Pregnant Pause – Week 34

August 9, 2010 at 9:07 am 14 comments

Welcome to week 34, only 6 weeks left. Here’s an update…

Falling asleep is hard, staying asleep isn’t as hard. Once I can get comfortable and fall asleep, I usually stay that way until my bladder almost explodes. So most nights I only get up about twice and I usually don’t have much of an issue falling asleep. (But just a reminder that this is only true the past 4 nights… so it may not be my new norm, I  must be blessed with a stroke of luck.) Last night I slept in the recliner again. Besides the hour or so it took me to fall asleep, it was great. Stephen slept on the couch in the living room so I wouldn’t be alone. He told me this morning that he won’t be doing that again. I’ll be all alone… left to fend for myself if the creepies find their way inside.

Friday and Saturday night I was in Galveston. I didn’t mention that to you last week. Every year, several of my college friends try to get together for a weekend. Thankfully, my parents bought this rockin’ beach house that can fit all of us. We had 11 on Friday night and due to schedules and other circumstances, we had 6 Saturday night. We had a fantastic time!

I tell you this so I can tell you two pregnancy related things: First, I didn’t sleep on the recliner over the weekend, I slept on a bed and only used 3 pillows. It was not the best sleep but it was better than I expected. I think that’s because I was so exhausted. Second, on Saturday they threw Stephen and me a mini baby shower!

One of our friends made a fancy cake and traveled EIGHT hours with it! There were gifts and games! We played two games that I’d never played before. In the first game, there were 8 brown paper bags stapled shut. We had to pass them around and guess what was inside. Stephen and I tied with another couple but since we’re having the baby, we got the prize. Fun how that works out, huh? The second game was the type of game you only play when you invite dudes to the shower.

Chugging beer from a baby bottle… through the nipple. There were only two participants (one, of course being my husband) due to only three bottles and a lost nipple that we later realized was in paper bag #7. Stephen ended up throwing in the towel halfway through because it was a S-L-O-W process and it froze his tongue.

You can kind of see my belly in this photo. We got some great stuff, including a Rex dinosaur from Toy Story 3 that makes the most obnoxious “raur” in existence. In case there was any question, Stephen registered for that.

In other pregnancy news, my feet hurt. Not like, “oh they are swollen and I’m tired and blah blah blah.” No, the pads of my feet hurt like they are bruised. I literally cannot walk if I’m not wearing shoes or else I feel like someone is beating the bottoms of my feet. It started several weeks ago with random foot tingles, specifically in the middle of the night. Slowly those tingles started to hurt. Now it’s brutal. I’m going to chat with my doctor on Thursday about it but after consulting The Google, I decided it’s Metatarsalgia… which basically just means pain in the metatarsal area. Most websites just say that I should wear shoes with good arch support. I’ve basically been living in my Croc flip flops because they feel like air. They seem to do the trick. Does anyone have any experience with this?

That’s about all I’ve got for you this week. Here’s my belly shot!

What do you think? Huge? Not so huge? Sometimes I feel massive, like when all of my shirts are too short. But other times I don’t feel very big at all.

I’ll add this picture to Bumptastic so you can compare the weeks. Also, I’ll get ToT posted once I come up with ten questions. I actually got a good recommendation for a fun ToT on Twitter but I think we’ll wait until next week to do that one. Happy Monday, have a good week!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Galveston, Pregnancy, Stephen. Tags: , , .

Seven Quick Takes Ten on Tuesday (42)

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara  |  August 9, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Sounds like you had a fun shower! I bet all the pregnancy attention is wonderful! Milk it for all it’s worth 😉

  • 2. Lauren from Texas  |  August 9, 2010 at 10:09 am

    In that picture of you & Stephen, you look SO tan & skinny with just a bump on the front of you! How do you do it?!?!?!?!?!? I hope you are taking notes so I can copy you. Oh wait, I guess this whole blog is a giant “note.” 🙂

  • 3. stemmefamily  |  August 9, 2010 at 10:45 am

    I think you look exactly right for 34 weeks!

    Boo to sore feet but yay for baby showers!

  • 4. Autumn @ One Boy and Two Cats  |  August 9, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Great belly pic this week!
    And I am loving the Rex toy!!

  • 5. Nora  |  August 9, 2010 at 11:33 am

    You don’t look huge to me!
    The beer bottle game cracked me up =) At least he gave it a try!

  • 6. Erin  |  August 9, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    Here’s a little-known yet fun pregnancy fact: after the baby is born your bladder can sometimes take WEEKS to regain its sense of “feeling”…like, I don’t know I have to pee until I SERIOUSLY HAVE TO PEE. Good times 🙂

  • 7. Sarah Johnson  |  August 9, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    I want to make you a video of your bumptastic videos all in line with each other!

    Had soo soo much fun this weekend!

  • 8. Sarah Johnson  |  August 9, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    And by making a video of you bumptastic videos I meant make a video of your bumptastic photos. Geez- mind is still on vacation.

  • 9. abby  |  August 9, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Love the pic of S chugging the baby bottle! So fun that your friends had a shower for you!!! That totally stinks about your feet. I hope they get better soon! And your belly is adorable and I don’t think you look huge at all! Just cute:)

  • 10. Rachel  |  August 9, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    I always wanted a couples baby shower because I thought the games would be fun, even though ‘m not normally a fan of games at showers… ESPECIALLY not the diaper one. GAHROSS!
    Your belly = getting huge. You = Not huge. Me = Jealous.
    PS- I sent you mail today… start anticipating.

  • 11. Mama Fuss  |  August 9, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    My mom has that foot problem and pretty much just wears shoes all the time. She gave up heels long ago and has to make shoes all her shoes are very supportive. Stinks for those who obsessed w/ kitten heels and stilettos, but … You probably shouldn’t be wearing those at nearly 9 mos pregnant, anyhow, right? hopefully once you’ve had the baby everything will go back to normal.

  • 12. Angela  |  August 9, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    I can’t believe that your friend traveled 8 hours with a cake! Now that’s dedication, and a good friend.

  • 13. Stephany  |  August 9, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Your belly is absolutely adorable and Lauren’s right, in the picture of you & Stephen, your belly looks small!

    (Only 6 weeks left?! How crazy!)

  • 14. Taryn  |  August 10, 2010 at 8:07 am

    some of the foot pain can also be due to your ligaments stretching out…. they have to stretch in your pelvis area for birthing purposes, but your body takes it one step further and the ligaments in your knees, ankles, feet, hips, etc all stretch too. and that hurt cuz they’re loose and your bones can move around a little more. fun. I pretty much lived in my crocs and reef flipflops the last few months i was preggo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

