Texas Proud

November 15, 2010 at 7:20 am 6 comments

It’s officially freezing here in Houston, Texas. Well, not technically freezing, but really freaking cold. It was in the 50s this weekend which pretty much means that we are in the dead of winter. In fact (confession) I actually put in my Chris Tomlin Christmas CD on Saturday. True story. It’s not even my birthday and I’m already anticipating Christmas. I can’t help it. For some reason I have major holiday anticipation this year and the only way to fill my Christmas cup this early is to listen to music and to drink holiday drinks. And I’m okay with it. Don’t judge.

As I was saying, we’re in the dead of winter here. So we’re traded in our flip flops for boots and our tank tops for sweaters. Some of you would welcome this weather with jeans and short sleeves but not us. We die. In fact, I saw a woman power walking in my neighborhood wearing a sweatshirt, sweatpants, a hat, and gloves. GLOVES. I was in shock when I saw her. But then again at least she was outside… unlike me who prefers to stay indoors in such extreme weather like this.

I can hear all of you letting out a heavy sigh. You think we’re crazy. You don’t understand Texans and our weird allergy to temperatures below 90 degrees. I can admit it, we’re a weird breed. But while we may be weird, we don’t think we’re wrong. We believe that you should sweat in the summer and be able to sit outside by a fire pit in the winter. We don’t think you should ever have to battle ice storms or shovel snow before you leave for work. We like it here, and we’re proud to admit it.

In fact, we’re proud in general.

(No that’s not Jansen’s stocking.)

(ToT is posted.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Seven Quick Takes Ten on Tuesday (54)

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Priscilla  |  November 15, 2010 at 9:18 am

    Leaving church yesterday, I saw a woman wearing a ski jacket, gloves, warm-up socks, and a hat! It was chilly, but NOT freezing🙂.

  • 2. Karen  |  November 15, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Same here in GA, do not like cold weather.
    We have a guy here that moved from Chicago, when it was freezing, unusual cold last year he played it off like it was nothing, what ever cold is cold, he made a comment about us complaining, I said, “do you not get it, we don’t like the cold, that’s why we live here.” he had nothing else say. lol

    I agree the only thing to look forward to when it’s cold, is the weekend fire pits, they are wonderful.

  • 3. Stacie  |  November 15, 2010 at 11:30 am

    HA! We all just got done saying how beautiful our 50 degree weather was over the weekend!

  • 4. Rachel  |  November 15, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    I had to use the deicer on my windshield for the first time this morning. I want to know where the heck fall went. That said, knowing KS weather it’ll be back in the mid 70’s by the end of the week… then it will snow next week.

  • 5. Nora  |  November 15, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Well if you ever decide to come to STL do not come unless it’s sometime between May through October. Our spring and fall is so pretty and fun but it can dip into the low 30s at night sometimes after Halloween and even before May 1st.

  • 6. Mama Fuss  |  November 15, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    My mom (a 2nd generation FL native who has NEVER seen snow) swears her teeth chatter below 70 degrees.🙂 I’d say about the same (though I have, in fact, seen snow. 2 whole times. One time, I even watched it fall.) and a couple weeks ago when we had a “cold front” we celebrated by bundling up, lighting a fire in the fire pit and roasting marshmallows after we ate chili. I’m right there with you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

