In which Jansen changes our plans.

September 2, 2010 at 1:44 pm 20 comments

Hey y’all, it’s LfT. Chelsea asked me to fill in for her since she, you know, just birthed a child. And as said child’s faux aunt, I was happy to oblige.

I’ve been busy lately – I’ve moved THREE times this summer (!!) – & wasn’t able to make it to any of Chelsea’s showers. I know, bad Aunt. So I decided to make it up to her by planning a trip to see her the first weekend of September. No big deal. She wasn’t due until the 19th, that gave us plenty of time to gab our hearts out (Chelsea & I can talk for 5 hours straight without coming up for air – and that is not an exaggeration) & eat some cinnamon rolls before Jansen was due to make his appearance over two weeks later. We exchanged emails on Monday to firm up our plans. I’d been looking forward to our visit for quite some time.

Then Wednesday morning Chelsea texted me that she was on her way to the hospital. Suddenly, it’s Baby Day. 18 days early. I think Jansen knew his momma couldn’t stand being pregnant in this Texas heat for one more minute & decided to come early.

I’m going to let Chelsea give you the details (mostly because I don’t know them!), but yes, she had her baby. He came early this morning, a 90210 baby! Sorry. Cheesy, I know.

Jansen,

I already adore you. All day I’ve been looking at the pictures of you that your momma texted me. Your chubby cheeks are just perfect for squeezing & kissing. I can’t wait to hold you & hug your momma. I can’t teach you about baseball – I’ll leave that up to your mom – but I will teach you all about which shoes to pair with which onesie & how important it is to add more chocolate chips than the recipe calls for.

Love,

Aunt Lauren

So yes, I’m still going to see Chelsea, with only a slight change in plans. Instead of gabbing about whatever we usually gab about, we’ll be oohing & awwing over tiny fingers & toes. Instead of stuffing our faces with cinnamon rolls, we’ll be smelling the best smell in the world: a newborn baby’s head.

I guess I’m not too upset about the change in plans. Not at all.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

This Is A Recording Introducing: Jansen Bridges

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  September 2, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    WOOHOO!!!!!! YAY!!!!!!!! HOTDOG!!!!!!!

    Congratulations MOM and DAD
    I can’t wait for the pics and update, I’m glad to hear all is well.

  • 2. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  September 2, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    Congratulations Chelsea and Stephen! I can’t wait to hear more, and most importantly, SEE PICTURES!!

    So happy for you guys πŸ™‚

  • 3. Jenna  |  September 2, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    YAY!! Congratulations!!!!! I can’t wait to see pictures! πŸ™‚

  • 4. Meghan  |  September 2, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Why did you leave out the cinnamon rolls? I say you should eat them anyway, only taking five minute breaks to sniff the cute one. Can’t have too much of a good thing, eh?

  • 5. KT  |  September 2, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    Congratulations!!!

  • 6. Southern Gal  |  September 2, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Pictures please!? Cinnamon rolls should still be on the menu. Definitely. You’re a good aunt, Lauren. Thanks for the update.

  • 7. DebbieQ  |  September 2, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Congratulations!!! The first thing I did this morning, at 5:30a no less, was to check Twitter so see if Jansen had arrived. And he had! Can hardly wait to see the pictures.

  • 8. Autumn @ One Boy and Two Cats  |  September 2, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Yipppee!!!!!
    So happy for you guys!!! A family of three… finally!!!
    Praying for you!

  • 9. Debbie  |  September 2, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    congratulations, guys!!!!! can’t wait for pictures! hope everyone is doing well and that you’re getting some sleep! glad he’s finally here!!! πŸ™‚

  • 10. Joy  |  September 2, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    Congratulations to all three of you!!

    Rest up and enjoy your babymoon!!

  • 11. Kerresa  |  September 2, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    congratulations! Can’t wait for pictures!
    Just one question, I feel out of the loop. What is a 90210 baby?

  • 12. Nora  |  September 2, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    awww, what a sweet note and I love that you are “Aunt Lauren!” I want to be somebody’s aunt =) Enjoy the time with Chelsea & company =) Give Chelsea a hug from me and a kiss on Jansen’s head πŸ™‚

  • 13. Uncle Rory & Aunt chris Matthews  |  September 2, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    We welcome you Jansen with open arms and thanking our Lord for such a perfect gift to the family. Enjoy every moment.
    Uncle Rory & Aunt Chris

  • 14. That Married Couple  |  September 2, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    Wowzaa! Congrats and best wishes!

  • 15. Parker's Mom  |  September 2, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    I am so thrilled!! πŸ˜€

  • 16. Maureen, Jansen's Emmie  |  September 2, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Chelsea and Stephen did an awesome job with this little guy, with help from God of course. He is PERFECT! Perfectly tiny, perfectly formed, and greatly loved. We couldn’t stop looking at him. He is, well, PERFECT! And I am not just saying that because I am one of his grandma’s…he is!!!!

  • 17. Darla Baerg  |  September 2, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    So very excited for you!!! Congrats! Can’t wait to see pictures!

  • 18. mom (nana)  |  September 2, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Ditto what Jansen’s Emmie said….he is PERFECT and Chelsea was a real trooper the WHOLE LONG day (and night). Yea, we have a baby!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 19. jen  |  September 3, 2010 at 8:09 am

    Congratulations Chelsea and Steven!!!!

  • 20. Guess who’s back! Back again! « Lauren from Texas  |  September 15, 2010 at 8:37 am

    […] 2 full weeks of silence (unless you count my incessant Tweeting & that one guest post I did for my friend who birthed a child), I’m back in black. Well, more like “pink […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

