Things

September 8, 2010 at 8:00 am 18 comments

-I still cannot get the energy to write a proper blog post. There is really no reason for that, I don’t really do anything all day.

-Jansen still has a touch of jaundice. I’m ready for it to be all gone so that he doesn’t have to get his foot pricked anymore. I hate that he has to do that everyday. He’s pretty tough though, he’s only cried once.

-When we left the hospital on Saturday, Jansen weighed 7 pounds 8 ounces. Yesterday at his doctor’s appointment, he maintained that weight. According to the doctor, that’s a good thing.

-I, on the other hand, have lost quite a bit of weight. In fact, I’ve lost 20 pounds since last Wednesday morning. Chew on that for a second.

-Jansen does this cute little squeak thing before he cries. It’s pretty adorable. Sometimes I really want to squeeze him but then I know that I can’t because he’s less than 8 pounds and he would be crushed.

-This child’s eyes make me melt.

-His ears make me melt.

-His toes make me melt.

-I melt.

-I need time to slow down. I want his tiny-ness to stick around for a while.

Entry filed under: Jansen.

Smitten Maternity Photos

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  September 8, 2010 at 8:12 am

    I love this. I got chills. You guys are the best.

    And I hope Jansen’s jaundice goes away soon too!

  • 2. Taryn  |  September 8, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Boo for jaundice! It’ll go away soon.. it’s not an uncommon thing.

    Good for Jansen to keep up that weight…. most babies lose a pound or two in the first couple of weeks. After that, they just grow and grow and grow! 🙂

  • 3. DebbieQ  |  September 8, 2010 at 8:22 am

    Oh enjoy this time. New babies smell so good…..most of the time. And they stay where you put them and they let you love on them all you want.

  • 4. Southern Gal  |  September 8, 2010 at 8:50 am

    Jaundice stinks. The heel sticks stink worse. Praying the numbers come down.

    Twenty pounds? WooHoo!

    Now stay in that recliner (I know you have dibs on it for a while now) and love on that baby boy as much as you possibly can. We understand.

  • 5. Lauren from Texas  |  September 8, 2010 at 9:07 am

    I love him! I miss him already! And his momma, of course.

  • 6. Veronica  |  September 8, 2010 at 9:22 am

    Way to go on the 20 pounds! That’s awesome. I’ll be praying for his jaundice to go away soon. I want to hold him again so bad! Oh, and I will get around to sending you the pics I took of him; just haven’t put them on my computer yet 🙂

  • 7. Karen  |  September 8, 2010 at 9:31 am

    We waited 9mths for this baby and that’s all we get, c’mon with the pics.

    I’m just playing, adorable picture, with your new mommy look and all, I’m glad that every thing is still going well and that you’re enjoying your new bundle of joy. He is beautiful.

  • 8. That Married Couple  |  September 8, 2010 at 10:36 am

    I’m loving it! This whole post and all the pics you keep posting!

    And it’s not that you don’t do anything all day – you’re taking care of an infant! I’m impressed that you’ve posted as much as you have!

  • 9. Kristen  |  September 8, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Congratulations! He’s adorable, enjoy every single moment 🙂

  • 10. TiphanyB  |  September 8, 2010 at 10:55 am

    This made me cry… Paige had jaundice when she was born. She even had to go back to the hospital to tan. 🙂 It turns out that she had a problem processing the milk, and to this day drinks soy.

    I, too, wish time would slow down. Paige was not little for long. She’s in the 95th percentile for her height and weight. She’s wearing 3T clothing even though she’s not even two.

    I also miss the squeaking… almost makes me want to have another one… almost!

  • 11. MASHley  |  September 8, 2010 at 11:33 am

    ash – awww. he’s so handsome. i miss his baby smell. plus you’re sitting in the uber comfy chair! i can’t even imagine how big he’ll be by the next time i see him…

  • 12. Rachel  |  September 8, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Umm.. You’re “not doi taking anything”??? How about taking care of a kid and getting up with him at night and adjusting to life as a mom. I’d say that’s doing a lot!! 🙂

  • 13. Rachel  |  September 8, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Good god I should proofread my comments

  • 14. Shana  |  September 8, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    I just want to let you know Chelsea, that I’m still reading and following you, all the while making no progress on my own blog for you to stalk. Congrats on your new baby, he is so handsome. Love the pictures, keep ’em coming!

  • 15. Nora  |  September 8, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    What a sweet post =) Way to go on the weight loss! I figured that you would have no issues with that at all.

    Enjoy the tiny-ness with your baby!

  • 16. Maureen, Jansen's Emmie  |  September 8, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    He is really the cutest baby ever! And I am not just saying that because he is my grandson! I was telling my friend what a natural mom you are, you make it look so easy. Stephen too. I love that kid so much, I can’t even put it into words!

  • 17. Dottie  |  September 8, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    He’s a cutie Chelsea, Congrats!!!

  • 18. Abby  |  September 8, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    He is absolutely gorgeous! Congratulations on the new addition to the family!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

