Pregnant Pause – 37 Weeks

August 30, 2010 at 9:02 am 14 comments

I’m still here. Still with child.

I had a pretty contraction-less weekend. I had several Friday morning and then they laid off for the rest of the weekend. Which is actually pretty surprising because my Saturday was extremely busy. I ran errands with my mom all day. I had to buy some shower and wedding gifts since I knew this could be my last chance to run errands sans child. By the end of the errands, I was utterly exhausted. My feet were throbbing and all I wanted to do was lay down for about 72 hours. But the show must go on. So I showered and got pretty and Stephen and I went to a local park for some maternity photos. I really hope they turn out well but I’m not going to hold my breath since it was approximately 150 degrees outside.

We smiled and did our best to look comfortable even though Stephen’s forehead was covered in sweat a mere .62 seconds after stepping outside. And I tried to give off a beautiful pregnant glow even though my sausage finger was shoved into my wedding ring and my sweat was making my clothes wrinkle. So if the pictures aren’t great, it is in NO way a reflection of the photographer. It is 100% a reflection of the fact you should not take maternity photos when you are 9 months pregnant in the Texas heat.

After that we went straight to Stephen’s sister’s 30th birthday party. I immediately turned into a giant party pooper and sat myself in a chair and didn’t move for 3 hours… except to go to the bathroom, of course.

By the time we got home, I was worn out. WORN OUT. I slept until about 9:30 on Sunday before getting up and getting ready for church. I am equally thankful and shocked that my Saturday didn’t cause contractions. I stayed off my feet most of Sunday and even spent some time in my parents’ pool.

And now here we are, Monday morning. I’m 37 weeks and 1 day into my pregnancy. I’ve only had one contraction today and very minimal pain in my lower abdomen. I’m going to keep chugging water to keep these at bay. I anticipate a fairly easy time until Wednesday when I have my next appointment. I’m convinced that the pelvic exams gets things going and that’s why I had such a rough day last Wednesday. So we’ll see how this week goes.

Riddle me this. Why is it that when you are 9 months pregnant, everyone wants to tell you their birth stories?! It’s very odd. People I hardly know come and tell me things. Although I don’t really mind it, I actually think birth stories are pretty fascinating. I just think it’s odd that people open up so quickly just because I have a large belly. What I do mind is when people speak in absolutes. “Oh you will know the morning you wake up that it’s going to happen that day!” Really? Really? I beg to differ. Because this other woman told me that she had no clue until about 2 hours before and just made it to the hospital with 20 minutes to spare. “Contractions are the worst part of pregnancy! If you can get through those without an epidural, you can get through the birth.” Really? Because I swear that lady over there just told me that her contractions were a piece of cake but the actual delivery was awful. Hmm. “Be prepared to push for a good hour.” Oh? “You should only have to push for about 20 minutes.” I see.

I have no problem hearing what YOU had to do, but please don’t tell me what I’M going to have to do. Unless of course, your name is God. In which case, feel free to tell me all the details.

Was that a rant? I’m sorry, that was a rant. I’ll just shut up now and show you a picture.

That’s me and my big ol belly! Which actually doesn’t even look that big in those clothes. Trust me, it’s big.

Anyways, that’s my update. Possibly my last one depending on how this week goes. Several people are hoping for an ironic birth on Labor Day. I’ll see what I can do to fulfill your dreams.

Hope you all had fabulous contraction-less weekends as well!

(ToT will be posted shortly.)

Entry filed under: Pregnancy. Tags: , .

Seven Quick Takes Ten on Tuesday (45)

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  August 30, 2010 at 9:15 am

    Wow. Your weekend was 10 times more productive than mine. I feel like a failure now!

    We went to dinner with another couple on Saturday night and the girl is pregnant — due 6 days after you. She was telling me how everyone tells her their birth stories as well. She said that one person told her if she experienced burning at the top of her tummy, then her baby would be very hairy and she’d have horrible back labor. Um, excuse me? What?

  • 2. Southern Gal  |  August 30, 2010 at 9:17 am

    I can’t imagine trying to get maternity pictures in that kind of heat. I walked outside this morning to a mere 69 degrees. I thought I was in the wrong state.

    Not much longer now. I’m going to miss the weekly pictures. You’ll have to give us weekly Jansen pictures instead. Next to something by which to gauge his growth. OK?

    The package was taken to the post office this morning- priority mail. You should get it Wednesday. Please don’t go before then. If you do it won’t be the end of the world, but you know. Thank you.

