Seven Quick Takes

July 30, 2010 at 8:04 am 13 comments

Today marks the third day I’ve been laid out on my recliner from back spasms. I woke up at 5:00 this morning in tears. I got an ice pack and tried to arrange myself on my billions of pillows. No luck. I tossed and turned. I’m currently propped on my recliner trying not to stretch or move. So that’s that. And here’s some more random for you.

1.
Sometimes my tongue is aggravated when I eat a lot of citrus. The other night I had bruschetta for dinner and afterwards I said, “That was too much acid for me.” Stephen replied in a VERY low voice, “Do you need some base?”

2.
Want to know why 4 year olds shouldn’t chew gum? Because they will inevitably end up in an obstetrician’s waiting room next to a pregnant woman with a headache, smacking as if her life depended on it. I was this close to holding my hand out under her mouth and saying, “spit. it. out.”

3.
Also, why do men accompany their wives to the OB-GYN but wait in the waiting room? They just take up chairs and annoy everyone with their cell phone conversations. Either stay home or join your wife in the room. Stephen comes with me to most appointments but he comes back to the room with me.

4.
My cousin’s cousin was pregnant with twins and had a c-section yesterday. Both babies were 7 pounds. That is 14 pounds of baby in your belly. Holy moly!

5.
I got my hair cut for the first time in about 6 months last night. I feel so much better! I think it should be noted that my stylist was a dude named Angel.

6.
My appointment went well yesterday. There was a bit of sugar in my urine but not enough to worry my doctor… just enough for me to know that I shouldn’t drink a root beer with lunch the days I have appointments. So they did that test and I was embarrassed, then she went to weigh me. I was prepared for about a 4 or 5 pound weight gain since 1) I had only gained 1 pound at my last appointment, 2) I feel a lot bigger, and 3) I ate out several times over the past week. I was not prepared, however, to find out that I gained 7 pounds. In 2 weeks. Seven pounds in two weeks. Which brings my total to 35 pounds. OH. MY! I’m trying not to freak out because, well, what can I do?! But my doctor says, “It’s okay, 40-45 is the norm.” Good to hear… but if she thinks that I’m only going to gain 10 pounds in 7.5 weeks, she’s a crazy lady!

7.
I have my first shower tomorrow. I’m both excited and nervous.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy, Stephen. Tags: .

Why We Aren’t The Hearsts Pregnant Pause – Week 33

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Taryn  |  July 30, 2010 at 8:40 am

    1. LOL. my dad has the same problem. 🙂
    3. That’s why I only had Rob come with me to the ultrasound appts. I don’t think anyone wanted to listen to his conversations about pools.
    7. YAY for baby showers!!!!! You will have so much fun and get tons of cute stuff you didn’t know you needed! 🙂 I mailed some stuff to you this week, hopefully you’ll get it today or tomorrow. 🙂

  • 2. Karen  |  July 30, 2010 at 8:49 am

    Have a great shower and weekend.

  • 3. Jenna  |  July 30, 2010 at 9:07 am

    I can’t believe your cousins cousin had 7 lbs twins!!! Those are two big healthy babies – what a great stress reliever for them. 🙂 I’d love to have two 7 lbers!!

    Have fun at your shower!!

  • 4. lazyhazysummerdaysies  |  July 30, 2010 at 9:44 am

    Hah! #1 is both a science AND a music joke! I like it!

  • 5. Joy  |  July 30, 2010 at 10:27 am

    #3: Only coming as far as the waiting room? Weird?

    #4: Congrats to your cousin and her family

    #7: Have a great time at your shower! Is it just for you, or is it a Jack & Jill (in which case ~ hope both you and Stephen have fun)?!

  • 6. The Stephanie  |  July 30, 2010 at 10:39 am

    Ok, I’ sure you’ve heard this, but the weight gain generally slows down, so I wouldn’t worry much. Actually, if I was you, I wouldn’t worry at all b/c you look AMAZING!!! Seriously, all baby!

    And have fun at your shower tomorrow 🙂

  • 7. Nora  |  July 30, 2010 at 10:53 am

    I hope your back gets better so that you can fully enjoy the shower! How fun; can’t wait to see photos (if you choose to share) them. Love baby stuff. Just love it.

    And agreed, I hope that if/when I get pregnant that my husband will come to most appointments and in the room with me!

    have a lovely weekend and so much fun tomorrow!

  • 8. Southern Gal  |  July 30, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Hope your back is better. A dude named Angel? Was it as scary as it sounds? Well, for your height 40 to 45 lbs. is not a bad thing. You’ll lose around 30 right off the bat, so don’t sweat it. My daughter gained 45 just like her mama. (My mama on the other hand gained 60 with both of us girls. I weighed 9 lbs. and my sister weighed 6 lbs. 6 oz. Does that make you feel better? She’s really skinny even now.)

    Have a great time at that baby shower!

  • 9. Katherine  |  July 30, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Thanks for writing such a fun post even when not feeling great. Don’t worry about gaining too much over the last 7.5 weeks. Has anyone told you that you get to the point where you just can’t eat much? Not much room left in there for food toward the end!

    Have fun at your shower! I hope your back feels better before then.

  • 10. angelica  |  July 30, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    i used to get my hair cut by a guy named angel! i wonder if its the same dude? he always did a fabulous job!

  • 11. Courtney  |  July 30, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    My bff had twin girls 6 months ago, naturally might I add (eek!), and they weighed in at 6lb2oz and 5lb2oz. She only gained 25lb total her entire pregnancy. I know, it’s hard not to hate.

  • 12. Jill  |  July 31, 2010 at 9:08 am

    I hope you have a great baby shower! Don’t be nervous…it will be fun PLUS you get gifts 🙂

  • 13. Mama Fuss  |  August 2, 2010 at 8:31 am

    Well, I wouldn’t say the weight slows down at the end – all the baby is doing in those last 2 weeks, especially, is gaining weight. You’ll probably begin to gain 1-2 lbs per week pretty soon. But, the big thing is, if your doctor isn’t worried, then you shouldn’t be either. He/she knows what to look for and what is healthy or not.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

