Who Am I?

October 13, 2010 at 7:23 am 9 comments

Towards the end of December 2009 I started losing my mind. Slowly I would start forgetting things, losing things, getting confused, etc. It got worse throughout my pregnancy. Without my planner, I’d never remember to even leave my house. “Pregnancy brain” they call it, and it’s all sorts of terrible.

I thought it would get better. Afterall, I’m no longer pregnant, so why would I have pregnancy brain?! Turns out, there is this new thing called “New Mom Brain” which is basically the same thing, only you have a baby. I can’t remember anything! It’s a wonder my baby get his diaper changed on a regular basis.

At about 4:50 yesterday afternoon, my mom called and asked, “Are you going to meet us there or do you want to ride with us?” Uhhh, what? Ladies and gents, I’M LOSING MY MIND. Of course I knew that I was going to go to my cousin’s volleyball game, I’d discussed it several times. But when my mom asked me that, I had no clue what she was talking about.

Then I got home and, guess what? I realized that I completely missed The Biggest Loser. Completely. And I didn’t even think about it. Whether or not that’s because I’m losing my mind or because there are so many changes this year that it’s beginning to suck is up for debate.

Remember a couple weeks ago when I showed you the first 3 weekly photos of Jansen? It was on his 4 week birthday and I hadn’t taken his 4 week picture yet. Well the other day I was uploading some pictures from my camera and SON OF A BEAST, there was no 4 week photo. Apparently I forgot to take it. This isn’t like missing The Biggest Loser, I can’t just go to my parents house and watch it on their DVR. Nope. It’s a lost cause. We will never know what Jansen looked like in a white onesie laying on the floor at 4 weeks.

Sad day.

Incase you were wondering, this is what he looked like at 5 weeks.

Unless I get a better suggestion today, I’ll be calling the weekly Jansen photos “Jansensation.” I plan to add that tab sometime today… because I know y’all don’t see enough pictures of Jansen so you’ll want immediate access.

Unless, of course, I forget. Because I do that a lot.

Entry filed under: Jansen.

Ten on Tuesday (50) Maybe When I Go Back To Work, My Blog Will Be Interesting Again

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  October 13, 2010 at 7:55 am

    I can sympathize!

    I like the “Jansensation” name. I sat here for about 30 minutes when you asked for suggestions and couldn’t come up with one idea that was worth a darn.

  • 2. Maureen aka Emmie  |  October 13, 2010 at 7:58 am

    I forgot to watch the Biggest Loser, and I forgot to dvr it. I guess I have “grandma brain.” or it’s the remnants of “mom brain.” Don’t know. Anyway, I have his 4 week photo, but it’s with Mr. Sock Monkey. I will remind you to take his sock monkey photo tomorrow. Did I mention how CUTE MY GRANDSON IS???!!!!!

  • 3. Taryn  |  October 13, 2010 at 8:29 am

    LOL. I can totally sympathize…. mom brain doesn’t go away anytime soon! 🙂 Luke is 2, and I still have occasional fits of complete and total forgetfulness. I have learned to write everything down in a place I can see it multiple times a day!!! 🙂

  • 4. Karen  |  October 13, 2010 at 8:32 am

    Some thing weird must have been going on yesterday, I didn’t think about the BL either, although I’m not that interested in it this season, I still watch if I’m home, but nothing, no thought of it at all. lol

    As expected, Jansen is just beautiful, I won’t let you forget about the pics.

  • 5. Angela  |  October 13, 2010 at 8:39 am

    I can’t believe that Jansen is already 5 weeks old!

  • 6. Big W-D  |  October 13, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Jansen kinda looks like Superman in that picture!

  • 7. Nora  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Man your baby is cute! I love the Jansen photos 🙂

  • 8. Katherine  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Yes, you are now & forever a Mom. Therefore, entitled to all of the delights of “Mom” brain. It really doesn’t go away anytime soon. Maybe it gets a little better when you are getting more sleep, but writing everything down is essential!

    Love the Jansen picture! He’s just super cute.

  • 9. mom (Nana)  |  October 13, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    Biggest Loser is on our DVR in case it matters…….we didn’t watch it either.
    P.S. In case you wondered, I just wanted to scoop that baby boy up and snuggle him to pieces! Just in case you were wondering and all…..

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

