This Is A Recording

September 1, 2010 at 8:00 am 16 comments

Thank the Lord for auto-post.

Let’s assume you’re reading this at 8:15. You’re comfy in your chair with a cup of coffee, belly full from breakfast. I am not. I am at my weekly OB appointment.

Yesterday was seriously uncomfortable. I was irritable and felt like Jansen was beating me up. He wiggled non-stop which meant that he hit every square inch of my uterus with serious force. On top of that, the pressure was very intense. It felt like he gained about 10 pounds and all of that weight was pushing down, trying to get out.

Last week after my appointment, I had contractions the rest of the day. So I’m pretty much preparing myself for an uncomfortable day today… and depending on my progress, maybe some more serious contractions. I’m not technically due until September 19th but I really don’t think he’s going to wait that long.

In sum: Our bags are packed and Stephen studied up on the stages of labor and his role throughout the process. We’re ready if Jansen feels like coming today. I kindly asked him to wait at least until September 1. Since it’s now September 1, he knows he’s free to come at anytime.

So keep us in your prayers. We could have another 3 weeks ahead of us, or we could have 3 hours ahead of us. And in case you were wondering, that makes for a really anxious mom-to-be. I’m doing my best not to analyze every pain or contraction but it’s difficult. I’ve never done this before. You can read the books and ask the questions but that doesn’t mean anything! So just pray that we’ll have a sense of peace throughout this waiting process.

If you’re following me on twitter (<- link), that’s where you can find updates. Otherwise, I’ll update here tomorrow or Friday.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ten on Tuesday (45) In which Jansen changes our plans.

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mama Fuss  |  September 1, 2010 at 8:44 am

    Aww, sorry, mama! I know the feeling! I’ve been SO uncomfortable, lately too! I know when my kid is expected (we’re inducing tomorrow!) but I clearly remember w/ my first pregnancy both trying not to over-analyze every twinge and also doing it because I didn’t want to be one of those women who birthed her baby in a public toilet because she didn’t realize she was in labor. (unless you are incredibly lucky and/or drunk, I guarantee this will not be the case. You will feel the feeling that ranges from very uncomfortable to serious pain and you will KNOW before it gets to that point, honest). Even my midwife started telling me “I’ll see you next week – if you make it that far” at 37 weeks. I was induced on my due date, so even the professionals can’t always tell when the baby will actually come!

    Just try and enjoy these last days with your husband where there is no baby demanding your time. You’ll have that time again, but it might be awhile. 🙂

  • 2. Jenna  |  September 1, 2010 at 9:14 am

    Ah!!! Good luck! I’ll be thinking about you today! I can’t believe it’s time for our babies to come… it truely feels like the time has flown by. I find out on Tuesday when my section date will be, I’m getting really excited! You & Stephen will do great, I can’t wait to “meet” your baby boy. 🙂 xoxo

  • 3. mom (nana)  |  September 1, 2010 at 10:00 am

    Jansen – quit being so mean to your mama!!! She loves you and is taking good care of you. Just come on out if you are so uncomfortable in there!!! Love your Nana

  • 4. That Married Couple  |  September 1, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Saying a prayer for you!

  • 5. Taryn M. Peine  |  September 1, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Yay! I can’t wait till he gets here! So excited for yall!

  • 6. Kara  |  September 1, 2010 at 10:47 am

    I’m keeping you in my thoughts!

    Little Jansen, can’t you just sit still for a couple more weeks so your Momma can enjoy her last couple weeks of pregnancy? We all can’t wait to see your gorgeous face, but we’re happy to wait a little while long if need be!

  • 7. Karen  |  September 1, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Give her hell, Jansen, that’s a good boy.
    LOL I’m just kidding, I hope you have a great day, it’s getting exciting now.

  • 8. Nora  |  September 1, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    Thinking of you & sending prayers + hugs your way.
    Keep us posted.

    xoxox

  • 9. abby  |  September 1, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    So excited for you!!

  • 10. Taryn  |  September 1, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    Have you tried wearing one of those belly-support thingys? (they look like the back braces guys wear when they lift weights) My neighbor is due in 1 week and she’s been wearing one. She says it helps make her feel like her stomach isn’t dragging around by her feet! 🙂

    Hope jansen is treating you a little better and that he decides to come sooner rather than later!!

  • 11. Southern Gal  |  September 1, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    Yay for Baby Day!!!

    I don’t Twitter, but I’ve got your account up on my computer screen and just saw the IV post. Can’t wait to see him!

  • 12. Southern Gal  |  September 1, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    And that package was supposed to get to you today. Just in time I’d say.

  • 13. Bec  |  September 1, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    I saw on your Twitter that it’s baby day…I thought 1st babies are supposed to be late not 3 weeks early?!? I am not sure what I think about this, being due 4 wks after you with my first. Like you, I’ve been thinking that anytime after Oct. 1 would be fine by me, but I don’t want to go as late as Nov. 1! Hope all is well, who knows, you may be pushing right now!

  • 14. Renee  |  September 2, 2010 at 6:35 am

    Congratulations!!!

    I was way off on my predictions on all counts.
    So glad he’s here and “cute as a button”!

  • 15. Southern Gal  |  September 2, 2010 at 6:41 am

    Honestly? Twittering at midnight and delivering at 1:47am? You’re superwoman I tell ya.

  • 16. Taryn  |  September 2, 2010 at 8:22 am

    Congratulations!!!! 🙂 Good thing Jansen decided to come now and not wait til the 19th! I don’t think he needed to bake in the oven any longer!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

