No Idea

August 12, 2010 at 8:15 am 10 comments

I’m currently sitting on my recliner with The Food Network on in the background. I’m taking a thank you note writing break to say a few words to you and let my hand regain some feeling. I’d like to finish all of my thank you notes before Saturday since I have another shower… which means a whole new batch of thank you notes to write. I don’t want to get behind. As so many of us discussed on Tuesday, thank you notes can be overwhelming. And the last thing I want is to be overwhelmed by something I am truly grateful for.

So I have absolutely nothing to tell you today. My blogging mojo has escaped me… along with my memory, my wardrobe, and every bra that fits me properly.

Tomorrow morning (which is actually today for you) I have my next doctor’s appointment. Really hoping I haven’t gained another 17 billion pounds! I think this will be the appointment where she tells me that I have to start coming weekly. That sort of makes me sweat a bit. It’s almost here!

Things are coming together. The nursery looks great, it’s pretty close to being done. Our front living room looks like Babies R Us vomited all over. One of these days I’ll get my mind together and figure out where to put everything. I’m not sure why that’s so hard, it’s not like Jansen is going to judge me. He’s just going to see all this sweet stuff and think that we are the coolest parents. We may or may not tell him that we didn’t actually buy any of it.

We’ve been gifted two hand-me-down Pack N Plays! TWO. For free. I’m telling y’all… I’m not exaggerating when I say that you’ve blessed our socks off. Seriously! So we’re going to pick the Pack N Play we want and probably sell the other on Craig’s List so we can get a bit of cash to go toward other items we need. Can you buy sleep?

(The answer, my friend, is no.)

You can buy a recliner that helps you sleep though. And that’s what we did, and that’s where I park myself every night. In the living room, tucked into our recliner, with two ceiling fans and two floor fans. Stephen doesn’t sleep in the living room with me because the couch isn’t really that comfortable. Rookie is really confused. She starts her night in the living room and then runs to the bedroom. At some point, she ends up back in the living room with me. Of course I appreciate her company but when she starts barking at people in the morning, I want to pull her tail off. I’m sure she’ll get used to it eventually… just about the time we bring a tiny human being home to throw her world upside down all over again.

It’s okay though, she’ll be in good company. Our world will be upside down and inside out, for sure!

Tomorrow is Friday, which means you’re basically getting an entire week of random from me. Why you stick around, I have no idea. No idea.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy. Tags: .

Will The Real Chelsea Please Stand Up Seven Quick Takes

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Southern Gal  |  August 12, 2010 at 8:26 am

    Good morning!

  • 2. Mom (Nana)  |  August 12, 2010 at 9:30 am

    upside down and inside out IN A GOOD WAY!
    (Wow – 2 pack n plays??? And these are from people you don’t even know, right?) How thoughtful and how blessed you are!

  • 3. Maureen/Jansen's Emmie  |  August 12, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Oh wow, reading that your doctor will have you come in weekly made me tear up a bit, and my heart skip a beat! His birth is around the corner, and I just cannot believe it. It seems like you all just told us we were going to be grandparents, and now here it is. It’s all so surreal. One of my dreams is about to come true, to have a grandbaby, thank you Chelsea, and Stephen!

  • 4. Nora  |  August 12, 2010 at 11:10 am

    I’m not even pregnant and I’m sleeping like crap lately so anything to get a good night’s sleep is well worth it in my book!

  • 5. osarah  |  August 12, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    Can I join you on the terrible sleep wagon? I think I need a recliner. I need some good sleep! (And I know I’m not trying to sleep while carrying a nearly full term baby inside of me, but really, insomnia central here.)

  • 6. Angela  |  August 12, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    You can buy sleep….in the form of a nanny!
    (P.S. I’m for hire…)

  • 7. abby  |  August 12, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    We stick around because we love how funny you are. Seriously. I sit here every day and laugh because you are always so true and somehow you put this funny spin on it all! I was telling my BFF (who also reads your blog) how I wish we lived closer to you because I’m positive that we’d be IRL friends! Good luck with the Thank You notes…I like to make each of mine personal instead of just “Thanks for the diapers.” so it’s always exhausting!!

  • 8. Vanessa  |  August 12, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    I need to buy me a recliner if it’ll get me some sleep. Hang in there honey, you are sooo close to meeting your little one! & I stick around because I enjoy what you write. 8)

    Good luck finishing your thank you cards!❤

  • 9. Parker's Mom  |  August 12, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    I started my weekly visits about 3 weeks ago, due to that AFP test that was elevated back in March/April (I can’t remember exactly when). It’s not that big of a deal, but it defintely let’s you know it’s almost time!! I feel your excitement and anxiety!

    Thank you notes are defintely overwhelming, I still need to finish some of mine from the last shower I had (I finished the first batch for the first shower that week), so I might try to finish them up today or tomorrow.

    Anyway, I stick around because you are so honest, and I think it’s funny how all my friends that have had babies in the past have never been so honest…I wish they would have been, I don’t think I would have been so anxious about every little thing had I known I wasn’t the only one ever having to deal with stuff!!

    Keep on writing! I can’t wait to see you!!

  • 10. Mama Fuss  |  August 12, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    I finished my thank you notes last weekend and I keep remembering ones that I have to do from other individual gifts (that came outside the shower or whatever.) I have another shower next weekend, so… I really need to finish the random ones, too, I guess.

    I hear you on losing all the bras that fit properly… what is the deal? I don’t remember having this problem last time…

    You MIGHT want to consider leaving the 2nd pack’n’play at your parents house or something, so you have less to haul over there if you/Jansen are going to spend a lot of time there. Just a thought. Of course, i totally get the need/desire for the cash to buy more stuff you don’t have any of… either idea is a good one.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

