Every Minute

November 4, 2010 at 7:14 am 15 comments

I mentioned that Stephen and I had a full weekend. Stephen and Jansen picked me up from work so we could head out of town. We decided to make a quick stop at Sonic so we could all have dinner. After feeding Jansen and then ourselves, I got out the diaper bag for a diaper change. I decided to open up the changing mat on the car seat incase Jansen decided to spray me while I was changing him. I have never needed to say “PRAISE THE LAWD” more. I opened the diaper and it was full. The kind of full that makes you gasp. So I wiped the little tushie and grabbed a clean diaper. More poop. Thankfully the dirty diaper was still there. Wipe. Wait. More poop.

At this point Stephen and I were cracking up. Jansen was looking around, oblivious to the disgustingness he was producing. Over and over. And over. I removed the diaper and started to put the new one on. What do you know… more poop. All over the changing mat. (Insert “Praise the Lord” here.) Y’all, I have never seen so much poop in my life… and I just visited the Houston Zoo a few weeks ago.

We used an entire travel pack of wipes on this particular blow out. It was madness! But as you can imagine, Jansen was the most peaceful baby the rest of the night!

That night we drove to New Braunfels. The next morning, Stephen participated in a bike ride called Tour de Gruene in Gruene, Texas. He woke up at about 6:00 that morning to go ride in the 37 degree (!!!) weather and I did my best to sleep in. Jansen woke me up at 8:00 for breakfast and then we spent the rest of the morning staring at each other and laughing. Part of me wanted to go back to sleep for another hour, but one look at the smile and I was wide awake.

My parents and their care group happened to be in the next town over for a weekend getaway. Since Stephen and my dad were on the bike ride, Jansen and I went to hang out with them for a few hours. The house, oh my word. It’s in the middle of nowhere, Texas with a 40 mile view over the Texas hill country. It was amazing. I ate some of their food and had them change my baby’s diaper, and then took my two boys and left.

Next city. San Antonio. I had important business to tend to. Here’s a story, see if you can follow: Stephen spent three of his high school years in San Antonio. While he was there, one of his high school friends had a girlfriend named Molly. Stephen and Molly didn’t get to know each other that well but they had a few run ins… one may or may not have involved Molly slapping Stephen. In college, Stephen and I met a guy named Eric. He started dating a girl named Christine, who happens to know Molly. They fell in love and got married. We were at the wedding, Molly was in the wedding. I met Molly for approximately 5.7 seconds. Fast forward a year. Molly and I found each other’s blogs through Christine and we secretly started blog stalking each other. We finally announced ourselves and became blog friend. And then email friends.

And Saturday evening, we became real life friends. It was a long time coming, but we finally really met. We had a great time getting to know each other’s families. We both have awesome husbands and cute baby boys. I think we should be neighbors.

Onward. Sunday morning we woke up, got ready, visited a bit more with our new real life friends, and then headed to the next city. Austin. I co-hosted a baby shower for some friends of ours who were in town for a week from Germany. It’s always so fun to see your friends with baby bumps! And it’s always fun to dress your son like a pumpkin even though you aren’t actually at a costume party.

When the shower was over and everything was picked up, we finally headed home. The weekend was madness, yet wonderful. Lots of friends, beautiful cities, and several exploding diapers. I came out of it with poop on my jeans and love in my soul.

Weekends like that tend to wear me out. I don’t like to do it often but I’m so glad we did it. Time has been flying lately and I don’t want to miss too much. I need to make the most of every minute because things are changing all around me, look what can happen in a month.

One Month

Two Months

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Jansen, Stephen. Tags: , .

WordPress Hates Me Seven Quick Takes

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison Blass  |  November 4, 2010 at 8:48 am

    Such a cutie. I love the numbered onesies!

  • 2. Karen  |  November 4, 2010 at 9:25 am

    WOW, what a change, too funny, time does go by too fast.

    My 4 mth old niece had an explosion like that, her mom put her on the changing table, that is about a foot from the wall, and she exploded and it hit the wall, yes hit the wall, talk about falling on the floor laughing, it was hysterical, and every one who came over had to be showed the spot on the wall, cleaned up of course, but they had to show them exactly where it happened. LOL

    I love the numbered shirts also. Great idea.

  • 3. Cousin Kim  |  November 4, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Glad to hear you got the poop Christening! :o)~

  • 4. Veronica  |  November 4, 2010 at 10:46 am

    wow. he like doubled in size in a month. ah, he’s so cute!!

  • 5. lifeisatreat  |  November 4, 2010 at 11:12 am

    He went from a baby to a toddler in a month! So precious!

  • 6. The Stephanie  |  November 4, 2010 at 11:15 am

    You were in San Antonio??? I can’t believe I didn’t get to see that sweet boy when you were here!

    What high school did Stephen go to? I’ve lived here nearly my whole life. Interesting…🙂

  • 7. The husband  |  November 4, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    Reagan class 2002

  • 8. Debbie  |  November 4, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Oh yeah. I definitely remember the massive blowouts that contained more poop than Jacob’s Mom and Dad produce together! Blech! Glad you had a nice relaxing weekend….and a diaper mat. Love the month pictures. Such a doll!🙂

  • 9. Mom (nana)  |  November 4, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    You can only be neighbors with Molly if she moves to Nassau Bay…. 🙂

  • 10. Steph  |  November 4, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    I can’t believe he’s 2 months already! Your weekend sounds like fun🙂

  • 11. Nora  |  November 4, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Such a difference between month one and two; how cute is he though? And the poop story made me laugh out loud.

  • 12. Emmie  |  November 4, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I agree with you Alice!!! Jansen’s daddy had some of those blowouts too… At a restaurant once and at the grocety store all over the basket Well one thing is for sure, your parents and John and I have the most precious grandson around!

  • 13. Kelly W.  |  November 4, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    HE IS GETTING SO BIG!!

  • 14. timlinzrowland  |  November 5, 2010 at 6:17 am

    I want to know his stats. He looks a lot bigger than Adeline and she is 3 months old…she is a little peanut though. Please tell us fellow moms, we love that kind of stuff🙂

  • […] Every Minute by RootsAndRings That night we drove to New Braunfels. The next morning, Stephen participated in a bike ride called Tour de Gruene in Gruene, Texas. He woke up at about 6:00 that morning to go ride in the 37 degree (!!!) weather and I did my best to … […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