  • 3. Southern Gal  |  August 30, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Regarding osarah’s comment, Rebekah was told lots of heart burn meant lots of hair. The first thing her doctor said as they saw Nora crown? “Well, the old wive’s tale must be true. Your heartburn has produced a baby with a full head of hair.” Ha!

  • 4. Heather (SIL)  |  August 30, 2010 at 9:19 am

    You look so good! I can’t wait to see the pictures!
    I’m sad this might be one of your last pregnancy updates, but, I guess that just means it will be Jansen updates after that–which I can’t be sad about.

    Hope to see you again soon πŸ™‚

  • 5. Erin  |  August 30, 2010 at 9:21 am

    SERIOUSLY. It totally irked me when people presumed to know what MY birth story would be based on their own experience…I’m STILL annoyed πŸ™‚ And it doesn’t get better after you have the baby, either. Now when people ASK for your story they feel the need to one-up you – whether it’s that theirs was SOOO much better or SOOO much worse!

  • 6. Autumn @ One Boy and Two Cats  |  August 30, 2010 at 11:05 am

    Hoping you have a great week!
    The only birth story you can believe will be your OWN… AFTER it’s “written.” And then you can tell other preggos!!

  • 7. Jennifer  |  August 30, 2010 at 11:08 am

    I’m not sure why people feel the need to share, unless they have something positive to say. With my first one I was able to let it roll off my back, with my second one I was so moody I wanted to punch them in the face and tell them to back off. . . with my third child I just told them “This isn’t my first rodeo! We’ll be fine.”

    I swear it’s like they see the belly and they don’t know how to keep quiet!They lose all inhibition of manners and common sense.

    It’s good that you know everyone’s story is different, and if you have multiple kids each of there stories will be different. Good luck!

  • 8. mom (nana)  |  August 30, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Well, when I had my first….. πŸ™‚

    Hope you have a good day!

  • 9. Maureen  |  August 30, 2010 at 11:23 am

    HA HA HA ALICE! good one!!! OK, so, is THAT why John was asking me about my labor with Stephen the other night? GOOD GRIEF! He BETTER NOT have been telling you anything about labor and delivery!!!! I don’t know why people do that. Everyone has different experiences for pete’s sake. What was going on at that table the other night??? You are beautiful, and that’s all I have to say…:-)

  • 10. MASHley  |  August 30, 2010 at 11:49 am

    ash – you and your belly look beautiful. can’t wait for there to be jansen baby stories. have a great monday!

  • 11. Rachel  |  August 30, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Every pregnancy, labor, delivery, child, etc. is different… no way around that.
    I agree about those exams. The biggest lie in my pregnancy was when my doctor would tell me right before those pelvic exams, “You’re going to feel a little pressure now…” I was impressed that I refrained from yelling at him each and every time, “A LITTLE pressure my a**!!”

  • 12. Mama Fuss  |  August 30, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    All that moving around rocked the baby to sleep and your uterus w/ it. πŸ™‚ Funny enough, this is very similar to what happened to me during my first pregnancy. I contracted all the time – like crazy, even from like 33-38 weeks and then nothing. NOTHING for awhile.

    I used to be so amused at the sheer quantity of MEN – strangers, co-workers, guys in Starbucks, – who would tell me about their wives pregnancies and labors, etc. once it was completely obvious that I was very, very pregnant. I had so many guys in the elevator at work (18 story professional building – I didn’t know hardly any of them) who would start to ask me about my pregnancy and tell me about their wives’ and their kids births, etc. Very odd.

    My best advice on a first pregnancy is to go into L&D w/ no expectations. Do the research, hear the stories, read the books, but realize that you have NO idea how it’s going to feel, what you’re going to want, how you’re going to handle it. It’s all different, but if you walk in not expecting anything in particular, you’ll walk out feeling less like something wasn’t right in there.

  • 13. Jenna  |  August 30, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I think you look fan-freaking-tastic! πŸ™‚ I’m 36 weeks tomorrow & can’t wait to get the show on the road! Hopefully your maternity photos turn out great, which I am sure they will! πŸ™‚

  • 14. Parker's Mom  |  September 1, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    Friday was my all day contraction day, and I also believe it was caused by my exam the previous day. I have been having contractions (very mild if hardly noticeable) everyday since then, but again…nothing big. Trevor wants me to have Parker on Labor Day as well! He thinks it would be hilarious! Men are silly!!

    Just know that I feel and understand exactly what you are going through! I love that we are both the same week and are hitting the same (similar) milestones!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

