Does Anybody Know What Time It Is?

November 8, 2010 at 9:56 am 12 comments

Here I am… Monday morning, coffee in hand. I have absolutely no reason to be this tired. Saturday night was Jansen’s best night yet, he slept SEVEN straight hours. I woke up, fed him, and then we cuddled in bed and went back to sleep for another two hours. Thank you Jansen and Daylight Savings for joining forces and giving me some good sleep.

I was curious if the seven hour stretch was just a fluke (tease) or if this was going to be our new normal. Stephen and I decided we’d start giving Jansen a bigger bottle right before bed to see if he’d sleep longer. So he’d been having 4 ounces in his regular bottles and 5 ounces in his bedtime bottle. Saturday night we gave him about 6 ounces and he slept for 7 hours. (These are the details that nobody cares about except us, new moms, and Jansen’s grandmas… feel free to skip!) Sunday night we gave him 6 ounces and he sucked it dry. So we gave him a bit more to see if he’d take it. Yes sir! Little man downed a little over 7 ounces and I’m sure he would have kept going if we let him. At least we know that he takes after Stephen and I with our lack of self-control to say “no” to good eats!

How would he sleep with 7 ounces in his belly? Well, this could go two ways. He could sleep like a champ with no tummy growls to disturb his sleep OR he could wake up every two hours because his diaper was saturated.

Kiddo slept 6 hours! He woke up at 5:00 this morning and since I wasn’t ready to get up for the day, I got him from his crib, brought him to our bed, and cuddled him. No milk, no diaper change. He went back to sleep until I fed him at 6:00! Ladies and gents, we’re onto something new and it is amazing! And I am SO not the mom that wakes up to check on him. No no, I sleep and I sleep hard!

With two nights of good sleep PLUS the daylight savings, there is really no reason I should be this tired. I should feel more rested than I have in months. Instead, I sit here with my eyelids drooping and my styrofoam cup of crappy work coffee. I guess there are some things in life we’ll never know the answer to.

Which, speaking of answers, can I ask you something?! Maybe someone out there knows the answer. Why the heck is midnight considered “a.m”?? Why wouldn’t it be p.m. until 1:00? Last I checked, 12 is higher than 1. Shouldn’t we count up until 12 and then start over?? Who the heck made the decision to time p.m. until 11:59 and then change to a.m.? This has been bothering me since about kindergarten. I need answers people, I need them bad!

Anyways, sorry about the boring Monday post. I guess just goes with my mood. I’ll post ToT shortly (once I come up with 10 questions) but in the meantime, here’s a picture of my baby in jeans and a button down! He’s with his daddy, his daddy’s daddy, and my daddy. Stephen is standing on a step, that’s why he looks giant.

Entry filed under: Jansen.

Seven Quick Takes Ten on Tuesday (53)

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Southern Gal  |  November 8, 2010 at 10:07 am

    I’ve never understood the a.m. thing either. Ethan and I just covered it in his math lesson last week. I had to keep looking at the book to make sure I was telling him right. Anyway…

    All my babies started sleeping from 11 to 5 at around 7 weeks old. It only got better after that. Hope you feel rested soon. Catching up on sleep is sometimes exhausting in itself.

  • 2. The Husband  |  November 8, 2010 at 10:34 am

    It’s because right after twelve It’s really considered zero and blank minutes. But you can’t put a zero on a clock… It looks funny. Also what does military time look like after midnight?

  • 3. Taryn  |  November 8, 2010 at 10:48 am

    The Husband is right… 🙂 it’s b/c of military time. Midnight is 00:00. When you switch to non-military time, it has to coordinate.

  • 4. Karen  |  November 8, 2010 at 10:53 am

    I wish they would just leave the time thing alone, enough already, I hate getting home and it’s dark, really stinks.

    Great picture, already in jeans, you’re the bomb. 🙂

  • 5. zburrows  |  November 8, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Sleep deprovation is not cool.

  • 6. Nora  |  November 8, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Love that photo! And I’m glad that Jansen is responding well to the new routine and sleeping more for you. I’m sure that’s a relief 🙂

  • 7. Aunt Bonnie  |  November 8, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Tired….crappy office coffee….could be you just don’t wanna be there? Ya think you’d have more energy at home? Just a thought….

  • 8. Mama Fuss  |  November 8, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Be grateful – my little guy celebrated Daylight Savings time by staying up an extra hour, fussing at his daddy. Last night was okay, though.

  • 9. Kathleen  |  November 8, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    Was going to advise about the 24-hour clock system, but two people already beat me to it. 🙂

  • 10. Maureen aka Emmie  |  November 8, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    Great job little man! He is the easiest baby, so laid back. Everyone at work today was tired too. I thought I would feel more rested, but no, I feel very sleepy today. So much for that extra hour!

    That shirt, and those little baby jeans on Jansen were the cutest thing I have EVER SEEN!!!

  • 11. John  |  November 9, 2010 at 3:57 am

    I was going to tell you the 12AM thing was because it’s actually 23:59 and then 00:00, but it looks like I got beat to the punch.

    After having been in the military for 4 years (and having lived in Germany where they don’t do AM/PM), using the 12 hour clock rather than the 24 seems strange to me. The 24 hour clock makes so much more sense.

    Of course this is coming from a guy who no longer understands the concept of feet/miles. I have to use meters/kilometers. Even in the US, I leave the GPS in kilometers, because I get confused when it tells me to exit in 500 feet. 🙂

  • 12. osarah  |  November 9, 2010 at 6:08 am

    Both your husband and mine beat me to answering the AM/PM quetsion. I will also add, however, that AM stands for ante meridiem (fore midday) and PM stands for post meridiem (after midday). Technically 12 noon is midday, so I guess it really isn’t AM or PM but to make things easy, it’s PM since 11:59 is before middday and thus AM and 12:01 is after midday, hence the PM.

    And 24 hour time really is so much easier. They use it in Germany too, so it’s not 4 in the afternoon here, it’s 1600. (Actually, most European countries use the 24-hour clock. I just looked it up. The UK and Ireland are the only two exceptions.)

    Yay for Jansen’s 6 and 7-hour stretches of sleep. The past two nights, you got more sleep at a time than I did. Sleep is getting increasingly more difficult for me. Blah. And I don’t have a comfy chair to go recline in. How will I make it?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

