Pregnant Pause – 36 Weeks

August 23, 2010 at 9:10 am 15 comments

As of yesterday, I’m officially considered “full term.” I’m not exactly sure what that means… I imagine it means that if Jansen were born today, the likelihood of him having any developmental issues is slim. Is that right? Does anyone know? I’m sure I could Google but sometimes you guys are better than Google.

I’m pretty sure he is getting bored in there. He moves around constantly and I’m pretty certain that he’s trying to back his way out. His butt is usually pressed up against my belly, causing me to look deformed and lop-sided. Most of the time it is pretty entertaining but sometimes it really hurts. It really makes me wonder how big he is. He feels like he must be huge because he is literally all over the place, but the last measurement we had put him at the 54th percentile. I have an appointment on Wednesday, maybe she’ll give me a bit more insight then.

I have some bad news (mostly bad to me and my sister, and I suppose Stephen). Last night we found my first stretch mark. Let me clarify. Last night we found my first stretch mark on my belly. My hiney is another story and I’d rather not talk about it. Every night Stephen holds my belly and feels Jansen’s movements and then gives him a kiss. Last night as he was doing this he stopped and said, “Wait. What is this? Did you scratch yourself?” Who knows?! This belly gets in the way. He went on, “It looks sort of shiny. Is it a stretch mark??” SAD DAY. I have been told by books and the internet that stretch marks are hereditary… if your momma got them, you’ll get them. My momma didn’t get them so I thought I was in the clear. Then my butt began to look like a sunburned zebra, red stripes from cheek to cheek. I was sad to see that but since my butt is never seen in public, I wasn’t too concerned. But my belly? My belly often visits the beach.

So we are about 99% sure that the line we found last night is a stretch mark. This morning I was inspecting it and I found two more lines on my belly. It is not yet confirmed if they are stretch marks, they are lacking the shiny quality of my beloved first mark. We shall see. So bad news sister, looks like we aren’t in the clear.

Other than that, there aren’t many changes. My feet still hurt, I’m only able to sleep in the recliner, and I can still eat cinnamon rolls like a champ.

This weekend was really productive. I had my last shower on Saturday (more on that later in the week) and spent some time trying to get organized. I still have a lot of work to do but I feel like I’ve made progress. Stephen put the stroller/carrier set together. Then he put the swing together. It was so cute. Until we turned it on. It made the WORST noise (grind click grind click) that, I think, may be worse than a screaming baby. And the sound effects on it? Holy cow! One of the reviews we read online said, “The waves sound like a construction site and the birds sound like two pterodactyls fighting over meat.” Needless to say, we knew we couldn’t keep it. I got online and did some research on swings. I am very sensitive to clicks and I knew I’d go insane if I had to listen to rhythmic clicks all day.

We ended up learning that the one with the best reviews was this Fisher Price swing that converts into a high chair. Interesting. Well we already have a high chair… So I got online and read the reviews for our high chair. Several complaints about how “impossible” it is to get the tray on and off easily. So we decided to return the swing and the high chair and get the two in one piece. Thankfully, Babies R Us didn’t give us any grief over our partially assembled swing that we couldn’t get back in the box and we got the full refund. Last night, Stephen put together the new piece. It doesn’t look as fancy as the others but it is SILENT and compact. To all of you preggos out there, I recommend this product!

Things are coming together. I feel much better after this weekend, knowing we have a stroller and a carrier and a mattress. I can definitely feel that we are nearing the end. I had several bouts of Braxton Hicks over the weekend, mostly when I fold the laundry. I think that the heat and bending are just too much for my body at this point.

Here’s my weekly photo:

When you look at me head-on, my belly sticks out the bottom of that shirt. Thankfully it doesn’t show up in the picture!

(Ten on Tuesday questions were posted as of last Thursday. I think this week is going to be a lot of fun, I’m anxious to see who participates!)

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Pregnancy, Stephen. Tags: , .

