Pregnant Pause – Week 33

August 2, 2010 at 8:50 am 14 comments

Hallelujah! Today is the first day in several months that I have woken up without even an ounce of back pain. There is no explanation, I have done nothing differently. I guess I just got lucky with my sleeping position. I did make sure to threaten Stephen’s life if he touched my pillows today… whatever worked last night better work tonight!

I had some pain on Saturday but nothing unbearable. Same with Sunday. I feel like that’s my new norm. I just live every day with a bit of back pain and a lot of trips to the bathroom. Oh and sweat. Did you know that pre-pregnancy I never really sweat? It was a weird piece of trivia about me and I have no idea why. But it’s changed now, I’m a sweater!

Saturday was my first baby shower! It was fantastic but there is too much to tell you for me to include it today in my pregnant pause. I’ll tell you about it later this week. I even have pictures to share. Here’s a teaser.

My belly continues to grow at an exponential pace. I’ve taken to wearing Stephen’s t-shirts to work most days because the majority of my maternity shirts are too short and show my belly panel when I stand up. I’m enjoying this phase of pregnancy because Jansen is so much easier to find. At any given time I can put my hand on my belly and feel around a bit to find his back or his butt or his feet. There’s something about feeling him that makes this so much more real! Oh and Saturday night I was laying on the couch, leaning up against Stephen, and we could see the hiccups for the first time. I have felt them a few times before but this was our first time to see my belly bouncing with each hiccup. It was so cute.

I’m still not ready for this to be over. People are constantly asking, “Are you dying? Are you just so ready for this to be over?” Not at all. Yes I’m hot and uncomfortable, but I’m enjoying this phase. I’m enjoying the final weeks that Stephen and I have as a couple. I’m enjoying the preparation. I’m enjoying just dreaming about him and imagining what he’ll be like. Maybe if you ask me in a few weeks when I can’t get out of bed without help, I may have a different answer. But for now, life is just grand!

Here is my weekly picture.

The shirt I’m wearing is not a maternity shirt and I think next week will be the beginning of bare skin making it’s debut! There is a tiny gap between my shirt and pants this week but not enough to see skin. But if you compare this week with the past, you’ll see two differences. 1) I got a hair cut. 2) I’m no longer wearing my wedding ring. It still fits but my doctor advised me to take it off because “you won’t notice the gradual change and then one day you’ll wake up and it’ll be stuck and you’ll have to get it cut off.” That was enough to scare me. So I’m ringless for a while. I think I will go buy a cheapy ring because I feel naked and keep having panic attacks that I’ve lost my ring. And also I don’t want strangers thinking, “Oh poor knocked up single girl… Life is going to be rough for her!” (I know it doesn’t really matter what they think but it does to me… so hush!)

Those are all of my updates! I hope they were thrilling!

(ToT will be posted shortly.)

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy. Tags: , .

Seven Quick Takes Ten on Tuesday (41)

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren from Texas  |  August 2, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Buy a HUGE fakie & then people won’t feel sorry for you at all.😉

    I love hearing all these updates. Maybe when I am preg I will go back through & read yours week by week to see how they compare.

    I actually can tell you got a haircut & I love it!

  • 2. Debbie  |  August 2, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Aww, I remember when I had to take my ring off. It was right around 33 weeks, too! I feel naked without mine, but, was so afraid to have it stuck on there! And, since I was in the hospital on bedrest, I was so afraid something would happen to it. Not like anyone could pry it off my swollen fingers, but, couldnt take any chances!!

    You look fantastic, cant wait to hear all about the shower!

  • 3. Nora  |  August 2, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Can’t wait to hear more about the shower =) I’m SO glad that you woke up pain free today; I’m sure it’s a huge relief!

  • 4. mom (nana)  |  August 2, 2010 at 10:51 am

    you are are right to just enjoy and not wish away this stage. Life as you know it will never be the same – in a good way – but it is nice to enjoy what you have now. I am with Lauren – get you a honker bling! Of course they will wonder why you have that honker bling and are wearing your husband’s t-shirts and not some stylin’ outfit!

