Ten on Tuesday (48)

September 28, 2010 at 7:22 am 13 comments

I didn’t remember to post the questions until about 8:20 last night, so I’m not sure how many participants we’ll have. Sorry about that y’all. My brain is elsewhere.

This week’s questions come from Elizabeth at Balentine’s Day. The theme is Favorites. Enjoy!

1. Growing up, what was one favorite item that you had to have with you at all times?
As a baby, it was my DiDi. (Pronounced Die Die.) They were just old burp cloths/ cloth diapers. I used them as my security blanket. I wasn’t attached to anything as a kid.

2. Being an adult, what is one favorite item that you have to have with you at all times, and what happens if you do not have it with you? Do you lose your sanity or just go back home to get it?
Chapstick. I cannot be without it. If I happen to forget it, I absolutely have to stop to buy a new one. This is a non-negotiable.

3. Where is your favorite place to be to just hide away from everything and breathe for a moment?
In my house. That’s pretty much the only place I “hide.” If I need to hide from my whole life, I take a warm bath with a glass of wine. It’s My Time.

4. What is your favorite thing about your partner? (If you don’t have a partner, then someone who is very close and will always be in your life)
That’s really hard. I think my favorite thing about him is that he is extremely thoughtful. He always opens my door. He randomly rubs my feet. And he’s thoughtful when it comes to the other relationships in his life too. And also, he’s hot.

5. What is your favorite thing about your job? (If you don’t have a job, then what is your favorite thing that you do during your day?)
My favorite thing about my job is that I get paid.

6. What is your favorite lesson that your parents taught you growing up? Looking back, is it something that you want to use to teach your children when they reach that age?
I was raised in a Christian home and they taught me many valuable spiritual lessons. However, I think one of the most important things my parents taught me is money management. As a little kid I got an allowance and I gave a portion to church and a portion to savings. This has stuck with me and it’s now an important part of Stephen’s and my life. We will definitely teach our children this lesson. There is way too much debt and materialism in America these days. It’s disgusting. I hope our kids don’t get sucked into that world.

7. What is your favorite song, that will always bring a smile to your face and make you think of something happy?
I don’t have a favorite song but Cheyenne by George Strait is one of my favorites. I also love most David Crowder and Chris Tomlin songs.

8. What is your favorite things about being an American? (If you not American, what are you proud of in regards to your country)
I have no intelligent way to answer this. I’m sure I should say something about freedom and liberty, but I don’t know enough about other countries to know if life here is that much better.

9. What is your favorite meal that reminds you of being a child?
Apricot chicken or my mom’s meatloaf.

10. Name 3 things that other people would say are their favorite thing about you.
Stephen loves my legs… but I’m hoping that he’s the only one that thinks that. I don’t know. I’m dependable, a good listener, and a great emailer!

Here’s Mr Linky.

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday. Tags: .

Another Monday List Do You Get Sick Of My Lists?

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  September 28, 2010 at 7:31 am

    #1 — My brother did that too, except he called them baa (like the sound a sheep makes).

    And your answer to #5 made me laugh. I should have put that for my answer.

  • 2. Dana  |  September 28, 2010 at 7:52 am

    I have what is probably a dumb question – where do you post the questions at before you post them to your blog?? I always just wait until you put them on here?!

  • 3. Southern Gal  |  September 28, 2010 at 8:42 am

    1. Pacifier as a baby. Nothing as a child.
    2. My camera which is awkward sometimes.
    3. Outdoors (when it isn’t 100 degrees) with my chair pointed towards the sunrise/sunset.
    4. He loves me like none other. He tells me how beautiful I am each and every day and I roll my eyes at him. He really thinks before he speaks.
    5. When I worked as a CDA it was making temporary partials. Yeah, disgusting to most, but I liked it.
    6. That’s tough. I think our work ethic. My daddy worked for the railroad for 45 years. He was only late twice. I made him late one of those times and I still remember the spanking I got for it. (I deserved it, too!)
    7. Drat. PW is giving away a Canon today and asked the same question. Took me forever to answer. I can’t pick one favorite. Best of My Love, Sweet Home Alabama, Ain’t Too Proud to Beg, When I Think About the Lord, Just to See You Smile….one from each genre?
    8. In the Reagan era everyone was proud to be an American. I am still proud to be an American, but it doesn’t seem to be as popular anymore. Oh, the freedoms we take for granted.
    9. fried chicken, mac and cheese, homemade biscuits all made with love by my grandmama
    10. Hard question. I don’t know.

