Pregnant Pause – Week 35

August 16, 2010 at 9:05 am 21 comments

We are almost done with these Pregnant Pauses, aren’t you excited?!

We have entered the stage of “the baby could come at any time.” My brother, sister, and I were all early. I’m not sure if that sort of thing runs in the family, but I’m just going to assume it’s a possibility and be prepared. Although Stephen was 3 weeks late so I’m also going to be mentally prepared to go past my due date. No expectations– that’s the name of the game!

Stephen and I had a conversation last night about “what if he came tomorrow?” For the most part, we’re ready. We have the essentials… minus a crib mattress, but he won’t be in the crib for the first few weeks anyways. We also realized that we don’t have our stroller and carrier set yet. So this is how it would go. We’d rush to the hospital and call my mom, “Hey mom, we’re going to the hospital. Would you be a peach and run by Babies R Us and buy our stroller/carrier combo. Thanks a bunch.” Then we’d call his mom and say, “We may or may not be having a baby in 5 seconds. Can you bring the three of us some clothes? Be sure to grab my hand knit socks! And also some Double Stuf Oreos? Thanks.”

So after that conversation we decided it might not be the end of the world to go ahead and start thinking about packing a bag. Granted, that bag could sit around for literally 6 weeks, but it could also be necessary in a few days. Better safe than sorry, I suppose. So one of these next few days we’ll pack a bag… which will then jinx us and Jansen and his giant head will stay put for 6 more weeks. But I’m willing to take that change. He can cook as long as he needs to.

Stephen has reached the stage of realizing that this is really close and wondering if we’re prepared. I was ready for this. It’s common. Women start reading books when they are 5 weeks along. They read blogs and magazines and baby discussion boards. They think about the nursery for approximately 23.5 hours a day. They come up with the “what to register for” list and constantly think and rethink their decisions. They are mentally prepared. Then in the 35+ week range, the men realize the time is near. They have yet to crack open a book and start wondering if all the crap in their living room is enough. I hear this is why those lamazze and birthing classes are so helpful… it gets the man mentally prepared. We opted out of those so we may be hitting up You Tube so that Stephen can have some peace of mind.

I feel mentally prepared. Not physically. I’m tired and everything hasn’t found its spot yet. I have piles of thank you notes to write and my folders at work aren’t quite in order. The good news is that I got the cutest diaper bag in existence so even if I’m not prepared, I’ll at least look the part!

Speaking of… this is what I look like today.

It’s nice that my belly is so big that you can’t notice my growing butt and thighs! I don’t know if you can tell, but I’m kind of huge. In fact, I had several people come up to me at church yesterday to remind me that I’m getting really close. Yes. Yes, I know this.

I spent at least 2 hours in my parents’ pool yesterday afternoon trying to cool down and give all of my muscles a break. It was nice. Sort of makes me wish I could conduct my entire life in my recliner or the pool. (Or in a pedicure chair… which is where you’ll find me today after work!)

Do any of you have any advice for the home-stretch? Any advice for Stephen? Any must-haves for our hospital bag? Let us hear it!!

(ToT will be posted shortly.)

Entry filed under: Pregnancy. Tags: , .

Seven Quick Takes Ten on Tuesday (43)

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Southern Gal  |  August 16, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Patience. Those last few weeks seem to take forever. It will be here before you know it. Stephen will be great. He will find out shortly what your “birthing style” is and abide by your rules! I didn’t want anyone talking during a contraction. When our daughter went into labor, Donnie remarked that she was just like her mother. No talking during contractions! A small paint roller for lower back pain was a must have in my bag. Make sure you don’t doze while he’s rolling. Donnie commented to the doctor he “could have painted the whole hospital by now” since I fell asleep and he kept rolling! It won’t be long now.

  • 2. Taryn M. Peine  |  August 16, 2010 at 9:50 am

    You don’t look huge at all! It looks like it’s all in your belly! I’m terrified of face/arm/leg explosion by around week 30…you don’t have any of that! Obviously I have no advice, but I’d really like to know about your diaper bag. Yay for the impending arrival of Jansen!!

