What A Stupid Birthday

November 17, 2010 at 7:35 am 14 comments

As I type this, it is 9:40 on November 16 and I just got done throwing up my chicken noodle soup, which happened to be the first bite of food I’ve had since Monday night.

I woke up in the middle of the night on Monday/Tuesday and spent some quality time with the toilet. I won’t go into details because, well, that’s just gross. Let’s just say that I was a prime candidate for a colonoscopy at that point.

This bug has been going around my family. I was told that the common reactions to this bug are a slight fever, nausea, diarrhea, and serious aches. I would say that they all apply to me, assuming you consider 102 a slight fever and throwing up chicken noodle soup nausea. (Which I don’t, for the record.)

Here’s what really sucks. I rarely get sick. Here’s what really sucks more. Wednesday, November 17 is my 26th birthday. Ugh. You can bet your healthy hiney that I won’t be celebrating with a nice birthday meal. Lame.

I had planned to write a post about how this time last year, I wasn’t even pregnant. Think about what has happened in the past year. While Jansen was totally planned for, there is still no way of anticipating where you’re life will actually be at a certain point in time. All the imagining in the world would never have come up with this beautiful baby.

But I do have this beautiful baby and he is better than anything I ever imagined, greater than anything I could dream up. And now I am having the birthday I never could imagined. A baby I can’t cuddle, a husband I can’t go to dinner with, a day spent with my bed and the toilet.

Bummer.

(Editors Note: Yesterday I forgot to mention that Stephen is also one of my favorite smells, probably THE best smell. I don’t know how I forgot that but I think I need to right my wrong.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ten on Tuesday (54) Thug Love

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Southern Gal  |  November 17, 2010 at 7:49 am

    Happy Birthday, Chelsea. (Don’t throw anything at me, please?) Hope you feel better soon. Make it a birthday weekend instead. We usually do that since hubby works shift work and it’s hard to schedule. It will still feel special.

  • 2. Joy  |  November 17, 2010 at 8:13 am

    Happy Birthday! Wishing you a better day and a wonderful year!

  • 3. Autumn  |  November 17, 2010 at 8:30 am

    Awww…. Happy early Birthday. And hope you feel much better very soon!

  • 4. Taryn  |  November 17, 2010 at 9:10 am

    Happy Birthday anyway!!! Hope you feel a lot better and get to go enjoy a yummy meal with your family this weekend to make up for tonight!!!

  • 5. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns  |  November 17, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Happy Birthday! That totally sucks that you are sick. 😦 Such terrible timing, right? I hope you are back to good as new very soon, though!

  • 6. Angela  |  November 17, 2010 at 9:38 am

    Happy birthday Chelsea! I hope you feel better soon so that you can celebrate your birthday properly!

  • 7. Taryn M. Peine  |  November 17, 2010 at 9:57 am

    What a crap day to be sick!!! Hope you get BETTER on your birthday!

  • 8. Lauren from Texas  |  November 17, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Remember my luck last year every time I tried to celebrate/have fun/go anywhere? Yeah. So trust me when I say I KNOW HOW YOU FEEL. And it sucks. And I’m sorry. I hope you feel better soon.

    Happy Birthday! Love you tons.

  • 9. Stacie  |  November 17, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Happy Birthday! Hope you feel better soon 🙂

  • 10. Stefanie  |  November 17, 2010 at 10:42 am

    Happy Birthday! You can save your birthday celebrations for when you feel better. It will still count! Get well soon!

  • 11. Rachel  |  November 17, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    Ugh. Happy birthday anyway! Remember when we used to decorate lockers for birthdays?
    If you can get close enough to a cake to wish for something, definitely wish that Jansen doesn’t get what you have. Even worse than being sick yourself is a sick infant.

  • 12. Tabaitha  |  November 17, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Happy Birthday and I hope you feel better and get to celebrate later.

  • 13. Uncle Rory & Aunt chris Matthews  |  November 17, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    Happy Birhtday MOMMY… We pray you will be your self SOON…..

  • 14. Mama Fuss  |  November 18, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    For my 27th birthday, my co-workers took me to lunch and when we got back to the office, I promptly threw it all up, unexpectedly. The good news was: that was the end of my morning sickness. I didn’t throw up during that pregnancy again. But it kinda sucked that it happened on my birthday. With my birthday burger. (not something you want to throw up).

    Feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

