Yesterday We Talked About Baths, Today Is About Showers

August 19, 2010 at 9:07 am 14 comments

Last weekend I had my second baby shower. This one was hosted by my mother-in-law, two sister-in-laws, and Stephen’s aunt. And of course, it was wonderfully decorated and I was spoiled rotten. Or maybe Jansen was spoiled rotten, it’s not like I’ll be wearing the onesies or sitting in the high chair. Regardless, someone in the Hurst family was spoiled rotten.

Check out some of the decor. This my mom, my MIL, and me.

Do you need a close-up of those cupcakes?

Cute! They were really good too. The icing looks like it would be super sweet but it really wasn’t.

They had all of my belly pictures hanging above the buffet!

It was pretty darn cute!

The food was great, I had two platefuls because I’m pregnant and I can. It even prompted one of the women to say, “Have you had an appetite chance since you’ve been pregnant?” I wanted to say, “Clearly!” but I felt that might be rude so I just responded, “Hmm, just a tad.”

Speaking of rude. They played a game called “HOW FAT IS CHELSEA?” Just kidding. Kind of. They had a guessing game to see who could guess how many inches around I am, and honestly HONESTLY it didn’t hurt my feelings. I had no clue how big I was and I was thankful that they didn’t make me guess. It was fun to see the answers though. What’s your guess?

My SIL, Heather, guessed the exact answer. I’m 43.5 inches around. She said she’s been watching a lot of weight-loss shows so she had a good idea about large waists! Whatever works, Heather!

Then we did presents. There were presents a-plenty. And of course it’s fun to open them but it’s always more fun when I get home because I can look through everything slowly and actually process it. Here’s a very important question for you… why is everything so much cuter when they put something on the butt?

A frog. On the butt! We also got this little romper that is blue and white striped and it has a crab on the front. On the butt it says, “Ahoy!” We melted. Baby butts are already so cute… they just become over-the-top cute when you decorate them!

I obviously can’t show you everything but I’ll leave you with a few more pictures. This is me with the hostesses. (L-R: Aunt Melanie (Tia Mel), MIL, me, SIL Courtney, SIL Heather – who just got engaged and has a ginormous rock and I should have taken a picture to show you)

This is the diaper bag I mentioned the other day. I actually cheated and opened it before the shower because it’s from my cousin and she wasn’t in town and I just couldn’t wait because it was in a big bag and it was heavy. So I opened it. And it was a diaper bag filled with everything she LOVED when her little Sophie was a newborn. And I had to show you the bag because it’s hard to find something this stinking cute when you’re having a boy.

Don’t you love it? It’s beautiful and well-made and I’m going to look so hip!

In case you couldn’t tell, it was a great shower. My top was sheer and I was wearing leggings, so I didn’t sweat as much as I did at the first shower in the denim dress. Which I think is a bonus for both me and the guests who have to hug me.

I’m going to leave you with the best picture of the day. It doesn’t include any baby gear or even a baby bump, but it’s such a great picture that I’d think it is totally blog-worthy. This is me with my sister.

As always, you can click on any of the pictures to make them bigger. Thanks for letting me document this. It may not be as fun for you to read,  but this is the type of post that I’ll want to revisit in the future.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Pregnancy. Tags: , , .

A House Full Of Talent Seven Quick Takes

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Autumn @ One Boy and Two Cats  |  August 19, 2010 at 9:23 am

    You look adorable! Looks like a good time! Isn’t it great to be blessed with friends and family like that?!?
    And yes…. a baby booty DECORATED is incredibly cute.

  • 2. jennifer ariens  |  August 19, 2010 at 9:48 am

    So Happy For You! And So Much Fun!
    The picture of you and Lindsay is Priceless!
    You two look so much alike.
    I always wanted a sister but only had 2 brothers…it’s just not the same relationship. Enjoy ya’lls!
    Be blessed!

  • 3. Karen  |  August 19, 2010 at 9:48 am

    LOL, now we know what Stephen would look like, if he was a girl.

    Kudo’s to your family and friends, they have done great on your showers, I’m glad you had a great time, now, again, hurry up and get that baby here.

  • 4. Sister  |  August 19, 2010 at 11:09 am

    I agree..that was definitely the best picture of the day!

    ps, I love the crab onsie!

  • 5. Kara  |  August 19, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    I couldn’t help but notice that the little “Jansen” flag in the first picture is more or less pointing right at him!

  • 6. Cousin Kim  |  August 19, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    Wow…
    I feel so honored to have (sorta) made an appearance in the blog! I figure once Jansen is born – you won’t even mention me or Sophie anymore. LOL (Totally understandable!)
    I am so happy you love…love…love the diaper bag. I guess I did pretty good. :o)
    Gives me all sorts of warm fuzzies to know that I got you something you love and that will definitely be USED!
    Love you! ♥

  • 7. abby  |  August 19, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Love the decorations! Your family did a great job! I LOVE the diaper bag!!! So cute and yes, you will be stylin! I have to agree with the baby butt thing. Anything that has decorations on the butt is just cute!! Glad you had a wonderful shower!

  • 8. Stacie  |  August 19, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Someone is definitely going to be spoiled!

  • 9. Nora  |  August 19, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    I think it’s fun to read these things! It’s so true, anything on the butt of baby clothes makes it instantly 10 times more adorable.

    You look so great in these photos; definitely have that glow. Thanks for sharing all the photos =)

  • 10. Debbie  |  August 19, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    What an awesome shower!!! That’s so great! Love all the pictures! Jacob had a onesie when he was about 4 months old with a tiger face on the butt. I LOVED that outift and took so many pictures of Jacob on his tummy with his tiger butt in the air. Haha.🙂

  • 11. mom (nana)  |  August 19, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    I am going to be “spanking” my little grandson’s butt all the time! (And that is the BEST picture…my two sweet daughters together – so special!!!)

  • 12. Maureen/Jansen's Emmie  |  August 19, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    It was fun! Jansen will be well dressed, for sure!

  • 13. Mama Fuss  |  August 20, 2010 at 8:44 am

    Yes, there is always something especially cute about things on the butt of outfits – (though I have to tell you, there is something especially precious about having RUFFLES on the butt when you’re getting girl clothes) but there is also something about clothes just being so TINY. Everything is cuter when it is that small!

    Looks like a fabulous shower and I LOVED your outfit. You looked amazing!

  • 14. Gabby  |  August 20, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    The belly picture mobile decoration… I love it, they love you a lot! Eat all you want, you are earning it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

