Seven Quick Takes

September 17, 2010 at 7:30 am 22 comments

I’m too lazy to post the Seven Quick Takes logo and link up. I’m actually typing with one hand because I don’t want to put Jansen down. He looks way too comfortable.

See?

1.
Yesterday my baby turned 2 weeks old. I wish time would slow down.

2.
Jansen has his two week check up this morning. I’m anxious to see how much weight he’s gained. A week and a half ago he weighed 7 pounds 8 ounces. I’m not sure how quickly babies gain weight but I’m assuming he’s in the 8 pound range now.

3.
I weighed myself yesterday. In two weeks I have lost 30 pounds. I can’t even put into words how shocking this is. I think that maybe I would have had a few more gallons of Blue Bell or a couple more packages of Oreos if I knew how easy it was going to come off!

4.
I’d really like to win the lottery. I’d really like to never go back to work. I’d like to stay home with my baby and cuddle him and talk to him.

5.
I have plans to write a post all about the things people don’t tell you about having a baby. I feel that I was pretty honest with you throughout my pregnancy, it’s only fitting that I tell you the truth now that it’s all over as well. Right?

6.
80% of my day is spent either changing diapers or with a baby attached to my chest. Time has never flown faster. When your day is broken up by feedings every 3-4 hours, there doesn’t seem to be much time for anything else.

7.
Whoa. My life is different.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Rosey Cheeks A Monday List

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emmie  |  September 17, 2010 at 7:41 am

    He is the best. What a cute picture. You look great and you are a natutrally wonderful mommy. Jansen is a very blessed boy. Thank you for the most amazing grandson.

  • 2. osarah  |  September 17, 2010 at 7:51 am

    I hear you on the lottery thing. I wish it was easier for moms with newborns to stay home longer in the US.

  • 3. Jessica  |  September 17, 2010 at 8:05 am

    He is so cute!!!

  • 4. Southern Gal  |  September 17, 2010 at 8:08 am

    Yes, to all those things.

    No one can prepare you for the experience or the change. It really can’t be put into words.

    Love.

  • 5. Karen  |  September 17, 2010 at 8:20 am

    Oh lord, let it be, let it be, winning the lottery for Chelsea and me. yeah me too.

    My niece lost 30lbs too after her daughter was born, I have read that breastfeeding burns a lot of calories.

    Time does fly, it felt like it took forever for my nephew to get here, and now he’s already 2yrs old, I wish they would hurry up and invent that time machine thing.

    I hope you have a great weekend.

  • 6. Angela  |  September 17, 2010 at 8:34 am

    2 weeks old already? I’m with you on the time slowing down part.

  • 7. Sara  |  September 17, 2010 at 8:35 am

    He is so gorgeous. I wouldn’t want to put him down either. I can’t wait until nursing school is over and I can have one, too! I’m starting to get baby fever just a little bit. Not terribly yet, thank God! I know I’ve been MIA b/c of school, but I wanted to check in on little Jansen!

  • 8. Aunt Bonnie  |  September 17, 2010 at 8:44 am

    My favorite pic yet!!! Precious! Yep, breast feeding burns it off muy pronto. Isn’t that a wonderful thing??? You and your little family are in our prayers, dear Chels.

  • 9. Autumn @ One Boy and Two Cats  |  September 17, 2010 at 8:58 am

    That is one content little guy! So sweet!
    And I love the nursery!

  • 10. DebbieQ  |  September 17, 2010 at 9:58 am

    He just keeps getting cuter and cuter.

  • 11. Nora  |  September 17, 2010 at 10:34 am

    what an adorable photo. i love all the pictures you’re posting. i can’t wait to read about life now that jansen is here as i loved your pregnancy posts. i want to be well educated for when it’s my turn πŸ™‚ have a great weekend!

  • 12. Lauren from Texas  |  September 17, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Oh my goodness, that picture is CUTE.

  • 13. Taryn  |  September 17, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Love the pic! πŸ™‚

    #5…. It’s not so much that ppl don’t tell you about what happens post-baby… it’s that you won’t really believe it til you experience it! πŸ™‚

  • 14. Mama Fuss  |  September 17, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Wow on the weight loss. I thought I was doing good with having lost 18 lbs in two weeks. Good for you! I know my metabolism kicks into high gear when I’m BFing – I lost 45 lbs in 3 mos w/ my first baby. Got within 5 lbs of my wedding weight. Hoping to do that this time, too. I managed to squeeze into my pre-baby shorts today. Will need a few more days/a week to get into them more comfortably, though!

  • 15. Rachel  |  September 17, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    The first time there are so many things no one tells you about having a baby. Now I feel like those have turned into the things you (force yourself to) forget about having a baby for #2.

  • 16. Heather (SIL)  |  September 17, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Oh. my. god. Cutest picture EVER!

  • 17. Sister  |  September 17, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    i love him.

  • 18. Meghan  |  September 17, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    He is ridiculously cute.

    I second the comment above — we really need some maternity/paternity leave reform in this country. My sis had to go right back to work after her first two within a few weeks, due to the nature of her job. She hated it (but now she’s a stay at home mom and loves it).

  • 19. Kathy M  |  September 18, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    What a darling boy! I wish I could scoop him up and hold him.
    I was (blog) stalking somewhere today and saw this little statement…..it made me smile and agree…and then think of you.
    “being a child is a gift…being a mother is a blessing”

    and here’s a sweet little lullabye for Jansen

    (ps…don’t worry, it’s not me! Slumber My Darling by Alison Krause

  • 20. Stephany  |  September 19, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    AH! He is so adorable! I could imagine how fun staying home with him all day would be. Gosh, it’s just wrong that maternity leave is so short. Not fair to new mommies!

  • 21. abby  |  September 19, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Can’t wait to hear about “what they don’t tell you” about birth! Precious picture:)

  • 22. Mary  |  September 20, 2010 at 10:55 am

    Can’t really blame you with a kid that cute! Very interested to hear your honest post-pregnancy insights!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

