Pregnant With A Chance of Showers

August 5, 2010 at 9:21 am 21 comments

We’re closing in on the end of this pregnancy. The true sign? Well besides my massive belly and constant yawns, we’ve hit the season of showers! I’m blessed with so many fantastic people in my life that there are 3 showers being thrown for me. The first one was last Saturday. I was slightly nervous just because that is A LOT of attention on me for a long time. I’m not that great in person, that’s why I write on the internet.

But it was a blast. There were 5 hostesses and I’d show you a picture except the one on my camera turned out terrible. They themed the shower around books and animals. The invitation had invited everyone to bring their favorite children’s book to start a library for Jansen. Let me tell you… GREAT idea. (So great, in fact, that Stephen spent an hour and a half on Saturday evening reading through many of the books.)

When I walked in, this is what I was greeted with.

How stinking cute is that? The baskets in the back went home with me and are now full of books. And look at those baskets in the front! They’ll be perfect in his nursery! Those big green things are books that spell out his name. PRECIOUS.

Everything was decorated perfectly, with his colors spread throughout the house. This cake was fantastic.

Don’t you just love those tissue paper pom poms?! Since I’m still mobile-less, I’m thinking about making a big orange one and hanging it above his crib. Thoughts and feelings?

My sweet little niece joined the party and was a big ball of smiles the entire time. I’m really hoping that she’s giving Jansen secret messages about how to be a happy baby.

We played a game that involved candy bars. When I first saw it, I thought it might be that nasty game where there are melted candy bars in diapers and you have to smell and taste to figure out what they are. I’m thankful that it wasn’t that game. Instead, there was a science fair type board with candy taped to it.

Then Mendy, the loudest and perkiest of the hostesses, read us a story. Anytime she paused, we were to yell out a corresponding candy that went with the story. Example? “When Chelsea found out she was pregnant and told Stephen, he exclaimed, _____”

“SKOR!” Which, of course, I won because I was there when I told him! If you guessed correctly, you won the candy. It was such a cute game!

Then it was time for gifts. Gifts and more gifts. It was quite overwhelming and hard to process. Not to mention I was sweating like a freaking pig! When I went home I sat by myself and looked through all my loot so I could really process it. I later showed Stephen and made him pretend like he was REALLY INTERESTED. He agreed to sit and look over everything as long as I promised not to make him say that everything was “cute” because he “just doesn’t use that word.”

I really did get some great stuff. Bottles, a swing, a bathtub, items for the diaper bag, items for the house, so much stuff! I didn’t get good pictures of all of it but this is a set of Astros and Longhorn onesies that made me so happy!

Y’all, it was so much fun. It was so nice to see all of those women in the same room at the same time. I’m quite overwhelmed with everyone’s generosity, and I know Stephen is as well. Thanks to the hostesses for throwing such a fabulous shower! Thanks to all the attendees for your love, support, gifts, and prayers. You all mean the world to me.

Now I get to recover this weekend and then have showers the following two weekends. Of course I’ll tell you all about them and show you more pictures. For now, I’ll leave you with a reminder of how cute my momma is!

(If you want to see any of the pictures larger, just click on them.)

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy, Stephen. Tags: , , .

Let’s Just Be Real Seven Quick Takes

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenna  |  August 5, 2010 at 9:25 am

    I am fan of tissue poms – but that’s because I just hung a set of 3 up in Ayla’s big girl room! 🙂

    Your shower hostesses did a beautiful decorating job! Looks like it was a great shower!

    🙂

  • 2. osarah  |  August 5, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Wow, what an awesome shower! I feel the love just looking at how much creativity and work they put into throwing the party. Yay!

  • 3. kelly  |  August 5, 2010 at 10:08 am

    1. you’re little slippers are soooo cute.
    2. avery is sooooo chubby. nothing better than a chubby baby 🙂

  • 4. KT  |  August 5, 2010 at 10:09 am

    What a great idea to start a baby book library! I might have to use that next time I throw a shower. 🙂

    The decorations were super cute!

