A Monday List

September 20, 2010 at 7:39 am 14 comments

1. Yesterday was September 19. Also known as “Jansen’s Due Date.” Can you believe it? He’s been here for 2.5 weeks. I sort of can’t remember my life before he was here. Everything is different. Everyone always said that once you have a baby, every aspect of your life changes. Everyone is right.

2. Jansen had his 2 week check up on Friday. He gained a pound since we left the hospital, so now he weighs 8 pounds 8 ounces. He also grew an inch, so now he is 21 inches. He’s currently in the 50th percentile for weight and 74th percentile for length. We have a tall, skinny boy on our hands!

3. I am always thirsty.

4. I will post Ten on Tuesday questions. I’m not sure if I will be participating, but I’ll definitely post them. I need more questions, I’m running low. So if you come up with a set of 10, email me at chelsea @ rootsandrings dot com.

5. Yesterday we gave Jansen his first real bath. Previously we’d just been allowed to give him sponge baths since he still had his cord. His cord is gone so we gave him a big boy bath in his whale. He cried a bit but not like he did with the sponge baths. He was so cute when he was all wrapped up in his towel with wet hair. No, we didn’t get a picture. We aren’t that good yet. It was hard enough to bathe him while convincing Stephen that baby pee wouldn’t kill him.

6. Yesterday was fantastic. It was the first day that Stephen, Jansen, and I spent ALL day together ALL alone. It was bliss. I want more days like that. I understand that Jansen is the cutest baby in the world and everyone wants to see him and cuddle him, but it was very necessary for us to have that time alone before I had a melt down. Maybe I’m hormonal and imbalanced… or maybe I’m just a mom who is desperate for time alone with her husband and her baby. Now I want more of those days.

7. Moms, what is your favorite brand of diaper? Does it change based on the baby’s size?

8. Biggest Loser starts tomorrow. I haven’t decided if I’m going to be blogging recaps. I don’t have DVR so I’ll have to watch it live… and I really don’t know how reasonable that’s going to be with a baby. Thoughts and feelings?! I know there are several of you who only read my blog for the recaps. Although if that’s the case, you won’t be reading this post and can’t give me your two cents.

9. We have rice weevils. Gross. They are in our pantry so we are having to go through and throw almost everything out.

10. This is all.

Entry filed under: Jansen, Stephen.

Seven Quick Takes Ten on Tuesday (47)

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  September 20, 2010 at 9:24 am

    We were just told about http://www.gdiapers.com/
    They’re pretty awesome, but I don’t know anyone personally who uses them. For what it’s worth, John’s step-mom works with a woman who uses them and highly recommends them.

    This season with Biggest Loser, we’re not going to pay for the iTunes downloads. Instead, we’re going to wait a week or two until they’re posted on Hulu and then we’ll watch them as we have time. If you decide not to do the recaps, watching it via Hulu may be easiest and cheapest.

    In response to being alone, I can only sympathize in thought. John and I had a discussion about that last night. I’ll email you a short note.

  • 2. Nora  |  September 20, 2010 at 9:39 am

    I always think mothers + babies + families who receive visitors a lot are just troopers. I would want to shut the world out for awhile, but that’s just me 🙂 So in other words, glad you got the alone time you needed/wanted.

    I will read your blog with or without BL recaps so do what you need to do for your sanity and baby (not like you wouldn’t anyway, but you know what I mean. I think!)

    I’ll try to come up with some questions for you for ToT!

  • 3. mom (nana)  |  September 20, 2010 at 10:08 am

    #3 – drink drink drink. You are producing milk and you need to stay hydrated.
    #6 – glad you had the day – you need to be able to set boundaries, even when it is hard. “Just say No” is a hard thing to say but am glad you did it. Do it again…
    Biggest Loser – you can always watch it here but I think you have other priorities now. 🙂

  • 4. timlinzrowland  |  September 20, 2010 at 11:33 am

    I think it all depends on your baby as far as diapers go. My first could only wear Pampers without leaking and my second could only wear Huggies without leaking. This time around we are cloth diapeiring and I love it. When the cloth dipes aren’t dry yet…. I tend to go towards Luvs diapers for her. Each child was different!
    Number five cracked me up. I have yet to convince Tim that baby pee won’t kill him and we just had our third….good luck with convincing Stephen!

