Riddle Me This

November 22, 2010 at 9:33 am 9 comments

Two things for you to ponder:

*I went to Babies R Us the other day. It was just a quick trip to replace some bottle nipples that I had destroyed by accidentally cleaning them with a brush that wasn’t intended to clean nipples. As I was standing in line my eye caught the Thanksgiving markdowns so I wandered out of line to see if there were any fantastic deals. (There were, by the way. I got an “I’m Thankful For Mommy And Daddy” onesie for $3.30!) They had a rack of onesies that said, “My First Thanksgiving.” They were cute but nothing too spectacular. Anyways, here is the issue. They had these onesies in sizes up to 24 month. My First Thanksgiving. Twenty four month.

*So I did it. I battled the pre-Thanksgiving grocery store mob. This year I am making a turkey, dressing, gravy, mashed potatoes, and two pies. I loaded my cart with all the ingredients… bread, heavy cream, butter, a giant bird, etc. (Calories don’t count on Thanksgiving.) I took my goods to the front to check out and gave the cashier my Kroger card and coupons. I always love the end up my shopping trip so I can see how much I saved and so I can get the new coupons that the register spits out. Yesterday I saved about $25! But my question is this: You know how the register gives you coupons that match your spending habits? Often I’ll get Smart Ones coupons when I buy Lean Cuisines. Or Gain coupons when I buy Tide. The competitors are trying to encourage me to switch. Well yesterday I got a Slim Fast coupon.

Entry filed under: Holidays.

Seven Quick Takes Ten on Tuesday (55)

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  November 22, 2010 at 9:38 am

    Congrats on saving $25! I can’t wait to get back and use HEB coupons. We can really only use the coupons they put out at the military grocery store, so we don’t ever save more than a dollar here or there.

    Good for you for taking on the turkey! I’m nowhere near that level.

    And re: your two things to ponder…wow.

  • 2. Stacie  |  November 22, 2010 at 10:59 am

    HAHAHA!!!! Kroger is a jerk.

  • 3. Sister  |  November 22, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    BAHAHAHAHAHA! the coupon machine called you a fatty! Little does it know, you aren’t!

  • 4. Faith  |  November 22, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    I can get the larger sized First Thanksgiving. If your baby was born in December or in Jan/Feb it’s possible. The coupon machine though? I would have punched it in the face…if it had one ya know….

  • 5. Gracie Lou  |  November 22, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    LMAO @ Slim Fast! It’s time to change out that machine because it’s getting a mind of it’s own complete with opinions! We all know what they say about opinions though…and unless you have an opposable thumb, yours doesn’t count. lol

  • 6. Mama Fuss  |  November 22, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    My daughter was often a size ahead of her “age” because she was such a chunker. (in that cute, chubby baby sort of way). So, theoretically, if your baby was born say, on Thanksgiving (or the day after or even the day or two before so they never really got to celebrate it because they were in the hospital, etc.), in my daughter’s case, she would have been in (potentially) size 18 mos. And she was only in the 75th percentile at that point, so you can imagine how big the top of the chart might be…

    Funny on the Slim Fast.

  • 7. Stephany  |  November 22, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Can I just say how much I love your sister’s comment? Tehehe.

    Sorry about the Slim Fast coupon. Blech! Just know that your adorable son thinks you’re pretty perfect just the way you are! 🙂

  • 8. Michelle  |  November 23, 2010 at 12:34 am

    I laughed pretty hard when I saw the “first thanksgiving” outfits in 24 month sizes! Those are some big babies…

  • 9. lisa  |  November 23, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    Big baby, maybe? REALLY big baby?

    I wish I could do the coupon thing, but it’s over my head. I hear about people saving all this money, and I see them talking about BOGO and manufacturer’s coupons and competitor pricing and everything and I just don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

