you =)

  • 11. Ashley  |  July 27, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    This really cracked me up:

    5. What word describes you best?
    Pregnant

  • 12. Debbie  |  July 27, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    totally with you on #2 and #3. I LOVED my home ec class. I took it in jr high and high school. more people need to take it and learn what you would teach. how exciting that your shower is this weekend…you’ll have a blast! i love baby showers, especially when you’re the one that’s having the baby!!🙂

  • 13. Vanessa  |  July 27, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Pumpkin spice lattes are my favorite part of fall. September is right around the corner!

    I also love to read cookbooks so if it is weird (which I totally don’t think it is!), you are not alone!

    & I love your home ec class idea! The REAL lessons kids should learn.

  • 14. Ten on Tuesday (#40) | Live, Breathe, Shine  |  July 27, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    […] Ten On Tuesday […]

  • 15. Fuegita  |  July 27, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    I love your number 3. I wish I lived closer to family. My siblings live on opposite coasts and me in the middle.

  • 16. Courtney  |  July 28, 2010 at 12:56 am

    Yea, I’d say that having a baby is kinda a big deal. Just kinda though…😉

  • 17. Abby  |  July 28, 2010 at 8:14 am

    I love reading cook-books! Recipe researching is one of my favorite things to do on down time!🙂 Also, I couldn’t agree with you more about wanting to just live by family! I live somewhere gorgeous, but often overlook it and just think it’s a miserable city due to it’s lack of family!😦

    That is so cool that you knew baseball stats etc. Mad impressed!🙂

  • 18. Southern Gal  |  July 28, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    Can’t believe I missed this.

    1. I only drink coffee when my husband asks me to sit with him. I do like pumpkin spice lattes in the fall though.

    2. What is your genre of books to read?
    I love to read period. It really doesn’t matter to me most of the time.

    3. Where do you want to retire, if you could go anywhere?
    Right here in my hometown. I’m like you. I can travel and visit places but keep me where my roots are.

    4. The 17-year-old you is told to write a 10-minute speech. What topic would you have picked?
    LOVE. (We got married that year. So definitely love.

    5. What word describes you best?
    I love your answer! Right now? Mama/Nona

    6. What is the next “event” that you are looking forward to?
    I’m looking forward to our annual beach trip. And I have a niece who is due any day.

    7. Do you like to discuss controversial topics or do you prefer to avoid those types of conversations?
    I’m totally with you on this one.

    8. Would you rather add 4 free hours to each day, or add 1 extra day to the week?
    One extra day.

    9. If you created a sports team; what would your colors and mascot be?
    My son was on a baseball team in Dixie Youth called Anderson Electric. We called them Voltage. It was so much fun coming up with signs for the championship game. I’d go with dark blue with silver lightning bolts.

    10. If you had to be a teacher, what subject would you teach?
    HISTORY! Love it. And I would plan awesome field trips so they could see things firsthand. (Home Ec would be a much more useful subject.)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