  • 5. Rachel  |  September 20, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    You are not unbalanced for needing that day desperately. I still need those days desperately. And 99% of my break downs after Caden revolved around not having enough alone time with just “us.” I felt like everyone wanted a piece of him when all I wanted was for US to have time with him. (I think it’s even harder knowing you have to go back to work in ___ weeks and then you’re time is even more limited.)
    Diapers – It all depends on the baby. We tried 4 different kinds, hoping that the cheaper ones would be just as good. No dice. Huggies worked best for Caden, because everything shot out the side of pampers, target, and luvs. Any way you go…. HOARD COUPONS. (Ethical or not, going through the self check out at Walmart allows you to use expired coupons.)

  • 6. Taryn  |  September 20, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    #6: Not unbalanced at all!! 🙂 I would have to say, most of my breakdowns revolved around a) not being able to spend time with my husband, and b) not having any friends or family around so Rob and I could have a “date nite.” I think we suffered from the opposite problem, not enough friends and family to keep us occupied! 🙂

    #7: First if you use name brand, go with http://www.diapers.com. They deliver, it’s free, and you get huge coupons for your first-time order. and they’ll email really good deals, too.

    It will all depend on your baby… Luke was big and chunky, so we used all the Pampers we got from the showers, and bought those til he was about size 3 (if you do stay with Pampers, register on their website for “Gifts-To-Grow”. You enter codes from the diaper packaging and build up points. I ended up getting puzzles and strabucks giftcards with mine!) We’ve used Target brand diapers since he’s been in sizes 4-5-6. They’re like $20 for a huge box instead of $40. I also used Target brand formula. wipes, baby powder, etc.

  • 7. Bec  |  September 20, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    Thanks for the reminder about TBL. It’s understandable if you don’t blog about it. No worries if you don’t have a DVR. If you can’t watch them live, you can watch full episodes online, that is if you can find time.
    I am due 10/18. Hoping to go 2.5 weeks early like you did!

  • 8. Christina  |  September 20, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    My favorite brand of diaper is Huggies – it was pampers when he was in sizes under 2ish, but after that, I had less leaks/explosions with the Huggies – also, once i discovered the overnight line, it saved many days of washing the sheets when they ordinarily wouldn’t need to. Maybe my son is just a heavy pee-er…

  • 9. Amanda  |  September 20, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    My favorite diapers are cloth diapers, never had any blowouts with them… AMAZING! Other than that, Seventh Generation. They never irritated his skin and fit him well because he’s skinny.

  • 10. Jenna  |  September 20, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    My fave diapers with Ayla were Pampers. This time around I am using Newborn sized Pampers with the twins. Once they hit the 8lb mark, I’ll use the BumGenius 3.0 cloth diapers I have stashed away. I also plan on using all the leftover Pampers from Ayla’s diaper days on the twins at night. 🙂

    Most of my friends with baby boys prefer Huggies.

    Glad to see you guys are doing well & that you got a family day yesterday!

  • 11. Darla Baerg  |  September 20, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    Janson is still 2 pounds less than when Jacob was born … can you believe it?!? 10 lbs. 15 oz. I thought he might drive himself home. I remember my obgyn telling me to DRINK WATER WITHOUT CEASING when I was nursing … which he really didn’t have to b/c I was like you … always thirsty.

    Glad you enjoyed your alone time. SO important.

  • 12. MrsSJohnson  |  September 20, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    I loved your Monday list.

    2. Way to grow Jansen!

    8. Maybe during “biggest loser” can be some daddy/son time!

    9. We have water dripping from one of our air vents so I feel your pain on “house problems.”

  • 13. Pippy  |  September 20, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    I’m so glad that you are both healthy & happy! The hormonal tears are normal, you will feel better if you just let them out. We called it ‘leaking’, sometimes I would just get so happy, overwhelmed, tired, etc that the tears would just start falling. They regulate eventually, just one of those crazy hormone things.
    I have used the sensitive pampers swaddled since day one! Very few leaks and we have never had any diaper rash. (knock on wood)

  • 14. Valerie  |  October 13, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    My little boy is 3 months old. For the first 3 months, he was in newborn sized diapers. He’s pretty tiny in the hip and butt region. Anyway, I liked the Pampers Swaddlers best for the newborn size. Now that he’s into size ones, I’m a big fan of the Target brand diapers. (they have blue and green polka dots) We’ve tried 3 different brands and theirs is by far the best. It contains the breastfeeding poop blowouts the best. Also, when he pees, it doesn’t get as lumpy as other brands. It gets evenly padded. That is just our experience. I’m actually starting cloth diapering next week now that he can finally fit into the smallest sized pocket diapers. So excited!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

