With Care

November 11, 2010 at 7:20 am 13 comments

I know there was lots of mention of Christmas in yesterday’s post, and I don’t mean to ignore the fact that today is November 11, but I have to go over one more very important holiday issue.

There are so many small details that we tend to each year regarding the holidays. Which wrapping paper will we use? What will I buy for my brother? What cookies should I bring to the office? Should I even bring cookies to the office? Will we put up on tree or two? Icicle lights or twinkling? These things are not huge decisions. If you make the wrong decision, it’s really not the end of the world and chances are, you won’t remember it next year. Your cut out cookies were bland? No biggie. Throw that batch out and shred the recipe. Done.

Other details are big.

I need to make a big decision. This is serious business. My son needs a stocking.

Call me crazy if you want, but I really think that’s one of those big decisions. He’s going to have this for the rest of his life. Until forever. I can’t just buy any ‘ol stocking without careful deliberation. I love my stocking! Granted I only have visitation rights because my mom won’t allow it out of her home, but I love it. So what do I do?

This is what our mantle normally looks like during Christmas. We hang our stockings by the chimney with care.

Stephen and I have matching Pottery Barn stockings and Rookie has one that features the same colors. So do we stick with that and get Jansen a boring PB stocking? Or do we find him a cutesy one that’ll end up looking cheesy when he’s a grown up? I’m leaning toward a unique, cutesy one. I think everyone needs a cute stocking, right?

So, HELP ME. Where do I find a stocking? I think mine and my siblings’ stockings were made by family and family friends. I don’t have sewing people in my life so I’m going to have to either A) make one out of construction paper and staples or B) buy one. But it has to be perfect.

This is too much pressure. And when I’m under too much pressure I ask you for help. Someone out there has to know where to find the cutest stocking in the world. Just like you tell me about sales, where to find baby bedding, the best baby items, and on and on.

Lay it on me. I need your thoughts, feelings, and advice about stockings. Are you as attached to yours as I am to mine? Or do you think they are no big deal? Should I stop putting so much pressure on myself. Talk me down people, TALK ME DOWN.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Just The Facts Seven Quick Takes

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emmie  |  November 11, 2010 at 8:48 am

    You can have the one I am making for him! If you want. I can make him another one for our house!

  • 2. MrsSJohnson  |  November 11, 2010 at 9:11 am

    What is the “style” or “theme” you’re going for? PB kids has some cute classic ones.

  • 3. Veronica  |  November 11, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Yes, PB Kids has cute ones. Also check out Grandin Road and Frontgate online; they have cute ones too. I think as long as it has his name on it and you like it based on how you want your mantle to look like every year, then it’ll be great๐Ÿ™‚

  • 4. Nora  |  November 11, 2010 at 10:05 am

    Firstly, I love the photo that is above your mantle. Seriously so cute.

    I love stockings !I still have the one that my dad got for me when I was a baby. It’s simple… red stocking, white top, with my name embroidered/glittered. It’s super special to me. So i get why it’s a big deal to you too! As to where to find one? Stockings are every where so pick up some catalogues, check out etsy and go to town!

  • 5. Karen  |  November 11, 2010 at 10:42 am

    My stocking that my Mom had was a pair of Santa pants, I loved it, very unusual, never seen one like it, she said she was giving every one stockings until they married, well I never did, and most likely never will, she cut me off at 40, really unfair. LOL I actually looked forward to getting my Santa pants every year. lol

  • 6. That Married Couple  |  November 11, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Stockings are definitely a big deal! I’m also trying to figure this out, because I’d like for our family to eventually all have matching stockings… but who knows how many babies we’ll have… so do I buy random ones in the meantime? Sew some so I can make them all eventually be the same? It’s a tough call and I am apparently no help to you๐Ÿ™‚

  • 7. Stacy  |  November 11, 2010 at 11:04 am

    I got my daughter a First Christmas stocking for her 1st christmas. This stocking is now in her memory box so she will always have it. The stocking she has now matches her brother and sisters stockings.

  • 8. mom (nana)  |  November 11, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Well, you have a talented MIL so I think you are fixed up. Stockings are special and no matter which you choose, I am sure Jansen (and all other kiddos) will treasure it, as all 3 of you do yours. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 9. Faith  |  November 11, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    I’m not into the whole fancy stocking thing. We grew up with the fuzzy red and white ones. My mom seriously used puff paint for our names on the white part and then used the non-puff but similar gel paint to draw on holiday pictures on them. She made a similar one for John when we got married. Yes, we still use these same stockings when we go to my parent’s house for Christmas and I love it. It’s a sweet childhood memory.

  • 10. Courtney  |  November 12, 2010 at 2:43 am

    Hello… Etsy! My mom made all of our stockings (6 total) out of felt. Super easy, I’ve even made one (for an ex, long story, don’t want to take about it).

  • 11. Mama Fuss  |  November 12, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    I had the same/similar conundrum when Fuss was born. My problem was that I wanted all our children’s stockings to match and since we didn’t know what gender/how many children we would have, I felt like I couldn’t buy her “her” stocking without deciding that. And then, what if I couldn’t find a matching one once baby number 2 or 3 or whatever was born?

  • 12. Jessica  |  November 13, 2010 at 10:19 am

    I found your blog through Sojo, but thought I would give you a stocking recommendation since I LOVE mine. In fact, I had my mom order one for my husband last Christmas so that his matches mine. Land’s End makes some beautiful, whimsical, yet classic needlepoint stockings that I adore. http://www.landsend.com/pp/NeedlepointChristmasStocking~27370_-1.html They have made them for at least 10 years. so they should be around for a while and they always have new pictures sewn on them, so you could get matching types but different pictures for other kiddos later on…

  • 13. Victoria  |  November 17, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    I like the idea of needlepoint stockings because my mom made each of us one when we were little and I still use my nutcracker one every Christmas. I’d look around for some cute but easy needlepoint patterns because I love homemade things more than store bought.๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

