Seven Quick Takes

August 13, 2010 at 8:00 am 10 comments

Even though I’ve given you a week of fluff posts, I shockingly have more random to share!

1.
On Monday I am getting a pedicure with my MIL and SIL. I’m looking forward to it more than you could ever imagine.

2.
Tomorrow is a big day. I have my second baby shower (third, if you include the mini shower in Galveston) and my sister is moving. She used to go to school in Missouri but moved down to Houston in December to be in warmer weather and closer to her friends and family. She’s been living with my parents, who conveniently live in the same neighborhood as we do, but she’s moving into her own apartment about 40 minutes away. While I’m excited for her to move to this next stage, it sure would have been fun to have her close by when Jansen is born. She assures me that she won’t be MIA.

3.
I have plugged Swagbucks several times before and many of you have joined. I’m going to plug it again because there is a pretty good sign up code going on right now. So basically it’s a website that you use instead of Google. You earn points for searches and other random things, and then you can buy things with those points. There are people out there that say it “doesn’t work for them.” I say “BS.” If you use it, it works. You may not earn as quick as other people, but you still earn. And I don’t see any reason to not get free gift cards… even if it takes a while to earn them!

So here is what you do. Click here and sign up through me. (Please.) Then enter this codes: SwagToSchool (that expires today, so don’t wait!). I also hear that “BackToSchool” may also be a code, so give that a shot as well.

(I get points when you earn points from searching. So if you sign  up and don’t do anything, neither of us get points! If you sign up and only get points from codes, I don’t get points. Which is totally fine, I just want you to be aware of what the referral process is all about. You can then give your referral link out and earn more points from your people.)

4.
I can’t wait to do a post about all the amazing things people have made for us Jansen. I’m in awe and it really makes me wish I had some sort of sweet skill.

5.
Jansen gets the hiccups at noon everyday. I know this because I eat lunch from 12-1 and he always seems to have the hiccups when I gather my lunch and sit down. Wouldn’t that be great if that meant he loves schedules?! Specifically eating, sleeping, and pooping schedules!

6.
Geico is kind of awesome.

7.
How do I know? Oh. I got in a wreck last night. On the way home from work a lady rear-ended me. I saw it coming, I knew she was going to hit me. The truck in front of me was going fast even though all of the cars in front of him were NOT (which of course we didn’t know because we can’t see through metal). At the last second, he swerved over into the other lane and went on his merry way. I was able to slow down in time but the lady behind me wasn’t. I’m SHOCKED that the car behind her was. I honestly thought it was going to be a several car accident. Anyways, I want to punch that guy in the truck in the jugular. The lady was super nice.

I got out of the car and she was already apologizing. Then she saw my stomach and said, “Oh my gosh, are you okay??” I thought that might be one of the worst moments of her life… hitting a car and seeing a pregnant woman get out. Anyways, she was great. Her insurance company (Geico) called me right away and after answering a bagillion questions, I felt much better. I have an appointment with them at 8:00 am (this is on autopost) to talk it out, get the damaged assessed, and get a rental. I’m very, very curious to see how much this is going to cost them. The back is pretty banged up. I’ll keep you posted.

I’m just very thankful that it wasn’t worse than it was. I’m not hurt, Jansen is still wiggling around, the car was drivable, and the lady didn’t make it difficult. Blessings all around me! But let’s not make this a habit… standing on the side of the freeway during rush hour in 200 degree heat is not my idea of fun.

Hope you all have a fantabulous weekend. I have a shower tomorrow!

Entry filed under: Chelsea.

No Idea Pregnant Pause – Week 35

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vanessa  |  August 13, 2010 at 9:05 am

    I must have missed the previous times you’ve plugged swagbucks because today is the first day I’ve heard of it. But I certainly signed up! Free stuff is good stuff if you ask me! 8)

    So glad to hear both you & Jansen are okay after the accident!

    Have a great weekend and fun at your shower!!

  • 2. KT  |  August 13, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Glad to hear that you are okay after the accident! I think that I would automatically burst out crying if I hit someone that was pregnant (or really anyone).

    I am not a fan of Geico because when I lived in Philly they charged me DOUBLE what a better insurance company charged me (with no tickets, no accidents, etc.). So I will never insure with them again.

  • 3. Karen  |  August 13, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Glad you’re ok, and baby on board too.

    Have a great weekend!

  • 4. Kara  |  August 13, 2010 at 11:01 am

    I totally forgot about my Swagbucks account! I may have to start using it!

    We don’t have Geico in Canada, but I do love that little gecko in their commercials!

    And I would probably start to cry if I accidentally rear-ended a pregnant lady’s car. So horrible! I’m glad you and Jansen are okay 🙂

  • 5. Mama Fuss  |  August 13, 2010 at 11:44 am

    I’m glad you’re feeling okay after your car accident! You may want to call your OB and get checked out before the weekend just in case, though regular movement is a good sign. But I have to tell you, that if I had been in a car accident at this point, i would have been going to the hospital to get checked out. No sense in worrying over what can be verified easily. Just a thought. But I think you mentioned the other day that you have an appt on Monday? So maybe you’re good anyhow…

  • 6. Nora  |  August 13, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    Wait, what!? Your sister went to school in Missouri? You know I’m from there, right!? =)

    So glad that you & Jansen are ok post car wreck yesterday. How scary.

    Enjoy the shower tomorrow!

  • 7. mom (Nana)  |  August 13, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    How can you get a pedi on a Monday when you work? Do you have a VACATION day???? I am glad you get to do that with your family – fun!
    And once again I say, thank you God for protecting my daughter and my grandson.

  • 8. Debbie  |  August 13, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    yikes!! im so glad that you guys are okay! how scary!

    i wish i had known about your swagbucks before i signed up in the spring. i could have helped your referral #s. did you do all the crazy stuff yesterday with all 5 codes and then the word scramble? good stuff…yesterday was a lot of points! i havent redeemed anything yet…you?

  • 9. Stephany  |  August 13, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    I had no idea you earned points when other people sign up through you! I signed up through you so you earn points from me?! I need to get more people onto this website!! 🙂

    SO GLAD you’re OK after the accident. (And yes, Geico does rock. We have it & love it.)

  • 10. Southern Gal  |  August 14, 2010 at 6:53 am

    Glad the accident was not serious.

    Have fun at the shower!

    I am getting your stuff together. I had to stop and start so many times it isn’t funny. When my school room gets straightened out I can begin again. I have before pictures of that room, so you’ll understand when you see them. Oh wait. I’m sure I WON’T be posting them. It’s over the top embarassing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