Seven Quick Takes Ten on Tuesday (44)

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren from Texas  |  August 23, 2010 at 9:42 am

    My mom didn’t get stretch marks either so I thought I was in the clear! DANGIT.

    Can’t wait to see you! Don’t let that baby come out early!

  • 2. Erin  |  August 23, 2010 at 10:22 am

    I made it all the way to week 35 with no stratch marks – thought I was going to be in the clear. WRONG!!! They pretty much exploded after that. My tummy looks like a tiger!

    “The waves sound like a construction site and the birds sound like two pterodactyls fighting over meat.” That seriously made my day 🙂

  • 3. Tabaitha  |  August 23, 2010 at 10:36 am

    I remember telling everyone how excited I was that I didn’t get any stretch marks on my belly with Mason. Even during labor, my doctor commented on me being a lucky girl. Then I made the mistake of looking in the mirror after I gave birth to see what my stomach would like. Big mistake. It’s all stretched and the skin just hangs there. Then I saw it, I had stretch marks. When I asked my doctor he said it’s extremely common to get them after giving birth. I was so disappointed. They lighten over time, but still.

  • 4. Taryn  |  August 23, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Please, my stomach looks like someone attacked me with a striping machine. They’re not as noticable after two years, but I still show my tummy in a bathing suit. I don’t really care 🙂

    And yes, that’s exactly what “full-term” means.

  • 5. Veronica  |  August 23, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Looks like Jansen is starting to drop! You’re so close and you look SO good.

  • 6. The Stephanie  |  August 23, 2010 at 10:57 am

    I’m pretty sure “full-term” just means that if you go into labor, they won’t stop it. The baby is full developed, so everything should be A-OK!

    And the stretch marks… sorry girl. My tummy is full of them. I always remind the kids “YOU DID THIS TO ME!” LOL.

  • 7. Darla Baerg  |  August 23, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    You look so cute!

  • 8. Maureen aka MIL aka Jansen's Emmie  |  August 23, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    My mom had stretch marks, but she also had 7 kids, my 2 older sisters did not get them, so I thought I was in the clear, WRONG! I got them starting at about 4 months pregnant with Courtney.

  • 9. Rachel  |  August 23, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    I HATE STRETCH MARKS. Though I’m convinced more of mine are from freshman year of college and not pregnancy. 🙂 I’m feeling fat already, so let’s hope no more pop up this time around.

  • 10. Bec  |  August 23, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    I am 32 wks and am so-far stretch mark free. I am scared of the “fire marks” that you describe as the sunburnt zebra look.

  • 11. mom (Nana)  |  August 23, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    They should be called “joy marks” since they are from the bundle of joy….I guess I can say that since I didn’t get any. 🙂

  • 12. Jill  |  August 23, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    I’m sure you’re loving all these people who are telling you about their stretch marks!! I have stretch marks on my hips that have been there since I was about 12, no lie, so if I ever have a baby I’m sure I’m doomed. A friend of mine burst vitamin E capsules on her belly to help “combat” the stretch marks with her baby. You might do that if you’re worried. I used vitamin E lotion on a big scar I have on my belly and it helped it fade a lot. You look GREAT by the way 🙂

  • 13. Southern Gal  |  August 24, 2010 at 6:26 am

    It’s good you got a twofer especially on a swing/high chair. Swings are not every baby’s cup of tea.

    Stretch marks fade. I never got any, but my daughter did so that must be an old wives’ tale.

    You are still a beautiful pregnant woman.

  • 14. Viki Scarpelli  |  December 24, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    After I initially commented I appear to have clicked
    the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on
    each time a comment is added I receive four
    emails with the exact same comment. There has
    to be a way you can remove me from that service? Kudos!

  • 15. Auto Article Spinner  |  July 13, 2013 at 12:30 am

    By utilizing web link structure services and SEO web link structure you can become
    back links from greater placed internet sites that are offering comparable products
    and solutions. You can easily create guides for their blogs along with hyperlinks
    back to your web website and you can easily place your articles on your firm’s social networks web pages. Social media websites can generate important amounts of traffic.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

