Ten Things You Need To Know

October 20, 2010 at 7:15 am 15 comments

1. Today marks the midpoint of one of the hardest week’s of my life. Thank you so much for all of your well wishes and prayers. It hasn’t been easy, but somehow I am managing to maintain my composure. I have yet to cry at work.

2. Stephen and I are officially cancelling cable. I know we mentioned that we were going to do it before, but we called and they made us a great offer so we kept it. But now we’re ready to make the break. We’ll probably eventually get Netflix but for now, it’s just network channels.

3. I’m giving up Biggest Loser for a season. Can you believe it? ME. I know. But I really didn’t like the first couple of episodes this season… I’m not good with change. So Stephen and I decided to turn Tuesdays in No TV Tuesdays. It’s all about chores. If we do chores one evening, we can relax the rest of the week.

4. I feel like I spend 80% of my day with one of my boobs out. For an extremely modest girl like me, this is odd.

5. Jansen went through 4 onesies yesterday. For some reason, he kept wanting to pee while we were changing his diaper and out wipey didn’t block the stream.

6. At one of my showers, a family friend gave me a card with coupons for house cleaning. Brilliant. She’s at my house today giving it a good scrub down and that makes me a happy camper!

7. I’m writing this on Tuesday night.. I’d like to place a bet right now that my son will not sleep tonight. He’s been asleep for a good three hours. I’d wake him up but Stephen and I are trying to get some stuff done and its sort of convenient to have him asleep.

8. On a related note, I probably had a pumpkin spice latte this morning.

9. On another related note, this morning will only mark my fourth pumpkin spice latte this season.

10. You should all leave a question in the comments so I can compile a set or two of Ten on Tuesday questions. I’d really appreciate it, my creative bone is broken.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

You Win Some, You Lose Some Decisons

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maureen aka Emmie  |  October 20, 2010 at 7:54 am

    Jansen peed on me yesterday, but I felt it was more of an initiation!

  • 2. Karen  |  October 20, 2010 at 8:01 am

    2. I gave up cable and etc a while ago, with the convertor box, I get enough channels to be entertained, if nothing is on, well go outside, that’s what I tell myself anyway. lol

    3. I don’t even think about the BL anymore, to me, it’s the same thing over and over, not the weight loss, but the people seem to be the same people to me. It’s getting boring!

    6. What a great friend.

    10. Um, ahhh, not good at this, but, let’s see, how about,
    What is your favorite decoration in your house?
    You can reword it, like your favorite wot knot, that makes you smile.

  • 3. timlinzrowland  |  October 20, 2010 at 8:05 am

    #10 What is your favorite hair product? or……do you color your hair or go with what God gave you?
    Leave it to a hairstylist to suggest these?🙂

  • 4. Angela  |  October 20, 2010 at 8:30 am

    I’m pretty sure that I mentioned that we cut our cable around here. Not going to lie, it does get hard at times, especially because we don’t seem to get the free network channels. We signed up for zip.ca (Canadian version of Netflix) and it has made it such much easier! I imagine Netflix will be better for you because you’ll be able to stream TV shows.

    Some ToT questions:
    Are you a good dancer?
    You get some good news, who’s the first person you call?
    Would you rather take pictures, or be in pictures?
    What is your shoe style?
    How often do you eat out?
    If someone has food in their teeth, do you tell them?
    Do you fold your underwear?

    (How’s that for random?)

  • 5. Lisa from Lisas Yarns  |  October 20, 2010 at 8:34 am

    I have been thinking about you this week… I can’t imagine how hard it is to leave your precious baby and go back to work…

    I have been meaning to put together 10 questions for you. I believe my sister is doign this as well. I will try to send them to you tonight or this weekend!

  • 6. MrsSJohnson  |  October 20, 2010 at 8:55 am

    3. BL is getting a little weird- it’s like they’re not staying true to who they were in the beginning and getting wrapped up in the whole “reality TV craze” that involves twist, turns, betrayals, surprises…
    I can watch Real Housewives for that.

    5. Did you ever get one of those peepee teepee?

    6. Great idea for a gift- I’m totally stealing it.

    8. & 9. I love PSL, but have only had 2 this season.

    10. My questions?
    -Do you color? If you do, is it with markers, crayons, colored pencils, etc.?
    -What’s the most organized part (or system) in your house?
    -What’s the most unorganized part (or system) in your house?
    -If you could add on one room to your house, what it would it be? (have we had this?)

  • 7. jen  |  October 20, 2010 at 9:04 am

    way to make it to the half way point!!! it has been a pleasure reading about the changes everyone in your little family have been going through! my one idea for a question is this…

    if you had unlimited amounts of time and money, what museum would you want to see and why?

  • 8. Jen Treat  |  October 20, 2010 at 11:14 am

    I don’t know how you are leaving your precious baby, but I’m glad you are making it through okay!

    I think that friend is my mom, she mentioned doing that for you. I offered to have a baby so she would come clean my house!!

    I have a home-made version of starbucks pumpkin spice latte I made this weekend. Pretty close and super easy! I’ve just started a blog and I’m going to add that recipe up this evening. I’ll send you a link so you can check it out and enjoy the holiday flavor without going broke!🙂

  • 9. Rachel  |  October 20, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Do another picture ToT about then and now (pic from childhood, one from now):

    Me (cute pic from childhood, one from now)
    Favorite fun place
    Favorite “safe” place
    Favorite toy
    Favorite outfit
    Favorite friend
    Favorite food
    Least favorite food
    Favorite book
    Favorite movie

  • 10. Brandi  |  October 20, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    We want to give up cable too. You’ll have to keep us posted on how you do. Netflix is amazing and I’m sure it will keep you entertained.

  • 11. Heather (SIL)  |  October 20, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    We canceled cable too! It’ll be gone at the end of this month—but we do have netflix—I highly recommend it.

    See you soon!

  • 12. Lauren from Texas  |  October 20, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    GET NETFLIX. Don’t you have a Wii? You can stream it through that.

  • 13. Katy Livingston  |  October 20, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    We cancelled cable. I haven’t died yet. You can do it! (Toughest times are weekends and football games that aren’t on network). Also, I think that baby snuggling should count as your “chores” on Tuesdays.

  • 14. mom (nana)  |  October 20, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    #1 – Can only imagine how hard it is but I KNEW you could do it. You are stronger than you give yourself credit for.
    #2 – you can live without it. We did for years and years and years and…..and we didn’t have Netflix!
    #3 – not missing much – you can always ask us who wins…
    #4 – she REALLY REALLY is the MOST MODEST person you could ever meet so this is REALLY REALLY wierd!
    #5 same onsie you left him in this morning. Granted he did spit up like crazy all over the front but it was way too cute to change him into something else! Just let it dry out! 🙂
    #6 nothing like a clean/partially clean house! woo hoo
    #7 yep, you had a bad morning cause you were really late dropping Jansen off….hence #8…..
    Hope tomorrow is better.

    Question – what is your favorite part of the fall season?

  • 15. Lisa H.  |  October 27, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Love seeing pictures of Jansen and reading about those days with a new baby. Can still remember being so tired I would practically drop off to sleep at work, but I made it through. So can you! We did without cable for years while the kids were growing up. Most of what is on tv is not good for them or for us. However, we are such sports fans that we now really enjoy that . Hang in there, girl. Love you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