  • 3. angelica  |  August 16, 2010 at 9:54 am

    you are not HUGE at all.. you look amazing! i can only hope i’ll look as great as you when ever i decide to have a baby!! you are going to be a fantastic mom and i can’t wait to see photos of jansen when he arrives!!

  • 4. Mama Fuss  |  August 16, 2010 at 9:57 am

    For my first baby, I had my bag packed and waiting in the car from 34 weeks on – just in case! I didn’t need it until we induced on my due date. 🙂

    I will say that the carrier/stroller thing should probably be picked up sooner than later. You need to install the base in the car, which is a PITA, especially in the heat (we were doing ours the first time in February and my husband was still sweating by the time he was done, if that tells you how it can go) and then you’ll want to practice putting it in and out a little so that you don’t rattle baby too much when you go to put him in the car the first time. You don’t want to be driving home with a screaming baby, upset because he got shaken up as you tried to figure out how to get him in the car.

    Comfy clothes for hanging out in the hospital postpartum. I had PJ bottoms and my nursing tanks and slippers and was SO happy to get out of those darn hospital gowns! If you’re nursing, bring some Lansinoh or whatever lanolin cream (this brand is my favorite!) you want/have, plus some disposable breast pads (you probably won’t leak until your milk comes in, but the lanolin can stain a bit, so the disposable pads are nice to protect your bras/tanks). Your toiletries – tooth brush/paste, shampoo, etc.
    Something to do while you labor in the hospital room and in the evening hours when he won’t sleep except in your arms at 2am. (a book?) If you get an epi, there will likely be a short time at least that you need something to distract you from the wait… if you want to go unmedicated, then you likely won’t be thinking about reading or watching a DVD…
    Cute clothes for baby – not just a take home outfit. We were there for 2 days. Make sure it’s an easily accessible outfit – my favorite are the “speedy exit creepers” from Carters. They button all the way down and are AWESOME for newborns (and really for longer, too!)

  • 5. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns  |  August 16, 2010 at 10:28 am

    I personally think that you look great!!! 🙂

    When my sister in law was close to her due date, people kept telling her how HUGE she was and kept asking if she was having twins… she took it in stride as best as she could but she got so sick of those comments…

    Can’t believe that your due date is so close! Seems like you were just telling us you were expecting!!

  • 6. Taryn  |  August 16, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    Bring a boppy pillow if you have one, they make life so much easier when breastfeeding. Your own pillow/pillowcase if you’re a pillow snob (I am.) 🙂 Toiletries,cuz the first shower they let you have after giving birth is the best shower of your life! Comfy PJs and/or robe. Comfy slippers or flipflops (if you end up having a c-section, they will force you to walk the halls and stuff… i did many laps around the maternity ward! Cell phone charger and fresh batteries in the camera are a must, as well!

  • 7. Nora  |  August 16, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    I, for one, think you look great! And it doesn’t look like your thighs and butt are growing either.

    I don’t do well with anticipation ever so the whole knowing the baby could come at any time thing will be tough for me if/when I get to that stage. However, for my friends? I get so excited. I call every few days to see how they are doing, do they need anything and of course to make sure the baby hasn’t come yet and I missed it (somehow)! Yes, I’m a dork. I just get super excited for my friends who are about to have babies!

  • 8. Maureen/Jansen's Emmie  |  August 16, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    You look beautiful! You really are the kind of pregnant woman that “glows.” I am amazed that he is almost here. I’m so happy 😀

  • 9. Rachel  |  August 16, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    You are NOT huge. Your belly is big, but the rest of you is not swollen… LUCKY.
    Just make sure you have your camera. Ours was in my overnight bag that got left in the car during Andrew’s rush to get in the hospital ASAP. This next time I’ll probably throw it in my purse so it doesn’t get left.
    Pads… The pads they give you afterwards are like diapers and totally uncomfortable. As soon as you can wear “normal” ones, you’ll want them. And I agree with Taryn. That shower is the best shower of your life.

  • 10. Autumn @ One Boy and Two Cats  |  August 16, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    First, I vote for the Oreos in the bag.
    Secondly, I’m with Rachel… pads. Gross, I know, but practical.
    And be ready mentally for the unexpected. I know that sounds impossible, but try. Lots of prayer and faith in God to see you though the birth and the next 18 years!!