  • 4. Taryn  |  September 28, 2010 at 9:28 am

    1. When i was a kid, I had to have my stuffed duck that my grandma made for me.. he usually stayed at home, but i had to have it to go to sleep or to watch saturday morning cartoons 🙂

    2. other than my cell phone, there’s really nothing i HAVE to have with me all the time. and the cell phone thing wouldn’t be a deal breaker if I didn’t have a kid (gotta be reachable in case of emergency!)

    3. In my whirlpool tub, with a beer and my nook.

    4. He’s always working hard, but he also tries really hard to make sure he has time to spend with me and Luke.

    5. I get to draw for a living. I get to deal with science and medical stuff every day. I may not like the people I work with all the time, but I really like my actual job.

    6. 1) Love God above all else. 2) Don’t rack up credit card debt. 🙂

    7. There are a ton of songs from summer of ’01 that make me remember Seacamp and all of the awesome people I taught with.

    8. Having been to some other countries, the thing that stands out most are all the little things… clean running water, electricity, doors, windows, air conditioning… all the stuff we just take as being the norm, and in some places those things are non-existent.

    9. grilled cheese with Campbell’s tomato soup.

    10. Good listener. Great friend. Intelligent.

  • 5. KEZ  |  September 28, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Thank you for posting these week after week, even after having a baby!

    I linked up – check out my answers on my blog!

  • 6. mom (nana)  |  September 28, 2010 at 10:06 am

    1. Growing up, what was one favorite item that you had to have with you at all times?
    Have never heard that I had anything.

    2. Being an adult, what is one favorite item that you have to have with you at all times, and what happens if you do not have it with you? Do you lose your sanity or just go back home to get it?
    Not really anything. I do like to have my phone but not a horrible thing if I don’t have it. I also hate to get somewhere without a bit of lipstick on!

    3. Where is your favorite place to be to just hide away from everything and breathe for a moment?
    I sure enjoy our new place in Galveston!

    4. What is your favorite thing about your partner? (If you don’t have a partner, then someone who is very close and will always be in your life)
    That is hard to answer…he was always the spiritual leader in our family when the kids were growing up, he is dependable, a wonderful provider, he laughs a lot, he doesn’t show his stress very often, he loves loves loves being with family, he knows how to fix EVERYTHING, AND he puts up with me!

    5. What is your favorite thing about your job? (If you don’t have a job, then what is your favorite thing that you do during your day?)
    My favorite thing about my job is that I get to stay home. When I worked at my last job, a private school, I loved being with all the staff. They were wonderful!

    6. What is your favorite lesson that your parents taught you growing up? Looking back, is it something that you want to use to teach your children when they reach that age?
    I was raised that family is very very important. We tried to instill that value in our kids also. Also, not necessarily a “lesson” but a rule…if you have the time and energy to stay out late on Saturday night, you still have to get up and go to worship Sunday morning! (And yes, we had that rule in our family also!) 🙂

    7. What is your favorite song, that will always bring a smile to your face and make you think of something happy?
    Not my favorite but when I hear, “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” I get a huge smile on my face…it reminds me of being on a cruise!

    8. What is your favorite things about being an American? (If you not American, what are you proud of in regards to your country)
    We live in an amazing country. Yes we have our problems. But our freedoms should never be taken for granted. Too many have died for that. We have so many opportunties here that others don’t have and of course, all the “SMALL” things that we take for granted – like AC/heat, good schools, clean water, homes that withstand the elements, the freedom to worship JESUS…on and on and on

    9. What is your favorite meal that reminds you of being a child?
    Size Royals

    10. Name 3 things that other people would say are their favorite thing about you.
    hmmmm….dependable, hospitable, ????

  • 7. Lauren from Texas  |  September 28, 2010 at 10:08 am

    I love your legs! haha… I am such a creep. 🙂

  • 8. Tabaitha  |  September 28, 2010 at 10:11 am

    Gotta have my chapstick as well.

  • 9. Stephie  |  September 28, 2010 at 11:06 am

    I’m with you on #1 and #5 🙂 So glad you participated this week!

  • 10. The Stephanie  |  September 28, 2010 at 11:11 am

    I’m right with you on the Chapstick thing. Don’t leave home without it!

  • 11. Sarah Johnson  |  September 28, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    David Crowder was one of my favorite songs too!

  • 12. Stephany  |  September 28, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    #4 is impossibly sweet. I love it. 🙂

  • 13. Autumn @ One Boy and Two Cats  |  September 28, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    Addicted to chapstick, too. Really. Addicted.
    Think I should change my answer!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