  • 5. Kapachino  |  August 5, 2010 at 10:21 am

    Ahhh that’s so exciting! I can’t wait till Jansen gets here!

  • 6. Angela  |  August 5, 2010 at 10:26 am

    Your hostesses did a fantastic job with decorating! I’ve heard about having a book shower and think it’s a brilliant idea!
    I made my Stephen promise me that one day when I get pregnant and start going to baby showers, he will be in charge of telling everyone that I will not play the poopy diaper game. That’s just gross, I don’t care if it’s only chocolate.

  • 7. Southern Gal  |  August 5, 2010 at 10:39 am

    What a great idea! You’ll cherish those books. It turned out beautiful.

  • 8. Karen  |  August 5, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Looks like you all had a great time, your color choice looked really good. I like the idea of a library, I have to remember that, and the candy bar game I’m sure was fun. I hope the next two are great also.

  • 9. Erin  |  August 5, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Awesome! And how great is that shower game??? I specifically requested no games at my showers because I hate them so much…but now I’m kinda hoping I get to host one soon so we can play that game!

    Enjoy every minute of this – you’ve waited SO long!

  • 10. zburrows  |  August 5, 2010 at 11:28 am

    In two pictures you dont look pregnant. I even blew them up to see. You dont. its wierd.

  • 11. Nora  |  August 5, 2010 at 11:30 am

    Oh my goodness! That is such a cute theme and I just LOVE the way they decorated and what they wanted people to bring for you & Jansen =) I don’t suppose you could send us a piece of that cake which looks a-mazing!?

    That’s a great game too; I’ll have to file that away for when I have another baby shower to help plan.

    So glad you had a great time; you definitely deserve all the love and the goodies for Jansen!

  • 12. Taryn M. Peine  |  August 5, 2010 at 11:34 am

    Such a cute shower!! I can’t wait for you to put all of this stuff to use in real life – then I want you to tell me what the best stuff is and I’ll copy you 🙂

  • 13. That Married Couple  |  August 5, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Wow, they did such a wonderful job decorating! You really are blessed to have so many friends and family to celebrate with you!

  • 14. mom (Nana)  |  August 5, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    nice comment about your mommy! 🙂 It was fun, wasn’t it!

  • 15. Ashley  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    I loved this: “I’m not that great in person, that’s why I write on the internet.” Glad you had a great time!

  • 16. abby  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    How fun! Love the pom idea over the crib! You NEED to do that!

  • 17. mintyfresch  |  August 5, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    YOU LOOK SO GREAT! When I saw the picture with your niece I was was wondering if it was your twin sister holding her, because surely that could not be pregnant-Chelsea! If I didn’t already know, from that photo I would have never guessed you were pregnant. Way to stay in shape!

  • 18. brandilicious  |  August 6, 2010 at 5:40 am

    Your title made me giggle!

    So happy you had such a wonderful 1st shower. Love the books idea too (filing that one away). 🙂

  • 19. Debbie  |  August 6, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    everything looks like it was so awesome!!! LOVED all the decorations, you can tell how much time was spent on all the details…my kind of shower! I went to a shower recently where they requested books to start up a library, such a great idea!

    So, I’ve heard of the candy bar game for a wedding shower, but, not a baby shower. I might need to get those sentences used with the candy from you! I’m throwing a baby shower over Labor Day weekend and want to use that! 🙂

    um ps – you look amazing…i love your dress!!! and are those the shoes from the 50% oprah coupon at payless?!?! they look familiar. 🙂

  • 20. Uncle Rory & Aunt chris Matthews  |  August 7, 2010 at 4:50 am

    The shower was awesome and we are so proud for you.. Counting down the days for Jansen arrival into your arms.
    We love you,
    Uncle Rory & Aunt Chris

  • 21. Darla Baerg  |  August 12, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    You look cute!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