  • 11. The Vamp Tramp  |  August 16, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Oh, so you’re one of THOSE women… the kind that stay thin while they’re pregnant. Hmph. Not fair. (Not that I know what I’ll look like when I get pregnant, but I have an idea. A very BIG idea.)

  • 12. MrsSJohnson  |  August 16, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    I have no advice to offer you- only prayers! We love you guys!

  • 13. osarah  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:11 am

    No advice here – I just have to say that your hair looks fantastic!

    Also, I hope the whole early/late thing isn’t genetic. My sister was induced with her daughter, and my mom was induced with all four of us. Not so fun…

  • 14. Taryn  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Oh, and the Double Stuf Oreo comment….. if you start having contractions, or if your water breaks… eat something before you go to the hospital!! I didn’t, and cuz of the c-section I didn’t eat for almost 36 hours. Ice chips and and IV. Once you are admitted, you don’t get food til well after the baby is there!!! 🙂

  • 15. Meghan  |  August 17, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Wait a second, you are pregnant?

    🙂

  • 16. Valerie  |  August 17, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    Yay! So close! My little boy is six weeks old now! It is the best time of my life…..and also the most tired but sooooo worth it!

    A battery-operated fan saved my life! All of my rooms had overhead fans but the bed wasn’t directly under it. Plus, little guy would be cold with a big breeze. The fan was directed at my face and was perfect!

    I had a surprise c-sec and wished I’d brought some pj’s that didn’t have waistbands. I never planned for a c-sec and was, therefore, stuck in their gowns because I brought sweatpants only.

    I agree with the boppy pillow too. I didn’t take it and wound up having to keep 5 or 6 hospital pillows by my bed to breastfeed in comfort.

    My biggest advice is to plan on a 41 week delivery. From 38 weeks, I had contractions ranging from 5 minutes to 1 hour apart THE ENTIRE TIME. I drove myself crazy thinking it was going to be any minute. Three weeks later, they induced me. That was at my 41 week mark. I wished I’d stopped waiting for it because it probably would have happened on its own if I weren’t so stressed about it. Just keep yourself busy. Eat great food because you never know which meal will be your last. Spend time with your hubby.
    KEEP YOUR MIND OFF OF IT!

    Good luck!!

  • 17. Valerie  |  August 17, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    To ammend… I meant your last pre-hospital meal. Nothing more morbid that that. Although, hospital food is pretty morbid.

  • 18. Paige  |  August 18, 2010 at 12:23 am

    Let’s see…I’d suggest a boppy or doughnut to take to the hospital. If you have an episiotomy (or are just sore), and you want to get out of bed to sit in a chair or something for a change, you can use it to relieve some of the direct pressure.

    Also, at my hospital the nurses would take a diaper and split it open and put crushed ice in it…and then I’d put it in my pants. Best. Thing. Ever.

    Bring nipple cream in case they’re killing you like mine were.

    Aside from that, just have a change of clothes for each of you, any special shower items you really want to use (the first shower is very nice), etc. and any comfort items you can’t do without for a couple of days.

    As for everything not being in its place – don’t worry about it. I had things “in their place” and then when we got home with la bambina, we found out that some of the places we’d chosen just weren’t quite right for how we were ending up living. So. Don’t worry about it! You’ll put it where you most use one he arrives anyway.

  • 19. Cousin Kim  |  August 18, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    Hey….I don’t notice that your abnormally huge. I know you feel that way. Please don’t be so hard on yourself – you are a vessel right now. Just remember what you’re doing here (as if it’s hard to forget).
    Is it just me or is your hair getting redder?
    Pretty color!

  • 20. Cousin Kim  |  August 18, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    I just tried to post this and it said Duplicate error:
    Try # 2

    Hey….I don’t notice that your abnormally huge. I know you feel that way. Please don’t be so hard on yourself – you are a vessel right now. Just remember what you’re doing here (as if it’s hard to forget).
    Is it just me or is your hair getting redder?
    Pretty color!

  • 21. Cousin Kim  |  August 18, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    ooooo….it was a duplicate. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