  • 5. Sara  |  August 2, 2010 at 11:11 am

    I can’t wait to see what you got at your shower! So exciting! Glad you woke up feeling better today. That’s wonderful:) I’m always a sweater so I can’t imagine what will happen when I’m pregnant!

  • 6. Mama Fuss  |  August 2, 2010 at 11:52 am

    I wasn’t nearly as sweaty with my first pregnancy, but then, she was born in February, so it wasn’t nearly as hot out as it is now!

    I had to take my rings off yesterday during church, when I noticed that my finger was starting to hurt, so I pried them off and stuck them on my pinkie finger – and they fit! My hands are all puffy and chubby – not looking so good! Last time I had to take them all off way earlier (I’ve had them resized since then) and I wore them on a chain around my neck all the time so it was obvious that I was married! But yeah, I did the fake band thing for awhile, too. But eventually, even that grew too small and I had to give it up!

    It’s a great idea to enjoy this final stage for what it is – enjoy your time w/ your husband and these moments when you are still completely attached to Jansen like this. I’ve had a ton of people describe the postpartum feeling of not having your baby “in” you as really weird – so enjoy this part now!

    Glad your back is feeling better!

  • 7. Southern Gal  |  August 2, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Yay for a good night’s sleep!

    What a cutie she is. Can’t wait to see pictures and hear all about the shower.

    I never took off my rings. I figured lotion or oil would work them off if I ever got to that point.

    Hiccups are the sweetest sensation. You’re so close now.

  • 8. Lyndsey  |  August 2, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Dear mama chelsea,
    i love you and your bump (and your hair).

    I wish i could see the bump in person , but i do love the
    pics!!!

  • 9. Angela  |  August 2, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    I’m excited to hear more about your baby shower! With a picture as cute as that, how could anyone not be excited?
    You’re looking fantastic🙂

  • 10. Tiffany  |  August 2, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Chelsea I love reading your baby updatesI wish I had been better about it when I was pregnant but I had just started getting into blogging. Bad news I have to share though, I never sweat before Riely but now I sweat buckets, it is really no fun especially when you are hauling a toddler and all there stuff in south texas! Hope to see you guys when we are in houston in a couple weeks

  • 11. Kayla  |  August 2, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    A friend of mine recently had a baby, and when her doctor suggested she take her ring off, she simply put it on a chain and wore it around her neck.🙂

  • 12. abby  |  August 2, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    I hear you with the sweating thing. I don’t think I’ve ever been this hot in my life. I go home from work every day and put as little on as possible because I’m so over heated! HA! I’ve stopped wearing my engagement ring, but my band is 1/2 size bigger so I’m holding on to that. You were able to wear yours for a long time! I think I’ll be buying a fake one too. Even with wearing my band I feel naked!

    Your belly is looking soo cute!!! Enjoy this time!!🙂

  • 13. mintyfresch  |  August 2, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    I can somewhat relate to how you feel about people’s thoughts when they see you without your ring: Last week I sent mine off to be re-sized. That weekend I went on a date with my husband, who was, of course, wearing his ring. We were sitting in a really conspicuous “romantic” spot and people kept walking by and making comments to us*. Halfway through the meal, when I realized he still had his ring on and I didn’t have mine, I got really self conscious that people would think I was on a date with a married man!! I instantly made him put his ring away for the rest of the night to avoid any confusion over whether he was a cheating husband. I told him I wanted a fake ring the meantime too, but I don’t think he’s going to go for it since it won’t be for very long.

    *Okay really, not a romantic spot at all. We agreed to sit at the table with the overhead light burnt out since the hostess didn’t want to sit anyone older there (in case they had poor eyesight?). A waiter felt bad for us and brought us a candle…which then caused every single other waiter to stop and comment on our romantic table as they walked by…

  • 14. Taryn  |  August 3, 2010 at 8:13 am

    LOL. I was exactly the same way about my rings!! I could wear the engagement ring for awhile, but not the wedding band (i never had them sautered together.) I finally just gave up and wore them on a chain so at least observant people would notice them!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

